Tag Archives: Geoffrey Armes

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus for 7/3, 7/10/16


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
RSS feed:
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
Shows are currently on a biweekly schedule, through mid-August
This show was published 7/15/16
Meresha “You” – My Love Has Come CD http://www.meresha.com @mereshas
Crooked Eye Tommy “After The Burn” – Butterflies & Snakes CD http://www.crookedeyetommy.com @TommyMarsh805
Cost Of Attrition “There You Go” – s/t EP http://www.costofattrition.com @costofattrition
The Bare Hambones “You Have No Idea” – Time For Kicking CD http://www.thebarehambones.com @BareHambones
We Are Parasols “Our Bodies Will Inherit The Earth” – http://www.nomovementrecords.com @WeareParasols
Gadi Caplan “Good Afternoon” – Morning Sun CD http://www.gadicaplan.com
Say Real “Feel About Us” – Unarmed and Ready EP http://www.sayrealmusic.com @SayRealmusic
Ivas John “Payday Boogie” – Good Days a Comin CD http://www.ivasjohn.com
Jordan Renzi “You’d Never Know” – Featherbed Lane CD http://www.jordanrenzi.com
Running time:  77 minutos
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Chirbit:  http://chirb.it/01N9M0
Shows are currently on a biweekly schedule, through mid-August
Opening music:
Geoffrey Armes “The Neighborhood Dubhouse” – Hemispheres CD http://www.geoffreyarmes.com @GeoffreyArmes
******
Monica Rizzio “Buttercups” – Washashore Cowgirl CD http://www.monicarizzio.com @monicarizzio
Screen Door Porch “Wren Bird Song” – Modern Settler CD http://www.screendoorporch.com @screendoorporch
The Early Mays “Take My Time” – s/t CD http://www.theearlymays.com
Moot Davis “Just Left Home” – Goin In Hot CD http://www.mootdavis.com @mootdavis1
Heather Maloney “Involuntarily” – Making Me Break CD http://www.heathermaloney.com  @heathermaloney_
******
MJ Hibbett & The Validators “The 80s How It Was” – Still Valid CD http://www.mjhibbett.co.uk @MJHibbett
Frank Migliorelli & The Dirt Nappers “In Her Rearview Mirror” – City Eastern Serenade CD http://www.frankmigliorelli.com @fmigliorelli
Calico “Break Your Heart” – Rancho California CD http://www.calicotheband.com @calicotheband
Kalo “Once I Had A Heart” – Dear John CD http://www.kaloblues.com @KALOBlues
Michele D’Amour & The Love Dealers “Dress Code” – Ante Up CD http://www.micheledamourandthelovedealers.com @mmdamour
******
RJ Cowdery “Across The Great Divide – Something Fine CD http://www.rjcowdery.com @rjcowdery
Peter Mulvey “Remember The Milkman?” – Silver Ladder CD http://www.petermulvey.com @petermulvey43
Mark Erelli “Oklahoma” – For A Song CD http://www.markerelli.com @MarkErelli
Darlingside “Volcano Sky” – Birds Say CD http://www.darlingside.com @darlingside
Jessie Kilguss “Train Song” – Devastate Me CD @jessiekilguss
Matt Turk “When A Boy” – Cold Revival CD http://www.turktunes.com @turktunes
*****
Cardboard Ox “The Fisherman” – s/t CD http://www.cardboardoxmusic.com @traciepotes
Krista Baroni “B-Sides” – Oh My Magpie CD http://www.kristabaroni.com @kristabaroni
Sarah Pierce “Small Town” – Barbed Wire CD http://www.sarahpierce.com @sarahpierceband
Jean Mann “Beach” – Between The Rocks and Stars CD http://www.jeanmann.net @jeanmann
Amy Soucy “Little Wooden Boat” – This River EP http://www.amysoucymusic.com
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Sol Aurora” http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols @flowerdove2168
Running time: 143 minutes
Atmosphere:
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue 5/29/16


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Chirbit:
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 6/4/16
C. Daniel Boling “Ruby Slippers” – These Houses CD http://www.danielboling.com
@DanlBoling
The Deep Hollow “Runaway” – s/t CD http://www.thedeephollow.com @TheDeepHollow
Sloan Wainwright “Ain’t No Grave” – Uncovering CD http://www.sloanwainwright.com
@sloanwainwright
Dave Gunning “Sing It Louder “- Lift CD http://www.davegunning.com @dave_gunning
The Mighty Mojo Prophets “Strong Together” – Record Store CD
Joe Holt “I Have Enough” – Headwaters EP http://www.joeholtmusic.com @thunderholt
Mike & Aleksi Glick “Daybreak In Alabama” – Generations: Two For The Blues
Alex Kyllonen “Keeping You Alive” – http://www.bocagemusic.com @LyricsByAlex
Running time: 61  minutes
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Chirbit:
Opening music: Geoffrey Armes “Off The Island” & “Sea Lanes” – Elemental Red
******
Spuyten Duyvil “Stewball” – The Social Music Hour, Volume 1 CD
Mary Gauthier “Oh Soul” – Trouble & Love CD http://www.marygauthier.com
@marygauthier_
Roosevelt Dime “Red Shoes” -Red Shoes EP http://www.rooseveltdimemusic.com
@RooseveltDime
Roger Silverberg “Still Running” – The Old Dog CD http://www.rogersilverberg.com
Fred Gillen Jr. “4 a.m Walk Home” – Wage Love CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com
@fredgillenjr
******
These are a few of the New Folk competition finalists from this year’s
Kerrville Folk Festival: http://www.kerrville-music.com
Donal Hinely “Hey Sunshine” – Dark Horse Days CD http://www.donalhinely.com
@donalhinely
Meg Braun “Red Bird” – Restless Moon CD http://www.megbraun.com @megbmusic
Kirsten Maxwell “We Always Miss” – Crimson CD http://www.kirstenmaxwell.com
@Kmaxwellmusic
Karyn Oliver “Fooling” – Magdalene CD http://www.karynoliver.com @KarynOliver
*****
Darlingside “Water Rose” – Birds Say CD http://www.darlingside.com @darlingside
Shawn Amos “Put Together” – The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You CD
Antigone Rising “Game Changer” – Whiskey & Wine Volume 2 EP
*******
More artists that are appearing in this year’s Kerrville Folk Festival:
Brother Sun “I Won’t Look Down” – Weights & Wings CD http://www.brothersunmusic.com
@BrotherSunNews
Harpeth Rising “Seven Thunders” – Shifted CD http://www.harpethrising.com
@harpethrising
Johnsmith “Borders Of The Moon” – The Longing Road CD http://www.johnsmithmusic.com
Vance Gilbert “Moonlight In Vermont” – Nearness Of You CD
******
Heather Pierson Acoustic Trio “Still She Will Fly”  Still She Will Fly CD
Peter Mulvey “Back In The Wind “Silver Ladder CD http://www.petermulvey.com
@PeterMulvey43
Chase Gassaway “Bright Shiny Day” – Certain Circles CD http://www.chasegassaway.com
@chasegassaway
Mike Wojniak “Tidal Wave” – Anima Mundi EP http://www.mikewojniak.com @mikewojniak
********
Cardboard Ox “Other Side Of Town” – s/t EP http://www.cardboardoxmusic.com
Debbie Miller “From California” – Live In An Empty Sea CD
Avi Wisnia “It’s Only Me” – Something New CD http://www.aviwisnia.com @aviwisnia
Ynana Rose “Guardian Angel” – s/t CD @YnanaRose
*****
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Sol Aurora”
Running time: 151 minutes
Atmosphere:
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 8/30/15 program


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
Join and add radiocblue or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute
for the full show) If it’s not
available for your devices, please request the widget code to place on your
site or blog.
This show was published 8/30/15
Buddy Guy “Flesh & Bone” Born To Play Guitar CD http://www.buddyguy.net
Clarence “Bluesman” Turner “Fender Bender”- The Claster Blaster CD http://www.clarenceturner.com
Lara & The Bluz Dawgz “I Wonder” – Howlin’ CD http://www.laraandthebluzdawgz.com
Rabid Young “Not Enough”
Darlingside “Birds Say” – Birds Say CD http://www.darlingside.com
Running time: 45 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 15th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via
Clammr: http://www.clammr.com Join and add radiocblue or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute
for the full show) If it’s not available for your devices, please request
the widget code to place on your site or blog.
This show was published 8/30/15
Opening music:
Jack Kerouac – Excerpt from “The Subterraneans”
Charlie Parker “Parker’s Mood”
I recited Allan Ginsberg’s poem “Sunflower Sutra”
Patty Carpenter & The Dysfunctional Family Jazz Band “Summer Love” – Come Over CD http://www.dfjbmusic.com
Geoffrey Armes “Sea Lanes” – Elemental Red CD http://www.geoffreyarmes.com
Tangerine Dream “Long Island Sunset” – The Private Music Of Tangerine Dream
_________
Carla Bianco “Part Of Me” – All This Time CD http://www.carlabianco.com
Sara Petite “Circus Comes To Town” – Circus Comes To Town CD http://www.sarapetite.com
The Sidleys “Tin Flowers”- Bittersweet CD http://www.thesidleys.com
Steel Wool “My Country Fair/Nhemamusasa” – All The Love In The World CD http://www.steelwoolband.com
Switchback “Nancy Whiskey” – American Roots & Celtic Soul: Live Volume 1 CD http://www.waygoodmusic.com
The Plastic Pals “Timing Is Everything” http://www.theplasticpals.se
_________
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Between Midnight & Two” – Soul Blues CD http://www.thecrowmatix.com
The Slambovian Circus Of Dreams “Sunday In the Rain” – A Box Of Everything CD http://www.slambovia.com
Tom Principato “The Rain Came Pouring Down” (Live at VIP)- Live and Still Kickin’ CD http://www.tomprincipato.com
Simon McBride “A Rock And A Storm” – Crossing The Line CD http://www.simonmcbride.net
Sirsy “Cannonball” – Coming Into Frame CD http://www.sirsy.com
Bloody Jug Band “13 Steps” – Rope Burn CD http://www.bloodyjugband.com
Radar “Give Up To The Now” http://www.radarrockband.com
_________
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in
great concept or compilation albums.
ROCK BACK FOR NEPAL, by Patetico Records in Philadelphia is a multi-volume
compilation that is raising money for The Nepal Disaster Relief Fund.
From Volume 2 I aired the following:
Asalto al Parque Zoologico “Loslovehandles”
Malka “For Now We Live”
Chatham Rise “Here”
Under The Wire “Melancholy”
_________
Liz Longley “We Run” – s/t CD http://www.lizlongley.com
Jonathan Byrd “Starlight” – You Can’t Outrun The Radio CD http://www.jonathanbyrd.com
Beth Wood “Backroads” – The Weather Inside CD http://www.bethwoodmusic.com
Matt Harlan “Riding With The Wind” – Raven Hotel CD http://www.mattharlan.com
Hungrytown “Static” – Further West CD http://www.hungrytown.net
Marc Black “Praises To The Sea” – Sometime A Spark CD http://www.marcblack.com
_________
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”  http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols
Running time: 203  minutes
Atmosphere: shotgun
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot exist
without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook/Twitter/Clammr: radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 4/13/14 show


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.

HOW TO LISTEN

Via Big Contact:

Podcast page: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/rcbnew041314.mp3

There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
All shows accessed via this player are archived for one year.

Via http://www.archive.org:
Podcast page: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew041314
VBR M3U: https://archive.org/download/RCBnew041314/RCBnew041314_vbr.m3u

Shows accessed via archive.org are always available.

This show was published 4/11/14

Beautiful Gambler “Not Of This Earth” – Love Where CD www.beautifulgambler.com
Fried Goat “Roller Derby Queen” – s/t CD www.friedgoat.com
Johnny Cox “I’m Fine” – Thin Blue Line CD www.johnnycox.ca
Katie Glassman & Snapshot “Good Times Gone By” – Dream A Little Dream CD www.katieglassman.com
Kate MacLeod “The Annual Menhaden” – Kate MacLeod at Ken Sanders Rare Books CD www.katemacleod.com
Running time 47 minutes

Here’s RCB proper:


Radio Crystal Blue is my 13-year-old freeform radio program, usually publishing Wednesdays or Thursdays in podcast format.

HOW TO LISTEN

Via Big Contact:
Podcast page: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2014/04/rcblive041314.mp3
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog. Shows in this FeedPlayer are archived for a year.

Via http://www.archive.org:
Podcast page: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive041314
VBR M3U: https://archive.org/download/RCBlive041314/RCBlive041314_vbr.m3u
MP3 via M3U: https://archive.org/stream/RCBlive041314
Zip https://archive.org/download/RCBlive041314/RCBlive041314_vbr_mp3.zip
mp3: https://archive.org/download/RCBlive041314/RCBlive041314.mp3

Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with *

This show was published on 4/18/14.

Opening music: Geoffrey Armes “Clay Clusters” – Hemisphere CD http://www.geoffreyarmes.com
+++
Spuyten Duyvil “Scratch” – Temptation CD http://www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
Kagero “Gypsy Connection” – Gumbo Du Jour CD http://www.kagero.com
The Late Saints “Stolidi Pensieri” – Bazaar Bizarre CD http://www.thelatesaints.com
Song Dogs “Careless” – Wild Country CD http://www.wearesongdogs.com
Dylan Sneed “Selfish Boy” – Texodus CD http://www.dylansneed.com
Fred Gillen Jr. “Walking That Line” – Silence Of The Nigth CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com
+++
Schwervon! “American Idle” – Courage CD http://www.schwervon.com
*Sirsy “Goner” – Goner & Other Sordid Delights EP http://www.sirsy.com
*John Brodeur “Second Time” – Little Hopes CD http://www.johnbrodeur.com
*Nine Times Blue “Sometimes” – Matter Of Time EP http://www.ninetimesblue.com
Dan Miraldi “I Still Wish She Was Mine” – Devil At Our Heels EP http://www.danmiraldi.com
Tommy Z “I Got Your Back” – Sometimes CD http://www.tommyzband.com
+++
CD FOCUS: An occasional series spotlighting a top compilation or concept album.
David Uosikkinen’s In The Pocket project continues with its latest edition: Essential Songs Of Philadelphia: Sessions. Here, the drummer for The Hooters joins 2 fellow members (Rob Hyman, Eric Bazilian), along with other artists with Philly roots and sing songs that also were born and bred here. More info at http://www.songsinthepocket.org
I spun these:
“Open My Eyes” (original song by The Nazz, Todd Rundgren’s first prominent band. This version features Jeffrey Gaines on lead vox)
“Disco Inferno” (original song by The Trammps. This new version includes a rap by West Philly’s own Schooly D)
+++
Jenn Friedman “Eden” – On The Wire CD http://www.jennfriedman.com
The Portraits “Malala” – Life In Sepia CD http://www.theportraitsmusic.com
Elisa Peimer “Set To Fly” – Pull Of The Moon CD http://www.elisapeimer.com
Jean Mann “Lonesome Bones” – Between The Rocks And Stars CD http://www.jeanmann.net
*Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “Salvation Saloon” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD http://www.karencollins.net
*SI Kahn and the Looping Brothers “Sunday Evening” – Aragon Mill CD http://www.sikahn.com
+++
Nerissa & Katryna Nields “Ten Year Tin” – The Full Catastrophe CD http://www.nields.com
*Raina Rose “Woodsmoke” – Caldera CD http://www.rainarose.com
*Matt The Electrician “Suitcase” – It’s a beacon, it’s a bell CD http://www.matttheelectrician.com
Patti DeRosa “Can’t Hear Her Fall” – Packing My Bags: Patti D Live CD http://www.pattiderosa.com
Eric Lambert & Friends “Senorita” – Maiden Voyage CD http://www.ericlambert.com
Andrew Calhoun “Freedom Road” – Living Room CD http://www.andrewcalhoun.com

Closing music: Pharaoh’s Daugher ‘By Way Of Haran” – Haran CD http://www.pharaohsdaughter.com

Running time: 181 minutos
Atmosphere: deep gypsy soul
+++
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue