Tag Archives: Shinyribs

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo, week of 8/2/15


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com Join and add radiocblue or access below:
http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732     Clammr can be accessed via iPod,
iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute for the full show) If it’s not
available for your devices, please request the widget code to place on your
site or blog.
This show was published 8/10/15
Zeynep Ozbilen “The Places I Go” – Zee CD http://www.zeynepozbilen.com
Jenee Halstead “Edge Of The World” – Edge of the World CD http://www.jeneehalstead.com
Sinplus “Up To Me” – Up To Me CD http://www.sinplus.net
Chocolate Strings “Hot Tip” – s/t CD
Skittish “Regarding The Wolf” – Two Legs Bad CD http://www.iamskittish.com
Val Blaha “August” – Water, Ashes & Wood CD http://www.valblaha.com
Running time: 56  minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist
without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook/Twitter/Clammr: radiocblue
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 15th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
NEW: Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com Join and add radiocblue or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute
for the full show) If it’s not available for your devices, please request
the widget code to place on your site or blog.
This show was published 8/10/15
Opening music:
Jack Nitschze “The Last Race”
Elastica “Car Song” – s/t
Dick Dale “The Victor”
Thee Headcoats “Girl From’62”
Los Straitjackets “Challenger ’64”
___
These are being showcased at the upcoming Rocky Mountain Folks Festival,
Lyons CO, 8/10-8/16:
Mary Gauthier “Worthy” – Trouble & Love CD http://www.marygauthier.com
RJ Cowdery “For The Long Ride” – In This Light CD http://www.rjcowdery.com
Ellis “Right Now” – Right On Time CD http://www.ellis-music.com
Heather Maloney “Oh Hope My Tired Friend” – Making Me Break CD
Amy Speace “Come Pick Me Up” – That Kind Of Girl CD http://www.amyspeace.com
Vance Gilbert “I’ll Buy You A Star” – Nearness Of You CD
___
Herbie D & The Dangermen “Franklin County Shine” – Dangerous dWith Blues CD
Tom Principato “Run Out Of Time” – Robert Johnson Told Me So CD
Eilen Jewell “Down The Road” – Sundown Over Ghost Town CD
Shinyribs “Bolshevik Sugarcane” – Gulf Coast Museum CD http://www.shinyribs.org
Bern & The Brights “Slave Driver” – Work CD http://www.bernandthebrights.com
___
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in
great concept or compilation albums.
ROCK BACK FOR NEPAL, by Patetico Records in Philadelphia is a multi-volume
compilation that is raising money for The Nepal Disaster Relief Fund.
From volume 1 I aired the following:
SPE ECO : “Ray Of Sun”
Lights That Change “Toxic”   http://www.lightsthatchange.co.uk
A Place To Bury Strangers”Now It’s Over”  http://www.aplacetoburystrangers.com
Ummagma “Risky” http://www.ummagma.com
____
Annalise Emerick “Deep In The West” – Field Notes CD http://www.annaliseemerick.com
Heather Kropf “Mile Marker” – Chrysalis CD http://www.heatherkropf.com
Flo Anito “Afghanagain” –  No Dustbunnies CD http://www.floanito.com
Mike Wojniak “Oak Tree” – Anima Mundi EP http://www.mikewojniak.com
Andy Hawk & The Train Wreck Endings “Chasing The Sun” – American Vertigo
___
Jean Mann “Seedlings” – Between The Rocks And Stars CD http://www.jeanmann.net
Raina Rose “Swing Wide The Gates” – Caldera CD http://www.rainarose.com
Daniel Christian “Yesterday’s Voices” – Familiar Ground EP
Heather Pierson Acoustic Trio “What Else Can I Do” – Still She Will Fly EP
Sharon Glassman “Mulligan Waltz” – Blame It On Hoboken, Volume 2 EP
Craig Sonnenfeld “Gautana” – Return To Shore CD http://www.craigsonnenfeld.com
___
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”
Running time:  193 minutes
Atmosphere: western roots
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot exist
without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook/Twitter/Clammr: radiocblue
Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 3/29/15 show


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new
music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists
eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and
download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
All shows accessed via this player are archived for one year.
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Stitcher (iPhone, iPod, Android):
NEW: Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this weeks’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com   Join and add radiocblue  or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute
for the full show)  If it’s not available for your devices, please request the widget
code to place on your site or blog.
This show was published 4/2/15
Liz Longley “Bad Habit” – s/t CD www.lizlongley.com
Amy Speace “Hymn For The Crossing” – That Kind Of Girl CD www.amyspeace.com
Sasha’s Bloc “Anything Is Possible” – Heart On Fire CD www.sashasbloc.com
Jon Spear Band “The Second Mouse Gets The Cheese” – Old Soul CD www.jonspearband.com
Breezy Rodio “I Win Some More” – So Close To It CD www.breezyrodio.com
Ray Goren “Save My Soul” – Save My Soul CD www.raygoren.com
***
Running time:  51 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 15th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and
download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
All shows accessed via this player are archived for one year.
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Stitcher (iPhone, iPod, Android):
NEW: Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via
Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com   Join and add radiocblue  or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute
for the full show)  If it’s not available for your devices, please request
the widget code to place on your site or blog.
This show was published 4/2/15
Opening music:
Roxy Music “Re-Make/Re-Model” – s/t
Martha & The Muffins “Revenge (Against The World)” – Metro Music CD
Velvet Underground “We’re Gonna Have A Real Good Time Together” – Another View
Ramones “Real Good Time” – Halfway To Sanity CD
Ramones “Bad Brain” – Road To Ruin
****
Han “Natty Blue” – Radio Flyers CD http://www.han-music.com
Sara Petite “Forever Blue” – Circus Comes To Town CD http://www.sarapetite.com
Matt Ellis “On The Horizon” – The Greatest Escape CD http://www.mattellis.com
Dylan Sneed “Climb This Wall” – Texodus CD http://www.dylansneed.com
Ellis Paul “Never Want To Lose You” – Chasing Beauty CD http://www.ellispaul.com
****
*Slaid Cleaves “Hometown USA” – Still Fighting The War CD http://www.slaidc.com
*Darlingside “The Company We Keep” – Pilot Machines CD http://www.darlingside.com
*Shinyribs “Sweeter Than The Scars” – Gulf Coast Museum CD http://www.shinyribs.org
Mystery Loves Company “Fly” – Rock Symphony Billion CD  http://www.mysteryloves.com
Kurt Henry Band “Julia In Running Shoes”- From Our Religions We’ll Be Free! CD http://www.kurthenry.com
***
Marina V “Weight Of The World” – My Star CD http://www.marinav.com
The Brehms “When You’re With Me” – Summer Moon CD http://www.thebrehmsband.com
Jodie Levinson “Finally” – Strong Enough CD http://www.jodielevinson.com
Rebecca Loebe “Georgia” – Circus Heart CD http://www.rebeccaloebe.com
Jonathan Byrd “Slip Away” – You Can’t Outrun The Radio CD http://www.jonathanbyrd.com
***
Band Of Lovers “Cold Eyes” – The Coast CD http://www.bandoflovers.net
Matt Turk “Midnight On The Water” – Cold Revival CD http://www.turktunes.com
Luke Dowler “Still Find Me” – Lte at Swan City CD http://www.lukedowler.com
Claudia Schmidt “Dawn Star” – New Whirled Order CD http://www.claudiaschmidt.com
****
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Spectrum”
Running time: 166 minutes
Atmosphere: familiar nimbus
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist
without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
Thanks for listening!
Dan
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook/twitter/clammr: radiocblue
2159952234
2535371096

Radio Crystal Blue 9/28/14 audio/links


Radio Crystal Blue is my 14-year-old freeform radio program, publishing weekly in podcast format.  On October 1, 2014, this program turned 14.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and
download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog. Shows in this
FeedPlayer are archived for a year.
Shows accessed via archive.org are always available.
This show was published 10/3/14
Opening music:
Neil Young & Pearl Jam “Song X” – Mirror Ball CD
New Order “Crystal” – Get Ready CD
Elastica “Blue” – s/t CD
+++
Comic Tales Of Tragic Heartbreak “Maybe I’ll Leave Town”- s/t CD http://www.comictalesoftragicheartbreak.com
The Late Saints “Psychodrama” – http://www.thelatesaints.com
*DB Rielly “Roadrunner” – Cross My Heart & Hope To Die CD http://www.dbrielly.com
*Shinyribs “Sweeter Than The Scars” – Gulf Coast Museum CD http://www.shinyribs.com
Matt Harlan “Half Developed Mind” – Raven Hotel CD http://www.mattharlan.com
Bloody Jug Band “Murder Of Crows” – Murder Of Crows EP http://www.bloodyjugband.com
+++
Tom Principato “Run Out Of Time” – Robert Johnson Told Me So CD http://www.tomprincipato.com
The Sidleys “Nothing Else Remains” – Bittersweet CD http://www.thesidleys.com
Emiko “Excuse Me For Breathing” – Moving The Universe, Part 1 EP http://www.emikomusic.com
Sirsy “She’s Coming Apart” – Coming Into Frame CD http://www.sirsy.com
Dinmachine “Recht Tik” – Dance To Reason CD http://www.dinmachine.com
+++
CD FOCUS: An occasional segment that features top concept or compilation albums track-for-track.
Link Of Chain: A Songwriter’s Tribute To Chris Smither was released in September by Signature Sounds, on the occasion of Chris’s 70th birthday. This album contains covers of Smither songs by some of his peers and influencers, 15 songs in all.  http://www.smither.com http://www.signaturesounds.com
This week I spun:
Dave Alvin “Link Of Chain”
Loudon Wainwright III “Place In Line”
Mary Gauthier “I Feel The Same”
The Grateful Dead: Wake Up To Find Out contains the contents of a concert never before released on disc to the public. The concert took place on March 29, 1990, the 2nd of a 3-night stand at Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, NY. Notably, Brandford Marsalis was present on his usual sax for the majority of the sons.   it was also was of the last performances by keyboardist Brent Mydland.  http://www.dead.net
From this CD (disc 1 of 3) I spun “Jack Straw”, “Bertha” and “We Can Run”
+++
Teresa Storch “Before I Go Home” – Come Clean CD http://www.teresastorch.com
Vance Gilbert “God Bless Everyone” – Bad Dog Buffet CD http://www.vancegilbert.com
The Moonshine “Moontips” – And now… CD http://www.themoonshinemusic.com
Chappell & Dave Holt “Anniversary New Moon” – Stone & Fire CD http://www.chappellanddaveholt.com
+++
Hungrytown “Make It All Work Out” – Any Forgotten Thing CD http://www.hungrytown.net
Shantell Ogden “Looking For My Last” – Better At Goodbye CD http://www.shantellogden.com
Judy Insley “Roll On” – Remember Beautiful CD http://www.judyinsley.com
Mike Agranoff “Wayfaring Stranger” – Ain’t Never Been Plugged CD http://www.mikeagranoff.com
Patti DeRosa “Stars Of Autumn” – Packing My Bags: Patti D Live CD http://www.pattiderosa.com
+++
Closing music: The Three Degrees “When Will I See You Again”
Running time: 258 minutos
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
Atmosphere: Philadelphia freedom
+++
This is my final podcast before moving to Tacoma WA, approximately on 10/15. I aim to continue to podcast once I have all electronics, albums and details in place.
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative
Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full
attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist
without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 3/9/14 audio and info


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
Podcast page: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2014/03/rcbnew030914.mp3
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
All shows accessed via this player are archived for one year.
Ray Lambiase “Paper In My Wallet” & “Only Blue” – Time Leaves Things Behind CD www.raylambiase.com
Scott Wolfson & Other Heroes “Brooklyn Mermaids” & “Ten” – Life On Fire CD www.scottwolfson.com
The Moonshine “Hang Me Out” & “Hard Times” – And Now… CD www.themoonshinemusic.com
The Welcome Matt “A Hail Mary” & “Get Shameless” – PopJunkFluffAndHype CD www.welcomemattsf.com
This show was published 3/13/14
Running time: 53 minutos
***
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at www.radiocrystalblue.net
 
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my 13-year-old freeform radio program, usually publishing Wednesdays or Thursdays in podcast format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
Podcast page: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2014/03/rcblive030914.mp3
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog. Shows in this FeedPlayer are archived for a year.
Via www.archive.org
Podcast page:
VBR M3U: https://archive.org/download/RCBlive030914/RCBlive030914_vbr.m3u
MP3 via M3U: https://archive.org/stream/RCBlive030914
Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with *
This show was published on 3/9/14.
Opening music:
Iggy Pop “Caesar” – American Caesar
Eleanor McEvoy “Little Look” – Out There
Rise “I Wonder Why” – Uncertain Wonders www.riseband.co.uk
The Royal Irish Bagpipe Regiment “Green Glens Of Antrim/Star Of The County Down/Paddy Carey/Faugh-A-Ballah” – The Best Of The Band of The Royal Irish Regiment
Capercaillie “Both Sides The Tweed” – Heritage Songs www.capercaillie.co.uk
Thin Lizzy “Whiskey In The Jar” – Live 2012 album (@ 02 Shepherds Bush Empire)
Black 47 “Funky Ceili (Bridie’s Song)” – Fire Of Freedom CD www.black47.com
+++
Chase Gassaway “Proof” – Certain Circles CD www.chasegassaway.com
Davey O. “Eventually” – Testing For Rust CD www.daveyo.com
Sugar Lime Blue “Move That Earth” www.sugarlimeblue.com
Jack Grace “Loneliness Away” – Drinking Songs For Lovers CD www.jackgrace.com
Deni Bonet “It’s All Good” – It’s All Good CD www.denibonet.com
Judy Kass “Better Things” – Better Things CD www.judykass.com
+++
These are some of the artists playing at SXSW this week in Austin, TX:
Sirsy “Goner” – Goner and other Sordid Delights CD www.sirsy.com
Jamie Kent & The Orphans “Prince Of Pain” – www.jamiekent.com
Jeff Campbell “Tides” – In Spite Of Everything EP www.jeffcampbellsf.com
Megan Slankard “You And Your Bright Ideas” – A Token Of The Wreckage CD www.meganslankard.com
Don Gallardo & How Far West “Burgundy Wine” – The Art Of Troublesome Times CD www.dongallardo.com
Shinyribs “Texas Talking” – Gulf Coast Museum CD www.shinyribs.org
+++
Sassparilla “You Took It All” – Magpie CD www.sassparilla.info
Rachael Sage “Abby Would You Wait” – Haunted By You CD www.rachaelsage.com
Remember September “Do You Remember” – The Roads We Travel CD www.rememberseptemberband.com
Herbie D & The Dangermen “Dance Your Blues Away” – Dangerous With Blues CD www.herbiedandthedangermen.com
Mustered Courage “Cruel Alibis” – Powerlines CD www.musteredcourage.com
Kosmic Daydream “Right Now” – Live CD
What Model Citizens “Felony Heights” – Ohn E Amas CD www.whatmodelcitizens.com
+++
More artists appearing at SXSW:
Melissa Greener “With The Weather” – Transistor Corazon CD www.melissagreener.com
Leyla Fences “I Wonder” – Itty Bitty Twang Twang CD www.leylafences.com
Amanda Pearcy “Barking Dogs” – Royal Street CD www.amandapearcy.com
Cary Cooper “Providence” – Zuzu’s Petals CD www.carycooper.com
Rebecca Loebe “Circus Heart” – Circus Heart CD www.rebeccaloebe.com
Patton Brokus “Glen Oak Blues” – The Great Unknown CD www.pattonbrokus.com
Jan Seides “I Missed Texas” – Siren Song CD www.janseides.com
+++
Sharon Goldman “Short Brown Hair” – Sleepless Lullaby CD www.sharongoldmanmusic.com
Beaucoup Blue “Bird Watching” – Four Stories EP www.beaucoupblue.com
Lizanne Knott “The Last Line” – Standing In The English Rain CD www.lizanneknott.com
DK & The Joy Machine “Come On Down” – Love (yourself) Harder CD
Eric Lambert “The Sweet Irish Lass” – Maiden Voyage CD www.ericlambert.com
Carl Solomon “The River” – Black Top Beauty CD www.carlsolomonmusic.com
Marcy Marxer “Angeline The Baker” – Things Are Coming My Way CD www.cathymarcy.com
Closing music: Van Morrison “Haunts Of Ancient Peace” – Common One
Running time: 274 minutos
Atmosphere: clover-leafed
+++
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net