Tag Archives: Robbie Fulks

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 12/7/19


HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew120719
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/12/rcbnew120719.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to play Radio Crystal Blue

This show, #472, was published: 12/07/2019.

Heathcote Hill “Promised Land” – Fight Another Day CD http://www.heathcotehill.net @heathcote_hill
The Bean Pickers Union “Campfire Wisdom” – Archaeology CD http://www.facebook.com/beanpickersunion
Highway 3 “Crown Of Roses” – The Fire Within CD http://www.highway3music.com @highway3music
Tim Isberg “Traveller” – Running On The Edge CD http://www.timisberg.com
Teresa James & The Rhythm Tramps “The Day The Blues Came To Town” – Live! CD http://www.teresajames.com
Doug Duffey & BADD “A Memory Left To Lose” – Play The Blues CD http://www.dougduffeyandbadd.com
**************************
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 20th year online, is a weekly podcast, that features top songwriters, and bands – (indie, underground, and touring), in a freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
Radio Public: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive120719.mp3
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/12/rcblive120719.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to play Radio Crystal Blue

This show, #847, was published: 12/07/2019.

Opening:
Blue Haiku “Rainy Season” – Heat Beneath The Sand CD http://www.blue-haiku.com
Jethro Tull “Farm, The Fourway (Farm On The Freeway)” – The String Quartets CD http://www.jethrotull.com
*****

Fred Gillen Jr. “Modern Times” – If I Woke Up This Morning And Died CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com @fredgillenjr
Terri Hendrix “Happy” – Who Is Ann? Project 5.4 CD http://www.terrihendrix.com @terrihendrix
Griffin House “Mighty Good Friend” – Rising Star CD http://www.griffinhousemusic.com @GriffinHouse
Jonathan Byrd &The Pickup Cowboys “Lakota Sioux” – (s/t) CD http://www.jonathanbyrd.com @jonathanbyrd
Rebecca Loebe “Ghosts” – Give Up Your Ghosts CD http://www.rebeccaloebe.com @rebeccaloebe
Livingston Taylor “Sit On Back” – The Best Of LIVe-(50 Years Of Livingston Taylor) CD http://www.livingstontaylor.com @livtaylor
Tragedy Ann “Neon & Velour” – Matches CD http://www.tragedyannmusic.com @tragedyannmusic
Driftwood Soldier “Banker & A Liar (Clean Version)” – Stay Ahead Of The Wolf CD http://www.driftwoodsoldier.com @driftwudsoldier
*******

CD FOCUS: Occasional segment featuring outstanding compilation and concept albums, track-for-track.
Bloodshot Records http://www.bloodshotrecords.com @BSHQ
This roots-rock label turns 25 years old this month. I’ve been a fan of the label, since the early years – (both theirs, and this show’s),
starting with Cordero, circa 2003. The trend has continued to the present day, as some of their current roster do find their way onto my shows,
(namely, The Bottle Rockets, Murder By Death, Vandoliers, and Sarah Shook & The Disarmers). Bloodshot consistently turns out music, that hails mainly
from elements of country, punk and folk – something new in the early 90s, not unlike the “No Depression” movement. Something called, “insurgent country”
grew, from this loose combination of sounds.
From their new compilation, “Too Late To Pray: Defiant Chicago Roots”, I aired these tracks:
Big Sadie “You Never Told Me” http://www.bigsadie.com @bigsadiemusic
Rookie “Head Over Heels” (Writers: Roland Orzabal/Curt Smith – Phonogram, Mercury/1985) http://www.facebook.com/rookietheband @rookie_the_band
The Dyes “Liza Jane” (David Bowie cover)-Writer: Leslie Conn – Vocalion Pop/June 05, 1964) http://www.dyesband.com @thedyesband
Robbie Fulks “Lonely Ain’t Hardly Alive” http://www.robbiefulks.com @robbiefulks
Freakwater “Sway” http://www.freakwater.net @thefreakwater
*********

Reverend Shawn Amos & The Brotherhood “Counting Down The Days” – http://www.shawnamos.com @therevamos
Jo Wymer “The Well Runs Dry” – S.L.G. EP http://www.jowymer.com @jowymernusic
Fire In The Field “Under The Sun” (single) http://www.fireinthefieldmusic.com @FireInTheField
Castle Black “Sierra” – The Gods That Adored You EP http://www.castleblackmusic.com @CastleBlackNYC
Jason Ringenberg “John Muir Stood Here” – Stand Tall CD http://www.jasonringenberg.com @JasonRingenberg
Blacktop Mojo “Come Get Your Coat” – Under The Sun CD http://www.blacktopmojo.com @BlackTopMojo
Elizabeth The Second “Gimme One Euro” – Two Margaritas At The Fifty-Five CD http://www.facebook.com/elizabeth.the.second.band @elizabethe2nd
***********

Donna The Buffalo “Look Both Ways” – Dance In The Street CD http://www.donnathebuffalo.com @donnathebuffalo
Mary Battiata and Little Pink “Tall Timbers” – The Heart, Regardless CD http://www.littlepinktheband.com @MaryBattiata1
The Chapin Sisters “Sleep In” – Today’s Not Yesterday CD http://www.thechapinsisters.com @ChapinSisters
Hungrytown “Sometime” – Further West CD http://www.hungrytown.net @Hungrytown
Carolann Solebello “Concentrate” – Steel & Salt CD http://www.carolannsolebello.com
Joe Iadanza “Wait” – Common Man CD http://www.joeiadanza.com @joeiadanza
*********

CD FOCUS:
Voyage 2: A Valley Entertainment Collection http://www.valley-entertainment.com @valleyent
This indie label focuses on songwriter-oriented material, contemporary Irish music, and world music.
It acquired Hearts of Space Records, an extension of the long-running, syndicated radio program, that features “space music”, itself;
a conglomeration of New Age, Ambient, Electronic, World, and other genres.
From this new compilation, I aired these 4 tracks:
Lisbeth Scott (featuring Pedro Eustache & Harry Risoleo) “Last View” http://www.lisbethscott.com @lisbethscott
Thomasina Levy & David Darling (with Joseph Fire Crow) “Walk In Beauty” http://www.thomasinalevy.com @DulcimerSong
Steve Roach “Quiet Friend” http://www.steveroach.com
Robert Rich & B. Lustmord “Elemental Trigger” http://www.robertrich.com @robertrichmusic
*******

Susan Cattaneo “Ten Kinds Of Trouble” – The Hammer & The Heart 2-CD Set (Disc 1-The Hammer) http://www.susancattaneo.com @susancattaneo
Mare Wakefield & Nomad “I Will Not Be Broken” – Time To Fly CD http://www.marewakefield.com @marewakefield
Beth Wood “Go Now” – The Long Road CD http://www.bethwoodmusic.com @bethwoodmusic
Caroline Cotter “Home On The River” – (t/t) Home On The River CD http://www.carolinecotter.com @CCotterMusic
Heather Kropf “Keep On Walking” – Lights CD http://www.heatherkropf.com @HeatherKropf
Beth DeSombre “I Was Here” – (t/t) I Was Here CD http://www.bethdesombre.com @BethDeSombre
*****

Running time: 3 hours, 43 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
20th anniversary year on the Internet
215-995-2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue