Tag Archives: Karen Jacobsen

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo podcast episode 10/19/20


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo, in its 13th year online, airs biographical information and music of emerging songwriters and bands.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music : https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/rcbnew-101020
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2020/10/rcbnew101020-1.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue

NEW: Amazon Music: https://music.amazon.com/podcasts/a7049581-79d4-44dc-9d93-20a0f95fc0aa/Radio-Crystal-Blue
Ask Siri, or Alexa, to play Radio Crystal Blue.

This show, #490, was published on 10/10/20.

Opening music: New Order “Blue Monday” – The Best Of New Order
This was the original opening music to Novus Ordo, back in 2008

Kris Delmhorst “Hanging Garden” – Long Day In The Milky Way CD http://www.krisdelmhorst.com @krisdelmhorst
Kerry Patrick Clark “The Walls Came Tumbling Down” – What A Show CD http://www.kerrypatrickclark.com @KerryPClark
Jessica Smucker “When I Was The Weather” – Lucid Stories, Tentative Lies EP http://www.jessicasmucker.com @jessicasmucker
Sean Harrison “Psychedelic” – Halfway From Nashville CD http://www.seanharrisonsongs.com
Dianne Davidson “True Believer” – Perigon: Full Circle CD http://www.diannedavidson.com
Two Far Gone “Too Far Gone” – (s/t) Two Far Gone EP http://www.twofargonemusic @Two_Far_Gone
Bella White “The Hand Of Your Raising” – Just Like Leaving CD http://www.bellawhitemusic.com @bellawhitemusic
Mac McAnally “Changing Channels” – Once In A Lifetime CD http://www.macmcanally.com @macmcanally
Jean Mann “Feast Of Days” – (t/t) “Feast Of Days” CD http://www.jeanmann.net @jean_mann
Mary Ann Farley “A Problem For The Team” – (single) http://www.maryannfarley.com @maryannfarley


Running time: 61 minutos
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Dissent”

Host: Dan Herman
Co-Producer: DJ Flowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue


Radio Crystal Blue, in its 21st year online, is a freeform-oriented podcast that features music and news of both indie and established songwriters and bands.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
Radio Public: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/rcblive-101020
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2020/10/rcblive101020.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue

NEW: Amazon Music: https://music.amazon.com/podcasts/a7049581-79d4-44dc-9d93-20a0f95fc0aa/Radio-Crystal-Blue
Ask Siri, or Alexa, to play Radio Crystal Blue.

This show, #865, was published 10/19/2020. It begins the 21st year online!

Opening:
Excerpt from RCB show from 09/18/05
Amy Speace “Why Not Wyoming” – (single) http://www.amyspeace.com @RealAmySpeace
Girlyman “On The Air” – Little Star http://www.girlyman.com @girlyman
Neil Young & Pearl Jam “Song X” – Mirror Ball


This show is the first of 3, celebrating the show’s 20 year history. I aired a selection of tracks, that were released, year-by-year.

2001
Kris Delmhorst “Cluck Old Hen” – Five Stories http://www.krisdelmhorst.com @krisdelmhorst
JP Jones “Mole In The Ground” – Salvation Street
Kieran McGee “Streets Of Gold” – Ash Wednesday http://www.kieranmcgee.bandcamp.com
Josh Lederman y Los Diablos “The Northern Wind” – It’s A Long, Lonely Journey ‘Til The Train Will Take You Home


2002
Casey Holford “On The Map” – Bad Spell, Good Spell http://www.caseyholford.com @caseyholford
Kelly Buchanan “The Song You Wanted” – Match http://www.kellybuchanan.com
Bourbon Princess “Early Train” – Black Feather Wings http://www.moniqueortiz.bandcamp.com
Loaded Dreams “Elsa” – In It But Not Of It


CD FOCUS:
A recurring segment highlighting outstanding concept and compilation albums, track-for-track.
Bloodshot Records: “Pandemophenia” CD http://www.bloodshotrecords.com @bshq
This is a digital rarities compilation featuring limited-edition, never-before-released songs, b-sides, alternate versions, and acoustic tracks, as well
as covers. Pandemophenia is a, “…thank you to all the fans who have been so supportive during this challenging time. It is something positive to
enjoy and something for the artists to share with the world, while they’re grounded.”
From this album, I aired:
Ha Ha Tonka “Rendezvous”
Freakwater “Frayed & Bare”
The Yawpers “Ace Of Spades”
Scott H. Biram “Baby In A Well”
Rookie “Hold On Tight (Acoustic)”


2003
Denise Barbarita “15” – Beauty Lied http://www.myshytune.com http://www.monolisanyc.com @denisebarbarita
Patti Witten “Goin’ Back To Moline” – Sycamore Tryst http://www.pattiwitten.com
Bobby Stewart & The Contraires “Ran Out Of Lies” – (single) http://www.bobbystewartmusic.com
Betty Dylan “Flame” – (t/t) Flame http://www.facebook.com/thebandBettyDylan


2004
Excerpt from RCB show from 04/11/04
Commercial read for The C-Note, referencing a music venue I worked in and helped promote between 2002 and 2005.
Waybacks “JNPT” – Way Live http://www.waybacks.com @thewaybacks

Rachael Sage “One True Thing” – Ballads & Burlesque http://www.rachaelsage.com @rachaelsage
Kellylee Evans “Hooked” – Fight Or Flight http://www.kellyleeevans.com @kellyleeevans
Mark McKay “Nashville” – Shimmer http://www.markmckayband.com @markmckayband
Professor & Maryann “Roof Of The World” – Runaway Favorite


2005
Excerpt from RCB show, recorded 09/18/05
Karen Jacobsen “Not Enough” – Here In My Heart http://www.thegpsgirl.com @realkarenj

Tracy Jane Comer “Take Me To The Mountain” – Quietly There http://www.tracycomer.com @tracyjanecomer
Tom Russell “Border Lights” – Hotwalker http://www.tomrussell.com @thomasrussell
Los Hermanos Rodriguez “Odd Boy” s/t
Kilsy “Peculiar Star” – Bonita O!


CD FOCUS:
Rolling Stone: The Life & Death Of Brian Jones
Directed by Spanish filmmaker, Danny Garcia, for Dudeski/Chip Baker Films, this documentary explores the life, and early,
controversial death of the original frontman, for the Rolling Stones.
From the soundtrack accompanying this new film, I spun these:
The Proper Ornaments “1969”
Greg Stackhouse Prevost “Ain’t Nothin’ Here To Change My Mind”
Dick Taylor & The Red Squirls “Edith Groove”


2006
Excerpt from: RCB show, dated 04/09/06
Mike Brick “All Grown Up” – Straight Up Airport Boulevard
Liza & The Wonder Wheels “Clergy Man” – Meet The Animal

Lisa Biales “Where The Buckwheat Blooms” – Chasing Away The Blues http://www.lisabiales.com @lisabiales
Jack Grace “Cash” & “What I Drink & Who I Meet At The Track” – The Martini Cowboy http://www.jackgrace.com
Mark Erelli “The Only Way” – Hope and Other Casualties http://www.markerelli.com @markerelli
Emily Zuzik “Potential” – You Had Me At Goodbye http://www.emilyzuzik.com @emilyzuzik


2007
Sirsy “Revolution” – (t/t) Revolution http://www.sirsy.com @sirsy
Tim Blane “Me Being Me” – Clockwork http://www.timblane.net @timblane
Jeneen Terrana “New Book” – My Creation http://www.jeneenterrana.com @jenent
Lara Ewen & The Unstrung Orchestra “20 Years Ago” – Ghosts & Gasoline http://www.laraewen.net @laraewen


Running time: 4 hours, 45 minutos
Closing music: The Orb “O.O.B.E” – U.F.Orb


Host: Dan Herman
Co-producer: DJ Flowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software. Some content from the older shows was originally recorded in much lower audio quality, since cleaned up and upgraded.

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. This means this work must not be remixed, transformed, nor edited publicly, further upon its publishing, without express permission. Further, full credit must be given to me, (Dan/Radio Crystal Blue), when citing this work. Further still, none of this work is intended for commercial purposes. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Please listen and enjoy these shows responsibly. Hey, no content on any podcast is ever free from judgement, or suggestion, of offensive use. To that end, be assured that Radio Crystal Blue, despite any such content, does not intend to offend, or cause harm, to any party, or parties, with the distribution of these programs.

The Internet’s longest-running, adult alternative music station – established in the year 2000.
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

RCB Archive: September 18, 2005 show reintroduced


Hi everyone. Back we go in the time capsule to 2005.  I was finishing my tenure with a club called The C-Note, having run bi-monthly Monday evenings for 3 years.  That same month I had attended CBGB one last time to see veteran NYC punk and no wave  bands including the Dead Kennedys. From that show, and related stench, I felt a rededication to playing more music from indie and emerging artists, and much less of the major. I was finishing the 5th year of my radio program, which had begun to embrace podcast technology. The owner of the RSS would pull the plug within a year’s time, and I was able to latch onto Big Contact, who are the current RSS host.   I had a page of archival material at Lunarpages which is now no more.
During this particular edition, I recall having lost some battery power and had to use different external equipment…all when I did not own a mixer (that was from 2008 on). I still don’t know how I managed to do it but I did.  I had shared reviews online of shows I had booked with NYC Gigs, with whom I was employed by until 2011 upon my relocation.  I advertised the 169 Bar, which had since changed owners, and has become a Cajun-cuisine restaurant (how about crab mac for $8? Caviar for $35?). I also remember attending a show at Sidewalk Café the week prior and mentioning performers Lowry (backed by Sarah and Claire Bowman), and the mercurial Lach.  Also a show at The Bitter End involving touring trio Julie Loyd, Melineh Kurdian and Liz Clark.
I was also in the midst of my tenure at Live365, where I now had to report my airplay and also pay royalties for the first time.  I had built a following through that and also coloring the experience with more details in my YahooGroup (which still stands, btw: groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/radiocrystalblue)   Opening and closing music for a while were the pieces by TJ Rehmi, ‘chill’ music inspired by his roots in India.
I had styled every featured artists as “Gems”, a title I no longer use.  I also had a 2nd slightly lower title that allowed a smaller airplay feature called Future Stars. These pair of airplay segments would feed into my annual Airplay Vote. I wonder if I’ll resurrect that vote.
The forerunner of my now common RCB Novus Ordo was the New Music Sampler. I would simply air 4-8 songs in one segment, reciting bio of each artist alongside.  I used to do this during the big show itself.  Now it exists as its own show and properly so. One more reason why my shows often checked in at beyond 5 hours!
I cleaned up the audio the best as I could, considering the lower quality level. Because of my PC’s slow computing power, I could only broadcast in about 22 kbps, meaning you could hear the output at 11 kpbs which isn’t all that hot but at least there was a consistent signal. Most weeks, anyway.    Where possible, I have linked every songwriter and band to their most recent official website or place to be contacted.
Also among the highlights are the RCB debut of Jann Klose, Thea Gilmore, Sharon Goldman, and also music from the first recordings by The Mad Tea Party, Antje Duvekot and Amy Speace. There’s even Karen Jacobsen, known to millions as the Aussie voice of Siri.
Here’s how to listen:
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/rcb091805.mp3
Via the Internet Archive, with option s to download, stream and share http://archive.org/details/RCB091805
Or the Stitcher app (iPod, iPhone, Android)  stitcher.com
Opening music: T.J. Rehmi “You Are We Am I (Blue Mix)” – The Warm Chill CD https://www.facebook.com/tjRehmi
****
Christine Havrilla “Undone” – Ruby Red CD http://www.chrstinehavrilla.com
Sam Shaber “Without You Again” – Eighty Numbered Streets CD http://samshaber.bandcamp.com/
Julie Loyd “More Than I Meant To” – The Waiting Game CD https://www.facebook.com/pages/Julie-Loyd/31087949354
Vicki Blankenship “Blue On Black” – Horizons CD https://www.facebook.com/vicki.blankenship
Amy Speace “Why Not Wyoming” – CD single http://www.amyspeace.com
Girlyman “On The Air” – Little Star CD http://www.girlyman.com
B.D. Lenz “So Far So Good” – Tomorrow’s Too Late CD http://www.bdlenz.com
——
Sharon Goldman “Uncertainty” & “Change” – semi-broken heart CD  http://www.sharongoldmanmusic.com
Carrie Ashton “Even More” & “Everything In My Heart” – Modern-Day Gypsy CD http://www.reverbnation.com/carrieashtonmusic
Lach “Parade” & “Sixties Girl” – Today CD https://lach.bandcamp.com/
Ahmond “Halo 8” & “It’s Not Wasted” – Perfectly Flawed CD www.ahmond.com
Thea Gilmore “Lip Reading” – Songs From The Gutter CD “Lavender Cowgirl” – limited edition bonus CD http://www.theagilmore.net
Elisa Korenne “About” & “Favorite” – Favorite CD http://www.elisakorenne.com
—–
The Clarks “On Saturday” – Between Now And Then CD www.clarksonline.com
Arms Of Kismet “Clover” – Cutting Room Rug CD http://www.armsofkismet.com
Pale Beneath The Blue “Untitled” – Hologram CD www.http://www.pbtb.blogspot.com/
Stephanie’s id “anna!” – Spiral In CD http://sid.stephaniesid.com/
Black Flamingo “sometimes” – 5 Songz EP https://www.facebook.com/rew.starr
The MeMes “Better Than That” – Slow EP
Tiffany Petrossi “Groove” – Sweet Groove CD http://www.rockinmoms.com
—–
New Music Sampler:
Jann Klose “Black Box” – Black Box EP http://www.jannklose.com
The States “So Near” – Multiply Not Divide CD
Mojo Gurus “Linda Marie” – Shakin’ In The Barn CD http://www.mojogurus.com
Pillow Theory “The Numbness Phase CD – Outpatience CD www.pillowtheory.net
Jed Marum “Miles From Home” – Miles From Home CD http://www.jedmarum.com
Jon Dowling “The Second Time Around” – s/t EP http://www.jondowling.com
Dee Dee Bridgewater “Et Maintenant” – J’ai Deux Amors CD www.sovereignartists.com
Gary Paul Bryant “Last Night In Paris” – Imaginary Piano CD www.garypaulbryant.com
—–
Karen Jacobsen “Not Enough” & “London Town” – Here In My Heart CD http://thegpsgirl.com/
Ron Morris “The Atmosphere Here” & “bring on the blue” – Speak True CD http://www.allmusic.com/artist/ron-morris-mn0001290402
Roberta Chevrette “Every Wind” & “Your Name” – Miss America CD
Andi Rae Healy “These Sounds” & “In The Stars” – Rising CD www.andirae.com
Antje Duvekot “Dandelion” & “Anabelle” – Boys, Flowers, Miles CD www.antjeduvekot.com
——-
Mouse “Autumn Leaves Turning” – For The Dog EP
David L.K. Murphy “Prowler” – Home To You CD http://www.dlkm.com
Christie Leigh “I Gotta Resign” – Strange Life Story CD www.christieleigh.com
Jody Aaron “All I Wanted” – est. 1980 CD http://www.jodyaaron.com
Natasha Alexandra “Refuel” – In Your Face CD www.natashaalexandra.com
Fergus McCormick “I Saw Her On Monday” – Jumping the Gun CD http://www.allmusic.com/artist/fergus-mccormick-mn0000638084
Mad Tea Party “Where The Morning Glories Grow” – 73% Post-Consumer Novelty CD http://www.themadtea.com/
Transmitting “Moonscape” From The Inside CD http://www.janelecroy.com
—–
Closing music : T.J. Rehmi “You Are We Am I (Red Mix)” – The Warm Chill CD
Recorded in 11025 kHz on the Live365 Internet radio network, 9/18/05, since encoded to 44100 kHz.
Running time: 5 hours 32 minutes.
Thanks for listening!
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
253 537 1096 or 215 995 2234
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
facebook/twitter/clammr: radiocblue