Tag Archives: Abbie Gardner

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 2/10/18


HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew021018
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2018/02/rcbnew021018.mp3

This show was published: 02/10/2018

Voluptas Mors “Angel Of A Man” – Innocence CD http://www.voluptasmors.com @vmvoluptasmors
TC&I “Greatness (The Aspiriation Song) – Aspirations EP http://www.facebook.com/tcandimusic
Stav German “Open Your Eyes” – (single) http://www.stavocaldesign.com
Christine Rosander “Hard Habit” – Been A Long Time CD http://www.christinerosander.com @rosandermusic
Elin Namnieks “Got No Time” (single) http://www.elinnamnieks.com @ElinNamnieks
Talena Bricker “Drowning” – (t/t) Drowning EP http://www.talenabricker.com @talenabricker
*****

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Wind Chill”

http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168

http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones

http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove @flowerdove2168

Running time: 44 minutos
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee alternative http://www.teeccino.com

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

*******************

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 18th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS:http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
and on Stitcher via the RSS
http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive021018
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2018/02/rcblive021018.mp3

This show was published on 02/13/2018

Opening:

clip from Mystery Science Theater #302 (film: “Gamera”)
U2 “Satellite Of Love” – Achtung Baby (Deluxe Edition)
Coldplay “Don’t Panic” – Parachutes
Devo “Beautiful World” – New Traditionalists
Kraftwerk “Spacelab” – The Man-Machine (Kling Klang/EMI/Electrola Capitol, 1978)
*****

These are official showcase artists at the upcoming Folk Alliance International conference http://www.folkalliance.org :
John Oates & The Good Road Band “Pallet Soft and Low” – Arkansas CD http://www.johnoates.com @JohnOates
Kalo “Pay To Play” – Wild Change CD http://www.kaloband.com @KALOBlues
Parsonsfield “Lay Some Flowers On Me” – Afterparty CD http://www.parsonsfield.com @Parsonsfield
Eljuri “Mas Fuerte” – (s/t) Eljuri CD http://www.eljurimusic.com @Eljuri
Dar Williams “The Light And The Sea” – In The Time Of Gods CD http://www.darwilliams.com @DarWilliamsTour
Heather Maloney “Bullseye” – Just Enough Sun CD http://www.heathermaloney.com @heathermaloney_
Abbie Gardner “Starting From Scratch” – Wishes On A Neon Sign CD http://www.abbiegardner.com @abbiegmusic
*******
Serenity Fisher & The Cardboard Hearts “Fleur D’Vortex” – Carousel Of Love CD http://www.serenityfisher.com @SFCHmusic
Jessie Kilguss “Red Moon” – Devastate Me CD http://www.jessiekilguss.com @Jessiekilguss
Jonathan Byrd “Close Enough To Touch” – You Can’t Outrun The Radio CD http://www.jonathanbyrd.com @jonathanbyrd
Ruby Dee & The Snakehandlers “I See Green” – Little Black Heart CD http://www.rubydeemusic.com @rubydeemusic
Purusa “Words” – Repair CD http://www.purusaband.com
Bettie Serveert “Brain-Tag” – Bare Stripped Naked CD http://www.bettieserveert.com @bettieserveert
*********
The Bloody Jug Band “13 Steps” – Rope Burn CD http://www.bloodyjugband.com @TheBJB
Sarah Shook & The Disarmers “The Nail” – Sidelong CD http://www.disarmers.com @sarahshook
Jo Wymer “The Shoebox” – S.L.G. CD http://www.jowymer.com @jowymermusic
Anthony Gomes “Hard Line To Ride” – Long Way Home CD http://www.anthonygomes.com @AnthonyGomes
Kassiopeia “Silent Memories” – Cyclone CD http://www.kassiopeiamusic.com @kassiopeiamusic
Radio Wonderland “Good To Be Back In L.A.” – Seize The Means CD http://www.radowonderland.org @radiowonderland
*********
More artists performing at the Folk Alliance International conference:
Joe Purdy & Amber Rubarth “Townes” – American Folk (Original motion picture soundtrack) CD http://www.americanfolkmovie.com @JoePurdy @AmberRubarth
Ordinary Elephant “Before I Go” – (t/t) Before I Go CD http://www.ordinaryelephant.com @ordinarelephant
John Gorka “Utah”& “I Think Of You” – So Dark You See CD http://www.johngorka.com @johngorka
Anais Mitchell “Why We Build The Wall” Hadestown CD http://www.anaismitchell.com @anaismitchell
Victor & Penny “More In Store” – Electricity CD http://www.victorandpenny.com @victorandpenny
*******
Buskin & Batteau “Living on The Edge Of Dreams” – Red Shoes & Golden Hearts http://www.buskinandbatteau.com
Janie Barnett & Blue Room “You See This River” – You See This River CD http://www.janiebarnett.com @janiebarnettBR
Annie Moscow “Teflon Man” – Passing Trains CD http://www.anniemoscow.com @anniemoscow
Davey O “The Easy Work” – A Bright Horizon Line CD http://www.daveyo.com
The Brehms “Paint This House Black” – Summer Moon CD http://www.thebrehms.com @thebrehms
Lara Herscovitch “Another Gypsy Lifetime” – Misfit CD http://www.laraherscovitch.com @laraherscovitch
*****Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
http://www.facebook.com/loralouisejones
Twitter: @flowerdove2168Running time: 3 hours, 19 minutos
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Atmosphere: Go for launch. Will you go for launch? GO FOR LAUNCH!! WILL. YOU GO. FOR. LAUNCH??

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.comAll content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org*****

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

**********

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 17 years on the Web
253 537 1096 or 215 995 2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
twitter: @radiocblue

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue 1/29/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:

Ariel Publicity: http://www.arielpublicity.com

Miles High Productions http://www.mileshighproductions.com

Serge Entertainment Public Relations http://www.sergepr.com

Wampus Multimedia http://www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial. ************************************************************************* HOW TO LISTEN: Feed Player at my home page of http://www.radiocrystalblue.net It is active as a popup window. Within the page you can stream/share/download the audio. You can put the player up on your site or blg too.

If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your browser, try a different browser or go to http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu

This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player. RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss   I’m on iTunes and all those places as well.

CONTACT: EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net

personal FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue

RCB FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312 RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/

LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0

REVERBNATION: http://www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue

VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456 (updated)

TWITTER @radiocblue 804 followers

STAT BLOG: http://www.cblue456.tumblr.com ************************************************

NEXT SHOW: week of January 29, 2012. Look for a release date of January 30 or 31. You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground songwriters and bands, and also these:

CD FOCUS: VERMONT: VT Artists for VT Relief: http://www.mallettsbayrecords.com http://www.bluebirdpromotions.com

New Arrivals Volume 4: Artists Against Youth Homelessness http://www.mpressrecords.com I will spin 2 tracks each from these compilations. ********************************************************************************** Enjoying the new WordPress site so far? It’s getting more active tho not as interactive as I had hoped. I’ve replicated the site for the most part from the site on Google. I would like it to be more interactive tho! Maybe a new graphic theme? Let me know your feelings on this.

Birthday #42 comes up next week, and I likely will attempt to get my show done on Monday 1/30 instead of my customary Tuesday.

SHORTY AWARD voting continues into February. Give a creative Tweet as your vote for me in the radio category at http://shortyawards.com/radiocblue?category=radio

A part of my Brooklyn past is biting the dust. Southpaw is closing; the lease is up. The venue will be replaced by a tutoring school. I assisted in booking a few events there, and had the pleasure of seeing The Trashmen, Bettie Serveert, Jack Grace, Matt Mays & El Torpedo and a few dozen others over the years. And it had pinball! I will miss it terribly. I’m certain most bands that have played there will play Bell House or Public Assembly or the other notable hipsterish places. ************************************************* TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: @Celeb_Traffic @CavalierArtist @marshallsplace @bradyoder @johnseeger2 *****************************************************

@ KUNG FU NECKTIE 1/26/12 I review this event at my latest blog post at https://radiocrystalblue.net/2012/01/27/kung-fu-necktie-12612

PHOTOS: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151204985585725.801255.684570724&type=3&l=35c970ce26b AUDIO of Dare Dukes coming soon.

 

VIDEO: Dare Dukes: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3uXGHlD0PI Tonight I am seeing and interviewing Lorraine Leckie at Milkboy Coffee in Ardmore. http://www.lorraineleckie.com

I’ve also planned to see 2 artists in February. Details coming. **********************

COVERAGE (see above): I do audio interviews, photos, video, and audio of live events. You can see and hear evidence across my Facebook and YouTube channels, plus the field recording FeedPlayer.Time, location and expense will be taken into account before taking on a job. ******************************************************************** RCB REVIEW: First on RCB Novus Ordo: Q.E.D. is a roots band from Manitoba. Sonni Shine & The Underwater Sounds provide rock and reggae from here in Philly. Heather Styka is a renowned folk songwriter making her debut here also. Veteran songwriter Craig Bickhardt closes the show with a sweet tune recorded at the Sellersville Theater

On Radio Crystal Blue proper: Segment 1 started out with songs of climate, then some polarizing feelings. Dare Dukes just released ‘Thugs And China Dolls”. Randy Stern is back on my radar now and is busy with shows in his new home of Austin. Debbie Miller’s ‘tippy toe’ is a moody and cute song. Segment 2 got country along with some jazz and rock in this mix. Tania & The Revolutionaries is the new project by Lani Ford, who led her rock band Stark for 8 years. I spun “Longing For London” as she was jouneying there for writing and for gigs. Her new band shares a bill with Sean Kershaw & The New Jack Ramblers this week in a new venue in Brooklyn. The Devyl Nellys are about to release a new disc and are touring cross country with 2 other bands. Spun another from the BYOB disc by Sirsy. If you’re keeping score at home, (or, as the joke goes, if you’re by yourself), next week will be the final one that I spin music from New Arrivals, Volume 4. I’m up to the final 3 songs on the disc. I can absolutely vouch for the food at Veselka, a real life place that Greta Gertler & The Extroverts sing about. 4 pairs of artists sharing bills were featured in Segment 3. Spuyten Duyvil’s tune is a 12th and bonus track from “New Amsterdam”. Red Molly’s tune is a cowerite between Abbie Gardner and Jonathan Byrd. Sharon Goldman with a wintry tune; she covers Simon & Garfunkel’s “A Hazy Shade Of Winter” elsewhere on her album. Raina Rose is now mama Rose, and is sharing a bill shortly with Red Molly. Segment 4 with jazz and rootsy songwriter material. There’s never a bad time to spin a Benyaro tune in this sort of mix. Joe Iadanza doing a couple of solo gigs while also fronting his new band, James B. Dukehouse. Carsie Blanton releasee a new album this month.

AIRPLAY SUBMISSION: Send CDs to

Dan Herman

Radio Crystal Blue

1701 Snyder Avenue, #4

Philadelphia, PA 19145

 

CDs MUST have a 2012 release date or have been released no earlier than April 2011..

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit

SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue

MusicSUBMIT: http://www.musicsubmit.com.

(For those in Australia) GIG LAUNCH: http://www.giglaunch.com.au

All you have to do is a search on these sites for Radio Crystal Blue.

*********

namaste

Dan Herman

Radio Crystal Blue

http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu

cblue456@comcast.net

@radiocblue on twitter

215 995 2234