Tag Archives: Grand Old Grizzly

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 9/30/18


HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew09301818thANNIVERSARYSHOW_201810
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2018/09/rcbnew093018.mp3
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

This show, #448, was published: 09/30/2018

Grand Old Grizzly “Papa Was A Radio” – Pure Country Pyrite CD http://www.grandoldgrizzly.com @GrandOldGrizzly
Raveis Kole “Dawn Breaks Through” – Electric Blue Dandelion – Nashville Sessions CD http://www.raveiskole.com @RaveisKole
Heathcote Hill “Oxford Depot Blue” – Everlasting EP http://www.heathcotehill.net @heathcote_hill
Tragedy Ann “Too Soon” – Matches CD http://www.tragedyannmusic.com @tragedyannmusic
Nic Swales “Once More ‘Round The Bend” – Worker CD http://www.nicswales.com @nicswalesmusic
***********

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Downtime”


http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 34 minutos
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

*******************

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 18th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive093018
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2018/10/rcblive093018_18th-anniversary-show.mp3
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

This show, #820, was published: 09/30/2018

Tom Russell – “Hotwalker” (Portion of “Harry Partch, Jack Kerouac, Lenny Bruce”) http://www.tomrussell.com @thomasrussell
Dan reads 2 passages, from Jack Kerouac’s “October In The Railroad Earth”
Rosie Flores “Boxcars” – Rockabilly Filly
Jefferson Airplane “Comin’ Back To Me” – Surrealistic Pillow
Peter Bradley Adams “She Has To Come Down” – from Esperanza: Songs from Jack Kerouac’s “Tristessa” http://www.peterbradleyadams.com @peterbadams
Neil Young & Pearl Jam “Song X” – Mirror Ball
*****
These artists performed during the Black Bear Americana Music Festival:
http://www.blackbearmusicfest.com

The Slambovian Circus Of Dreams “Sunday In The Rain” – A Box Of Everything CD http://www.slambovia.com @Slambovia
The Sweetback Sisters “One Day At A Time” – King Of Killing Time CD http://www.thesweetbacksisters.com @SweetbackDish
Jeff Przech & The Outfit “The Willows” – (s/t) CD http://www.jeffprzech.com @JPrzech
Goodnight Moonshine “Willow Tree” – (s/t) CD http://www.goodnightmoonshine.com @gnightmoonshine
Nerissa & Katryna Nields “We’ll Plant An Oak” – Sister Holler CD http://www.nields.com @NerKat
John Gorka “Night Into Day” – So Dark You See CD http://www.johngorka.com @johngorka
Vance Gilbert “For The Good Times” – Nearness Of You CD http://www.vancegilbert.com @vancegilbert
***********
Lynn Hollyfield “In The Balance” – (t/t) In The Balance CD http://www.lynnhollyfield.com @lynnhollyfield
Scott Sharrard “Faith To Arise” – Saving Grace CD http://www.scottsharrard.com @theSSband
Roger Silverberg “So Many Reasons” – The Old Dog CD http://www.rogersilverberg.com
Rebecca Loebe “Smoke Signals” – Blink CD http://www.rebeccaloebe.com @rebeccaloebe
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “Blindsided” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD http://www.karencollins.net
******

CD FOCUS:
King Of The Road: A Tribute To Roger Miller http://www.deanmillerentertainment.com @deanmillermusic
Roger’s son, Dean Miller, curates this all-star tribute, with legends of country-western music, and some of the genre’s top-selling stars. From this 2-CD collection, I aired:
“Mouth Noises” (banter),
“Ooh De Lally” – Eric Church http://www.ericchurch.com @ericchurch
“Engine, Engine, #9” – Emerson Hart (featuring Jon Randall) http://www.emersonhart.com @emersonhart
“When Two Worlds Collide” – Flatt Lonesome http://www.flattlonesome.com @flattlonesome
“Reincarnation” – Cake http://www.cakemusic.com @cakemusic
*********
The Nouveaux Honkies “The Glades” – Loud In Here CD http://www.tnhband.com @TNHBand
Shane Martin “Barmuda Triangle” – Keepin’ The Night Alive CD http://www.shanemartin.com @ShaneMartinBand
JJ Vicars “Deguello” – Irreverent Dissident CD http://www.jjvicars.com @jjvicars
Delta Moon “Louisiana Rain” – Babylon Is Falling CD http://www.deltamoon.com @deltamoon
Frank Bey “Take It Back To Georgia” – Back In Business CD http://www.nola-blue.com @FrankBey2
Flatland Tourists “Nashville TN” single http://www.flatlandtourists.com @FLTourists
Drift Mouth “West Virginia Hitchhiker” – LIttle Patch Of Sky CD http://www.driftmouth.com
Neville & Sugary Staple “Wrong Shoes” – Rude Rebels CD http://www.nevillestaple.com http://www.sugarystaple.com @nevillestaple @sugarystaple
****************
CD FOCUS:
Darol Anger, Emy Phelps & Friends – Music Of Our People (60s Album) Compilation CD http://www.darolanger.com @darolanger
Influential violinist/octave mandolinist, Darol Anger, teams up with frequent co-conspirator, guitarist Emy Phelps, for a series of favorite songs, of the 1960s. The guest artists on this
album help elevate it, from ‘cover album’ status, to a new statement on New Acoustic (or, simply Americana) music. Many of their favorite musicians, in the Northeast U.S., contributed
much, to these songs. Darol has done similar projects, during his time with Republic of Strings, and a prior folk album, of highly arranged material, (Heritage), with major-label guests.
From this CD, I aired: “Stone Soul Picnic”, “Killin’ The Blues”, & “The Tattler/I Think It’s Going To Work Out Fine”.
*********

The Chapin Sisters “Ferry Boat” – (t/t) Ferry Boat EP http://www.thechapinsisters.com @chapinsisters
Happy Traum “Deep Blue Sea” – Just For The Love Of It CD http://www.happytraum.com @happytraum
Sarah Pierce “Mackerel Sky” – Barbed Wire CD http://www.sarahpierce.com @sarahpierceband
Michael Martin Murphey “Campfire On The Road” – Cowboy Songs VII-High Stakes CD http://www.michaelmartinmurphey.com @Rocking3M
Lauren Adams “Great Rain” – Secret Heart CD http://www.laurenadams.com @LaurenAdams
Melissa Greener “With The Weather” – Transistor Corazón CD http://www.melissagreener.com @melissagreener
Sam Baker “The Sunken City Rises” – Land Of Doubt CD http://www.sambakermusic.com @SamBakerMusic
*******

Eliane Amherd “Gonna Get Up” – Skylines CD http://www.elianeperforms.com
Jake Tavill “Gold” – Twisted Ideology CD http://www.jaketavill.com @jaketavill
Danny O’Keefe “Help Me Up” – Light Leaves The West CD http://www.dannyokeefe.com
Joe Jencks “What Did You Learn?” – The Forgotton Recovered Treasures From The Pen Of Si Kahn CD http://www.joejencks.com @JoeJencksMusic
John McCutcheon “Big Day” – Ghost Light CD http://www.folkmusic.com @mccutcheonfolk
Chris Kemp White “If I Linger” – (s/t) EP http://www.chriskempwhite.com @chriskempwhite
*****

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”


http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 3 hours, 58 minutos
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
Atmosphere: birthday sprinkles

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 18 years on the Web
(253) 537-1096 or (215) 995-2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
twitter: @radiocblue

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo week of 9/6/15


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
Join and add radiocblue or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute
for the full show) If it’s not
available for your devices, please request the widget code to place on your
site or blog.
This show was published 9/14/15
D’Mar & Gill “Souvenir Of The Blues” – Take It Like That CD http://www.dmarandgill.com
Danielle Antonio “Freedom & Philosophy” – http://www.danielleantonio.com
Mindset X “War & Crime” – Oceans CD http://www.mindsetxband.com
Grand Old Grizzly “The Numbered Streets” – Cosmo Nada CD http://www.grandoldgrizzly.com
Dan McCormick “Modern Age” – Edge Of America Bound CD http://www.danmccormickmusic.com
Scott Krokoff “Walter Mitty” – Realizations & Declarations CD http://www.scottkrokoff.com
Running time:  minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 15th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com Join and add radiocblue or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not substitute
for the full show) If it’s not available for your devices, please request
the widget code to place on your site or blog.a
This show was published 9/14/15
Opening music:
The Doors “Bird Of Prey” – An American Prayer
Fatboy Slim “Sunset (Bird Of Prey)” – Halfway Between The Gutter And The Stars
Dick Dale “Caravan” – Tribal Thunder
Jimi Hendrix “Third Stone From The Sun” – Are You Experienced?
Miles Davis Quintet “Autumn Leaves”
Mazzy Star “Fade Into You” – So Tonight That I May See
_________
Chase Gassaway “The Ship” – Certain Circles CD http://www.chasegassaway.com
Clint Alphin “The Flood” – Postmodernman CD http://www.clintalphin.com
Hardin Burns “Gentle Rain” – Down The Deep Well CD http://www.hardinburns.com
Julia Massey & The Five-Finger Discount “Nuclear Disarmament” – ALITE CD http://www.juliamasseymusic.com
Kye Alfred Hillig “I’m Alive Because Of Nuclear Bombs” – The Buddhist CD
_________
These artists are taking part in the upcoming Americana Music Association Festival in Nashville:
Miss Tess & The Talkbacks “The Love I Have For You” – The Love I Have For You CD http://www.misstessmusic.com
Eilen Jewell “Pages” – Sundown Over Ghost Town CD http://www.eilenjewell.com
James McMurtry “Forgotten Coast” – Complicated Game CD http://www.jamesmcmurtry.com
Amy Speace “Trouble Looks Good On You” – That Kind Of Girl CD http://www.amyspeace.com
Mary Gauthier “Trouble And Love” – Trouble And Love CD http://www.marygauthier.com
Calico “Never Really Gone” – Rancho California CD http://www.calicotheband.com
_______
Phil Yates & The Affiliates “Burn It Down, Bernadette” – No Need To Beg CD http://www.philyates.com
Andy Hawk “I Never Thought To Ask” – American Vertigo CD http://www.andyhawk.com
Shawn Amos “Put Together” – The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You CD http://www.shawnamos.com
Deni Bonet “Loud” – It’s All Good CD http://www.denibonet.com
Revel 9 “Another Mistake” – The Razorblade Diaries EP http://www.revel9.com
_________
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in
great concept or compilation albums.
ROCK BACK FOR NEPAL, by Patetico Records in Philadelphia is a multi-volume
compilation that is raising money for The Nepal Disaster Relief Fund.
From Volume 2 I aired the following:
Psiconautus “Otro Amanecer”
Tape Runs Out “My Childhood Hands”
Last Remaining Pinnacle “Forces”
The Narentines “When Water Leaves Stains”
_________
The Keller Sisters “Hillbilly Blond” – Shine EP http://www.thekellersisters.com
Achilles Wheel “Village Foliage” – Stones To Sand CD http://www.achilleswheel.com
Danielle Miraglia “Coffee Stained Thank You Cards” – Glory Junkies CD http://www.daniellem.com
Davey O “Ask Yourself The Question” – No Passengers CD http://www.daveyo.com
Danny Schmidt “All The More To Wonder” – Owls CD http://www.dannyschmidt.com
Carrie Elkin & Danny Schmidt “Girl In The Woods” – For Keeps CD http://www.carrieelkin.com
_________
Carolann Solebello “Golden Boy” – Steel and Salt CD http://www.carolannsolebello.com
Brooks Williams “Prosperity” – New Everything CD http://www.brookswilliams.cm
Caroline Cotter “A Midnight Escape” – Dreaming As I Do CD http://www.carolinecotter.com
Concetta Abbate “Leaves” – Falling In Time: Pocket-Sized Songs CD http://www.concettaabbate.com
_________
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”
Running time: 220  minutes
Atmosphere: sunset salute
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot exist
without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook/Twitter/Clammr: radiocblue