Tag Archives: The Knollwood Boys

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo, week of 11/29/15


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

At the Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew112915New

mp3:

Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

This show was published 12/9/15:

Georgie Bonds “Come Back Baby” – Hit It Hard CD http://www.georgiebonds.com
Frank Migliorelli & The Dirt Nappers “Tryin’ Such A Long Long Time” – City Eastern Serenade CD http://www.frankmigliorelli.com
The Ann Wilson Thing “Fool No More” – #1 EP
Chris Yakopcic “Sounds Of The Highway” – The Next Place I Leave CD http://www.chrisyakopcicmusic.com
Blue Largo “Sing Your Own Song” – Sing Your Own Song CD http://www.bluelargoblues.com
The Knollwood Boys “Comin’ Home” – Beyond The Peonies CD http://www.theknollwoodboys.com
Miss Brown To You “The Lookout Tree” – Roll Away CD http://www.missbrowntoyou.com

Running time: 58 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 96kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.

All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.

HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive121115New
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2015/12/rcblive121115-new.mp3

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

This show was published 12/9/15

Opening music:
Michael Troy “Jesus On The Radio”, “I Am American” (live), & “Love Song” – I Am American CD http://www.folkmichaeltroy.com
***
Amy Speace “One Man’s Love” – That Kind Of Girl CD http://www.amyspeace.com
Owen Danoff “What You Mean To Me” – Twelve Stories CD http://www.owendanoff.com
Jordy Searcy “Seasons” – Seasons EP
Madi Anne Davis “Say Something” – s/t EP http://www.madiannedavis.com
Amanda Pearcy “Teach Me To Be” – An Offering EP http://www.amandapearcy.com

Danielle Miraglia “Coffee-Stained Thank You Cards” – Glory Junkies CD http://www.daniellem.com
James McMurtry “Forgotten Coast” – Complicated Game CD http://www.jamesmcmurtry.com
Schwervon! “Muscle In Your Heart” – Broken Teeth CD http://www.schwervon.com
Sirsy “Everybody Knows” – Sketches & Ghosts EP http://www.sirsy.com
Prima Donna “Lifeblood” – Restored CD http://www.primadonnamusic.com

RCB FLASHBACK: Year-long feature where I spin whole segments of music I
haven’t aired in years:
The Bamboo Kids “Nothing To Do” – s/t CD http://www.thebambookids.com
Los Hermanos Rodriguez “Odd Boy” – American Beauty EP
Bourbon Princess “Another Day” – Black Feather Wings CD http://www.bourbonprincess.com
Sprinkle Genies “Chesters” http://www.sprinklegenies.com
__________________
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in
great concept or compilation albums.
GET TOGETHER: Banana Recalls Youngbloods Classics http://www.lowelllevinger.com
Lowell Levinger from The Youngbloods brings fresh takes to the 60’s
folk-rock band’s best-known songs.
In this final first airing of music from this special collector’s edition disc I spun “Stagger Lee” “Get Together” &
“Sugar Babe”

DARRYL HOLTER: Radio Songs: Woody Guthrie in Los Angeles 1937-39.
http://www.darrylholter.com
Sowing musical seeds before he was known as an activist as much as a poet,
Woody made many recordings for his own radio show on KFVD Los Angeles. These
songs are interpreted musically by Daryl and several notable songwriters as
guests.
From this CD I spun “My Flowers Grow Green” (featuring Julia Holter) & Los Angeles New Years Flood”
_______
Fred Gillen Jr. “Cost Of War” – Wage Love CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com
Matt Turk “Battle Song” – Cold Revival CD http://www.turktunes.com
Aztec Two Step “War” – Cause & Effect CD http://www.aztectwostep.com
Mystery Loves Company “Across The Emptiness” – Rock Symphony Billion CD http://www.mysteryloves.com
Libby Koch “Strength” – Tennessee Colony CD http://www.libbykoch.com
______

Jessi Robertson “Tin Man” – I Came From The War CD http://www.jessirobertson.com
Mic The Prophet “Wind and Water” – s/t CD http://www.mictheprophet.com
Jeff Prezch “Fade Away” – Sounds Like Fresh CD http://www.jeffprezch.com
Craig Sonnenfeld “Gautama” – Return To Shore CD http://www.craigsonnenfeld.com
Glen Roethel “Something Good” – Unfolding CD http://www.glenroethel.com
_________
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”

Running time: 200 minutes
Atmosphere: new rainy venture
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, reencoded to 96kbps, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity software.

All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 11/2/14 audio/links


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists
eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2014/11/rcbnew1102141.mp3
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog. All shows accessed via this player are archived for one year.
Via Internet Archive:
This show was published 11/6/14
Ray Lambiase “If You Could See Through My Tears” & “Just A Heartache” – Twenty Lies And Other Stories CD http://www.raylambiase.com
Pat Roberts & The Heymakers “Angel From Above” & “Good Time” – Devil CD http://www.electriclotuslabel.com
Hot Rod Pacer “Bloody Holly” & “Bodies In Orbit” – s/t CD
The Early Mays “I’m Sorry Wyoming” & “Everything” – s/t CD http://www.theearlymays.com
Terry Brown “Blood Is Blood” & “Bittersweet Creek” – Party On The Prairie CD http://www.terrybrownmusic.com
Running time: 65 minutos
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity software.
Production assistance by Lora Nichols (DJ Flowerdove) http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols
***
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full
attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my 14-year-old freeform radio program, publishing weekly in podcast format.  On October 1, 2014, this program turned 14.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and
download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog. Shows in this
FeedPlayer are archived for a year.
Shows accessed via archive.org are always available.
“Oh here on South Tacoma Way/We’ve memories for matinees/And the tears come warm and heavy/And the cross-streets bear your name/And the cross-streets bear your name”
This show was published 11/6/14
Opening music:
Neil Young & Pearl Jam “Big Green Country” – Mirror Ball
Kathleen Edwards “National Steel” – Failer
Neko Case & Her Boyfriends “South Tacoma Way” – Furnace Room Lullaby
+++
Meghan Cary “Responsibility” – Building This House CD http://www.meghancary.com
Justine Dorsey “What’s It To Me” – Under Construction EP http://www.justinedorsey.com
Sara Petite “Forever Blue” – Circus Comes To Town CD http://www.sarapetite.com
Liz Longley “We Run” – s/t CD http://www.lizlongley.com
Matt Harlan “Slow Moving Train” – Raven Hotel CD http://www.mattharlan.com
Achilles Wheel “We Dreamt Of Flying Cars” – Stones To Sand CD http://www.achilleswheel.com
The Knollwood Boys “Before You Go” – s/t CD http://www.theknollwoodboys.com
+++
Star Anna “Younger Then” – Go To Hell CD http://www.staranna.com
Annalise Emerick “Born This Way” – Field Notes CD http://www.annaliseemerick.com
Deni Bonet “It’s All Good” – It’s All Good CD http://www.denibonet.com
Darius Lux “I Can Be Anything’ – We The Living CD http://www.dariuslux.com
Craig Greenberg “Dragged Down By Your Insecurity” – Spinning In Time EP http://www.craiggreenbergmusic.com
Jeff Campbell “Save Me” – In Spite Of Everything CD http://www.jeffcampbellmusic.com
+++
CD FOCUS features top concept or compilation albums track-for-track.
Link Of Chain: A Songwriter’s Tribute To Chris Smither was released in September by Signature Sounds, on the occasion of Chris’s 70th birthday.
This album contains covers of Smither songs by some of his peers and influencers, 15 songs in all.  http://www.smither.com http://www.signaturesounds.com
This week I spun:
Josh Ritter “Rosalie”
Paul Cebar “No Love Today”
Eilen Jewell “Can’t Shake These Blues”
The Grateful Dead: Wake Up To Find Out contains the contents of a concert never before released on disc to the public. The concert took place on March 29, 1990, the 2nd of a 3-night stand at Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, NY. Notably, Brandford Marsalis was present on his usual sax for the majority of the songs.   it was also was one of the last performances by keyboardist Brent Mydland.  http://www.dead.net
From this CD (disc 1 of 3) I spun “Ramble On Rose” & “When I Paint My Masterpiece”
+++
Britt Connors “All I Never Said” – Warmer Season CD http://www.brittconnors.com
Melissa Greener “That’s What Makes You Strong” – Transistor Corazon CD http://www.melissagreener.com
*Karyn Oliver “Magdalene” – Magdalene CD http://www.karynoliver.com
*Carolann Solebello “Empty House” – Threshold CD http://www.carolannsolebello.com
*The YaYas “Last Good One” – Paper Boats CD http://www.wearetheyayas.com
+++
*Brother Sun “Sad” – Some Part Of The Truth CD http://www.brothersunmusic.com
*The Chapin Sisters “Trouble” – Two CD http://www.thechapinsisters.com
Nerissa and Katryna Nields “Between Friends” – The Full Catastrophe CD http://www.nields.com
Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem “Will Your House Be Blessed?” – Some Bright Morning CD http://www.raniarbo.com
Jim Patton & Sherry Brokus “Old tCountry Rd” – The Great Unknown CD http://www.pattonbrokus.com
Greg Klyma “Unspoken” – Pianomandonation CD http://www.klyma.com
+++
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer” – http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols
Running time: 247 minutos
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity software.
Production assistance from DJ Flowerdove
Atmosphere: rain seasoning
+++
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
RCB FACEBOOK:
TWITTER @radiocblue
STAT TWITTER: @idealisticstats

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 1/5/14


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.
HOW TO LISTEN
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
Via Internet Archive:
Stream:
You can share the audio player with the HTML code on the page.
All shows are archived for a year.
This show was published 1/10/13The Knollwood Boys “What A Way To Be” – s/t CD www.theknollwoodboys.com

Buck 69 “Dead End Road” – No Medicine Like The Blues CD www.buck69.net
The Lymbs “Kerosene” – Casa de Amor EP www.thelymbs.com
A Hundred Years “Venus” – Altered Reality CD
Knockin’ Spirits “Nowhere Fast” – s/t EP
Skeletons in the Piano “Digging Underneath The House” – Please Don’t Die CD
Running time: 55 minutos
***
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue is my 13-year-old freeform radio program, usually publishing Wednesdays or Thursdays in podcast format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
Play/download:
Ogg Vorbis format also available.
You can share the audio player with the HTML code on the page.
All shows are archived for a year.
Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with *
This show was published on 1/10/14“She’s a yellow sun/She’s a walking hit-and-run/Happy New Year’s Day…”
Opening music:
Bjork “Frosti” & “Aurora” – Vespertine
R.E.M. “I’ll Take The Rain” – Reveal
Death Cab For Cutie “The New Year” – Transatlanticism
Brenda Kahn “Yellow Sun” – CMJ New Music Sampler Volume 36
***
Sarah Rabdau & Self Employed Assassins “Say Hello” – Free As Thieves CD www.sarahrabdau.com
Catie Curtis “Another Day On Earth” – Stretch Limousine On Fire CD www.catiecurtis.com
Shakeh “Take Me To Jericho” – Songs Of My Soul CD www.shakeh.com
Amy Speace “In Salida” – How To Sleep In A Stormy Boat CD www.amyspeace.com
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “Too Much Me, Not Enough You” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD www.karencollins.net
Butcher’s Blind “OPP” – Destination Blues EP www.butchersblind.com
Spuyten Duyvil “Bitter” – Temptation CD www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
***
The Symbols “Kristin” – s/t EP www.thesymbols.net
Pi Jacobs “Mrs. O’Neill” – Urbanicana CD www.pijacobs.com
Ashley McBryde “Lie To Each Other” – Elsebound CD www.ashleymcbryde.com
Too Slim and the Taildraggers “New Year’s Blues” – Blue Heart CD www.tooslim.org
Tweed Funk “Gettin Home” – Love Is CD www.tweedfunk.com
Black Vendetta “Leave Me Now”
Jack + Jill “Me Myselfish I” – Coloradio CD http://www.jackplusjill.com
****
These artists are performing at the 5th annual 30A Songwriters Festival in Walton County, FL, 1/17-19:
Ellis Paul “Rose Tattoo” – The Day After Everything Changed CD
www.ellispaul.com
John Gorka “Trouble In Mind” – So Dark You See CD www.johngorka.com
James McMurtry “You’d A’Thought (Leonard Cohen Must Die)” – Live In Europe CD www.jamesmcmurtry.com
Mary Gauthier “Wheel Inside The Wheel” – Live At Blue Rock CD www.marygauthier.com
Garrison Starr “When You’re Really Trying” – Amateur CD www.garrisonstarr.com
Rebecca Loebe “I Will Wait” – Circus Heart CD www.rebeccaloebe.com
John Brodeur “Old Wounds” – Little Hopes CD www.tigerpop.com
***
Davey O “Eventually” – Testing For Rust CD www.daveyo.com
Chuck Schaefer “The Way Love Grows” – Along These Lines CD www.chuckschaefer.com
Rodger Delany “Livin’ Without You” – Moment Of Truth CD www.rodgerdelany.com
Roger Silverberg “No Trespassing” – Major Seventh Heaven CD www.rogersilverberg.com
Jon Regen “If You’re Here” – Revolution CD www.jonregen.com
Danielle Miraglia “Glimmer Of Gold” – Box Of Troubles CD www.daniellem.com
Lowland Hum “White Stone” – Native Air CD www.lowlandhum.com
Dana & Susan Robinson “Roscoe” – American Hornpipe CD www.robinsongs.com
Closing music: Chicha Libre “Sonido Amazonico” – Sonido Amazonico CD www.barbesrecords.com
Running time: 3 horas, 50 minutos
Atmosphere: bright yellow sun
***
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net