Tag Archives: Nancy McCallion and the Scarlet Lettermen

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 6/30/17


HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/07/rcbnew063017.mp3

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew063017
Also available, via Mixcloud http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
and on Stitcher, via the RSS
http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue

*****
This show was published: 6/30/2017

New Model Army “Devil” – Winter CD http://www.newmodelarmy.org @officialnma
Climbing Trees “Lost” – Borders CD http://www.ilikeclimbingtrees.com @ClimbingTrees
Rayne “Subject A” – Complex by Design CD http://www.soundcloud.com/officialrayne @officialrayne
Years Before “Wearing Thin” – Hometown Zeros EP http://www.facebook.com/yearsbeforecle @Years_Before
Betty Moon “Sound” – http://www.bettymoon.com @bettymoonmusic
Lisa Heller “Hope” – http://www.lisaheller.com @lisahellermusic
Russell Lynch “Appalachian Home” – http://www.russelllynchmusic.com
Cubbage “The Author” – Where We Left Off EP http://www.cubbage.com @_cubbage_

*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Grand New Groove”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 53 minutos
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove

All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.com

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

*******************

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 17th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/07/rcblive063017.mp3

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive063017
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
and on Stitcher via the RSS
http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue

This show was published: 6/30/2017

Opening music:
“Weird Al” Yankovic “Albuquerque” – Running With Scissors
The Rugburns “Dick’s Automotive” – Mommy I’m Sorry
Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers “Roadrunner” – s/t
The Ramones “California Sun” – Leave Home
The Ramones “Havana Affair” – s/t
*******
Jess Novak Band “Inches From The Sun” – Inches From The Sun CD http://www.jessrocknovak.com @
Shantell Ogden “Truth About Trains” – The Road That Drives Me CD http://www.shantellogden.com @shansmusic
Abigail Dowd “Never That Far” – Don’t Wake Me CD http://www.abigaildowd.com @abigaildowd
Nancy McCallion & The Scarlet Lettermen “Sierra Madre” – Dancing Days CD http://www.nancymccallion.com @NancyMcCallion
Banditos “Lonely Boy” – Visionland CD http://www.banditosband.com @banditosband
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “Barbershop” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD http://www.karencollins.net
*******
Tom Principato “Bo Bo’s Groove” – Live and Still Kickin’! CD http://www.tomprincipato.com @
Crooked Eye Tommy “Come On In” – Butterflies & Snakes CD http://www.crookedeyetommy.com @TommyMarsh805
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “High Heel Sneakers” – Crowin’ The Blues CD http://www.professorlouie.com @ProfessorLouie1
Bloody Jug Band “Grab A Jug” – Rope Burn CD http://www.bloodyjugband.com @TheBJB
The Slambovian Circus Of Dreams “Rocket” – A Box Of Everything CD http://www.slambovia.com @Slambovia
Antigone Rising “Weed And Wine” – Whiskey & Wine Volume II EP http://www.antigonerising.com @antigonerising
Recess “Is It Fate” – Boundary Line EP http://www.recessbandofficial.com @RecessOfficial
*******
CD Focus: Dean Gitter & The Ute Mountain Gang http://www.utemountaingang.com
Coming through, and out of the folk music revival, of the 1950s and 60s, Dean has worked with many artists of the genre, both as producer, and performing artist. Dean had discovered, and briefly managed, the legendary Odetta. On this, his first album in many years, Dean explores the very roots of folk, and specifically the collection of songs, from poet Carl Sandburg’s compilation, “The American Songbag”.
The tracks I spun, from his new album, “American Songbag 2.0”, were: “I Ride an Old Paint”, “Tell ‘Ol Bill”, & “Go ‘Way from My Window”.
*****
The Captain’s Son “Burned Out Early” http://www.thecaptainsson.com @CaptainsSon
Larissa Tandy “All You Need to Know” – The Grip CD http://www.larissatandy.com @larissatandy
Eliane Amherd “Counting Grains of Sand” – Skylines CD http://www.elianeperforms.com
Kosi “Your Angel” – I Know Who I Am CD http://www.kosi-sings.com @KosiSings
Aerynn “If the Oceans Had No Edge” – Summer Leaves EP http://www.aerynnmusic.com @aerynnmusic
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Grand New Groove”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones (new link)
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 2 hours, 42 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Atmosphere: sundazed

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.com

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 16 years on the Web
253 537 1096 or 215 995 2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 5/2/17


HOW TO LISTEN

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/04/rcbnew0430171.mp3

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew043017
Also available via
Mixcloud
and on Stitcher via the RSS

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

This show was published 4/30/17

Miles Recommends “Darkness” – Extended Play EP http://www.milesrecommends.com
@milesrecommends
Ryan Chrys & The Rough Cuts “Kickin’ Dirt” – Shovel Full Of Coal CD
http://www.roughcutsband.com @RyanChrys
Neil Nathan “Song Of The Firefly” – Flowers On The Moon CD
http://www.neilnathan.com @TheNeilNathan
Hurricane Ruth “Good Stuff” – Ain’t Ready For The Grave CD
http://www.hurricaneruth.com @hurricane_ruth
Bridget Kearney “Nothing Does It” – Won’t Let You Down CD
http://www.bridgetkearney.com @bridgetkmusic
Greg Wickham “Clear” – If I Left This World CD http://www.gregwickhammusic.com
@gregwickhamkc
Davey O “Making Good Time” – A Bright Horizon Line CD http://www.daveyo.com
Donna Greenberg “Dance The Night Away” – Stuck On You CD
http://www.donnagreenberg.com @DonnaGreenberg
******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Densum Chronos”
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones , http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
@flowerdove2168

Running time: 66 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production : Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove

All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.com

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

*******************

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 17th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/04/rcblive043017.mp3

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive043017New2
Mixcloud: https://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue/
and on Stitcher via the RSS

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

This show was published 4/30/17
Opening music:
Afro Celt Sound System “Dark Moon High Tide” – Volume 1: Sound Magic
Geoffrey Armes “Body Wisdom” – Spirit Dwelling: Music For Yoga CD
http://www.geoffreyarmes.com @GeoffreyArmes
Deep Forest “Sound Lullaby” – s/t
Jah Wobble’s Invaders Of The Heart “Bomba” – Rising Above Bedlam
*****
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “Half Moon Shuffle” – Tail Light Blues CD
http://www.karencollins.net
Jess Novak Band “Climb The Stairs” – Inches From The Sun CD
http://www.jessrocknovak.com @JessRock87
Serenity Fisher & The Cardboard Hearts “Rose Red” – Carousel Of Love CD
http://www.serenityfisher.com @SFCHmusic
*****
These artists are part of the upcoming Tuscon Folk Festival:
Ronstadt Generations “Wagon Mound” – Lulo CD http://www.ronstadtgenerations.com
@RonstadtGen
Dan Weber “Do You Ride Horses” – What I’m Lookin’ For CD
http://www.danwebermusic.com @danwebermusic
Steven Graves “Take You For A Ride” – Captain Soul CD
http://www.stevengravesmusic.com @SGravesMusic
Nancy McCallion & The Scarlet Lettermen “Say Nothing” – Dancing Days CD
http://www.nancymccallion.com @NancyMcCallion
*****
CD FOCUS: An occasional series focusing on outstanding concept and
compilation albums, track-for-track.
JAMES TALLEY: Tryin’ Like The Devil, which Rolling Stone magazine declared
an American classic, was released 40 years ago on Capitol Records. A CD was
released this year to celebrate the reissue on James’ own Cimarron Records.
http://www.jamestalley.com
From this album I spun “Nothin’ But The Blues” & “You Can’t Ever Tell”
******
Miss Tess & The Talkbacks “Going Downtown” – Baby, We All Know CD
http://www.misstessmusic.com @MissTessMusic
Eilen Jewell “My Hometown” – Sundown Over Ghost Town CD http://www.eilenjewell.com
@eilenjewell
Michele D’Amour And The Love Dealers “Too Fine A Night” – Ante Up CD
http://www.reverbnation.com/micheledamourandthelovedealers @mmdamour
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Prisoner Of Your Sound” – Crowin’ The Blues
CD http://www.thecrowmatix.com @ProfessorLouie1
The Slambovian Circus Of Dreams “The Trans-Slambovian Bi-Polar Express” – A
Box Of Everything CD http://www.slambovia.com @Slambovia
Anthony Gomes “Room 414” http://www.anthonygomes.com @anthonygomes
Purusa “It’s Late” – Repair CD http://www.purusaband.com
********
CD FOCUS: Ian Anderson and Carducci String Quartet
Jethro Tull – The String Quartets CD
http://www.jethrotull.com @jethrotull
http://www.carducciquartet.com @CarducciQuartet
These renditions of Jethro Tull tunes, are performed in a classical format.
From this CD, I spun: “Only The Giving (Wond’ring Aloud)” “Loco (Locomotive
Breath)” & “Pass The Bottle (A Christmas Song)”
*********
Red Molly “1952 Vincent Black Lightning” – The Red Album CD http://www.redmolly.com
@redmollyband
Melissa Greener “Jackson” – Transister Corazon CD http://www.melissagreener.com
@melissagreener
Sarah McQuaid “Jackdaws Rising” – Walking Into White CD http://www.sarahmcquaid.com
@sarahmcquaid
*****
The following are official showcase participants at SERFA
http://www.folkalliance.org
Johnsmith “Sweetgrass” – The Longing Road CD http://www.johnsmithmusic.com
Scott Cook “If He Showed Up Now” – Further Down The Line CD
http://www.scottcook.net
The Levins “Laugh With Me” – Trust CD http://www.thelevinsmusic.com @TheLevins
Mare Wakefield & Nomad “The First Poet On The Moon” – Poet On The Moon CD
http://www.marewakefield.com @marewakefield
Ordinary Elephant “Washington Said East” – Before I Go CD
http://www.ordinaryelephant.net @ordinaryelephant
*****
Fred Gillen Jr. “Future American” – What She Said CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com
@fredgillenjr
Sarah Pierce “I Am The Daughter Of A Cowboy’s Wife” – Barbed Wire CD
http://www.sarahpierce.com @sarahpierceband
Carrie Elkin “My Brother Said” – The Penny Collector CD http://www.carrieelkin.com
@carrieelkin
Danny Schmidt “Girl With Lantern Eyes” – Owls CD http://www.dannyschmidt.com
@dannyschmidt
Raina Rose “Apostle” – Caldera CD http://www.rainarose.com @rainarose
The Blonde Bombers “Just The Whiskey” http://www.reverbnation.com/theblondebombers
@BombedAmbition
Mary Gauthier “Worthy” – Trouble & Love CD http://www.marygauthier.com
@marygauthier_
Cosy Sheridan “If I Were A Bird” – Sometimes I Feel Too Much CD
http://www.cosysheridan.com
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
@flowerdove2168

Running time: 3 hours, 43 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production : Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.com

All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 3/10/17


HOW TO LISTEN

Podomatic:
RSS feed:
Also available via
Chirbit:
and on Stitcher via the RSS
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 3/10/17
Lines West “New Religion” – The Ghost For You CD http://www.lineswest.com
@lineswestband
Nina Massara “Impossible To Resist” – Watch Me CD http://www.ninamassara.com
@NinaMassara
Deni Bonet “Perfect Storm” – Bright Shiny Objects CD
Andy Marino “The Morning Sun” – Everything’s Different CD
Ida Long “Rivers” – Rainbows & Tears CD http://www.idalong.se @ida_long
Nancy McCallion & The Scarlet Lettermen “Pride Over Dollars” – Dancing Days
Buzz Cason “Walkin’ ” – Passion CD http://www.buzzcason.com @BuzzCason
AJ Hobbs “Eastside” – Too Much Is Never Enough CD http://www.ajhobbsmusic.com
@ajhobbsmusic
April Martin “While I’m Waitin’ ” -In The Blink Of A Life CD
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Sol Aurora (Final Cut)”
Running time: 54 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production : Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
*******************
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 17th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Internet Archive:
Chirbit:
This show was published 3/11/17
Opening music: Iggy Pop “Caesar” – American Caesar
Capercaillie “Abu Chuibhl’ (Spinning Song)” – At The Heart Of It All CD
Kyle Carey “Sios Dhan An Abhainn (Down To The River) – North Star CD
Black 47 “Green Suede Shoes” – Live In New York City CD http://www.black47.com
@blackfortyseven
******
Catherine Maclellan “Winter Spring” – The Raven’s Son CD
Hungrytown “Any Forgotten Thing” – Any Forgotten Thing CD http://www.hungrytown.net
@hungrytown
Mark Erelli “Seasons Pass” – Hope & Other Casualties CD http://www.markerelli.com
@MarkErelli
**********
Spuyten Duyvil “Hot Time In The Old Town/Preaching On The Old Campground” –
The Social Music Hour, Volume 1 CD http://www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com @spuyduy
Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem “Yonder Come Day” – Wintersong CD http://www.raniarbo.com
Carl Solomon “Promised Land” – Promised Land CD http://www.carlsolomonmusic.com
@SolomonCrow
Justin Roth “Out Of The Blue (The Orchard)” – Now You Know CD
http://www.justinroth.com @JustinRothMusic
Jonathan Byrd “Slip Away” – You Can’t Outrun The Radio CD
Erika Kulnys “Angel On The Road” – Rise Up CD http://www.erikakulnys.com
@erikakulnys
Rebecca Loebe “Weeping Willow” – Blink CD http://www.rebeccaloebe.com @rebeccaloebe
Dan Weber “Waiting On A Star” – What I’m Lookin’ For CD
**********
Honor Finnegan “Stark As Stone” – Roses & Victory CD http://www.honorfinnegan.com
@HonorFinnegan
Johnsmith “Rainbird” – The Longing Road CD http://www.johnsmithmusic.com
******
Jess Novak Band “Please Join Me” – Inches From The Sun CD
Guy King “King Thing” – Truth CD http://www.guyking.net @GuyKingMusic
Ruby Dee & The Snakehandlers “Can  You Spare A Match?” – Little Black Heart
Antigone Rising “Weed & Wine” – Whiskey & Wine, Volume II CD
Bloody Jug Band “Dance With The Devil” – Rope Burn CD http://www.bloodyjugband.com
@TheBJB
Hector Ward & The Big Time “Hot Sauce” – Evolution: Live At The Saxon Pub CD
Sirsy “Revolution” – Live In Youngstown CD http://www.sirsy.com @SIRSY
********
Nerissa & Katryna Nields “Abington Sea Fair” – Sister Holler CD
The Burns Sisters “Father’s Blue Eyes” – Looking Back: Our American Irish
Souls CD http://www.theburnssisters.com @theburnssisters
Switchback “Holy Saints Of Ireland” – The Hibernian Mass CD
Sarah McQuaid “Where The Wind Decides To Blow” – Walking Into White CD
Elaine Romanelli “Song About The Trees” – Real Deal CD
Mary Gauthier “Walking Each Other Home” – Trouble & Love CD
Frank Martin Gilligan “Even If You See It Coming” – Silver Dollar CD
Mare Wakefield “My Ohio” – Poet On The Moon CD http://www.marewakefield.com
@marewakefield
Sarah Pierce “I Don’t Give My Heart” – Barbed Wire CD http://www.sarahpierce.com
@sarahpierceband
Cosy Sheridan “Your Old Age” – Sometimes I Feel Too Much CD
Rachel Efron “Anyway” – Angel No More EP http://www.rachelefron.com
***
Closing music:
Van Morrison “Into The Mystic” –  Moondance
Running time: 3 hours, 35 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production : Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue