Tag Archives: The Rare Occasions

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 9/30/17


 

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew093017
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/10/rcbnew093017.mp3
This show was published: 9/30/17

Emily Mure “Welfare Island” – Worth CD http://www.emilymure.com @emilymure
The Flying Salvias “Not A Prayer” – The Nature Of Things CD http://www.flyingsalvias.com
Steel Wool “Electro Sheep Therapy” – Just Maybe CD http://www.steelwoolband.com
Aaron Nathans & Michael G. Ronstadt “Old Film” – Hang On For The Ride CD http://www.nathansandronstadt.com @aaron_nathans @mgronstadt
Ken Dunn “On My Merry Way” – Wondrous Beauty CD http://www.kendunnmusic.com @KenDunnMusic
Folkapotamus “Wayfaring Stranger” – Middle Of Nowhere CD http://www.folkapotamus.com @Folkapotamus

*******

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Densum Chronos”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 49 minutos, 49 secundos
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee alternative http://www.teeccino.com

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

*******************

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 17th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/10/rcblive093017.mp3

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive093017
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
and on Stitcher via the RSS
http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue

This show was published: 9/30/2017

Opening music:

“The Blue Nun” – Beastie Boys / Check Your Head (Label: Capitol, 1992)
“Song X” – Neil Young & Pearl Jam / Mirror Ball (Label: Reprise/Epic, 1995)
“It’s A Fine Day” – Opus III / Mind Fruit (Label: EastWest/PWL, 1992)
“Radio, Radio” – Elvis Costello / This Year’s Model (Label: Radar Records, 1978)
“Radio” – Sylvan Esso / What Now (Label: Loma Vista Recordings, 2017)
“Crystal” – New Order / Get Ready (Label: London, 2001)
“Blue” – Elastica / s/t (Label: Deceptive/Geffen, 1995)
******
Josi Davis “Calling” – t/t Calling CD http://www.josidavis.com @josidavismusic
Kevin So “Dreamin’ Bout Tomorrow” – Countryside CD http://www.kevinso.com @TweetKevinSo
Mark Erelli “Hourglass” – For A Song CD http://www.markerelli.com @MarkErelli
Jonathan Byrd “Slip Away” – You Can’t Outrun The Radio CD http://www.jonathanbyrd.com @jonathanbyrd
Peter Mulvey “Still Life” – Are You Listening CD http://www.petermulvey.com @PeterMulvey43
Dan Weber “I’m Comin’ Home” – What I’m Lookin’ For CD http://www.danwebermusic.com @danwebermusic
Heather Styka “Prodigal Child” – The Bittersweet Tapes CD http://www.heatherstyka.com @heatherstyka
*******
Sweetback Sisters “Don’t Worry” – Killing Time CD http://www.thesweetbacksisters.com @SweetbackDish
Achilles Wheel “Let It Ride” – Devil In The Yard CD http://www.achilleswheel.com @AchillesWheelCA
Dan Whitaker & The Shinebenders “Cole’s Boogie” – Anything You Wanted To CD http://www.danwhitaker.com @danwhitaker86
Tom Principato “Bo Bo’s Groove” – Live And Stil Kickin’ CD http://www.tomprincipato.com
The Rare Occasions “Halfheartedly” – Feelers EP http://www.therareoccasions.com @rareoccasions
Fire In The Field “Tomahawk” – War Bonnet EP http://www.fireinthefieldmusic.com @FireInTheField
Tenderhooks “Yolena” – North Star CD http://www.facebook.com/tenderhooks
***************
CD Focus:
Michael Johnathon – Evening Song CD http://www.michaeljohnathon.com
Kentucky-based folk songwriter, Michael Johnathon, releases his 13th studio album, “Evening Song”, the first national CD release, completely recorded on an iPhone. He is, both, educational and ecologically-minded, with his projects, one of which, includes WoodSongs (Front Porch Association), which organizes rural, and community music. He is active as an author, playwright, and radio host.
From this new album I aired: “Go Laddy Go”, “St. James Hotel”, and “Masters Of War”.
*****
Heather Pierson Trio “Take A Deep Breath And Smile” – Singin’ CD http://www.heatherpierson.com @HeatherPierson
Cosy Sheridan “If I Were A Bird” – Sometimes I Feel Too Much CD http://www.cosysheridan.com
Ordinary Elephant “Highway 71” – Before I Go CD http://www.ordinaryelephant.net @ordinarelephant
Tim Grimm And The Family Band “Hard Road” – A Stranger In This Time CD http://www.timgrimm.com
Hadley Kennary “Speak Fondly” – Momentum EP http://www.hadleykennary.com @hadleykennary
Abigail Dowd “Never That Far” – Don’t Wake Me CD http://www.abigaildowd.com @abigaildowd
********
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Wind Chill”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 3 hours, 4 minutos
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Atmosphere:

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.com

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

*****

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

**********

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 17 years on the Web
253 537 1096 or 215 995 2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
twitter: @radiocblue

 

 

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue 7/31/17


HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3:https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/08/rcbnew073117.mp3

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew073117
Also available, via Mixcloud http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
and on Stitcher, via the RSS
http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue

*****
This show was published: 7/31/2017
Shane Martin “Goodbye Never” – Keepin’ The Night Alive CD http://www.shanemartin.com @ShaneMartinBand
The Nickel Slots “Spare Change” – Five Miles Gone CD http://www.thenickelslotsmusic.com @thenickelslots
Shae “River” – Sleep Talk EP http://www.shaemusic.com @shaeshaetweets
Hellophones “By My Side”- The Light EP http://www.hellophones.net @hellophones
Adam Mitchell “Before I Forget” – Back When We Were Cool CD http://www.adammitchellmusic.com
Nick Moran “Lay Your Money Down” – Easier Time CD http://www.heynickmoran.com @heynickmoran
Jake Tavill “Why We Run” – Twisted Ideology CD http://www.jaketavill.com @jaketavillmusic
Loretta Hagen “Lucky Stars” – Lucky Stars CD http://www.lorettahagen.com @lorettahagen

*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Callisto”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 53 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove

All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee alternative http://www.teeccino.com

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

*******************

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 17th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/08/rcblive073117.mp3

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive073117
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
and on Stitcher via the RSS
http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue

This show was published: 7/31/2017

Opening music:
Geoffrey Armes “Off The Island” & “Sea Lanes” – Elemental Red CD http://www.geoffreyarmes.com
*******
Jesse Terry “Woken The Wildflowers” – Stargazer CD http://www.jesseterrymusic.com @jesseterrymusic
Amy Speace “Better Than This” – That Kind Of Girl CD http://www.amyspeace.com @RealAmySpeace
Flagship Romance “Amsterdam” – Fee Fie Foh Fum CD http://www.flagshipromance.com @FlagshipRomance
Truckstop Honeymoon “Australia” – Big Things and Little Things CD http://www.truckstophoneymoon.com @TruckstopHoney
Sara Petite “Road Less Traveled” – Road Less Traveled CD http://www.sarapetite.com @sweetpetitep
The Currys “West Of Here” – West Of Here CD http://www.thecurrysmusic.com @the_currys
Frank Migliorelli & The Dirt Nappers “Handful Of Rain” – Bass, Drums, Guitars & Organs CD http://www.frankmigliorelli.com @fmigliorelli
Garland Jeffreys “Venus” – 14 Steps To Harlem CD http://www.garlandjeffreys.com @garlandjeffreys
*******
Kirsten Maxwell “Crimson” – Crimson CD http://www.kirstenmaxwellmusic.com @Kmaxwellmusic
Monica Rizzio “Willie Nelson” – Washashore Cowgirl CD http://www.monicarizzio.com @MonicaRizzio
Alice Howe “Homeland Blues” – You’ve Been Away So Long EP http://www.alicehowe.com
Ordinary Elephant “Highway 71” – Before I Go CD http://www.ordinaryelephant.net @ordinarelephant
Annie Wenz “Life In Harlan” – Ride The Sky CD http://www.anniewenz.com
Brother Sun “Eclipse” – Weights & Wings CD http://www.brothersunmusic.com @brothersunnews
Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem “Heart Of The World” – Violets Are Blue CD http://www.raniarbo.com
The Slambovian Circus Of Dreams “Living With God” – A Box Of Everything CD http://www.slambovia.com @slambovia
***************
CD Focus: Dean Gitter & The Ute Mountain Gang http://www.utemountaingang.com
Coming through, and out of the folk music revival, of the 1950s and 60s, Dean has worked with many artists of the genre, both as producer, and performing artist. Dean had discovered, and briefly managed, the legendary Odetta. On this, his first album in many years, Dean explores the very roots of folk, and specifically the collection of songs, from poet Carl Sandburg’s compilation, “The American Songbag”.
The tracks I spun, from his new album “Carl Sandburg’s American Songbag 2.0″, were:”No More Booze” “Days Of ’49” & “Times Are Gettin’ Hard”
*****
Spuyten Duyvil “Reno Factory” – The Social Music Hour, Volume 1 CD http://www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com @spuyduy
Cubbage “Get Through This” – Where We Left Off EP http://www.cubbagemusic.com @_cubbage_
Jess Novak Band “Told You So” – Inches From The Sun CD http://www.jessrocknovak.com @JessRock87
Kalo “Smile & Blush” – Wild Change CD http://www.kaloband.com @kaloblues
The Rare Occasions “Halfheartedly” – Feelers EP http://www.therareoccasions.com @rareoccasions
*********
Darlingside “Blow The House Down” – Whipporwill EP http://www.darlingside.com @darlingside
Bloody Jug Band “Dorothy Gale” – Rope Burn CD http://www.bloodyjugband.com @TheBJB
Tall Tall Trees “Lost In Time” – Freedays CD http://www.talltalltrees.com @talltalltrees
Picture Atlantic “Something New” – Assouf CD http://www.pictureatlantic.com @PictureAtlantic
The Wedding Present “Fordland” – Going, Going CD http://www.scopitones.co.uk
********
CD Focus “Cuba! Cuba!” from Putumayo World Music http://www.putumayo.com
The latest offering from this renowned label presents artists playing classic and contemporary Cuban tunes.
From this new album I spun the following:
Septeto Nacional Ignacio Pineiro “Me Dieron la Clave” @SeptetoInternacional
Armando Garzon “Chan Chan”
*************
Fred Gillen Jr. “She Loved” – What She Said CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com @fredgillenjr
Tim Grimm & The Family Band “Hard Road” – A Stranger In This Time CD http://www.timgrimm.com
Matt Lande “Walking With Ghosts” – Boxes CD http://www.mattlandemusic.com @mattlande
Eliane Amherd “Gonna Get Up” – Skylines CD http://www.elianeperforms.com
Olivia Frances “Head To Toe” – Back To Happiness CD http://www.oliviafrancesmusic.com @ofrancesmusic
Shantell Ogden “Feels Good To Get It Right” – The Road That Drives Me CD http://www.shantellogden.com @shansmusic
Abigail Dowd “Some Divine” – Don’t Wake Me CD http://www.abigaildowd.com @abigaildowd
Mary Gauthier “Oh Soul” – Trouble & Love CD http://www.marygauthier.com @marygauthier_
Hungrytown “Further West” – Further West CD http://www.hungrytown.net @hungrytown
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Callisto”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 3 hours, 48 minutos
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Atmosphere: hot house

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.com

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

*****

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue