Tag Archives: Happy Traum

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 4/20/18


HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew042018
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2018/04/rcbnew042018.mp3

NEW: Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”
NEW: Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
NEW: Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
NEW: Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
NEW: Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff

This show was published: 04/20/2018

David Robert King “Blue Wine” – Idaho CD http://www.davidrobertking.com @davidrobertking
J.J. Vicars “Downhome” – Irreverent Dissident CD http://www.jjvicars.com @jjvicars
Jared Rabin “Living For The Beginning” – Wondering About The Weather CD http://www.jaredrabin.com @JaredRabinMusic
Kathy and The Kilowatts “Black Nights” – Premonition Of Love CD http://www.kathymurrayandthekilowatts.com @KathyMurrayBluz
The Young Novelists “I Moved On” – In City & Country CD http://www.theyoungnovelists.com @young_novelists
Les Poules & Colin “Team B/Queen B” – Morose CD http://www.lespoulesacolin.com @lespoulesacolin
*****

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Wind Chill”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 46 minutos
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

*******************

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 18th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS : http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive042018
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2018/04/rcblive042018.mp3

NEW: Ask Siri to ‘play Radio Crystal Blue’
NEW: Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
NEW: Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
NEW: Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
NEW: Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff

This show was published on 04/20/2018

Opening:

Saint Etienne “Stoned To Say The Least” – Fox Base Alpha LP/ 1991 – Heavenly, Warner Bros. Records
Giorgio Moroder “The Chase” – Midnight Express: Music from the Original Motion Picture Soundtrack LP/ 1978 – Casablanca Records
Cusco “Pahrump – Big Water” – Apurimac III: Nature-Spirit-Pride LP / 1997 – Higher Octave Records
Emerson, Lake & Palmer “Lucky Man” – Emerson, Lake & Palmer LP / 1970 – Cotillion Records
Bob Dylan “All Along The Watchtower” – John Wesley Harding LP / 1968 – Columbia Records
Mel Torme “Comin’ Home Baby” – Comin’ Home, Baby! LP / 1962 – Atlantic Records
*****

Ellis Paul “UK Girl (Boston Calling)” – Chasing Beauty CD http://www.ellispaul.com @ellispaulsongs
Fred Gillen, Jr. “Alive” – What She Said CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com @fredgillenjr
Bruce T. Carroll “These Things Are Mine” – Ruckus And Romance CD http://www.brucetcarroll.com
Just Dave Band “Vinyl Record” – Rules To Live By CD http://www.justdaveband.com @JustDaveBand
The Kurt Henry Band “Same Jack” – Flaming June CD http://www.kurthenry.com
Jake Tavill “Why We Run” – Twisted Ideology CD http://www.jaketavill.com @JakeTavillMusic
*******

Switchback “Banshee Gumbo” – American Roots And Celtic Soul/Live, Vol. 1 CD http://www.waygoodmusic.com @Switchbackmusic
Eli Lev “Growing Up And Down” – All Roads East EP http://www.eli-lev.com @elilevmusic
Frank Viele “Ain’t It Funny” What’s His Name CD http://www.frankvielemusic.com
Jessie Kilguss “Red Moon” – Devastate Me CD http://www.jessiekilguss.com @Jessiekilguss
Mare Wakefield and Nomad “With Your Heartbeat” – Time To Fly CD http://www.marewakefield.com @marewakefield
Tony Mecca “Logic” – Hello, Goodbye & Everything In Between CD http://www.tonymeccamusic.com
The Cravens “Endless Heart” – On The Line CD http://www.facebook.com/thecravens
*********

M.J. Hibbett & The Validators “I Want To Find Out How It Ends” – Still Valid CD http://www.mjhibbett.com @MJHibbett
Frank Migliorelli & The Dirt Nappers “Rafferty Train” – Bass, Drums, Guitars and Organs CD http://www.frankmigliorelli.com @fmigliorelli
The Bloody Jug Band “Asylum Blues” – Rope Burn CD http://www.thebloodyjugband.com @TheBJB
Reverend Raven & the Chain Smokin Altar Boys “Slow Burn” – My Life (Twentieth Anniversary) CD http://www.reverendraven.com @rraven01
The Reverend Shawn Amos “2017” – Breaks It Down CD http://www.shawnamos.com @therevamos
Laurie Morvan Band “Gotta Dig Deep” – Gravity CD http://www.lauriemorvan.com @LaurieOnGuitar
Barrence Whitfield & The Soul Savages “Let’s Go To Mars” http://www.barrencewhitfieldsavages.com @BWAndTheSavages
Sugary Staple & Neville Staple “When You Call My Name” – http://www.originalrudeboy.co.uk http://www.sugarystaple.com @NevilleStaple @SugaryStaple
***********

These artists are appearing in MerleFest 4/26-29 http://www.merlefest.org

The Waybacks “Savannah” – Loaded CD http://www.waybacks.com @thewaybacks
Joe Jencks “I’m A Stranger In This Land” – The Forgotten (Recovered Treasures From The Pen Of Si Kahn) CD http://www.joejencks.com @joejencksmusic
Happy Traum “Jay Gould’s Daughter” – Just For The Love Of It CD http://www.happytraum.com @happytraum
Shinyribs “Red Quasar” – Okra Candy CD http://www.shinyribs.com @shinyribs
***********

Jonathan Byrd “A Big Truck Brought It” – You Can’t Outrun The Radio CD http://www.jonathanbyrd.com @jonathanbyrd
Peter Mulvey “It Can Get You By” – Are You Listening? CD http://www.petermulvey.com @PeterMulvey43
Monica Rizzio “Best I Can” – Washashore Cowgirl CD http://www.monicarizzio.com @MonicaRizzio
Kyle Carey “For Your Journey” – The Art Of Forgetting CD http://www.kyleannecarey.com @kyleannecarey
Harpeth Rising “Rollin’ To You” – Shifted CD http://www.harpethrising.com @harpethrising
Paul Littlewood “Today” – Today Television EP http://www.paullittlewood.com @Paul_Littlewood
*********

These artists are appearing in the Tuscon Folk Festival, 5/5/18 http://www.tusconfolkfest.org :

Nancy McCallion & The Scarlet Lettermen “Sierra Madre” – Dancing Days CD http://www.nancymccallion.com @NancyMcCallion
Steven Graves “Man From A Different Planet” – Captain Soul CD http://www.stevengraves.com @SGravesMusic
Dan Weber “Spinning My Wheels” – What I’m Looking For CD http://www.danwebermusic.com @danwebermusic
Mike Agranoff “Railroad Bill” – Or, Would You Rather Get A Job? CD http://www.mikeagranoff.com
*******

Debbie Miller “Out In Your Rain” – Live In An Empty Sea CD http://www.thedebbiemiller.com @TheDebbieMiller
Amanda Rose Riley “Live Music Makes All My Decisions” – Secrets I Told To A Sound Hole CD http://www.amandaroseriley.com @amandaroseriley
Vance Gilbert “‘Round Midnight” – Nearness Of You CD http://www.vancegilbert.com @vancegilbert
*****

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”

http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 3 hours, 55 minutos
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Atmosphere: interstate bloom

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 17 years on the Web
253 537 1096 or 215 995 2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
twitter: @radiocblue

 

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 2/14/16


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 2/21/16
The Riff Riders “Open Door” – Hit The Road CD http://www.theriffriders.com
The Dave Muskett Acoustic Blues Band “Take A Look At This” – Recorded Live At The Slippery Noodle Inn, 11/19/15 CD http://www.muskettmusic.com
Dennis Jones “Mr. Right” – Both Sides Of The Track CD http://www.dennisjonescentral.com
Rebecca Folsom “Colorado” – Extraordinary Days CD  http://www.rebeccafolsom.com
Teresa Topaz “Aquarians” – Reset Me CD http://www.teresatopaz.com
Minor Moon “All I Want” – A Whisper, A Shout CD
Bennett Jackson & The Ranch Hands “Another Stripe On The Tiger” – Day’s Market CD http://www.bennettjackson.com
Running time:   minutes
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 2/21/16
Opening music:
Amy Speace “Weight Of The World” – The Killer In Me CD
*****
Cedar Teeth “Fragrance Of Cool” – Hoot CD http://www.cedarteeth.com
Jeff Przech “No Matter Where You Go” – Sounds Like Fresh CD http://www.jeffprzech.com
Chase Gassaway “Where I’m Coming From” – Certain Circles CD http://www.chasegassaway.com
Don Gallardo “Midnight Sounds” – Hickory CD http://www.dongallardo.com
Kirsten Thien “The Sweet Lost & Found” – Solo Live at the Meisenfrei Blues Club CD http://www.kirstenthien.com
*****
These artists were part of official showcases at this year’s Folk Alliance International conference:  http://www.folkalliance.org
Darlingside “The God Of Loss” – Birds Say CD http://www.darlingside.com
Heather Maloney “Dandelion” – Making Me Break CD http://www.heathermaloney.com
Flagship Romance “Dandelion” – Fee Fi Fo Fum CD http://www.flagshipromance.com
Carrie Elkin & Danny Schmidt “Took It Like A Man” – For Keeps CD http://www.carrieelkin.com http://www.dannyschmidt.com
Catherine MacClellan “Winter Spring” – The Raven’s Son CD http://www.catherinemacclellan.com
Happy Traum “The Water Is Wide” – Just For The Love Of It CD http://www.happytraum.com
****
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Light In Your Eyes” – Music From Hurley Mountain CD http://www.thecrowmatix.com
The Golden Novak Band “Jileen” – Rodeo CD http://www.jessrocknovak.com
Purusa “Words” – Repair CD http://www.purusaband.com
The Late Saints “South Philly Blue” – Presto! In America CD http://www.thelatesaints.com
Hello Phones “Streetwave” –  http://www.hellophones.net
FLASHBACK segment returns in the next podcast
*****
More artists in official showcases at this year’s Folk Alliance International:
Si Kahn & The Looping Brothers “Sunday Evening” – Aragon Mill CD http://www.sikahn.com
Lowell Levinger “The Pool Hall Song” – Get Together: Banana Recalls Youngbloods Classics CD http://www.lowelllevinger.com
Miss Tess & The Talkbacks “Sorry You’re Sick” – The Love I Have For You CD http://www.misstessmusic.com
Parsonsfield “Strollin’ Down The Highway” – Afterparty CD http://www.parsonsfield.com
Curtis McMurtry “Foxhole” – Respectable Enemy CD http://www.curtismcmurtrymusic.com
Doug Adamz “Good To See You” – Doug Adamz Plays National Steel CD http://www.dougadamz.com
*******
Andrew McKnight “Surveillance” – One Virginia Night CD http://www.andrewmcknight.net
Aztec Two-Step “Better Watch Out (For The Rastafarians)” – Cause & Effect CD http://www.aztectwostep.com
Libby Koch “Strength” – Tennessee Colony CD http://www.libbykoch.com
Jenee Halstead “Sophia” – Edge Of The World EP http://www.jeneehalstead.com
Vance Gilbert “Mas Que Nada” – Nearness Of You CD http://www.vancegilbert.com
*****
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Sol Aurora”
Running time: 2 hours 57 minutes
Atmosphere:
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 11/1/15 podcast


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:  http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732
This show was published 11/9/15
Buddy Guy “Too Late” – Born To Play Guitar CD http://www.buddyguy.net
Evening Of Keys “Tacoma Rain” – Volume 1 CD http://www.mauriceoffishrecords.net
Anthony Geraci & The Boston Blues All-Stars “The Blues Never Sleeps” – Fifty Shades Of Blue CD http://www.anthonygeraciblue.com
Andy Santana & The West Coast Playboys “Take Me Back” – Watch Your Step! CD http://www.deltagroovemusic.com
Royal Punisher “Fugue State” – Bullets For Breakfast CD http://www.royalpunisher.com
Stubborn Son “Catch Me Runnin’ ” – Birthright CD http://www.stubbornsonmusic.com
Amy Soucy “This River” – This River CD http://www.amysoucymusic.com
Happy Traum “High Muddy Water” – Just For The Love Of It CD http://www.happytraum.com
Running time: 50 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity software.
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
mp3:
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732
This show was published 10/26/15
Opening music: The Orb with Lee “Scratch” Perry “Golden Clouds” – The  Orbserver In The Star House CD
***
Mary Jennings “Tectonic Plates” -Metamorphosis CD http://www.maryjennings.com
The Sidleys “The Breakdown” – Bittersweet CD http://www.thesidleys.com
Ellis Paul “Waiting On A Break” – Chasing Beauty CD http://www.ellispaul.com
Peter Mulvey “Back To The Wind’ – Silver Ladder CD http://www.petermulvey.com
____________
RCB FLASHBACK: Year-long feature where I spin whole segments of music I haven’t aired in years:
Dylan Nirvana “KT-88” – Pentagonal Flower EP http://www.dylannirvana.com
Holly Figueroa “How It Is” – How It Is CD
Professor & Maryann “Thick As Thieves” – Runaway Favorite CD
Gabrielle “All I Can Say” – Dreamtown CD
_______________
Butchers Blind “Honestly” – Destination Blues CD http://www.butchersblind.com
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Between Midnight & Two” – Soul Blues CD  http://www.thecrowmatix.com
Tweed Funk “Blues In My Soul” – First Name Lucky CD http://www.tweedfunk.com
Greye “Providence” – The Tube CD http://www.greyemusic.com
Changing Modes “Give Up The Ghost” – The Paradox Of Traveling Light CD
_________
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in
great concept or compilation albums.
GET TOGETHER: Banana Recalls Youngbloods Classics    http://www.lowelllevinger.com
Lowell Levinger from The Youngbloods brings fresh takes to the 60’s
folk-rock band’s best-known songs
From this special collector’s edition disc I spun “Grizzly Bear” “Supersonic Transport” & “Darkness Darkness”, the latter with Jesse Colin Young as lead vox.
DARRYL HOLTER:  Radio Songs: Woody Guthrie in Los Angeles 1937-39.
Sowing musical seeds before he was known as an activist as much as a poet, Woody made many recordings for his own radio show on KFVD Los Angeles. These songs are interpreted musically by Daryl and several notable songwriters as guests.
From this CD I spun “Do Re Mi”, and “Big City Ways” (oldest known Woody recording).
_______
Annalise Emerick “Deep In The West” – Field Notes CD http://www.annalieemerick.com
Chappell & Dave Holt “The Yuba River Song” – Stone & Fire CD http://www.chappellanddaveholt.com
Britt Connors “Fine” – Warmer Season CD http://www.brittconnors.com
Honor Finnegan “Content” – The Tiny Life CD http://www.honorfinnegan.com
_________
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer” http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols
Running time:  163 minutes
Atmosphere:
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacitysoftware.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue