Tag Archives: Fred GIllen Jr.

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 5/2/17


HOW TO LISTEN

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/04/rcbnew0430171.mp3

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew043017
Also available via
Mixcloud
and on Stitcher via the RSS

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

This show was published 4/30/17

Miles Recommends “Darkness” – Extended Play EP http://www.milesrecommends.com
@milesrecommends
Ryan Chrys & The Rough Cuts “Kickin’ Dirt” – Shovel Full Of Coal CD
http://www.roughcutsband.com @RyanChrys
Neil Nathan “Song Of The Firefly” – Flowers On The Moon CD
http://www.neilnathan.com @TheNeilNathan
Hurricane Ruth “Good Stuff” – Ain’t Ready For The Grave CD
http://www.hurricaneruth.com @hurricane_ruth
Bridget Kearney “Nothing Does It” – Won’t Let You Down CD
http://www.bridgetkearney.com @bridgetkmusic
Greg Wickham “Clear” – If I Left This World CD http://www.gregwickhammusic.com
@gregwickhamkc
Davey O “Making Good Time” – A Bright Horizon Line CD http://www.daveyo.com
Donna Greenberg “Dance The Night Away” – Stuck On You CD
http://www.donnagreenberg.com @DonnaGreenberg
******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Densum Chronos”
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones , http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
@flowerdove2168

Running time: 66 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production : Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove

All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.com

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

*******************

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 17th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/04/rcblive043017.mp3

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive043017New2
Mixcloud: https://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue/
and on Stitcher via the RSS

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

This show was published 4/30/17
Opening music:
Afro Celt Sound System “Dark Moon High Tide” – Volume 1: Sound Magic
Geoffrey Armes “Body Wisdom” – Spirit Dwelling: Music For Yoga CD
http://www.geoffreyarmes.com @GeoffreyArmes
Deep Forest “Sound Lullaby” – s/t
Jah Wobble’s Invaders Of The Heart “Bomba” – Rising Above Bedlam
*****
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “Half Moon Shuffle” – Tail Light Blues CD
http://www.karencollins.net
Jess Novak Band “Climb The Stairs” – Inches From The Sun CD
http://www.jessrocknovak.com @JessRock87
Serenity Fisher & The Cardboard Hearts “Rose Red” – Carousel Of Love CD
http://www.serenityfisher.com @SFCHmusic
*****
These artists are part of the upcoming Tuscon Folk Festival:
Ronstadt Generations “Wagon Mound” – Lulo CD http://www.ronstadtgenerations.com
@RonstadtGen
Dan Weber “Do You Ride Horses” – What I’m Lookin’ For CD
http://www.danwebermusic.com @danwebermusic
Steven Graves “Take You For A Ride” – Captain Soul CD
http://www.stevengravesmusic.com @SGravesMusic
Nancy McCallion & The Scarlet Lettermen “Say Nothing” – Dancing Days CD
http://www.nancymccallion.com @NancyMcCallion
*****
CD FOCUS: An occasional series focusing on outstanding concept and
compilation albums, track-for-track.
JAMES TALLEY: Tryin’ Like The Devil, which Rolling Stone magazine declared
an American classic, was released 40 years ago on Capitol Records. A CD was
released this year to celebrate the reissue on James’ own Cimarron Records.
http://www.jamestalley.com
From this album I spun “Nothin’ But The Blues” & “You Can’t Ever Tell”
******
Miss Tess & The Talkbacks “Going Downtown” – Baby, We All Know CD
http://www.misstessmusic.com @MissTessMusic
Eilen Jewell “My Hometown” – Sundown Over Ghost Town CD http://www.eilenjewell.com
@eilenjewell
Michele D’Amour And The Love Dealers “Too Fine A Night” – Ante Up CD
http://www.reverbnation.com/micheledamourandthelovedealers @mmdamour
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Prisoner Of Your Sound” – Crowin’ The Blues
CD http://www.thecrowmatix.com @ProfessorLouie1
The Slambovian Circus Of Dreams “The Trans-Slambovian Bi-Polar Express” – A
Box Of Everything CD http://www.slambovia.com @Slambovia
Anthony Gomes “Room 414” http://www.anthonygomes.com @anthonygomes
Purusa “It’s Late” – Repair CD http://www.purusaband.com
********
CD FOCUS: Ian Anderson and Carducci String Quartet
Jethro Tull – The String Quartets CD
http://www.jethrotull.com @jethrotull
http://www.carducciquartet.com @CarducciQuartet
These renditions of Jethro Tull tunes, are performed in a classical format.
From this CD, I spun: “Only The Giving (Wond’ring Aloud)” “Loco (Locomotive
Breath)” & “Pass The Bottle (A Christmas Song)”
*********
Red Molly “1952 Vincent Black Lightning” – The Red Album CD http://www.redmolly.com
@redmollyband
Melissa Greener “Jackson” – Transister Corazon CD http://www.melissagreener.com
@melissagreener
Sarah McQuaid “Jackdaws Rising” – Walking Into White CD http://www.sarahmcquaid.com
@sarahmcquaid
*****
The following are official showcase participants at SERFA
http://www.folkalliance.org
Johnsmith “Sweetgrass” – The Longing Road CD http://www.johnsmithmusic.com
Scott Cook “If He Showed Up Now” – Further Down The Line CD
http://www.scottcook.net
The Levins “Laugh With Me” – Trust CD http://www.thelevinsmusic.com @TheLevins
Mare Wakefield & Nomad “The First Poet On The Moon” – Poet On The Moon CD
http://www.marewakefield.com @marewakefield
Ordinary Elephant “Washington Said East” – Before I Go CD
http://www.ordinaryelephant.net @ordinaryelephant
*****
Fred Gillen Jr. “Future American” – What She Said CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com
@fredgillenjr
Sarah Pierce “I Am The Daughter Of A Cowboy’s Wife” – Barbed Wire CD
http://www.sarahpierce.com @sarahpierceband
Carrie Elkin “My Brother Said” – The Penny Collector CD http://www.carrieelkin.com
@carrieelkin
Danny Schmidt “Girl With Lantern Eyes” – Owls CD http://www.dannyschmidt.com
@dannyschmidt
Raina Rose “Apostle” – Caldera CD http://www.rainarose.com @rainarose
The Blonde Bombers “Just The Whiskey” http://www.reverbnation.com/theblondebombers
@BombedAmbition
Mary Gauthier “Worthy” – Trouble & Love CD http://www.marygauthier.com
@marygauthier_
Cosy Sheridan “If I Were A Bird” – Sometimes I Feel Too Much CD
http://www.cosysheridan.com
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
@flowerdove2168

Running time: 3 hours, 43 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production : Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.com

All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue 11/26/16


 

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 17th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Chirbit    http://chirb.it/enOtvL
Opening music: Lara Herscovitch “Tequila Over Turkey” – There CD
*****
James McMurtry “Remembrance ” http://www.jamesmcmurtry.com @jamesmcmurtry
Slaid Cleaves “Still Fighting The War” – Still Fighting The War CD
Rob McHale “Laura Foster” – Tom Dooley & Friends EP http://www.robmchale.com @RobMcHale1
Mare Wakefield & Nomad “Clementine” – Poet On The Moon CD
*******
Matt Harlan & Rachel Jones “Warm November” – In The Dark CD
http://www.mattharlan.com @mattharlanmusic
Fred Gillen Jr. “Election Day” – Wage Love CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com @fredgillenjr
Michele D’Amour  & The Love Dealers “Say What You Mean” – Ante Up CD
Miss Marcy & Her Texas Sugardaddys “Deep Ellum” – Deep Ellum Blues CD
Shawn Amos “Hollywood Blues” – The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You CD
The Argues “The Buoy” – Something New EP http://www.theargues.ca @theargues
*******
CD FOCUS: Kristin Hersh “Wyatt At The Coyote Palace”  http://www.kristinhersh.com @kristinhersh
From her new CD/book set I read the passages and songs titled “Bright” “In Stitches” and “Bubble Net”
*******
Jon Pattie “Home” – 3,2,1, EP http://www.jonpattiemusic.com @JonJPattie
Hadley Kennary “24 Hours” – Momentum EP http://www.hadleykennary.com @hadleykennary
Rachel Efron “Terrible Thing To Dream” – Angel No More EP
Sarah McQuaid “The Tide” – Walking Into White CD http://www.sarahmcquaid.com @sarahmcquaid
Kris Delmhorst “The Waking” – The Waking EP http://www.krisdelmhorst.com @krisdelmhorst
Vance Gilbert “I’ll Buy You A Star” – Nearness Of You CD
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Densum Chronos” –
@flowerdove2168
Running time: 226 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
Atmosphere: Cold rain
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 9/17-23/16


HOW TO LISTEN

Podomatic:
RSS feed:
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2016/09/rcbnew091716-new.mp3
Also available via Chirbit, Mixcloud & Stitcher
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 9/24/16
Rachael Sage “Try Try Try” – Choreographic (Acoustic Mixes) CD
Frances and the Foundation “Plant The Seed” – Phases EP
JJ Thames “Don’t Stop My Shine” – Raw Sugar CD http://www.jjthames.com @jjthameshq
Ruby Dee & The Snakehandlers “I See Green” – Little Black Heart CD
Danielle French “Last Goodbye” – Miss Scarlet & The Madmen presents Dark
Love Songs CD http://www.daniellefrench.com @daniellefrench
Blackbeard’s Tea Party “The Devil’s Doorbell” – Reprobates CD
The Belle Hollows “Rebel on the Run” – Miller’s Creek CD
Greg Cornell & The Cornell Brothers “I Had A Pony” – Come On Home CD
Kris Delmhorst “Jerusalem” – The Waking CD http://www.krisdelmhorst.com
@krisdelmhorst
The Leavelles “Wilmeth” – Mostly True Stories CD  http://www.theleavelles.com @theleavelles
Chris Kemp White “If I Linger” – s/t EP http://www.chriskempwhite.com
@chriskempwhite
John Thayer “Really Doesn’t Matter” – Face To Face EP
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Densum Chronos”
Running time: 84 minutos
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
*******************
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
mp3:
Opening music:
DJ Flowerdove “Sol Aurora” http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols
@flowerdove2168
******
Heather Maloney “Day With You” – Making Me Break CD http://www.heathermaloney.com
@heathermaloney_
Krista Baroni “Dear Moon Child (Still Waters Run Deep)” – Alabaster Girl CD
Melissa Greener “Jackson” – Transistor Corazon CD http://www.melissagreener.com
@melissagreener
Sarah Pierce “Mackerel Sky” – Barbed Wire CD http://www.sarahpierce.com
@sarahpierceband
Chris Yakopcic “Preachin’ Blues” – The Next Place I Leave CD
Gem Andrews “Crimson Tide” – s/t CD http://www.gemandrews.co.uk @GemAndrewsMusic
Sons Of The Never Wrong “Over There” – King Fisher King CD http://www.sons.com
@SONSoNeverWrong
*****
Fred Gillen Jr. “Ghost Of Joe Hill” – Wage Love CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com
@fredgillenjr
Matt Turk “The Ballad Of Reuben” – Cold Revival CD http://www.turktunes.com
@turktunes
Patty Larkin “It Could Be Worse” – Still Green CD http://www.pattylarkin.com
@pattylarkin
Cardboard Ox “Falling” – s/t EP http://www.cardboardoxmusic.com
Kevin So “Breakdown” – Countryside CD http://www.kevinso.com @TweetKevinSo
Crooked Eye Tommy “After The Burn” – Butterflies & Snakes CD
*****
Chappell & Dave Holt “Slow To Smile” – Stone & Fire CD
Carl Solomon “What About You” – Promised Land CD http://www.carlsolomonmusic.com
@SolomonCrow
Jean Mann “Blue” – Road Girl, Volume 1 CD http://www.jeanmann.net @jean_mann
Beth DeSombre “Slide Guitar” – I Was Here CD http://www.bethdesombre.com
@bethdesombre
Sarah McQuaid “I Am Grateful For What I Have” – Walking On White CD
Davey O “Standing In These Shoes” – No Passengers CD http://www.daveyo.com @
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Densum Chronos”
Running time: 132 minutes
Atmosphere: apparitional
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 8/13/16


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
RSS feed:
Chirbit:    http://chirb.it/O5Ikgk
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
Shows are currently on a biweekly schedule, through mid-August
This show was published 8/13/16
The Regulators “You’re Not Home” – One Of These Days CD http://www.theregulatorsmusic.com
Common Jack “Restless” – Bowl, Holland CD http://www.commonjackmusic.com @commonjackmusic
Brother Octopus “Kings & Queens” – Connected Through Corals CD http://www.brotheroctopus.ca/band @brotheroctopus
Romance & Rebellion “Vanity Fair” – s/t EP http://www.romanceandrebellion.com @romanceandrebel
Sammy Eubanks “Stop That Grinnin’ ” – Sugar Me CD http://www.sammyeubankslive.com @sammyeubanks
Ryan Cassata “Hot Springs, Arkansas” – Shine CD http://www.ryancassata.com @ROCassatamusic
James Houlahan “See Me Through” – Multitudes CD http://www.jameshoulahan.com @jameshoulahan
Jim Andralis “Anastasia” – Your Dying Wish Come True CD http://www.jimandralis.com @jimandralis
Running time:  61 minutos
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Chirbit:   http://chirb.it/LD7Cbq
Opening music:
Ronstadt Generations Y Los Tusconenses “Annabelle” – Epilogue CD http://www.ronstadtgenerations.com @RonstadtGen
Aaron Nathans & Michael G. Ronstadt “I Stood Upon A Hill” http://www.aaronnathans.com @aaron_nathans
Michael G. Ronstadt “Mountains Of Japan” – Foolish Fox CD http://www.michaelronstadt.com @mgronstadt
******
Don Gallardo “The North Dakota Blues” – Hickory CD http://www.dongallardo.com @dongallardoband
Big Jon Atkinson & Bob Corritore “Mississippi Plow” – House Party at Big Jon’s CD http://www.bobcorritore.com http://www.bigjonandthenationals.com @BobCorritore
No Fuss and Feathers “Ordinary August Song” – Traveling Circus CD http://www.nofussandfeathers.com
Fred Gillen Jr. “Election Day” – Wage Love CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com @fredgillenjr
Scott Krokoff “The Right Place” – Realizations & Declarations CD http://www.scottkrokoff.com @scottkrokoff
Kevin So “Grateful” – Countryside CD http://www.kevinso.com @TweetKevinSo
Andrew McKnight & Beyond Borders “It Means A Lot” – One Virginia Night CD http://www.andrewmcknight.net
******
Mary Gauthier “Another Train” – Trouble & Love CD http://www.marygauthier.com @marygauthier_
Waybacks “Lowdown” – Loaded CD http://www.waybacks.com
Guy King “If The Washing Don’t Get You (The Rinsing Will)” – Truth CD http://www.guyking.net
Le Vent Du Nord “Amant Volage” – Tetu CD  www.leventdunord.com @leventdunord
Butchers Blind “Twisting In The Wind” – A Place In America EP http://www.butchersblind.com @butchersblind
Anthony Gomes “Red Handed Blues” – Electric Field Holler CD http://www.anthonygomes.com @anthonygomes
The Slants “Capture Me Burning” – Something Slanted This Way Comes CD http://www.theslants.com @theslants
*****
Elaine Amherd “Andromeda” – Skylines CD http://www.elianeperforms.com
Chappell & Dave Holt “Bohemian Moon” – Stone & Fire CD http://www.chappellanddaveholt.com @chappellanddave
Chris Smither “What They Say” – Hundred Dollar Valentine CD http://www.smither.com
Hurray For The Riff Raff “St. Roch Blues” – Small Town Heroes CD http://www.hurrayfortheriffraff.com @HFTRR
Mic The Prophet “Bones” – s/t CD http://www.mictheprophet.com @mictheprophet
Heather Pierson Acoustic Trio “What Else Can I Do?” – Still She Will Fly CD http://www.heatherpierson.com @heatherpierson
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Densum Chronos”
Running time: 179 minutes
Atmosphere:
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue