Tag Archives: Liza and the Wonder Wheels

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo podcast episode 10/19/20


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo, in its 13th year online, airs biographical information and music of emerging songwriters and bands.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music : https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/rcbnew-101020
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2020/10/rcbnew101020-1.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue

NEW: Amazon Music: https://music.amazon.com/podcasts/a7049581-79d4-44dc-9d93-20a0f95fc0aa/Radio-Crystal-Blue
Ask Siri, or Alexa, to play Radio Crystal Blue.

This show, #490, was published on 10/10/20.

Opening music: New Order “Blue Monday” – The Best Of New Order
This was the original opening music to Novus Ordo, back in 2008

Kris Delmhorst “Hanging Garden” – Long Day In The Milky Way CD http://www.krisdelmhorst.com @krisdelmhorst
Kerry Patrick Clark “The Walls Came Tumbling Down” – What A Show CD http://www.kerrypatrickclark.com @KerryPClark
Jessica Smucker “When I Was The Weather” – Lucid Stories, Tentative Lies EP http://www.jessicasmucker.com @jessicasmucker
Sean Harrison “Psychedelic” – Halfway From Nashville CD http://www.seanharrisonsongs.com
Dianne Davidson “True Believer” – Perigon: Full Circle CD http://www.diannedavidson.com
Two Far Gone “Too Far Gone” – (s/t) Two Far Gone EP http://www.twofargonemusic @Two_Far_Gone
Bella White “The Hand Of Your Raising” – Just Like Leaving CD http://www.bellawhitemusic.com @bellawhitemusic
Mac McAnally “Changing Channels” – Once In A Lifetime CD http://www.macmcanally.com @macmcanally
Jean Mann “Feast Of Days” – (t/t) “Feast Of Days” CD http://www.jeanmann.net @jean_mann
Mary Ann Farley “A Problem For The Team” – (single) http://www.maryannfarley.com @maryannfarley


Running time: 61 minutos
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Dissent”

Host: Dan Herman
Co-Producer: DJ Flowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue


Radio Crystal Blue, in its 21st year online, is a freeform-oriented podcast that features music and news of both indie and established songwriters and bands.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
Radio Public: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/rcblive-101020
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2020/10/rcblive101020.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue

NEW: Amazon Music: https://music.amazon.com/podcasts/a7049581-79d4-44dc-9d93-20a0f95fc0aa/Radio-Crystal-Blue
Ask Siri, or Alexa, to play Radio Crystal Blue.

This show, #865, was published 10/19/2020. It begins the 21st year online!

Opening:
Excerpt from RCB show from 09/18/05
Amy Speace “Why Not Wyoming” – (single) http://www.amyspeace.com @RealAmySpeace
Girlyman “On The Air” – Little Star http://www.girlyman.com @girlyman
Neil Young & Pearl Jam “Song X” – Mirror Ball


This show is the first of 3, celebrating the show’s 20 year history. I aired a selection of tracks, that were released, year-by-year.

2001
Kris Delmhorst “Cluck Old Hen” – Five Stories http://www.krisdelmhorst.com @krisdelmhorst
JP Jones “Mole In The Ground” – Salvation Street
Kieran McGee “Streets Of Gold” – Ash Wednesday http://www.kieranmcgee.bandcamp.com
Josh Lederman y Los Diablos “The Northern Wind” – It’s A Long, Lonely Journey ‘Til The Train Will Take You Home


2002
Casey Holford “On The Map” – Bad Spell, Good Spell http://www.caseyholford.com @caseyholford
Kelly Buchanan “The Song You Wanted” – Match http://www.kellybuchanan.com
Bourbon Princess “Early Train” – Black Feather Wings http://www.moniqueortiz.bandcamp.com
Loaded Dreams “Elsa” – In It But Not Of It


CD FOCUS:
A recurring segment highlighting outstanding concept and compilation albums, track-for-track.
Bloodshot Records: “Pandemophenia” CD http://www.bloodshotrecords.com @bshq
This is a digital rarities compilation featuring limited-edition, never-before-released songs, b-sides, alternate versions, and acoustic tracks, as well
as covers. Pandemophenia is a, “…thank you to all the fans who have been so supportive during this challenging time. It is something positive to
enjoy and something for the artists to share with the world, while they’re grounded.”
From this album, I aired:
Ha Ha Tonka “Rendezvous”
Freakwater “Frayed & Bare”
The Yawpers “Ace Of Spades”
Scott H. Biram “Baby In A Well”
Rookie “Hold On Tight (Acoustic)”


2003
Denise Barbarita “15” – Beauty Lied http://www.myshytune.com http://www.monolisanyc.com @denisebarbarita
Patti Witten “Goin’ Back To Moline” – Sycamore Tryst http://www.pattiwitten.com
Bobby Stewart & The Contraires “Ran Out Of Lies” – (single) http://www.bobbystewartmusic.com
Betty Dylan “Flame” – (t/t) Flame http://www.facebook.com/thebandBettyDylan


2004
Excerpt from RCB show from 04/11/04
Commercial read for The C-Note, referencing a music venue I worked in and helped promote between 2002 and 2005.
Waybacks “JNPT” – Way Live http://www.waybacks.com @thewaybacks

Rachael Sage “One True Thing” – Ballads & Burlesque http://www.rachaelsage.com @rachaelsage
Kellylee Evans “Hooked” – Fight Or Flight http://www.kellyleeevans.com @kellyleeevans
Mark McKay “Nashville” – Shimmer http://www.markmckayband.com @markmckayband
Professor & Maryann “Roof Of The World” – Runaway Favorite


2005
Excerpt from RCB show, recorded 09/18/05
Karen Jacobsen “Not Enough” – Here In My Heart http://www.thegpsgirl.com @realkarenj

Tracy Jane Comer “Take Me To The Mountain” – Quietly There http://www.tracycomer.com @tracyjanecomer
Tom Russell “Border Lights” – Hotwalker http://www.tomrussell.com @thomasrussell
Los Hermanos Rodriguez “Odd Boy” s/t
Kilsy “Peculiar Star” – Bonita O!


CD FOCUS:
Rolling Stone: The Life & Death Of Brian Jones
Directed by Spanish filmmaker, Danny Garcia, for Dudeski/Chip Baker Films, this documentary explores the life, and early,
controversial death of the original frontman, for the Rolling Stones.
From the soundtrack accompanying this new film, I spun these:
The Proper Ornaments “1969”
Greg Stackhouse Prevost “Ain’t Nothin’ Here To Change My Mind”
Dick Taylor & The Red Squirls “Edith Groove”


2006
Excerpt from: RCB show, dated 04/09/06
Mike Brick “All Grown Up” – Straight Up Airport Boulevard
Liza & The Wonder Wheels “Clergy Man” – Meet The Animal

Lisa Biales “Where The Buckwheat Blooms” – Chasing Away The Blues http://www.lisabiales.com @lisabiales
Jack Grace “Cash” & “What I Drink & Who I Meet At The Track” – The Martini Cowboy http://www.jackgrace.com
Mark Erelli “The Only Way” – Hope and Other Casualties http://www.markerelli.com @markerelli
Emily Zuzik “Potential” – You Had Me At Goodbye http://www.emilyzuzik.com @emilyzuzik


2007
Sirsy “Revolution” – (t/t) Revolution http://www.sirsy.com @sirsy
Tim Blane “Me Being Me” – Clockwork http://www.timblane.net @timblane
Jeneen Terrana “New Book” – My Creation http://www.jeneenterrana.com @jenent
Lara Ewen & The Unstrung Orchestra “20 Years Ago” – Ghosts & Gasoline http://www.laraewen.net @laraewen


Running time: 4 hours, 45 minutos
Closing music: The Orb “O.O.B.E” – U.F.Orb


Host: Dan Herman
Co-producer: DJ Flowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software. Some content from the older shows was originally recorded in much lower audio quality, since cleaned up and upgraded.

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. This means this work must not be remixed, transformed, nor edited publicly, further upon its publishing, without express permission. Further, full credit must be given to me, (Dan/Radio Crystal Blue), when citing this work. Further still, none of this work is intended for commercial purposes. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Please listen and enjoy these shows responsibly. Hey, no content on any podcast is ever free from judgement, or suggestion, of offensive use. To that end, be assured that Radio Crystal Blue, despite any such content, does not intend to offend, or cause harm, to any party, or parties, with the distribution of these programs.

The Internet’s longest-running, adult alternative music station – established in the year 2000.
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue archived show from April 2006 available.


In the first such attempt to recreate a perpetual archive of older Radio Crystal Blue (pre-2012), I made the effort to find any shows I may have saved to disc. I did locate and edit and clean up audio of one show from a series of shows first broadcast on the Live365 Internet radio network.
The show you’re hearing is the 2nd show I ever used with my current podcast partner, Big Contact. The breakthrough at the time was the viral manner of accessing the show. You didn’t have to endure hearing the show on a separate network page; here you could listen with various devices and embed the player elsewhere.

I was also running my annual Airplay Vote, which still awarded not much more than more airplay for top vote-getters. One year, there were actual prizes courtesy of several supporters. I’ve not resurrected the vote since but I may revisit this in the future.
I had stylized a level of artists guaranteed to receive airplay, which I called “Gems”. I’ve since rescinded the elite level.

By late 2005, I was already feeling more and more influenced by the plight of indie artists and less about the major labels. This show in particular is thoroughly indie.

Some great artists are heard here (Shawn Mullins, Lesley Gore). Some were heard of more than once. Some have remained on my radar: (Patti DeRosa, Meredith Blis). Some, I wonder whatever happened to (Washington Social Club, Mike Brick).

Relive this memory anytime you wish. Here are the ways to listen:

Via Internet Archive:
Podcast page:
VBR M3U: https://archive.org/download/RCB040906/RCB040906_vbr.m3u
MP3 via M3U: https://archive.org/stream/RCB040906

Play/download: https://archive.org/download/RCB040906/RCB040906.mp3
Zipped file: https://archive.org/download/RCBlive111013/RCBlive111013_vbr_mp3.zip
Ogg Vorbis format also available.
You can share the audio player with the HTML code on the page.
This show is archived in perpetuity.

Opening music: Musicians Of The Nile “Salamat” – Charcoal Gypsies CD www.realworld.com
———–
Andrejack “For A While” – Inside Out CD http://www.andrejack.com
Ahmond “Halo 8” – Perfectly Flawed CD http://www.ahmond.com
Shawn Mullins “Solitaire” – 9th Ward Pickin’ Parlor CD www.shawnmullins.com
Soul’s Release “Forsaken” – through the feeling CD www.soulsrelease.com
John Taglieri “Now” – Now CD http://www.johntaglieri.com
Mike Brick “All Grown Up” – Straight Up Airport Boulevard CD
Liza & The Wonder Wheels “Clergy Man” – Meet The Animal CD www.lizasongs.com
———–
AIRPLAY VOTE 2006 REVIEW: Spotlighting some of the artists that are part of this year’s vote:

Mancino “Amity” & “Tina’s Little Joy” – Dear International CD
The Larch “Androids” & “Sweat Shop” – Prizes From The Groove Arcade CD http://www.thelarch.com
Meredith Blis “Smile My Blues Away” & “Mighty Aphrodite” – A Purple Kind Of Blue CD http://www.meredithblis.com
Miki Huber “New Haven” & “Blow Them Away” – Flutter CD www.mikihuber.com
MAKAR “I Hate My Job” & “The Country Song” – 99 Cent Dreams CD www.makarmusic.com
Loki The Grump “Shockingly Happy” – The Brink EP
————
The Violets “Cimarron” – s/t EP
The Boroughs “Gone Too Far” – Ostrich EP
Spottiswoode & His Enemies “Building A Road” – Building A Road CD www.spottiswoode.com
50 Cent Haircut “Fiction” – brood or change CD www.50centhaircut.com
Red Lotus “Unmerciful” – s/t EP
Spiraling “Ah, Sugar” – Challenging Stage CD http://www.spiraling.net
Washington Social Club “Are You High?” – catching looks CD
————-
CD Release: *SAM SHABER http://www.samshaber.com
From her new CD “in my bones” I spun “Japanese Tea Garden” & “If You Wonder Where I Go”
———–
New Music Sampler:
The Smiling Strangers “Tender Touch” – Spaces Graces And Smiling Faces CD http://www.thesmilingstrangers.com
The Destroyed “You” – Russian Roulette CD http://www.thedestroyed.com
Opening Axe “You Got Me Worried” – s/t EP
The Ropes “Not Technically Alone” – Kill Her Off EP
Gus Black “Trillion Things” – Autumn Days CD
The Real Be Easys “come the revolution” – s/t EP http://www.realbeeasys.com
Alice Bierhorst “Fire with Fire” – I Think It’s Finally Morning CD
John Leep “As A Rule” – Arrived CD
————-
AIRPLAY VOTE 2006 REVIEW continues:
Munkey Juice “Cob Web Mind” & “Hate Me, Love Me” – Fatty Arbuckle’s Coke Bottle CD
Particle Zoo “Pi In The Sky” & Blue Walrus” – Loneliness & Strangers CD http://www.pzoo.com
Hundred Year Flood “Kingdom Of Cold” & “Pour Over Me” – www.hundredyearflood.com
Anemo “Slowburn” & “Same Day Chore” – Slowburn CD http://www.anemo.co.uk
Carrie Ashton “Everything In My Heart” & “Blind” – Modern Day Gypsy CD
———-
Girlyman “Speechless” – Little Star CD http://www.girlyman.com
Kate Peterson “Loophole” – Undone CD
Abi Tapia “Lone Star” – One Foot Out The Door CD http://www.abitapia.com
Mudfunk “Into The Woods” – Live at the Grind CD
Tina Dico “My Mirror” – Into The Red CD http://www.tinadico.com
Lesley Gore “It’s Gone” – Ever Since CD http://www.lesleygore.com
Patti DeRosa “Choices” – Paradise CD http://www.pattiderosa.com
————
Closing music: Stellamara “Persephone” – the seven valleys CD www.stellamara.com

Original audio recorded in 11025 Hz, remixed into stereo and 44100 Hz.
This show was 5 minutes and 27 minutes in length, re-edited for clarity down to 5 hours 11 minutes. It originally aired on the Live365 Internet radio network.

All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 3.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue