Tag Archives: Flagship Romance

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 2/10/17


HOW TO LISTEN

Podomatic:
RSS feed:
Also available via
and on Stitcher via the RSS
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 2/10/17
Chris Gardner “Crystal Visions” – Summertime CD http://www.chrisgardnermusic.com
@CGardnermusic
Steven Graves “Somewhere, Somehow” – Captain Soul CD
The Low Counts “Hombre” – Years Pass By CD http://www.thelowcounts.com
@TheLowCounts
Jason Elmore & Hoodoo Witch “Cross-Eyed Woman” – Champagne Velvet CD
Surrender Hill “Pouring Rainbow” – Right Here Right Now CD
Urban Hill “Dead Of Night” – Straight Talk CD http://www.urban-hill.com
Merlot Embargo “These Are The Best Days Of Our Lives” – Don’t Look Back CD
Howard Simon “Normal Life” – Visitors CD http://www.howardsimonmusic.com
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Densum Chronos”
Running time: 57 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production : Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
*****

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 17th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Chirbi
This show was published 2/10/17
Opening music:
Robert Sadin “Tu, meu sonho vivo” “Comment” “Brad’s Interlude” – Art Of
Love: Music Of Machaut CD http://www.robertsadin.com
Patty Carpenter & The Dysfunctional Family Jazz Band “Come Over” –  Come
*******
Music from official showcase artists at the 2017 Folk Alliance International
conference   http://www.folkalliance.org @folkalliance :
The Currys “West Of Here” – West Of Here CD http://www.thecurrysmusic.com
Ben Bedford “The Voyage Of John & Emma” – The Pilot & The Flying Machine CD
Rod Picott “Elbow Grease” – Fortune CD http://www.rodpicott.com @RodPicott
Ellis Paul “Waiting On A Break” – Chasing Beauty CD http://www.ellispaul.com
@ellispaulsongs
John McCutcheon “Waltz ‘Round The Kitchen” – Trolling For Dreams CD
http://www.folkmusic.com @mccutcheonfolk
Vance Gilbert “Ain’t Misbehavin’ ” – Nearness Of You CD http://www.vancegilbert.com
@vancegilbert
******
Switchback “The Fire That Burns” – American Roots & Celtic Soul: Live,
Volume 1 CD http://www.waygoodmusic.com @switchbackmusic
Screen Door Porch “Pay It Forward” – Pay It Forward CD
Josi Davis “Your Kiss” – The Evolution Of Love CD http://www.josidavis.com
@josidavismusic
Michele D’Amour & The Love Dealers “Pretty Good For A Girl”
Guy King “Hey Now” – Truth CD http://www.guyking.net @GuyKingMusic
Shawn Amos “Boogie” – The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You CD http://www.shawnamos.com
@therevamos
Anthony Gomes “The Blues Ain’t The Blues No More” – http://www.anthonygomes.com
@anthonygomes
******
CD FOCUS: Kristin Hersh: Wyatt At The Coyote Palace http://www.kristinhersh.com
@kristinhersh
Along with reading passages from this book/CD set, I aired “Sun Blown” “From
A Plane” & “Elysian Fields”
********
Peter Mulvey “You Don’t Have To Tell Me” – Silver Ladder CD
Heather Maloney “Otherwise” – Making Me Break CD http://www.heathermaloney.com
@HeatherMaloney_
Jean Mann “Between You And Me” – Road Girl, Volume 1 CD http://www.jeanmann.net
@jean_mann
Liz Longley “Say Anything You Want” – Weightless CD http://www.lizlongley.com
@lizlongley
Belles & Whistles “Luna Blue” – Look Up EP http://www.bellesandwhistlesmusic.com
@BellesMusic
Griffin House “Stop And Rest” – So On And So Forth CD
********
More official showcase artists at the 2017 Folk Alliance international
conference:
Jonathan Byrd “You Can’t Outrun The Radio” – You Can’t Outrun The Radio CD
Dave Gunning “A Tractor” – Lift CD http://www.davegunning.com @dave_gunning
Victor & Penny “Day Off Boogie” – Electricity CD http://www.victorandpenny.com
@victorandpenny
Flagship Romance “Lasts” – Fee Fi Fo Fum CD http://www.flagshipromance.com
@flagshipromance
SONiA/disappear fear “Won’t Let Go” – Live At Maximal EP
*******
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Densum Chronos”
Running time: 2 hours, 56 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production : Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 2/14/16


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 2/21/16
The Riff Riders “Open Door” – Hit The Road CD http://www.theriffriders.com
The Dave Muskett Acoustic Blues Band “Take A Look At This” – Recorded Live At The Slippery Noodle Inn, 11/19/15 CD http://www.muskettmusic.com
Dennis Jones “Mr. Right” – Both Sides Of The Track CD http://www.dennisjonescentral.com
Rebecca Folsom “Colorado” – Extraordinary Days CD  http://www.rebeccafolsom.com
Teresa Topaz “Aquarians” – Reset Me CD http://www.teresatopaz.com
Minor Moon “All I Want” – A Whisper, A Shout CD
Bennett Jackson & The Ranch Hands “Another Stripe On The Tiger” – Day’s Market CD http://www.bennettjackson.com
Running time:   minutes
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 2/21/16
Opening music:
Amy Speace “Weight Of The World” – The Killer In Me CD
*****
Cedar Teeth “Fragrance Of Cool” – Hoot CD http://www.cedarteeth.com
Jeff Przech “No Matter Where You Go” – Sounds Like Fresh CD http://www.jeffprzech.com
Chase Gassaway “Where I’m Coming From” – Certain Circles CD http://www.chasegassaway.com
Don Gallardo “Midnight Sounds” – Hickory CD http://www.dongallardo.com
Kirsten Thien “The Sweet Lost & Found” – Solo Live at the Meisenfrei Blues Club CD http://www.kirstenthien.com
*****
These artists were part of official showcases at this year’s Folk Alliance International conference:  http://www.folkalliance.org
Darlingside “The God Of Loss” – Birds Say CD http://www.darlingside.com
Heather Maloney “Dandelion” – Making Me Break CD http://www.heathermaloney.com
Flagship Romance “Dandelion” – Fee Fi Fo Fum CD http://www.flagshipromance.com
Carrie Elkin & Danny Schmidt “Took It Like A Man” – For Keeps CD http://www.carrieelkin.com http://www.dannyschmidt.com
Catherine MacClellan “Winter Spring” – The Raven’s Son CD http://www.catherinemacclellan.com
Happy Traum “The Water Is Wide” – Just For The Love Of It CD http://www.happytraum.com
****
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Light In Your Eyes” – Music From Hurley Mountain CD http://www.thecrowmatix.com
The Golden Novak Band “Jileen” – Rodeo CD http://www.jessrocknovak.com
Purusa “Words” – Repair CD http://www.purusaband.com
The Late Saints “South Philly Blue” – Presto! In America CD http://www.thelatesaints.com
Hello Phones “Streetwave” –  http://www.hellophones.net
FLASHBACK segment returns in the next podcast
*****
More artists in official showcases at this year’s Folk Alliance International:
Si Kahn & The Looping Brothers “Sunday Evening” – Aragon Mill CD http://www.sikahn.com
Lowell Levinger “The Pool Hall Song” – Get Together: Banana Recalls Youngbloods Classics CD http://www.lowelllevinger.com
Miss Tess & The Talkbacks “Sorry You’re Sick” – The Love I Have For You CD http://www.misstessmusic.com
Parsonsfield “Strollin’ Down The Highway” – Afterparty CD http://www.parsonsfield.com
Curtis McMurtry “Foxhole” – Respectable Enemy CD http://www.curtismcmurtrymusic.com
Doug Adamz “Good To See You” – Doug Adamz Plays National Steel CD http://www.dougadamz.com
*******
Andrew McKnight “Surveillance” – One Virginia Night CD http://www.andrewmcknight.net
Aztec Two-Step “Better Watch Out (For The Rastafarians)” – Cause & Effect CD http://www.aztectwostep.com
Libby Koch “Strength” – Tennessee Colony CD http://www.libbykoch.com
Jenee Halstead “Sophia” – Edge Of The World EP http://www.jeneehalstead.com
Vance Gilbert “Mas Que Nada” – Nearness Of You CD http://www.vancegilbert.com
*****
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Sol Aurora”
Running time: 2 hours 57 minutes
Atmosphere:
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo week of 12/13/15


Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.

HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive121715New
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2015/12/rcblive121715-new.mp3

Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

This show was published 12/17/15

“Is there a time for tying ribbons/A time for Christmas trees/Is there a time for laying tables/When the night is set to freeze”

I opened with my annual reading of Jack Kerouac’s short story ‘Home At Christmas”

Coldplay “Christmas Lights”
***
Vaneese Thomas “Peace & Goodwill” http://www.vaneesethomas.com http://www.blindraccoon.com
Buddy Guy “Home For Christmas” http://www.buddyguy.net http://www.blindraccoon.com
Jamie Kent “Blue Christmas” http://www.jamiekent.com
Mic The Prophet “O Tannenbaum” http://www.mictheprophet.com
Câlisse “Not A Holiday Song” – XO For the Holidays Volume 8 compilation http://www.calissecalissecalisse.com http://www.xopublicity.com
_______
Loretta Hagen “As We Count (On New Year’s Eve)” – Mud and Stone CD http://www.lorettahagen.com
Susan Kane “New York Winter” – A Word Child CD http://www.susankane.com
Laura Berman “Lift Off” – Everything In Between CD http://www.laurabermanmusic.com
Flagship Romance “Set You Free” – The Fudge Sessions EP http://www.flagshipromance.com
Matt Harlan “Riding With The Wind” – Raven Hotel CD http://www.mattharlan.com
________
MJ Hibbett & The Validators “Roy Wood In The Blue Note” http://www.mjhibbett.com
Wizzard “I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday”
Bobby Stewart & The Contraires “Happy Holiday” http://www.bobbystewartmusic.com
Stubborn Son “Snowed In” – XO For The Holidays Volume 8 compilation http://www.stubbornsonmusic.com http://www.xopublicity.com
The Slambovian Circus Of Dreams “Every Little Light” http://www.slambovia.com
_________
Tony Halchak “Christmas For Cowboys” http://www.tonyhalchak.com
Builder Of The House “There Is No Hourglass, Only Sand” – Hourglass EP http://www.builderofthehouse.com
Soraia “Kids Are Alrite” – Less Than Zero EP http://www.soraia.com

I shared Tweed Funk’s JD Optekar’s recipe for Cranberry Relish http://www.tweedfunk.com
__________________
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in great concept or compilation albums.

DARRYL HOLTER: Radio Songs: Woody Guthrie in Los Angeles 1937-39. http://www.darrylholter.com
Sowing musical seeds before he was known as an activist as much as a poet, Woody made many recordings for his own radio show on KFVD Los Angeles. These
songs are interpreted musically by Daryl and several notable songwriters as guests.
From this final first airing of songs from this CD I spun “I Ain’t Got No Home” & “Talking Dust Bowl Blues”
_______
Larry Saklad “Christmas On The Block” http://www.sakladmusic.com
Liz Longley “Feels Like Christmas To Me” http://www.lizlongley.com
Trevor Lyon “Happy Holidays” http://www.trevorlyon.com
________
Switchback “Connemara Man” – American Roots & Celtic Soul: Live-Volume 1 CD http://www.waygoodmusic.com
Lynn Hollyfield “Winter’s Gift” – In The Balance CD http://www.lynnhollyfield.com
Emily Zuzik Holmes & Scrote “This Season Makes Me Cry” http://www.emilyzuzik.com
Vance Gilbert “Moonlight In Vermont” – Nearness Of You CD http://www.vancegilbert.com
_________
John Hall “Quiet Place” – Love Doesn’t Ask CD http://www..johnhallmusic.com
Kerry Patrick Clark “What I Want For Christmas” – Mom Hen Layin’ Some Christmas On You compilation http://www.kerrypatrickclark.com
Steve Eulberg “God Rest You Merry Gentlemen” – Mom Hen Layin’ Some Christmas On You compilation http://www.steveeulberg.com
__________
I recited part of Kerouac’s short essay “Not Long Ago Joy Abounded At Christmas”
Tom Waits “Alice” – Alice CD
Simon & Garfunkel “I Am A Rock” – Sounds Of Silence
The Pogues “Fairytale Of New York” – If I Should Fall From Grace With God
Passengers (U2 & Brian Eno) “Miss Sarajevo” – Original Soundtracks Volume 1
Jimi Hendrix “Merry Christmas & Happy New Year”

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Wind Chill” http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols
Geoffrey Armes “After Dark” – Noor CD http://www.geoffreyarmes.com
Regina Spektor “My Dear Acquaintance (A Happy New Year)”

Running time: 271 minutes
Atmosphere: merry, bright
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, reencoded to 96kbps, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity software.

All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo week of 9/20/15


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
-Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
Join and add radiocblue or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute
for the full show) If it’s not
available for your devices, please request the widget code to place on your
site or blog.
This show was published 9/28/15
Jeff Przech “Tell Me Something” – Sounds Like Fresh CD http://www.jeffprzech.com
Gem Andrews “Edges” – Vancouver CD http://www.gemandrews.co.uk
The Wildcat O’Halloran Band “5 Simple Words” – Midnight Service Call CD wildcatohalloran.com
Kevin Andreas “Technicolor Love” – Technicolor Love CD http://www.kevinandreas.com
Chris Dalla Riva “I Want You To Know” – I Want You To Know CD
Freebo “Funk Up The Folk” – If Not Now When CD http://www.freebomusic.com
Ellie Fabe “Before A Fall” – Devil May Care CD http://www.elliefabe.com
Greta Stroebel “Mr. Black” – Society Road EP http://www.societyroad.weebly.com
Running time: 64  minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 15th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com Join and add radiocblue or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not substitute
for the full show) If it’s not available for your devices, please request
the widget code to place on your site or blog
This show was published 9/20/15
Opening music:
The Morning Birds “Bloom (Prizm Prime White Light Remix)” – http://www.themorningbirds.com
The Orb “Plum Island” – Cydonia CD
_________
Spuyten Duyvil “The Cruel War” – The Social Music Hour Volume 1 CD http://www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
McMule “Ship Of Fools ” – Right Down Here CD http://www.mcmule.com
Delta Moon “Hard Time Killing Floor Blues” – Low Down CD http://www.deltamoon.com
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “Blindsided” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD http://www.karencollins.net
Jonathan Byrd “Poor Johnny” – You Can’t Outrun The Radio CD http://www.jonathanbyrd.com
Catherine Maclellan “Gone Too Soon” – The Raven’s Son CD http://www.catherinemaclellan.com
_________
Herbie D & The Dangermen “Three Of A Kind” – Dangerous With Blues CD http://www.herbiedandthedangermen.com
Kurt Henry Band “There’s An Oak Tree In An Orchard” – From Our Religions We’ll Be Free! CD http://www.kurthenry.com
Butcher’s Blind “Thursday Girl” – http://www.butchersblind.com
Wormburner “Parliaments On Sundays” – Pleasant Living In Planned Communities CD http://www.wormburnerband.com
Live Hart “New Day” – Honesty CD http://www.livehartonline.com
_________
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in
great concept or compilation albums.
ROCK BACK FOR NEPAL, by Patetico Records in Philadelphia is a multi-volume
compilation that is raising money for The Nepal Disaster Relief Fund.
From Volume 2 I aired the following:
Blackfeather Jane “Down Low Tea”
Dead Parties “Last Romance”
Estrella Oscura “Beyond Within”
Mayflower Madame “Lovesick”
Los Sub “Volviendoa a la casa de noche”
_______
Rebecca Loebe “Darlin’ ” – Circus Heart CD http://www.rebeccaloebe.com
Ellis Paul “Love Is A Curious Thing” – Chasing Beauty CD http://www.ellispaul.com
Flagship Romance “Lasts”- Fee Fi Fo Fum CD http://www.flagshipromance.com
Clarence Bucaro “Safe At Home” – Like The 1st Time CD http://www.clarencebucaro.com
Jon Shain “Clementine”- Reupholstered CD http://www.jonshain.com
Chris Smither “Feeling By Degrees” – Hundred Dollar Valentine CD http://www.smither.com
_________
Carl Solomon “What About You” – Promised Land CD http://www.carlsolomonmusic.com
John Roberts & Debra Cowan “The Broadside Man” – Ballads Long & Short: The Best Of Every Sort CD http://www.debracowan.com http://www.goldenhindmusic.com
Beth Wood “Coyote Prayer” – The Weather Inside CD http://www.bethwoodmusic.com
Claudia Schmidt “Already” – New Whirled Order CD http://www.claudiaschmidt.com
Honor Finnegan “We Are Hearts” – The Tiny Life CD http://www.honorfinnegan.com
_________
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”
Running time:  177 minutes
Atmosphere: ecliptic
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot exist
without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook/Twitter/Clammr: radiocblue