Tag Archives: Casey Holford

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo podcast episode 10/19/20


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo, in its 13th year online, airs biographical information and music of emerging songwriters and bands.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music : https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/rcbnew-101020
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2020/10/rcbnew101020-1.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue

NEW: Amazon Music: https://music.amazon.com/podcasts/a7049581-79d4-44dc-9d93-20a0f95fc0aa/Radio-Crystal-Blue
Ask Siri, or Alexa, to play Radio Crystal Blue.

This show, #490, was published on 10/10/20.

Opening music: New Order “Blue Monday” – The Best Of New Order
This was the original opening music to Novus Ordo, back in 2008

Kris Delmhorst “Hanging Garden” – Long Day In The Milky Way CD http://www.krisdelmhorst.com @krisdelmhorst
Kerry Patrick Clark “The Walls Came Tumbling Down” – What A Show CD http://www.kerrypatrickclark.com @KerryPClark
Jessica Smucker “When I Was The Weather” – Lucid Stories, Tentative Lies EP http://www.jessicasmucker.com @jessicasmucker
Sean Harrison “Psychedelic” – Halfway From Nashville CD http://www.seanharrisonsongs.com
Dianne Davidson “True Believer” – Perigon: Full Circle CD http://www.diannedavidson.com
Two Far Gone “Too Far Gone” – (s/t) Two Far Gone EP http://www.twofargonemusic @Two_Far_Gone
Bella White “The Hand Of Your Raising” – Just Like Leaving CD http://www.bellawhitemusic.com @bellawhitemusic
Mac McAnally “Changing Channels” – Once In A Lifetime CD http://www.macmcanally.com @macmcanally
Jean Mann “Feast Of Days” – (t/t) “Feast Of Days” CD http://www.jeanmann.net @jean_mann
Mary Ann Farley “A Problem For The Team” – (single) http://www.maryannfarley.com @maryannfarley


Running time: 61 minutos
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Dissent”

Host: Dan Herman
Co-Producer: DJ Flowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue


Radio Crystal Blue, in its 21st year online, is a freeform-oriented podcast that features music and news of both indie and established songwriters and bands.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
Radio Public: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/rcblive-101020
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2020/10/rcblive101020.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue

NEW: Amazon Music: https://music.amazon.com/podcasts/a7049581-79d4-44dc-9d93-20a0f95fc0aa/Radio-Crystal-Blue
Ask Siri, or Alexa, to play Radio Crystal Blue.

This show, #865, was published 10/19/2020. It begins the 21st year online!

Opening:
Excerpt from RCB show from 09/18/05
Amy Speace “Why Not Wyoming” – (single) http://www.amyspeace.com @RealAmySpeace
Girlyman “On The Air” – Little Star http://www.girlyman.com @girlyman
Neil Young & Pearl Jam “Song X” – Mirror Ball


This show is the first of 3, celebrating the show’s 20 year history. I aired a selection of tracks, that were released, year-by-year.

2001
Kris Delmhorst “Cluck Old Hen” – Five Stories http://www.krisdelmhorst.com @krisdelmhorst
JP Jones “Mole In The Ground” – Salvation Street
Kieran McGee “Streets Of Gold” – Ash Wednesday http://www.kieranmcgee.bandcamp.com
Josh Lederman y Los Diablos “The Northern Wind” – It’s A Long, Lonely Journey ‘Til The Train Will Take You Home


2002
Casey Holford “On The Map” – Bad Spell, Good Spell http://www.caseyholford.com @caseyholford
Kelly Buchanan “The Song You Wanted” – Match http://www.kellybuchanan.com
Bourbon Princess “Early Train” – Black Feather Wings http://www.moniqueortiz.bandcamp.com
Loaded Dreams “Elsa” – In It But Not Of It


CD FOCUS:
A recurring segment highlighting outstanding concept and compilation albums, track-for-track.
Bloodshot Records: “Pandemophenia” CD http://www.bloodshotrecords.com @bshq
This is a digital rarities compilation featuring limited-edition, never-before-released songs, b-sides, alternate versions, and acoustic tracks, as well
as covers. Pandemophenia is a, “…thank you to all the fans who have been so supportive during this challenging time. It is something positive to
enjoy and something for the artists to share with the world, while they’re grounded.”
From this album, I aired:
Ha Ha Tonka “Rendezvous”
Freakwater “Frayed & Bare”
The Yawpers “Ace Of Spades”
Scott H. Biram “Baby In A Well”
Rookie “Hold On Tight (Acoustic)”


2003
Denise Barbarita “15” – Beauty Lied http://www.myshytune.com http://www.monolisanyc.com @denisebarbarita
Patti Witten “Goin’ Back To Moline” – Sycamore Tryst http://www.pattiwitten.com
Bobby Stewart & The Contraires “Ran Out Of Lies” – (single) http://www.bobbystewartmusic.com
Betty Dylan “Flame” – (t/t) Flame http://www.facebook.com/thebandBettyDylan


2004
Excerpt from RCB show from 04/11/04
Commercial read for The C-Note, referencing a music venue I worked in and helped promote between 2002 and 2005.
Waybacks “JNPT” – Way Live http://www.waybacks.com @thewaybacks

Rachael Sage “One True Thing” – Ballads & Burlesque http://www.rachaelsage.com @rachaelsage
Kellylee Evans “Hooked” – Fight Or Flight http://www.kellyleeevans.com @kellyleeevans
Mark McKay “Nashville” – Shimmer http://www.markmckayband.com @markmckayband
Professor & Maryann “Roof Of The World” – Runaway Favorite


2005
Excerpt from RCB show, recorded 09/18/05
Karen Jacobsen “Not Enough” – Here In My Heart http://www.thegpsgirl.com @realkarenj

Tracy Jane Comer “Take Me To The Mountain” – Quietly There http://www.tracycomer.com @tracyjanecomer
Tom Russell “Border Lights” – Hotwalker http://www.tomrussell.com @thomasrussell
Los Hermanos Rodriguez “Odd Boy” s/t
Kilsy “Peculiar Star” – Bonita O!


CD FOCUS:
Rolling Stone: The Life & Death Of Brian Jones
Directed by Spanish filmmaker, Danny Garcia, for Dudeski/Chip Baker Films, this documentary explores the life, and early,
controversial death of the original frontman, for the Rolling Stones.
From the soundtrack accompanying this new film, I spun these:
The Proper Ornaments “1969”
Greg Stackhouse Prevost “Ain’t Nothin’ Here To Change My Mind”
Dick Taylor & The Red Squirls “Edith Groove”


2006
Excerpt from: RCB show, dated 04/09/06
Mike Brick “All Grown Up” – Straight Up Airport Boulevard
Liza & The Wonder Wheels “Clergy Man” – Meet The Animal

Lisa Biales “Where The Buckwheat Blooms” – Chasing Away The Blues http://www.lisabiales.com @lisabiales
Jack Grace “Cash” & “What I Drink & Who I Meet At The Track” – The Martini Cowboy http://www.jackgrace.com
Mark Erelli “The Only Way” – Hope and Other Casualties http://www.markerelli.com @markerelli
Emily Zuzik “Potential” – You Had Me At Goodbye http://www.emilyzuzik.com @emilyzuzik


2007
Sirsy “Revolution” – (t/t) Revolution http://www.sirsy.com @sirsy
Tim Blane “Me Being Me” – Clockwork http://www.timblane.net @timblane
Jeneen Terrana “New Book” – My Creation http://www.jeneenterrana.com @jenent
Lara Ewen & The Unstrung Orchestra “20 Years Ago” – Ghosts & Gasoline http://www.laraewen.net @laraewen


Running time: 4 hours, 45 minutos
Closing music: The Orb “O.O.B.E” – U.F.Orb


Host: Dan Herman
Co-producer: DJ Flowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software. Some content from the older shows was originally recorded in much lower audio quality, since cleaned up and upgraded.

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. This means this work must not be remixed, transformed, nor edited publicly, further upon its publishing, without express permission. Further, full credit must be given to me, (Dan/Radio Crystal Blue), when citing this work. Further still, none of this work is intended for commercial purposes. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Please listen and enjoy these shows responsibly. Hey, no content on any podcast is ever free from judgement, or suggestion, of offensive use. To that end, be assured that Radio Crystal Blue, despite any such content, does not intend to offend, or cause harm, to any party, or parties, with the distribution of these programs.

The Internet’s longest-running, adult alternative music station – established in the year 2000.
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue Reminisces 1/11/19 (show #1)


Radio Crystal Blue Reminisces is a new weekly program, that spotlights music of songwriters/bands, that I have previously featured. Covering a period between 2000 and 2014, I recreate old audio segments, and focus on artists that haven’t been aired in years.

All shows are free, to download/stream/share, on these platforms:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com (shows removed once a newer set is published)
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBR010719
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/01/rcbr010719.mp3
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

Show #1, was published on 1/11/19:

Opening music
Beastie Boys “The Blue Nun” & “Shambala” – Check Your Head
*****
Kieran McGee “Ash Wednesday” – Ash Wednesday CD http://www.facebook.com/kieranmatthewmcgee @kieranmcgeeee
Casey Holford “Climb The Walls” – Bad Spell, Good Spell CD http://www.facebookcom/CaseyHolfordMusic @caseyholford
Dominic Gaudious “Glo” – The Clearing CD http://www.dominicgaudious.com @DominicGaudious
Blue Haiku “R/Evolution” – Heat Beneath The Sand CD http://www.bluehaiku.com
*******

Denise Barbarita “What It’s Worth” – Chaos & Congeniality CD
Denise Barbarita “He Said She Said” – Beauty Lied CD
Denise Barbarita “Truth Telling” – A Beautiful Mess CD

http://www.myshytune.com @DeniseBarbarita

*******

Lightning Red “Five Long Years” – Texas Thunder Blues http://www.lightningred.com/thunder.htm
*****

Closing music: TJ Rehmi “You Are We Am I (Red Mix)” – The Warm Chill http://www.tjrehmi.com @tjrehmi

Running time: 84 minutos
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo week of 11/22/15


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

At the Internet Archive:
https://archive.org/details/RCBnew112215
mp3:

Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732

This show was published 11/27/15
Susie Glaze & The Hilonesome Band “This Old House” – Not That Kind Of Girl
CD http://www.susieglaze.com
J. Magee & The Crossed Lines “Wide World” – Blood In The Water CD
http://www.oddfellowmusic.com
Rick Street “I Had A Feeling” – Trials & Airs CD http://www.rickstreet.com
Project Grand Slam “Around The Horn”- Made in New York CD
http://www.projectgrandslam.com
Troy Petty “Unfinished” – Departure EP http://www.troypettymusic.com
Hilary James “Deep River Blues” – You Don’t Know CD http://www.hilaryjames.com
Lori Lieberman “Photograph” – Ready For The Storm CD http://www.lorilieberman.com
Michael Troy “Jesus On The Radio” – I Am American CD http://www.folkmichaeltroy.com
Running time: 63 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.

HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive112215_201512
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2015/11/rcblive1122151.mp3

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732

This show was published 11/30/15

Opening music:
MJ Hibbett “I Did A Gig In New York” – A Million Ukuleles CD http://www.mjhibbett.com
Lara Herscovitch “Turkey Over Tequila” – There CD http://www.laraherscovitch.com
George Winston “A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving” – Linus & Lucy: The Music Of Vince Guaraldi
***
Katie Garibaldi “White Roses” – Follow Your Heart CD http://www.katiegaribaldi.com
The Kurt Henry Band “Frost At Midnight” – From Our Religions We’ll Be Free CD http://www.kurthenry.com
Truckstop Honeymoon “Watching The Weather” – The Madness Of Happiness CD http://www.truckstophoneymoon.com
Delta Moon “Down In The Flood” – Low Down CD http://www.deltamoon.com
****
Butchers Blind “Dead Horses” – A Place In America CD http://www.butchersblind.com
Steel Wool “Muddy Water Rising” – All The Love In The World CD http://www.steelwoolband.com
Achilles Wheel “Village Foliage”- Stones & Sand CD http://www.achilleswheel.com
Tweed Funk “Time To Burn” – First Name Lucky CD http://www.tweedfunk.com

RCB FLASHBACK: Year-long feature where I spin whole segments of music I haven’t aired in years:
JP Jones “Mole In The Ground” – Salvation Street CD http://www.jpjones.net
Casey Holford “Window In The Wall” – 4 Spells EP
Leslie Ritter & Scott Petito “When The Night Spills” – Circles In Sand
__________________
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in
great concept or compilation albums.
GET TOGETHER: Banana Recalls Youngbloods Classics http://www.lowelllevinger.com
Lowell Levinger from The Youngbloods brings fresh takes to the 60’s
folk-rock band’s best-known songs.
From this special collector’s edition disc I spun “Euphoria” “On Sir Francis Drake” & “Eyes Eyes”

DARRYL HOLTER: Radio Songs: Woody Guthrie in Los Angeles 1937-39.
http://www.darrylholter.com
Sowing musical seeds before he was known as an activist as much as a poet,
Woody made many recordings for his own radio show on KFVD Los Angeles. These
songs are interpreted musically by Daryl and several notable songwriters as
guests.
From this CD I spun “Looking For That New Deal Now ” (featuring Ani DiFranco) & “Oklahoma Hills”
_______
Ronstadt Generations Y Los Tusconenses “Annabella” – Epilogue CD http://www.ronstadtgenerations.com
Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem “Heart Of The World” – Violets Are Blue CD http://www.raniarbo.com
Anne E. DeChant “Sunday Morning Drive” – The Sun Coming In CD http://www.anneedechant.com
Debbie Miller “It’s Been A Day” – Measures & Waits EP http://www.thedebbiemiller.com
________
Brooks Williams “Deep River Blues” – New Everything CD http://www.brookswilliams.com
Matt Harlan “Rearview Display” – Raven Hotel CD http://www.mattharlan.com
Mary Gauthier “Worthy” – Trouble & Lovev CD http://www.marygauthier.com
Slaid Cleaves “In The Rain” – Still Fighting The War CD http://www.slaidcleaves.com
_________
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Sol Aurora”

Running time: 170 minutes
Atmosphere:
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732