Tag Archives: Johnny Rawls

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 10/10/17


HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew101017
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/10/rcbnew101017.mp3
This show was published: 9/30/17

Robert Cline, Jr. “Mojo” – Amercan Mojo CD http://www.robertclinejr.com @robertclinejr
Rusty Young “My Friend” – Waitin’ For The Sun CD http://www.rustyyoungmusic.com @PocoRocks
Esoebo “Jubilee” – IV CD http://www.esoebo.com @ESOEBO
Micki Free “Tattoo Burn” – Tattoo Burn Redux CD http://www.mickifree.com @FreeMickiFree
Johnny Rawls “Turning Point” – Wating For The Train CD http://www.johnnyrawlsblues.com @johnnyrawlsblue
Tracksuit Wedding “Now Or Never” Now Or Never CD ww.tracksuitwedding.com @TracksuitW
Sean McConnell “Babylon” – Undone – Acoustic Recordings CD http://www.seanmcconnell.com @sean_mcconnell
Night Tree “Ships” – s/t CD http://www.nighttreemusic.com
*******

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Wind Chill”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 63 minutes
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee alternative http://www.teeccino.com

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

*******************

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 17th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/10/rcblive101017.mp3

Internet Archive:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
and on Stitcher via the RSS
http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue

This show was published: 9/30/2017

Opening:
Jack Kerouac excerpt from “October In The Railroad Earth”
Julee Cruise “The Nightingale” – Twin Peaks soundtrack
******
Roger Silverberg “So Many Reasons” – The Old Dog CD http://www.rogersilverberg.com
Michael Martin Murphey “Master’s Call” – High Stakes CD http://www.michaelmartinmurphey.com @Rocking3M
Matt Harlan & Rachel Jones “Move Slow” – In The Dark CD http://www.mattharlan.com @mattharlanmusic
Owen Danoff “By Your Side” – Love On Your Side CD http://www.owendanoff.com @owendanoff
Calico the Band “Roll Away The Stone” – Under Blue Skies CD http://www.calicotheband.com @calicotheband
Roslyn Moore “Deep Blue” – Tropic Of Cancer CD http://www.roslynmoore.com @Roslynxoxomoore
*******
Switchback “Rocky Mountain Express” – Kanoka CD http://www.waygoodmusic.com @Switchbackmusic
The Kurt Henry Band “Over The Mountain” – Flaming June CD http://www.kurthenry.com
Jon Langford “Half Way Home” – Four Lost Souls CD http://www.jonlangford.de
Anthony Gomes “Room 414” – Up 2 Zero CD http://www.anthonygomes.com @anthonygomes
The Yawpers “Room With A View” – Boy In A Well CD http://www.theyawpers.com @TheYawpers
Banditos “Fun All Night” – Visionland CD http://www.banditosband.com @banditosband
Sirsy “Revolution” – Live In Youngstown CD http://www.sirsy.com @SIRSY
***************
CD Focus:
Michael Johnathon – Evening Song CD http://www.michaeljohnathon.com
Kentucky-based folk songwriter, Michael Johnathon, releases his 13th studio album, “Evening Song”, the first national CD release, completely recorded on an iPhone. He is, both, educational and ecologically-minded, with his projects, one of which, includes WoodSongs (Front Porch Association), which organizes rural, and community music. He is active as an author, playwright, and radio host.
From this new album I aired: “Troubadour” and 2 bonus tracks: “Midnight Symphony/Benediction Suite” & “Empty Pillows”.
*****
Dave Murphy “Voice Inside Your Head” – American Beauty CD http://www.davemurphy.net
Joe Jencks “Best Of Friends” – Poets, Philosophers, Workers & Wanderers CD http://www.joejencks.com @joejencksmusic
Matt Turk “The Ballad Of Reuben” – Cold Revival CD http://www.turktunes.com @turktunes
Fred Gillen Jr. “Future Americans” – What She Said CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com @fredgillenjr
John Wort Hannam “Chasing The Song” – Love Lives On CD http://www.johnworthannam.com @johnworthannam
Scott Cook “Dogs And Kids” – Further Down The Line CD http://www.scottcook.net

********
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 2 hours, 37 minutos
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Atmosphere:

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.com

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

*****

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

**********

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 17 years on the Web
253 537 1096 or 215 995 2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
twitter: @radiocblue

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo week of 2/28/16


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 3/8/16
Bianca DeLeon “Stale Wine And Roses” – Love, Guns & Money CD http://www.biancamusic.com
Johnny Rawls “Keep It Loose” – Tiger In A Cage CD http://www.johnnyrawlsblues.com
Working Class Hussys “Whiter Shades Of Trash” – Diary Of A Blue Collar Cracker CD http://www.workingclasshussys.com
The Honest Heart Collective “149”  Liar’s Club CD http://www.honestheart.co
Alan Quinlan “Hollywood circa 1969” – Renegade Dog CD http://www.alanquinlanmusic.com
Blinds “Dana Sue Gray” – s/t CD http://www.blindstheband.com
Whistler’s Father “Johnnie Jack & Jim” – Highly Irregular CD http://www.whistlersfather.com
Honor Finnegan “Movie Star” – Roses & Victory CD http://www.honorfinnegan.com
Running time:   minutes
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 3/8/16
Opening music:
Orbital “Doctor?” – The Altogether CD
*****
Joyann Parker & Sweet Tea “Hit Me Like A Train” – On The Rocks CD http://www.joyannparker.com
Owen Danoff “I Wish I Knew Better” – Twelve Stories CD http://www.owendanoff.com
Camela Widad “Angels & Devils” – Warriors Of Love CD http://www.widadmusic.com
The Early Mays “Red Bud” –  s/t CD http://www.theearlymays.com
Jessi Robertson “Winter Coat” – I Came From The War CD http://www.jessirobertson.com
****
The Currys “West Of Here” – West Of Here CD http://www.thecurrysmusic.com
Screen Door Porch “Chasing Homsteader Blues” – Modern Settler CD http://www.screendoorporch.com
Tommy Z “Blizzard Of Blues” – Blizzard Of Blues CD http://www.tommyzband.com
Schwervon! “Sonic Daughter” – Broken Teeth CD http://www.schwervon.com
Builder Of The House “There Is No Hourglass, Only Sand” – Hourglass EP http://www.builderofthehouse.com
****
FLASHBACK segment focuses on artists and music I haven’t aired in at least
10 years:
Jan Seides “Where Is The Man?” – Slowly But Surely CD  http://www.janseides.com
Patti Witten “good thing it’s only in my mind – Sycamore Tryst CD http://www.pattiwitten.com
Kieran McGee “Odessa” s/t CD http://www.kcmgee.com
50 Cent Haircut “Great Turtle Alice” – brood or change CD
*******
Hurray For The Riff Raff “Blue Ridge Mountain” – Small Town Heroes CD http://www.hurrayfortheriffraff.com
Truckstop Honeymoon “Watching The Weather” – The Madness Of Happiness CD http://www.truckstophoneymoon.com
John McCutcheon “Mr. Block” – Joe Hill’s Last Will CD http://www.folkmusic.com
Heather Styka “Sugarcoat” – The Bittersweet Tapes CD http://www.heatherstyka.com
Ellie Fabe “Why Can’t It Be Love” – Devil May Care CD http://www.elliefabe.com
****
Matt Turk “Quiet Day” – Cold Revival CD http://www.turktunes.com
Robert Bruey “River Of Stars” – Carousel CD http://www.robertbruey.com
Sarah McQuaid “Low Winter Sun”  – Walking In White CD http://www.sarahmcquaid.com
Dan & Faith “Deep Cold Sea” – Seeking CD http://www.danandfaith.com
*****
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Sol Aurora” http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols
Running time: 159 minutos
Atmosphere: quiet westward
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 11/9/14 shows


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists
eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog. All shows
accessed via this player are archived for one year.
Via Internet Archive:
This show was published 11/18/14
The Brehms “Kitty Kat” & “When You’re With Me” – Summer Moon CD http://www.thebrehmsband.com
Otis Clay & Johnny Rawls – “Living on Borrowed Time” & “Turn Back The Hands Of Time” – Soul Brothers CD http://www.johnnyrawlsblues.com
Tapebenders “Oblivion” & “Nuclear Man” – s/t CD http://www.tapebenders.com
Dulcie Taylor “Like My Momma Loved Me” & “Love Let Go”- Only Worn One Time CD http://www.dulcietaylor.com
Camela Widad “Lighthouse” & “Warriors Of Love” – Warriors Of Love CD http://www.widadmusic.com
Running time: 65 minutos
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity software.
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my 14-year-old freeform radio program, publishing weekly in podcast format.  On October 1, 2014, this program turned 14.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog. Shows in this FeedPlayer are archived for a year.
Shows accessed via archive.org are always available.
This show was published 11/18/14
Opening music:
Bjork “Hidden Place” – Vespertine
The Orb “Once More” – Cydonia
+++
Suzie Brown “Don’t Know If I Dare” – Almost There CD http://www.suziebrownsongs.com
Jesse Terry “This Should Be Home” – Stay Here With Me CD http://www.jesseterrymusic.com
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “Too Much Me, Not Enough You” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD http://www.karencollins.net
The Moonshine “Hard Times” – And Now… CD http://www.themoonshinemusic.com
Shawn Amos “Sometimes I Wonder” – The Rev. Shawn Amos Tells It CD http://www.shawnamos.com
+++
These artists performed as some of the official and leading showcase participants at the annual NERFA weekend event in Kerhonkson NY
http://www.nerfa.org :
Disappear Fear “American Artist” – Broken Film CD http://www.disappearfear.com
Harpeth Rising “Eris” – Tales From Jackson Bridge CD http://www.harpethrising.com
Claudia Schmidt “Already” – New Whirled Order CD http://www.claudiaschmidt.com
Tim Grimm “The Canyon” – The Turning Point CD http://www.timgrimmmusic.com
Robert Bruey “River Of Stars” – Carousel CD http://www.robertbruey.com
Amanda Pearcy “Unbind” -Royal Street CD http://www.amandapearcy.com
Lou Dominguez “Weight Of The World” – We The People CD http://www.loudominguez.com
+++
Dylan Sneed “Climb This Wall” – Texodus CD http://www.dylansneed.com
The Currys “Inside Of You” – Follow CD http://www.thecurrysmusic.com
Geoff Hansplant & Dirt Track Racer “Twilight Train” – Kick Off Your Muddy Boots CD http://www.geoffhansplant.com
Antigone Rising “Get To You” – Whiskey & Wine Volume 1 CD http://www.antigonerising.com
Spanking Charlene “Sugar Love” – http://www.spankingcharlene.com
+++
CD FOCUS features top concept or compilation albums track-for-track.
Link Of Chain: A Songwriter’s Tribute To Chris Smither was released in
September by Signature Sounds, on the occasion of Chris’s 70th birthday.
This album contains covers of Smither songs by some of his peers and
This week I spun:
Jorma Kaukonen “Leave The Light On”
Aoife O’Donovan & Stephanie Coleman “Small Revelations”
Tim O’Brien “Origin Of Species”
The Grateful Dead: Wake Up To Find Out contains the contents of a concert
never before released on disc to the public. The concert took place on March
29, 1990, the 2nd of a 3-night stand at Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, NY.
Brandford Marsalis is credited as a special guest and plays on a majority of the songs.
 It was also was one of the last performances by keyboardist Brent Mydland.  http://www.dead.net
From this CD (disc 1 of 3) I spun  “Bird Song” & “Promised Land”
+++
Rod Picott “Dreams” – Hang Your Hopes On A Crooked Nail CD http://www.rodpicott.com
Troy Petty “Fairy Tale Pen” – Fairy Tale Pen CD http://www.troypettymusic.com
Jessie Kilguss “City Map” – Devastate Me CD http://www.jessiekilguss.com
Amelia White “Old Postcard” – Old Postcard CD http://www.ameliawhite.com
Ronstadt Generations y Los Tusconenses “I Know What I Know” – Epilogue CD http://www.ronstadtgenerations.com
+++
More artists performing major showcases at NERFA this prior weekend:
Scott Wolfson & Other Heroes “Stray Dogs” – Life On Fire CD http://www.scottwolfson.com
Matt Harlan “Old Allan Rd” – Raven Motel CD http://www.mattharlan.com
Libby Koch “Stakes” – Tennessee Colony CD http://www.libbykoch.com
Loretta Hagen “When My Years Are Stacked” – Mud and Stone CD http://www.lorettahagen.com
Beaucoup Blue “No Tea For The Fever” – 4 Stories EP http://www.beaucoupblue.com
Lara Herscovitch “Folsom Prison Blues” – Four Wise Wonkeys CD http://www.laraherscovitch.com
+++
Switchback “Holy Saints Of Ireland” – The Hibernian Mass CD http://www.waygoodmusic.com
Marci Geller “Thank You” – Open Book CD http://www.marcigeller.com
*Sloan Wainwright “Little Bit Right” – Upside Down and Under My Heart CD http://www.sloanwainwright.com
*Davey O “Ask  Yourself The Question” – No Passengers CD http://www.daveyo.com
Dan & Faith “Simple Grace” – Simple Grace CD http://www.danandfaith.com
Patti DeRosa “Stars Of Autumn” – Packing My Bags: Patti D Live CD http://www.pattiderosa.com
+++
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer” – http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols
Running time: 242 minutos
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity software.
Atmosphere: odelay
+++
Next show will NOT be published this week, owing to the relative lateness of this show’s delivery. I will publish one for next week, week of 11/23/14, instead.
Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, under these terms: non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
RCB FACEBOOK:
TWITTER @radiocblue
STAT TWITTER: @idealisticstats