Tag Archives: Folk Alliance

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 2/16/2014


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.

HOW TO LISTEN

Via Big Contact:

Podcast page: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2014/02/rcbnew021614.mp3

There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
All shows accessed via this player are archived for one year.

This show is NOT available via www.archive.org

This show was published 2/22/14

Global Shakedown “Give” – A Time To Recognize CD www.globalshakedown.com
The Halley DeVestern Band “Boil” – Fabbo! Boffo! Smasho! CD www.halleydevestern.com
Dirt Road Angels “Unsatisfied” – s/t CD
Wylie & The Wild West “Hello Heartache” – Relic CD www.wyliewebsite.com
Jennifer Evans “Cheatin’ Kind” – The Last Cheap Hotel CD www.jennifer-evans.com
Running time: 44 minutos
***
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my 13-year-old freeform radio program, usually publishing Wednesdays or Thursdays in podcast format.

HOW TO LISTEN

Via Big Contact:
Podcast page: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2014/02/rcblive021614.mp3

There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog. Shows in this FeedPlayer are archived for a year.
This show is NOT available at www.archive.org

Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with *

This show was published on 2/22/14.

Opening music:

Graham Nash “Cold Rain” – Reflections album set
The Matthew Show “February” – February CD www.thematthewshow.com
***
*Meg Braun “The Best Way” – Broken Places CD www.megbraun.com
*Elisa Peimer “Lose My Way” – Pull Of The Moon CD www.elisapeimer.com
**Carolann Solebello “Neptune” – Steel and Salt CD www.carolannsolebello.com
**The YaYas “All These Gifts” – Paper Boats CD www.wearetheyayas.com
***Karyn Oliver “Fooling” – Magdalene CD www.karynoliver.com
Honor Finnegan “Pictures Of Snow” – The Tiny Life CD www.honorfinnegan.com
+++
These are some of the invited showcase participants in 2014 Folk Alliance International in Kansas City MO:
Wyatt Easterling “If A Tree Falls” – Goodbye Hello CD www.wyatteasterling.com
Amy Speace “Left Me Hanging” – How To Sleep In A Stormy Boat CD www.amyspeace.com
Ellis “Let’s Go To Yoga” – Wherever You Are CD set www.ellis-music.com
Raina Rose “I Am Listening” – Caldera CD www.rainarose.com
Buddy Mondlock “What Do I Know” – The Memory Wall CD www.buddymondlock.com
Kris Delmhorst “1000 Reasons” – Shotgun Singer CD www.krisdelmhorst.com
Ellis Paul “Waking Up To Me” – The Day After Everything Changed CD www.ellispaul.com
****
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “That There Boogie” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD www.karencollins.net
*Jim Patton & Sherry Brokus “Crystal City” – The Great Unknown CD http://www.pattonbrokus.com
*Brian Kalinec “Blessings Of This Day” – The Fence CD www.briankalinec.com
*Matt Harlan & The Sentimentals “The Easy Road” – Bow And Be Simple CD www.mattharlan.com www.thesentimentals.com
Calico “Fool’s Gold” – s/t CD www.calicotheband.com
Mustered Courage “Powerlines” – Powerlines CD www.musteredcourage.com
Bern & The Brights “War & Games” – Work CD www.bernandthebrights.com
Jack + Jill “Home Again” – Coloradio CD www.jackplusjill.com
+++
*Jeff Campbell “Save Me” – In Spite Of Everything CD www.jeffcampbellmusic.com
*Megan Slankard “Our Little Secret” – A Token Of The Wreckage CD www.meganslankard.com
*Clarence Bucaro “New Sky” – Dreaming From The Heart Of New York CD www.clarencebucaro.com
Amanda Pearcy “A Thousand Tender Recollections” – Royal Street CD www.amandapearcy.com
*Tom Principato “The Rain Came Pourin’ Down” – Robert Johnson Told Me So CD www.tomprincipato.com
*Carsie Blanton “Trigger Finger” – Rude Remarks and Dirty Jokes CD www.carsieblanton.com
++
More official showcase artists at Folk Alliance:
The Grahams “A Good Man” – Riverman’s Daughter CD www.thegrahamsmusic.net
Poor Old Shine “Empty Rocking Chair” – s/t CD www.pooroldshine.com
Rebecca Loebe “High & Lonesome” – Circus Heart CD www.rebeccaloebe.com
Harpeth Rising “Eris” – Tales From Jackson Bridge CD www.harpethrising.com
Darlingside “The Woods” – Pilot Machines CD www.darlingside.com
Disappear Fear “Broken Film” – Broken Film CD www.disappearfear.com
Brother Sun “There’s Enough Love” – Some Part Of The Truth CD www.brothersunmusic.com
+++
Matt The Electrician “Suitcase” – It’s A Beacon, It’s A Bell CD www.matttheelectrician.com
Eric Lambert “Cumberland Blues” – Maiden Voyage CD www.ericlambert.com
Jason Myles Goss “Dark Dark Winter” – Radio Dial CD www.jasonmylesgoss.com
Carl Solomon “Home Coming” – Black Top Beauty CD www.carlsolomonmusic.com
Beth DeSombre “Leaving In Three-Quarter Time” – At Home In This Town CD www.bethdesombre.com
+++
Closing music: Chicha Libre “Sonido Amazonico” – Sonido Amazonico CD http://www.barbesrecords.com

Running time: 250 minutos
Atmosphere: agonizing, void
+++
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue 2/12/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: http://www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions http://www.mileshighproductions.com
Serge Entertainment Public Relations http://www.sergepr.com
Wampus Multimedia http://www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
*************************************************************************
HOW TO LISTEN:
Feed Player at my home page of http://www.radiocrystalblue.net  It is active as a
popup window. Within the page you can stream/share/download the audio. You
can put the player up on your site or blg too.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss
Yes, I’m on iTunes and all those places as well.

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group
http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
REVERBNATION: http://www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456 (updated)
TWITTER @radiocblue 827 followers
STAT BLOG: http://www.cblue456.tumblr.com
************************************************
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about February 15.
You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground
songwriters and bands, and also::
CD FOCUS:
VERMONT: VT Artists for VT Relief:  http://www.mallettsbayrecords.com
www.bluebirdpromotions.com
This will be the final first airing of material from this compilation.

RCB Novus Ordo returned this week. This show is one where I spin one song from as many as 8 songs in one sitting and give you background of each artist.
**********************************************************************************
So…how’m I doin’? Just fine.  Recovered very nicely from whatever was ailing me tho adhering to a better diet certainly doesn’t hurt.  Cutting out coffee and soda but getting back to some of my old ways soon enough.   I did skip one gig I wanted to go to, but am planning to go to one tonight; very shortly as a matter of fact. I’m covering a showcase at The Grape Room. Andrew Jude is on the bill. You’ve heard me debut him on RCB Novus Ordo. Johnny Action Figure also performing, another band I saw at Grape Room last time.     www.graperoommusic.com
Also scheduled to interview and see Lisa Biales perform at a venue in Center City, 2/15.  www.lisabiales.com

Any approved audio will appear at my field recording FeedPlayer:
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalbluefield

SHORTY AWARD voting continues!  Give a creative Tweet as your
vote for me in the radio category at
http://shortyawards.com/radiocblue?category=radio
*************************************************
TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW:  @ttownparamours @AdamCrossMusic @thecityandhorses @VincentPoag @SteveMulry

*****************************************************
COVERAGE:
I do audio interviews, photos, video, and audio of live events.  You can see
and hear evidence across my Facebook and YouTube channels, plus the field
recording FeedPlayer.Time, location and expense will be taken into account
before taking on a job.
********************************************************************
RCB REVIEW:
On RCB Novus Ordo: The aforementioned Andrew Jude with a song set in Philadelphia started this show. The Strange Heat had played a bill at The Grape Room and I debut them here.  Ditto for Glassboro, NJ’s own indie pop band Case Closed. Makar returns with newer material, slightly subduded, more piano than guitar on this disc than in previous ones.   Katie Pearlman, one of my very favorites, has a concept album “Girls Like Me” based on stories of the lives of women that touched her heart. The book referenced for her songs is “Note To Self: 30 Women on Hardship, Humiliation, Heartbreak, and Overcoming It All” by Andrea Buchanan.    The deep, dark, sultry bluesy voice of Lin McEwan closes out this show, Muzz Skillings producing her newest effort.

RCB proper:   Tony Mecca (and those Electric Heavy Mental Gypsys) playing a few shows while they ready a new album; I dug into their prior material for a tune.  Jeff Campbell and Megan Slankard  part of a songwriter-in-the-round 2/17 at Studio on 4th, Reno NV  Jeff and Megan composed and wrote the song I spun for you this week.  I spun Megan’s song directly after this one. I was moved by the depth and creativity of her songwriting. I’m actually reminded of Holly Figueroa (O’Reilly).  In fact I contacted Holly about Megan, and…well…I’ll let you read her response via Facebook.  Then a pair of CA-based songwriters (Giana Nguyen, Marina V) followed.    I did 2 segments of music featuring artists who are part of official showcases at this year’s Folk Alliance conference in Memphis. Heather Styka is a new name, gaining strong popularity in the folk category. I had used a quote from the matthew show and also the timely song “february” in posting the playist info.  Debuted a solo piano CD from Professor Louie, segued into West Coast Blues and then rockabilly (Rod Piazza, The Mad Tea),  Garrison Starr made a new EP for her fans; I took liberty of spinning from that one, following up with train-oriented songs (Vance Gilbert, The Nields). Closed out with songs by Lauren Adams and Ernest Troost. Ernest just released “Live at McCabe’s” recorded January 2011 at McCabe’s Guitar Shop.  Lauren reintroduces her Americana Music Circle at Genghis Cohen in Los Angeles.

AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:
Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
CDs MUST have a 2012 release date or have been released no earlier than
April 2011..

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: http://www.musicsubmit.com.
(For those in Australia) GIG LAUNCH: http://www.giglaunch.com.au
All you have to do is a search on these sites for Radio Crystal Blue.
*********
namaste

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue on twitter
215 995 2234

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 2/5/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo  spotlights CDs that are debuting on my standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a weekly podcast.

Listen here:

(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers) http://www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share.  Click the pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.

(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get Flash, or try my podcast provider at http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu

(3) mp3:  https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/rcbnew020512.mp3

(4) RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 2/9

Andrew Jude “Love Washed Away” – Everybody Wants A Little More CD http://www.andrewjude.com

The Symbols “Be Here Now” – Be Here Now CD http://www.thesymbols.net

The Strange Heat “Back To You” – Wearing New Socks CD http://www.thestrangeheat.com

Case Closed “Bombshell” – Clouds CD http://www.facebook.com/caseclosednj

Makar “Show Me That Look In Your Eyes” – Funeral Genius CD http://www.makarmusic.com

Katie Pearlman “Tomorrow Will Be Better” – Girls Like Me CD http://www.katiepearlman.com

Deborah Lombardi “If You Only Knew” – Sweet Revenge CD http://www.deborahlombardi.com

Lin McEwan “Still” – When I Wake CD http://www.linmcewan.com

Running time: 62 minutos

—————————————————————–

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative. For more info: http://www.creativecommons.org

 

Here’s Radio Crystal Blue proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The show exists as a weekly podcast.Listen here:

(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers) http://www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share.  Click the pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.

(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get Flash, or try my podcast provider at http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu

(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/rcblive020512.mp3

(4) RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

 

This show was distributed on 2/9/12Artists with shared gigs in the near future are noted with * & **

 

“February’s hard to revover from/It takes the most from me each time…”

Opening music: King Britt featuring Sylk 130 “When The Funk Hits The Fan”

************************

Comic Tales Of Tragic Heartbreak “Baby Steps” – s/t CD http://www.comictalesoftragicheartbreak.com

Tony Mecca “Boy Meets Girl” – Hello, Goodbye & Everything in Between CD http://www.tonymeccamusic.com

Darlingside “The Catbird Seat” – s/t EP http://www.darlingside.com

*Jeff Campbell “It Stopped Raining” – Stop And Go CD http://www.jeffcampbellmusic.com

*Megan Slankard “You And Your Bright Ideas” – A Token Of The Wreckage CD http://www.meganslankard.com

Giana Nguyen “For Now” – For Now EP http://www.giananguyen.com

Marina V “Unbalanced” – My Star CD http://www.marinav.com

**************************************

I spun music from artists who are performing at this year’s Folk Alliance International Conference later in February  http://www.folkalliance.org :

Heather Styka “Dragon Kite” – Lifeboats For Atlantis CD http://www.heather.styka.com

Liz Longley “Little White House” – hot loose wire CD http://www.lizlongley.com

The Boxcar Lilies “Feels Like Home” – heartwood CD http://www.boxcarlilies.com

Brother Sun “What Must Be Done” – s/t CD http://www.brothersunmusic.com

the matthew show “february” – february CD http://www.thematthewshow.com

********************************

Professor Louie “Daughters & Sons” – Rugged & Funky CD http://www.professorlouie.com

Rod Piazza & The All Mighty Flyers “Move Out Baby” – Almighty Dollar CD http://www.themightyflyers.com

The Mad Tea Party “I Went Out” – Found A Reason CD http://www.themadteaparty.com

The Trapps “Too Late To Play Games” – Cheap Seats CD http://www.thetrapps.net

Crown Point “Back To You” – Wolves EP http://www.crownpointband.com

Lisa Bianco “Low” – Momentum CD http://www.lisabianco.com

Christina LaRocca “Destiny” – I Stand Tall With My Eyes Wide Open CD http://www.christinalaroccamusic.com

****************************

CD FOCUS: Vermont: VT Artists for VT Relief  http://www.bluebirdpromotions.com http://www.mallettsbayrecords.comThis compilation of 18 songs are all from VT artists supporting the continuing relief efforts in the aftermath of Tropical Storm Irene. Proceeds from this CD go to the Vermont Red Cross.

From this compilation I spun:Lowell Thompson “Pictures” – http://www.lowellthompson.com

Patti Casey “Spread Joy Over This Land” –  www.patticasey.com

**************************

More music from artists performing at the international Folk Alliance conference http://www.folkalliance.org :

Cary Cooper “Drop In The Bucket” – Pink Umbrella CD http://www.carycooper.com

Rebecca Loebe “Land & Sea” – Mystery Prize CD http://www.rebeccaloebe.com

Carrie Elkin “Landeth By Sea” – Call It My Garden CD http://www.carrieelkin.com

Danny Schmiddt “Almost Round The World” – man of many moons CD http://www.dannyschmidt.com

Phil Minissale “Fighting a Losing Battle” – Young Fool CD http://www.philminissalemusic.com

Putnam Smith “hush” – we could be beekeepers CD http://www.putnamsmith.com

********************************

Garrison Starr “Wanted For Anything” – Not For Nothing EP http://www.garrisonstarr.com

Kris Delmhorst “Midnight Ringer” – Shotgun Singer CD http://www.krisdelmhorst.com

Vance Gilbert “Boy On A Train” – old white men CD http://www.vancegilbert.com

Nerissa & Katryna Nields CD “This Train” – Sister Holler CD http://www.nields.com

*Lauren Adams ” Oklahoma, USA” – Secret Heart CD http://www.laurenadams.com

*Ernest Troost “Travelin’ Shoes” – Live At McCabe’s CD http://www.ernesttroost.com

*********************************

Closing music: Robert Sadin “Comment” – Art Of Love: Music Of Machaut CD

Running time: 3 hours, 55 minutos

—————————————————————–

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative. For more info: http://www.creativecommons.org

 

Next show will be recorded the week of 2/12/12

 

namaste

———————————————————————

 

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue

cblue456@comcast.net

2159952234

http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue

twitter:  @radiocblue