Tag Archives: Kelly Hogan

Radio Crystal Blue and RCB Novus Ordo podcast episodes from 8/28/20


HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music : https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/rcbnew-082020
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2020/08/rcbnew082020.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to play Radio Crystal Blue
Ask Alexa to open Radio Crystal Blue
(Breaker link may not be correct as the feed is still in the reverification process; RSS feed may be out of date on these until process is resolved.)

This show, #487, was published: 08/28/2020.

Deborah Silver (featuring Ray Benson & Asleep At The Wheel) “I Got Rhythm” (single) http://www.deborahsilvermusic.com @deborahbsilver
Michael Veitch “That Was The Summer” – Best Of Many Days CD http://www.michaelveitch.com
Greg Copeland “Beaumont Taco Bell” – The Tango Bar CD http://www.facebook.com/GregCopelandSongwriter
Jess Jocoy “Long Way Home” – Such A Long Way CD http://www.jessjocoy.com @JessJocoy
Ronny Cox “The Night John Huston Died” – Live At The Kitchen Sink CD http://www.ronnycox.com @ronnycoxmusic
Jackson Nickels “Number 40 With A Bullet” – The Journey CD http://www.jacksonnickels.com


Running time: 48 minutos
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Callisto”

Host: Dan Herman

Co-producer: DJ Flowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue


Radio Crystal Blue, in its 20th year online, is a periodic podcast that features top songwriters and bands, in a freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Be aware that, due to Anchor’s time limitations for audio publishing, this program is aired in 2 sections.
Apple Music: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
Radio Public: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/rcblive082020
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2020/08/rcblive082020.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri, or Alexa, to play Radio Crystal Blue.

This show, #862, was published: 08/28/2020.

Opening:
The Velvet Underground “The Gift” – White Light/White Heat (Verve – January 30, 1968)
John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers “Greeny” – Crusade (Decca/UK, London/US – September 01, 1967)
Fleetwood Mac “The Green Manalishi (With The Two Pronged Crown)” – (Reprise – May 15, 1970)
Emerson, Lake & Palmer “From The Beginning” – Trilogy (Island – July 06, 1972)
Fleetwood Mac “Before The Beginning” & “Oh, Well (Part 2)” – Then Play On (Reprise – September 19, 1969)
Santana “Soul Sacrifice” – (s/t) (Columbia – August 30, 1969)
Primal Scream “Jailbird” – Give Out, But Don’t Give Up (Creation/Sire – March 26, 1994)
Electronic “Interlude” & “Second Nature” – Raise The Pressure (Parlophone (UK)/Virgin (EU)/Warner Bros. (AU, JAP, US) – July 08, 1996)
Primal Scream “Don’t Fight It, Feel It” – Screamadelica (Creation/Sire – September 23, 1991)
My Bloody Valentine “Soon” – Loveless (Creation/Sire – November 04, 1991)


Laura Berman “Roots” – Home CD http://www.laurabermanmusic.com @laurabsings
Lara Herscovitch “Castle Walls” – Highway Philosophers CD http://www.laraherscovitch.com @laraherscovitch
Amy Speace “Ginger Ale & Lorna Doones” – Me & The Ghost Of Charlemagne CD http://www.amyspeace.com @RealAmySpeace
Grace Morrison “A Warmer Night” – I’m The Apple CD http://www.gracemorrison.com @RealGraceMusic
Taarka “Sun & Rain” – Fading Mystery CD http://www.taarka.com @taarkamusic
Jonathan Byrd & The Pickup Cowboys “It Don’t Make Sense” – (s/t) CD http://www.jonathanbyrd.com @jonathanbyrd
Deni Bonet “A Perfect Storm” – Bright Shiny Objects CD http://www.denibonet.com @DeniBonet


CD FOCUS – A recurring segment highlighting outstanding concept and compilation albums, track-for-track.
Bloodshot Records: “Pandemophenia” CD http://www.bloodshotrecords.com @bshq
This is a digital rarities compilation featuring limited-edition, never-before-released songs, b-sides, alternate versions, and acoustic tracks, as well as covers
Pandemophenia is a “thank you to all the fans who have been so supportive during this challenging time. It is something positive to enjoy and something for the artists
to share with the world while they’re grounded.” From this album, I aired:
Jason Hawk Harris “I’m Not There Yet”,
Ruby Boots “Keeping Me Alive”,
Banditos “Keep On Smilin'”
Kelly Hogan “Homewrecker”.


The Williams Brothers Band “Circles” – (single) http://www.thewilliamsbrothersband.com
The Reverend Shawn Amos & The Brotherhood “The Job Is Never Done” – Blue Sky CD http://www.shawnamos.com
Jo Wymer “The Shoebox” – S.L.G. EP http://www.jowymer.com @jowymermusic
Sirsy “Satellite” – Like A Drum EP http://www.sirsy.com @SIRSY
Certain Animals “Too Long” – (single) http://www.certainanimals.nl
The City Gates “Siegfried 1969” – (single) http://www.facebook.com/thecitygatesmusic @TheCityGates
Egopusher “Elenor” – (single) http://www.egopusher.com @egopusher


CD Focus: Putumayo Records: Brazil: Samba, Bossa & Beyond! http://www.putumayo.com
The world music label’s latest explores the melting pot of sounds, influenced by African, Amerindian, and American styles.
From this album, I aired: Vania Abreu – “Embola Bola”, Rogê – “Fala Brasil”, & Bia – “Beijo”.


Kyle Maher “Better” (EXPLICIT) – (single) http://www.facebook.com/kylemahermusic
Ryan Savallo “Wandering Mind” (EXPLICIT) – (single) https://ryansavallosmusic.bandzoogle.com
Afton Wolfe “Notes Written On Basil” – Petronius’ Last Meal EP http://www.aftonwolfe.com @AftonWolfeSongs
Britt Connors “Into The Deep” – Longitude CD http://www.brittconnors.com @BrittConnors22
Aztec Two Step 2.0 “Apocalypse (Now!)” – (t/t) Apocalypse (Now!) EP http://www.aztectwostep.com @Aztec_TwoStep
Najva Ensemble “Through The Dark (Passage To Bidad)” – Passing Through The Dark CD http://www.facebook.com/najvaensemble


Dana & Susan Robinson “The Flying Farmer” – The Town That Music Saved CD http://www.robinsongs.com @robinsongs2
Davey O “My Parade” – A Bright Horizon Line CD http://www.daveyo.com
Nicholas Edward Williams “Ain’t It Convenient” – As I Go Ramblin’ Around CD http://www.nicholasedwardwilliams.com @USASongcatcher
Chuck Brodsky “Couldn’t Do What Daddy Done” – Them & Us CD http://www.chuckbrodsky.com @Chuckbrodsky
Scott Cook “Careful With My Heart” – Further Down The Line CD http://www.scottcook.net
Joe Jencks “What Did You Learn” – The Forgotten: Recovered Treasures From The Pen Of Si Kahn CD http://www.joejencks.com @JoeJencksMusic


Running time: 4 hours, 7 minutos
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”

Host: Dan Herman

Co-producer: DJ Flowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. This means this work must not be remixed, or transformed or edited publicly further upon its publishing without express permission. Further, full credit must be given to me (Dan/Radio Crystal Blue) when citing this work. Further still, none of this work is intended for commercial purposes. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org
Please listen and enjoy these shows responsibly. Hey, no content on any podcast is ever free from judgement or suggestion of offensive use. To that end, be assured that Radio Crystal Blue, despite any such content, does not intend to offend, or cause harm, to any party or parties with the distribution of these programs.

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
20th anniversary year on the Internet
215-995-2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
Email: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 1/30/20


HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music : https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew011020
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2020/01/rcbnew011020.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to play Radio Crystal Blue

This show, #474, was published: 01/27/2020.

Searson “Better Than Fine” – Live At The Neat Cafe CD http://www.searsonband.com @SearsonBand
Daybreakers “More To Say” – Worn Out Dream CD http://www.daybreakersband.com @DayBreakers145
Groosha “Zima” – Left The Town CD http://www.facebook.com/grooshamusic
Coco Love Alcorn “What I Need” – Rebirth CD http://www.cocolovealcorn.com @cocolovealcorn
Peter Lewis “In This Place” – The Road To Zion CD http://www.facebook.com/TheMusicOfPeterLewis
Si Kahn “Lady Of The Harbor” – Best Of The Rest CD http://www.sikahn.com @Kahn75Si
*******

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Callisto”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 41 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
Co-producer: DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
*******************
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 20th year online, is a weekly podcast, that features top songwriters, and bands, in a freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
Radio Public: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/rcblive012720
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2020/01/rcbnew012720.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to play Radio Crystal Blue

This show, #850, was published: 01/27/2020.

Opening:
The Verve “A New Decade” – A Northern Soul (Vernon Yard/US, Hut/UK – June 20, 1995; Univ. Remaster – 2016)
Arcade Fire “In The Backseat” – Funeral (Merge – September 14, 2004)
David Bowie “Get Real” – Reality (ISO/Columbia – September 15, 2003)
The Ramones “I Don’t Wanna Grow Up” – ¡Adios Amigos! (Radioactive/Chrysalis – July 18, 1995)
*****

Rachael Kilgour “Up From Down” – Rabbit In The Road CD http://www.rachaelkilgour.com @rkilgourmusic
Kevin Daniel “Things I Don’t See” -Things I Don’t See CD http://www.thekevindaniel.com @thekevindaniel
Shane Martin “Passenger Seat” – Keepin’ The Night Alive CD http://www.shanemartin.com
Wayne Hancock “Shootin’ Star From Texas” – Man Of The Road: The Early Bloodshot Years CD http://www.waynehancock.com @wayne_the_train
Donna The Buffalo “Heaven & The Earth” – Dance In The Street CD http://www.donnathebuffalo.com @donnathebuffalo
*******

Bottle Rockets “Bad Time To Be An Outlaw” – Bit Logic CD http://www.bottlerocketsmusic.com @bottlerockets
Kinky Friedman “I Love You When It Rains” – Resurrection CD http://www.kinkyfriedman.com @TheKFriedman
Robbie Fulks (Feat. Linda Gail Lewis) “It Came From The South” – Wild! Wild! Wild! CD http://www.robbiefulks.com @robbiefulks
Jason Ringenberg “John The Baptist Was A Real Humdinger” – Stand Tall CD http://www.jasonringenberg.com @jasonringenberg
Moonshine Society “Biscuits, Bacon & The Blues” – Sweet Thing CD http://www.moonshinesociety.com
Reverend Raven & The Chainsmokin’ Altar Boys “Slow Burn” – My Life: 20th Anniversary CD http://www.reverendraven.com @rraven01
Jo Wymer “No Rules” – S.L.G. CD http://www.jowymer.com @jowymermusic
*********
CD FOCUS:
BLOODSHOT RECORDS http://www.bloodshotrecords.com @BSHQ
This roots-rock label turns 25 years old this month. I’ve been a fan of the label, since the early years – (both theirs, and this show’s),
starting with Cordero, circa 2003. The trend has continued to the present day, as some of their current roster do find their way onto my shows –
(namely, The Bottle Rockets, Murder By Death, Vandoliers, and Sarah Shook & The Disarmers). Bloodshot consistently turns out music, that hails mainly
from elements of country, punk and folk – something new in the early 90s, not unlike the “No Depression” movement. Something called, “insurgent country”
grew, from this loose combination of sounds.
From their new compilation, “Too Late To Pray: Defiant Chicago Roots”, I aired these 4 tracks:
Sima Cunningham “Weeds and Daisies” http://www.simacunningham.com @simacunningham
The Lawrence Peters Outfit “I Wrote You A Song” http://www.lawrencepeters.com @lpetersoutfit
Kelly Hogan “Gotta Have My Baby Back” http://www.kellyhogan.com @hoganhere
The Saluda Moonlighters “Honky Tonkin’ In The Moonlight” http://www.facebook.com/thesaludamoonlighters
***********

Beat Hotel “Beat Girl” – Beat Girl EP http://www.facebook.com/Beat-Hotel-107226936009024
Pia Fraus “Sweet Sunday Snow” – Empty Parks CD http://www.facebook.com/piafrausband @piafrausband
Sofia Härdig “Camera Queen” – This Big Hush CD http://www.sofiahardig.net @sofiahardig
Kalina and Kiana “She Is” – http://www.kalinaandkiana.com @kalinaandkiana
Greg Klyma “He Had A Southern Accent (Take It On Faith)” – Maybe The Ocean CD http://www.klyma.com @gregklyma
*********

CD FOCUS:
VOYAGE 2: A VALLEY ENTERTAINMENT COLLECTION http://www.valley-entertainment.com @valleyent
This indie label focuses on songwriter-oriented material, contemporary Irish music, and world music.
It acquired Hearts of Space Records, an extension of the long-running, syndicated radio program, that features “space music”, itself;
a conglomeration of New Age, Ambient, Electronic, World, and other genres.
From the Sledgehammer Blues portion of the compilation, we hear these 5 tracks:
Terry Evans “Blues No More” (Puttin It Down)
Larry Willis “Steal Away” (Steal Away)
From the Valley Entertainment portion:
Kronos Quartet (featuring Mahsa & Marjan Vahdat) “Placeless” (Placeless) http://www.kronosquartet.org http://www.mahsavahdat.net @kronosquartet @mahsa_vahdat @marjanvahdat
Karla Bonoff “I Can’t Hold On” (Live) http://www.karlabonoff.com @karlabonoff
*******

The Nouveaux Honkies “Will and Faith” – Loud In Here CD http://www.tnhband.com @TNHband
Debra Cowan “Anna Dixie” – Greening The Dark CD http://www.debracowan.com @debracowanmusic
The Susie Glaze New Folk Ensemble “Miss Molly” – Live At McCabe’s CD http://www.susieglaze.com
John McCutcheon “Letter To Eve” – To Everyone In All The World: A Celebration Of Pete Seeger CD http://www.folkmusic.com @mccutcheonfolk
Livingston Taylor “Caroline” – The Best Of LIVe: 50 Years Of Livingston Taylor CD http://www.livingstontaylor.com @livtaylor
*****
Closing music: “Happy Birthday” (Pipe Organ – Olivier Latry, excerpt from: “Orgelmarathon – Improvisation Pour L’Anniversaire: Happy Birthday”)

Running time: 3 hours, 30 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
Co-producer: DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
20th anniversary year on the Internet
215-995-2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue