Tag Archives: Project Grand Slam

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo week of 11/22/15


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

At the Internet Archive:
https://archive.org/details/RCBnew112215
mp3:

Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732

This show was published 11/27/15
Susie Glaze & The Hilonesome Band “This Old House” – Not That Kind Of Girl
CD http://www.susieglaze.com
J. Magee & The Crossed Lines “Wide World” – Blood In The Water CD
http://www.oddfellowmusic.com
Rick Street “I Had A Feeling” – Trials & Airs CD http://www.rickstreet.com
Project Grand Slam “Around The Horn”- Made in New York CD
http://www.projectgrandslam.com
Troy Petty “Unfinished” – Departure EP http://www.troypettymusic.com
Hilary James “Deep River Blues” – You Don’t Know CD http://www.hilaryjames.com
Lori Lieberman “Photograph” – Ready For The Storm CD http://www.lorilieberman.com
Michael Troy “Jesus On The Radio” – I Am American CD http://www.folkmichaeltroy.com
Running time: 63 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.

HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive112215_201512
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2015/11/rcblive1122151.mp3

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732

This show was published 11/30/15

Opening music:
MJ Hibbett “I Did A Gig In New York” – A Million Ukuleles CD http://www.mjhibbett.com
Lara Herscovitch “Turkey Over Tequila” – There CD http://www.laraherscovitch.com
George Winston “A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving” – Linus & Lucy: The Music Of Vince Guaraldi
***
Katie Garibaldi “White Roses” – Follow Your Heart CD http://www.katiegaribaldi.com
The Kurt Henry Band “Frost At Midnight” – From Our Religions We’ll Be Free CD http://www.kurthenry.com
Truckstop Honeymoon “Watching The Weather” – The Madness Of Happiness CD http://www.truckstophoneymoon.com
Delta Moon “Down In The Flood” – Low Down CD http://www.deltamoon.com
****
Butchers Blind “Dead Horses” – A Place In America CD http://www.butchersblind.com
Steel Wool “Muddy Water Rising” – All The Love In The World CD http://www.steelwoolband.com
Achilles Wheel “Village Foliage”- Stones & Sand CD http://www.achilleswheel.com
Tweed Funk “Time To Burn” – First Name Lucky CD http://www.tweedfunk.com

RCB FLASHBACK: Year-long feature where I spin whole segments of music I haven’t aired in years:
JP Jones “Mole In The Ground” – Salvation Street CD http://www.jpjones.net
Casey Holford “Window In The Wall” – 4 Spells EP
Leslie Ritter & Scott Petito “When The Night Spills” – Circles In Sand
__________________
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in
great concept or compilation albums.
GET TOGETHER: Banana Recalls Youngbloods Classics http://www.lowelllevinger.com
Lowell Levinger from The Youngbloods brings fresh takes to the 60’s
folk-rock band’s best-known songs.
From this special collector’s edition disc I spun “Euphoria” “On Sir Francis Drake” & “Eyes Eyes”

DARRYL HOLTER: Radio Songs: Woody Guthrie in Los Angeles 1937-39.
http://www.darrylholter.com
Sowing musical seeds before he was known as an activist as much as a poet,
Woody made many recordings for his own radio show on KFVD Los Angeles. These
songs are interpreted musically by Daryl and several notable songwriters as
guests.
From this CD I spun “Looking For That New Deal Now ” (featuring Ani DiFranco) & “Oklahoma Hills”
_______
Ronstadt Generations Y Los Tusconenses “Annabella” – Epilogue CD http://www.ronstadtgenerations.com
Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem “Heart Of The World” – Violets Are Blue CD http://www.raniarbo.com
Anne E. DeChant “Sunday Morning Drive” – The Sun Coming In CD http://www.anneedechant.com
Debbie Miller “It’s Been A Day” – Measures & Waits EP http://www.thedebbiemiller.com
________
Brooks Williams “Deep River Blues” – New Everything CD http://www.brookswilliams.com
Matt Harlan “Rearview Display” – Raven Hotel CD http://www.mattharlan.com
Mary Gauthier “Worthy” – Trouble & Lovev CD http://www.marygauthier.com
Slaid Cleaves “In The Rain” – Still Fighting The War CD http://www.slaidcleaves.com
_________
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Sol Aurora”

Running time: 170 minutes
Atmosphere:
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732

Radio Crystal Blue 8/5/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Serge Entertainment Public Relations www.sergepr.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
*************************************************************************
HOW TO LISTEN:
Feed Player at my home page of www.radiocrystalblue.net It is active as a
popup window. Within the page you can stream/share/download the audio. You
can put the player up on your site or blog too.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

FEEDPLAYER LINK:
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group
http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
REVERBNATION: www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue
STAT BLOG: www.cblue456.tumblr.com
FANDALISM www.fandalism.com/radiocblue
****************
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about August 8 and will be available for
the rest of the year. It’s true. Even if you miss hearing a show the week I
record, you can always find it within the FeedPlayer’s archive of older
shows.
Owing to schedule demands, I usually publish on Wednesdays or as soon as
possible thereafter.
You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground
songwriters and bands.
RCB Novus Ordo will also air separately. On this show I spin one song from
8 songs in one sitting and give you background info of each artist.
*******************
On 7/31 Ariel Hyatt, founder of Ariel Publicity hosted her 6th Cyber PR Digital Press Conference. I was unable to attend this one. I had volunteered to interview several clients through Skype. Alas, something with my microphone and Skype did not jibe (the mic still works with my recording equipment tho). At a loss, it was decided that I’d send my prepared questions to those clients and Ariel would interview them. And so it was.

The interviews went very well, and the audio is preserved in my field recording FeedPlayer, also available with my standard FeedPlayer when you hear my shows. There is a different webpage devoted to this player: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalbluefield
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalbluefield/rss
Same stream/share/download options too!
The interviews were with NYC singer-songwriter Jenn Summers www.jennsummersmusic.com and CT songwriter Jesse Terry www.jesseterrymusic.com
A third interview was undertaken with another but the audio file was corrupted, as I understand.

I’ll be contributing further interviews with other Ariel Publicity clients over the next several months.
*************
WORK: I’m seeking a day job in the areas of support/admin/clerical/research,
within a 15 mile radius of Philadelphia. Contact me if you know of a job
that befits my requirements.
**************
TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: These are the last 5 folks that I’m following who follow back: @KnittingbyTwi @marmaladesky01 @PeteHerger @BlueSourNY @Carla_Baron
****************
COVERAGE:
I do audio interviews, photos, video, and audio of live events. You can see
and hear evidence across my Facebook and YouTube channels, plus the field
recording FeedPlayer.Time, location and expense will be taken into account
before taking on a job.

Right now here’s what I’ve planned to see and cover for you:
8/6: Levee Drivers (occasional RCB airplay receivers), Mat Burke (met at Tritone last year), Corporate Hearts (on bill with MXPX’s Mike Herrera last year)

and more at Silk City, just north of Center City
8/10: Shane Cooley & Rosa Wallace at Fenix Bar in the heart of Phoenixville, PA
8/18 is The Mont Clare Summer Jam in Mont Clare, PA, with acts such as
headliners Blue Coupe (members of Blue Oyster Cult & Alice Cooper), Low
Society, and regional acts like Kingsnake, The Watchmen, The Noid, and
others. My exact involvement is undetermined at this moment.
www.rocknrolltheworld.com for more.

RCB STATS from the last month:
My podium of countries accessing the site look like this:
Gold: USA (duh)
Silver: Canada (eh)
Bronze: Australia (huh?)
Most popular post is my review of the Grape Room show from 7/25
Top photo of the month is right here: https://radiocrystalblue.net/2012/07/11/the-grape-room-71012/dscf0133/
Thanks to www.redmolly.com www.maxseidman.com and www.musicsubmit.com for assisting in publicizing the good word of Radio Crystal Blue on their sites.

*********************
RCB REVIEW:
RCB Novus Ordo: I saw M’Balia in June at LOVE Park here in Philly. After her show, she gave me 2 new albums. You heard me spin one track from one of those albums. Also you’ll hear vintage rockabilly from Voodoo Swing and cool jazz from Project Grand Slam among the 8 songs I played on this edition.

RCB proper: Two of this week’s music segments were devoted to artists peforming at the Schwenksville Folk Festival. OK..it’s NOT that title. It’s the Philadelphia Folk Festival. But it’s not anywhere near the City That Loves You Back. Definitely needs a name change. Politics aside, some of the artists you’ll hear include Bovine Social Club (debuted on RCB Novus Ordo last month), HuDost, and Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer. Dave is far away and long gone, tho the release of their CD “little blue egg” arrives on both the anniversary of his death and his birthday month in short order. Segment 1: All you need are unique first names, preferably female, and you know the music. Eilen. Garrison, Anais. The quality doesn’t get any better. Not to be outdone, Megan Slankard kicks off the segment with a great driving song. Renee Wahl with a magnificent country song with all my favorite guitars in it. Segment 2 presents more new music from both Tall Tall Trees, and Professor Louie & The Crowmatix. Segment 3: Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem, along with The Sweetback Sisters are sharing billing at the Heath Fair in Heath, MA, 8/17. Danielle Miraglia and Katie Barbato are right here in Philly on 8/4. Jessi Robertson returns to performing, sharing billing with Lara Ewen at The American Folk Art Museum, in the Lincoln Square sector of Manhattan. This event is today. TODAY. Hurry up. There’s a compilation CD being released celebrating the music of those who have performed on their “Free Music Fridays” concert series. Segment 4: More new old country music from Karen Collins & The Backroads Band, along with Patricia Silverberg. Marianne Kesler also returned to performing this week in OH.

******************
AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:
Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
CDs MUST have a 2012 release date or have been released no earlier than
November 2011. No exceptions.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general email
list.

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit. I mean
it. Complete it.
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: www.musicsubmit.com.
Search for the words Radio Crystal Blue to find my pages there.
*********
Go to a live music event.
Be supportive.
Be informed.
Be irreverent.

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue on twitter
215 995 2234

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo show details 7/29/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/08/rcbnew072912.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 8/1/12

Jay Shepard “Last Man On Earth” – Harsh Mistress CD www.jayshepardmusic.com
M’Balia “Mother Of A Son” – Maybe CD www.mbalia.com
Voodoo Swing “Hittin’ On All Eight” – Keep On Rollin’ CD www.voodooswing.net
Project Grand Slam “Catch You Later” – Spring Dance CD www.projectgrandslam.com
Brian Lopez “El Pajaro y El Ciervo” – Ultra CD www.brianlopezmusic.com
Blue Coin “Devil to the Thespian” – the killing spree EP www.bluecoinmusic.com
Mark Cote “While The Clothes Go Round (The Laundry Song)” – Funhouse Of Your Mind CD www.markcote.com
Men Who Listen “As Far As We Can Go” – Men Who Listen 2 CD www.menwholisten.com
****************
Running time: 59 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/08/rcblive072912.mp3
This show was distributed on 8/1/12
Artists with shared gigs in the near future are noted with * & **
Opening music: Nigel Hayes “Solar Flare” – Tales From The Shed, Part III EP www.intelligentaudio.net
***************
*Megan Slankard “Soundtrack” – A Token Of The Wreckage CD www.meganslankard.com
*Natalia Zukerman “Howard Hughes” – Gas Station Roses CD www.nataliazukerman.com
Garrison Starr “When You’re Really Trying” – Amateur CD www.garrisonstarr.com
*Anais Mitchell “Shepherd” – Young Man In America CD www.anaismitchell.com
*Eilen Jewell “Long Road” – Queen Of The Minor Key CD www.eilenjewell.com
Renee Wahl “Around” – Cumberland Moonshine CD www.reneewahl.com
Peter Buzzelle “Gold Star Boulevard”- museum of CD www.peterbuzzelle.com

************

These artists are performing at the Philadelphia Folk Festival, 8/17-19 (Schwenksville, PA, NOT in Philly):
Spuyten Duyvil “One Fine Day” – New Amsterdam CD www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
Roosevelt Dime “Temperance” – Steamboat Soul CD www.rooseveltdimemusic.com
The StereoFidelics “Black Elephants” – Only Sleeping CD www.stereof.com
Bovine Social Club “Careful As You Go” – s/t CD www.bovinesocialclub.com
Gypsy Fuzz “Fortune Teller” – Searching, Finding, Living CD www.gypsyfuzz.com
HuDost “Trespasser” – Trapeze CD www.hudost.com
**********
Tall Tall Trees “Vacation” – moment CD www.talltalltrees.com
Yarn “When The Summer Ends” – Almost Home CD www.yarnmusic.net
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Moment In The Sun CD www.professorlouie.com
Rod Piazza & The All Mighty Flyers “Baby Don’t Go” – Almighty Dollar CD www.themightyflyers.com
BD Lenz “Brother, You Will Know” – Five & Live CD www.bdlenz.com
Song Dogs & The Nightjar “Wholly” – s/t CD www.songdogsandthenightjar.com
Automatic Children “Be Here Now” – New Is Beautiful CD www.automaticchildren.com
*************
*Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem “Fall River” – Some Bright Morning CD www.raniarbo.com
*The Sweetback Sisters “Home” – Looking For A Fight CD www.thesweetbacksisters.com
Debbie Miller “Much Longer” – Measures + Waits CD www.thedebbiemiller.com
*Danielle Miraglia “Loud Talker” – Box Of Troubles CD www.daniellem.com
*Katie Barbato “Alms” – The Millay Tapes CD www.katiebarbato.com
**Jessi Robertson “sun storm” – small town girls CD www.jessirobertson.com
**Lara Ewen & The Unstrung Orchestra “20 Years Ago” – Ghosts & Gasoline CD www.unstrungmusic.com
**************
More artists performing at the Philadelphia Folk Festival:
Shane Cooley “California Nights” – West Land CD www.shanecooleymusic.com
Mark Erelli “August” – little vigils CD www.markerelli.com
Brother Sun “Shine” – s/t CD www.brothersunmusic.comMarc 
Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer “hard to make it” – little blue egg CD www.daveandtracy.com www.tracygrammer.com
Avi Wisnia “Rabbit Hole” – Something New CD www.aviwisnia.com
************
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “On The Beltway” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD www.karencollins.net
Marc Black “I’ll Be Gone” – Sometimes A Spark CD www.marcblack.com
Aztec Two-Step “Living In America” – Cause & Effect CD www.aztectwostep.com
Alan Barrington “Circle Of Gold” – Looking For A Novel CD www.alanbarrington.com
Marianne Kesler “Poets Dream” – Pear In The Pink Thing CD www.mariannekesler.com
Patricia Silverberg “Hear My Song” – Don’t Look Back EP www.patriciasilverberg.com
Patti DeRosa “Storm In A Cold Room” – Packing My Bags: Patti D Live CD www.pattiderosa.com
********
Closing music: Chicha Libre “Sonido Amazonico” – Sonido Amazonico CD www.barbesrecords.com
Running time: 3 hours, 50 minutes.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 8/5/12

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
www.radiocrystalblue.net
www.facebook.com/radiocblue
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue