Tag Archives: Rob McHale

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 5/10/17


HOW TO LISTEN

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/05/rcbnew051017.mp3

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew051017New
Also available via Mixcloud
and on Stitcher via the RSS

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

This show was published 5/12/17
MJ Bishop “Give It Away Again” – http://www.mjbishopband.com
Will Stark “Rock In The Sand” – Joker CD http://www.willstark.com
Changing Modes “Door” – Goodbye Theodora CD http://www.changingmodes.com
@ChangingModes
Tuffy “Calicoon” – Calicoon EP http://www.tuffy2.bandcamp.com @tuffyband
Gwyneth Moreland “Farmhouse” – Cider CD http://www.gwynethmoreland.com
@gwynethmoreland
Jamie Kindleyside “Look Over Your Shoulder” – It Is What It Was CD
http://www.kindleyside.com @kindleyside
Roland Corrigal “Small Town Life” – Small Town Life EP
http://www.rolandcorrigal.com @rcorrigal
Ivan Polanco “700 Miles” – Nice CD http://www.ivanpolanco.com @ivanp_music
******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones , http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
@flowerdove2168

Running time: 50 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production : Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove

All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.com

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

*******************

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 17th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/05/rcblive0510171.mp3

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive051017
Mixcloud: https://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue/
and on Stitcher via the RSS

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

This show was published 5/0/17
Opening music:
Willie Dixon “The Little Red Rooster” – I Am The Blues
Howlin’ Wolf “Spoonful”
Lucinda Williams “Lake Charles” – Car Wheels On A Gravel Road
Patti Witten “Nine Days In Texas” – Sycamore Tryst CD http://www.pattiwitten.com

*****
These artists are featured in the upcoming Kerrville Folk Festival
http://www.kerrville-music.com :
Amy Speace “That Kind Of Girl” – That Kind Of Girl CD http://www.amyspeace.com
@RealAmySpeace
Jonathan Byrd “Working Offshore” – You Can’t Outrun The Radio CD
http://www.jonathanbyrd.com @jonathanbyrd
Melissa Greener “Ghost In The Van” – Transistor Corazon CD
http://www.melissagreener.com @melissagreener
Brother Sun “Mighty, Mighty River” – Weights & Wings CD
http://www.brothersunmusic.com @BrotherSunNews
Freebo “To The Light” – If Not Now When CD http://www.freebomusic.com @freebomusic
Harpeth Rising “Rollin’ To You” – Shifted CD http://www.harpethrising.com
@harpethrising
C. Daniel Boling “Growing Old In New Mexico” – These Houses CD
http://www.danielboling.com @DanlBoling
*******
Phoebe Legere “Nightmare” – Heart Of Gold CD http://www.phoebelegere.com @Legere
Kim Logan “Monday Night Soul Song” – Fresh Juice EP http://www.kimlogan.com
@kimloganmusic
Carrington MacDuffie “Better That Way” – Rock Me To Mars EP
http://www.carringtonmacduffie.com @CarringtonMacD
Ellis Paul “Kick Out The Lights (Johnny Cash)” – Chasing Beauty CD
http://www.ellispaul.com @ellispaulsongs
Patty Reese “Open A Window, Let In The Sun” – Let In The Sun CD
http://www.pattyreese.com @pattyreese
Markey Blue “Cash Is Always King” – The Blues Are Knockin’ CD
http://www.markeyblue.com @Markeyblu
John Primer & Bob Corritore “Gambling Blues” – Ain’t Nothing You Can Do! CD
http://www.johnprimer.com http://www.bobcorritore.com @BobCorritore
*****
CD FOCUS: An occasional series focusing on outstanding concept and
compilation albums, track-for-track.
Ian Anderson and Carducci String Quartet
Jethro Tull – The String Quartets CD
http://www.jethrotull.com @jethrotull
http://www.carducciquartet.com @CarducciQuartet
These renditions of Jethro Tull tunes, are performed in a classical format.
From this CD, I spun: “Velvet Gold (Velvet Green)”, “Ring Out These Bells
(Ring Out, Solstice Bells)” and “Aquafugue (Aqualung)”
*********
The following are some of the 2017 New Folk competition participants at the
Kerrville Folk Festival:
Hadley Kennary “Nashville” – Momentum EP http://www.hadleykennary.com
@hadleykennary
Ordinary Elephant “Leaving Kerrville” – Before I Go CD
http://www.ordinaryelephant.net @ordinarelephant
The YaYas “All These Gifts” – Paper Boats CD http://www.wearetheyayas.com
Heather Styka “Great Plains” – The Bittersweet Tapes CD http://www.heatherstyka.com
@heatherstyka
*****
Rob McHale “The Ghost Of Jesse James” – Tom Dooley and Friends CD
http://www.robmchale.com @RobMcHale1
Monica Rizzio “Texarkana” – Washashore Cowgirl CD http://www.monicarizzio.com
@MonicaRizzio
Jenee Halstead “Juarez” – Edge Of The World EP http://www.jeneehalstead.com
@jeneehalstead
Jessie Kilguss “Train Song” – Devastate Me CD http://www.jessiekilguss.com
@jessiekilguss
Lara Herscovitch “The Conductor” – Misfit CD http://www.laraherscovitch.com
@laraherscovitch
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
@flowerdove2168

Running time: 3 hours, 7 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production : Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Atmosphere: deep dust travelin’
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.com

All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 1/12/17


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
RSS feed:
Also available via Chirbit
and on Stitcher via the RSS
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 1/10/17
Kenny Davin Fine “Trippin’ On The Shoestrings Of The Devil” – Brand New Road
Vaneese Thomas “I Got A Man In TN” – The Long Journey Home CD
Deb Ryder “Just Her Nature” – Grit Grease & Tears CD http://www.debryder.com
Logan Magness “Bed Of Nails” – s/t EP http://www.loganmagness.com @jloganmagness
Dan Bubien “Coming Clean” – Grinding These Gears CD http://www.danbubien.com
@danbbubien
Kathleen Farless “Carousel” – Masquerade CD http://www.kathleenfarless.com
@kathleenfarless
Chakra Bleu “Willing To Fall” – Our Own Paradise CD http://www.chakrableu.com
@chakrableu
Andy May “Helen’s Eyes” – Room For Roots CD http://www.andymay.com
Paul Sachs “The Best Hope Can Do” – Love Is Love CD http://www.paulsachs.com
@paulsachs
Greg Greenway “All This Time” – 20000 Versions Of The Sun CD
Osborne Jones “Never Crossed My Mind” – Only Now CD
Footfall “Annarose” – Whiskey Soaked Heart CD http://www.footfallmusic.com
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Densum Chronos”
Running time: 1 hour, 30 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production : Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
*******************
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 17th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Internet Archive:
Chirbit
This show was published 1/10/17
Opening music:
Bjork “Frosti” & “Aurora” – Vespertine
R.E.M. “I’ll Take The Rain” – Reveal
Death Cab For Cutie “The New Year” – Transatlanticism
Brenda Kahn “Yellow Sun” – CMJ New Music Sampler Volume 36
*******
Owen Danoff “By Your Side” – Love On Your Side CD http://www.owendanoff.com @owendanoff
Heather Maloney “Linger Longer” – Making Me Break CD http://www.heathermaloney.com @heathermaloney_
Ellis Paul “Jimmie Angel’s Flying Circus” – Chasing Beauty CD  http://www.ellispaul.com @ellispaulsongs
Jess Novak Band “Little Things” – Inches From The Sun CD  http://www.jessrocknovak.com @JessRock87
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “You Got Me Dizzy” – Music From Hurley  Mountain CD http://www.thecrowmatix.com @ProfessorLouie1
Aztec Two-Step “Lazarus & Simon” – Cause & Effect CD http://www.aztectwostep.com @Aztec_TwoStep
*******
Just Dave Band “(It’s Just Hard) When  You’re In It” – Rules To Live By EP
Achilles Wheel “Let It Ride” – Devil In The Yard CD http://www.achilleswheel.com @AchillesWheelCA
Hector Ward & The Big Time “Simplify” – Evolution: Live at the Saxon Pub in  Austin TX 2-CD set http://www.hwbigtime.com  @HWBIGTIME
Sirsy “Wishless” – Live In Youngstown CD http://www.sirsy.com @sirsy
Emanuel & The Fear “I Believe” – Primitive Smile CD  http://www.emanuelandthefear.com @Eandthefear
Jo Wymer “No Rules” – S.L.G. EP http://www.jowymer.com @jowymermusic
Soraia “Paper Man” – Less Than Zero EP http://www.soraia.com @soraiarocks
Scott Wolfson & Other Heroes “Never Going Back Again” – Welcoming The Flood  CD http://www.scottwolfson.com @SWOtherheroes
******
CD FOCUS: Kristin Hersh: Wyatt At The Coyote Palace http://www.kristinhersh.com  @kristinhersh
Continuing with airing tracks and passages from this book/CD set, I aired  “Detox” “Wonderful” & “Day 3”
*******
Amy Speace “In Chicago” – That Kind Of Girl CD http://www.amyspeace.com  @amyspeace
Luminous Heart “Chasing West” – Possibility CD http://www.luminousheartduo.com
Heather Styka “Oklahoma” – The Bittersweet Tapes CD http://www.heatherstyka.com @heatherstyka
Rob McHale “Julia’s Talley House” – Tom Dooley & Friends EP  http://www.robmchale.com @Robmchale1
Meg Braun “Holland Town” – Restless Moon CD http://www.megbraun.com @megbmusic
Cosy Sheridan “Eurydice Goodnight” – Sometimes I Feel Too Much CD  http://www.cosysheridan.com @cosysheridan
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Densum Chronos”  http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168 @flowerdove2168
Running time: 3 hours, 3  minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production : Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue 11/26/16


 

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 17th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Chirbit    http://chirb.it/enOtvL
Opening music: Lara Herscovitch “Tequila Over Turkey” – There CD
*****
James McMurtry “Remembrance ” http://www.jamesmcmurtry.com @jamesmcmurtry
Slaid Cleaves “Still Fighting The War” – Still Fighting The War CD
Rob McHale “Laura Foster” – Tom Dooley & Friends EP http://www.robmchale.com @RobMcHale1
Mare Wakefield & Nomad “Clementine” – Poet On The Moon CD
*******
Matt Harlan & Rachel Jones “Warm November” – In The Dark CD
http://www.mattharlan.com @mattharlanmusic
Fred Gillen Jr. “Election Day” – Wage Love CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com @fredgillenjr
Michele D’Amour  & The Love Dealers “Say What You Mean” – Ante Up CD
Miss Marcy & Her Texas Sugardaddys “Deep Ellum” – Deep Ellum Blues CD
Shawn Amos “Hollywood Blues” – The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You CD
The Argues “The Buoy” – Something New EP http://www.theargues.ca @theargues
*******
CD FOCUS: Kristin Hersh “Wyatt At The Coyote Palace”  http://www.kristinhersh.com @kristinhersh
From her new CD/book set I read the passages and songs titled “Bright” “In Stitches” and “Bubble Net”
*******
Jon Pattie “Home” – 3,2,1, EP http://www.jonpattiemusic.com @JonJPattie
Hadley Kennary “24 Hours” – Momentum EP http://www.hadleykennary.com @hadleykennary
Rachel Efron “Terrible Thing To Dream” – Angel No More EP
Sarah McQuaid “The Tide” – Walking Into White CD http://www.sarahmcquaid.com @sarahmcquaid
Kris Delmhorst “The Waking” – The Waking EP http://www.krisdelmhorst.com @krisdelmhorst
Vance Gilbert “I’ll Buy You A Star” – Nearness Of You CD
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Densum Chronos” –
@flowerdove2168
Running time: 226 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
Atmosphere: Cold rain
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo week of 9/13/15


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
Join and add radiocblue or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute
for the full show) If it’s not
available for your devices, please request the widget code to place on your
site or blog.
This show was published 9/20/15
Modern Sons “Basement” – Moon Raccoon CD http://www.modernsons.com
Kevin Sekhani “Jump Right Back” – Day Ain’t Done CD http://www.kevinsekhani.com
Eddie Cotton Jr. “Mississippi” – One At A Time CD
Autumn Electric “Gather The Star Beings” – Star Being Earth Child CD
Elysium Heart “Clouds At Sunset”
Avery Hill “Hello & Goodbye” – Dreams & Ghosts: A Family Album CD
Mason Ashley “Untied Ends” – s/t CD http://www.masonashley.com
Running time: 48  minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 15th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com Join and add radiocblue or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not substitute
for the full show) If it’s not available for your devices, please request
the widget code to place on your site or blog
This show was published 9/20/15
Opening music:  Pamela Wyn Shannon “Courting Autumn” – Courting Autumn CD
_________
Craig Greenberg “I’m Coming Around” – The Grand Loss & Legacy CD
Moot Davis “Goin’ In Hot” – Goin’ In Hot CD http://www.mootdavis.com
Britt Connors “Distance” – Warmer Season CD http://www.brittconnors.com
Loretta Hagen “Turn In” – Mud & Stone CD http://www.lorettahagen.com
Jim Photoglo “Shadow And Light” – Halls Of My Heart CD http://www.jimphotoglo.com
Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem “Piece Of Land” – Violets Are Blue CD
_________
Vance Gilbert “I’m Beginning To See The Light” – Nearness Of You CD
Ellis Paul “Hold Me, Scold Me” – Chasing Beauty CD http://www.ellispaul.com
Antje Duvekot “Four Stitches” – New Siberia CD http://www.antjeduvekot.com
Star Anna “Only Guessing” – The Sky Is Falling CD http://www.staranna.com
Marina V “Unbalanced” – My Star CD http://www.marinav.com
Crazy Chestur “Harvest Party” – Harvest Party CD http://www.charliewalmsley.com
Golden Novak Band “Let It Shine” – s/t CD http://www.jessrocknovak.com
Strangely Alright “Paint Outside The Lines” http://www.strangelyalright.com
_________
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in
great concept or compilation albums.
ROCK BACK FOR NEPAL, by Patetico Records in Philadelphia is a multi-volume
compilation that is raising money for The Nepal Disaster Relief Fund.
From Volume 2 I aired the following:
Stella Diana “Sospeso”
Human Colonies “Body”
Sueno Con Belugas “A Piece Of Space”
Car Crash Sisters “All My Friends”
_________
Sons Of The Never Wrong “Window” – King Fisher King CD http://www.sons.com
Debbie Miller “Inch By Inch” – Measures & Waits EP http://www.thedebbiemiller.com
Heather Pierson Acoustic Trio “Ain’t Gotten Around” – Still She Will Fly CD
Shanna Underwood & Wanderlost “65 Home”
Krista Baroni “Grace, Love & Charity” – The Alabaster Girl CD
Parsonsfield “Strollin’ Down The Highway” – Afterparty CD
Caroline Cotter “This Place” – Dreaming As I Do CD http://www.carolinecotter.com
_________
Sarah McQuaid “Jackdaws Rising”- Walking Into White CD http://www.sarahmcquaid.com
Rob McHale “Wishing Well” – Fields CD http://www.robmchale.com
Dana & Susan Robinson “Farmers Market A-Z” – American Hornpipe CD
Ian Siegal “Only Tryin’ To Survive” – The Picnic Sessions CD
Aztec Two-Step “Living In America” – Cause & Effect CD http://www.aztectwostep.com
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”
Running time: 192  minutes
Atmosphere: greenhousing
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot exist
without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook/Twitter/Clammr: radiocblue