Tag Archives: Montauk Music Festival

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo week of 5/10/15


HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and
download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
All shows accessed via this player are archived for one year.
Via Internet Archive:  https://archive.org/details/RCBnew051015
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Stitcher (iPhone, iPod, Android):
NEW: Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this weeks’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com   Join and add radiocblue  or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute
for the full show)  If it’s not available for your devices, please request the widget
code to place on your site or blog.
This show was published 5/15/15
Eliza and the Organix “The Hours” – Orange Moon Soon EP
Phil Yates The Affiliates “Masterpiece” – No Need To Beg CD www.philyates.com
Steven Graves “Humility” – Mission Bell CD wwe.stevengravesmusic.com
Vinyl Laranja “To Love”- Rooster Illusion CD www.vinyllaranja.com
David Catallo “Chimera” – La Fuente y El Arroyo CD www.davidcatalloguitar.com
Beth Crowley “How It Ends”- Porcelain Heart CD www.bethcrowley.com
***
Running time:  49 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 15th year, is a weekly podcast that features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
All shows accessed via this player are archived for one year.
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Stitcher (iPhone, iPod, Android):
NEW: Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com Join and add radiocblue or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute for the full show) If it’s not available for your devices, please request the widget code to place on your site or blog.
This show was published 5/15/15
Opening music:
The Orb  (featuring Lee “Scratch” Perry) “Golden Clouds” – The Orbserver In The Star House CD
—–
This segment contains musicians featured at this year’s SERFA conference http://www.serfa.org
Si Kahn & The Looping Brothers “When The Morning Breaks” – Aragon Mill: The Bluegrass Sessions CD http://www.sikahn.com
The Early Mays “Red Bud” – s/t CD http://www.theearlymays.com
Danielle Miraglia “Pigeons” – Glory Junkies CD http://www.daniellem.com
Jon Shain “Peace Like A River” – Reupholstered CD http://www.jonshain.com
Jim Photoglo “Something Of Me” – Halls Of My Heart CD http://www.jimphotoglo.com
Tim Grimm “Blame It On The Dog” – The Turning Point CD http://www.timgrimm.com
—-
Kevin So “Dreamin’ Bout Tomorrow” – Countryside CD http://www.kevinso.com
Ellis Paul “Drive-in Movie” – Chasing Beauty CD http://www.ellispaul.com
Peter Mulvey “Remember The Milkman?” – Silver Ladder CD http://www.petermulvey.com
*Han “The Last Gold Steed” – Radio Flyers CD http://www.han-music.com
*The Coteries “Be Here Today” – s/t EP http://www.thecoteries.com
The Levins “Dream Unspoken” – Trust CD http://www.thelevins.com
Matt Harlan “Half-Developed Song” – Raven Hotel CD http://www.mattharlan.com
—-
Herbie D & The Dangermen “Devil On My Shoulder” – Dangerous With Blues CD http://www.herbiedandthedangermen.com
Tom Principato “Robert Johnson Told Me So” – Robert Johnson Told Me So CD http://www.tomprincipato.com
Nine Times Blue “This Time” – Matter Of Time CD http://www.9timesblue.com
Sirsy “Killer” – Coming Into Frame CD http://www.sirsy.com
Emiko “Excuse Me For Breathing” – Moving The Universe, Part 1 EP  http://www.emikomusic.com
Jo Wymer “Rearview Mirror” – http://www.jowymer.com
dinMachine “Tryad” – Dance To Reason CD http://www.dinmachine.com
—-
These artists are participating in this weekend’s Montauk Music Festival  http://www.themontaukmusicfestival.com :
Kevin McWha Steele “Stay With Her” – s/t CD http://www.kevinmcwhasteele.com
Kaydi Johnson “American Grocery Store” – No Gods Allowed CD http://www.kaydijohnsong.com
Butcher’s Blind “Burn Up Bright” – Destination Blues sampler EP http://www.butchersblind.com
Cody Joe Hodges “Cabo, Mexico” – The Good Stuff CD http://www.codyjoehodges.com
—-
Britt Connors “Turtle Song” – Warmer Season CD http://www.brittconnors.com
Laura Berman “Mend” – Everything In Between CD http://www.laurabermanmusic.com
The Portraits “Small World Anthem” – Life In Sepia CD http://www.theportrtaitsmusic.com
Sloan Wainwright “Holland” – Upside Down & Under My Heart CD http://www.sloanwainwright.com
Evan Button “Walking On Earth” – Walking On Earth CD http://www.evanbutton.com
Avi Wisnia “Rabbit Hole” – Something New CD http://www.aviwisnia.com
Sharon Glassman “Spring Or Fall” – Blame It On Hoboken, The Songs, Volume 2 EP http://www.sharonglassmanlive.com
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer” http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols
Running time: 188 minutes
Atmosphere: gold-lining memories
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist
without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook/Twitter/Clammr: radiocblue
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 4/27/14 shows


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new
music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists
eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.HOW TO LISTEN

Via Big Contact:

Podcast page: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/rcbnew042714.mp3

There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and
download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog. All shows
accessed via this player are archived for one year.

Via www.archive.org:
Podcast page: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew042714
VBR M3U: https://archive.org/download/RCBnew042714/RCBnew042714_vbr.m3u
MP3 via M3U: https://archive.org/stream/RCBnew042714
Zip: https://archive.org/download/RCBnew042714/RCBnew042714_vbr_mp3.zip

mp3: https://archive.org/download/RCBnew042714/RCBnew042714.mp3
Shows accessed via archive.org are always available.This show was published 5/1/14
Tweed Funk “Deed Is Done” – First Name Lucky CD www.tweedfunk.com

Violet Machine “Tidal” – City Of Glass EP www.violetmachine.com
Tony Clark & Killing Time “When I’m In My Car” – When I’m In My Car EP www.tonyclarkandkillingtime.com
Andrew Tinker “No Home” – Upon The Ecliptic CD www.andrewtinker.com
Carrie Ferguson “Wooden Nickel” – The List Of Whales CD www.carrieferguson.com
Running time: 44 minutos
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my 13-year-old freeform radio program, usually
publishing Wednesdays or Thursdays in podcast format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
Podcast page: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/rcblive042714.mp3
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and
download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog. Shows in this
FeedPlayer are archived for a year.Via http://www.archive.org:
Podcast page: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive042714
VBR M3U: https://archive.org/download/RCBlive042714/RCBlive042714_vbr.m3u
MP3 via M3U: https://archive.org/stream/RCBlive042714

Zip: https://archive.org/download/RCBlive042714/RCBlive042714_vbr_mp3.zip
mp3: https://archive.org/download/RCBlive042714/RCBlive042714.mp3Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with *

This show was published on 5/1/14.

Opening music:

Steve Wynn “Second Best” – “Fever Pitch” movie soundtrack
Golden Smog “Looking Forward To Seeing You” – Weird Tales
Whiskeytown “Sit And Listen To The Rain” – Pneumonia
+++
The Como Brothers Band “You Are My World” – The Speed Of Sound EP www.thecomobrothersband.com
Owen Danoff “Never Been Kissed” – Twelve Stories CD www.owendanoff.com
Rodger Delany “Somebody Like You” – Moment Of Truth CD www.rodgerdelany.com
Jessie Kilguss & Radio Gold “Keith & Anita” – The Sky Gold CD www.jessiekilguss.com
Ray Lambiase “Waiting For The Rain” – Time Leaves Things Behind CD www.raylambiase.com
+++
These artists are taking part in the Montauk Music Festival, May 15-18 www.montaukmusicfestival.com:
Butchers Blind “Destination Blues” – Destination Blues EP www.butchersblind.com
Kevin McWha Steele “Stay With Her” – s/t CD www.kevinmcwhasteele.com
Kaydi Johnson “Injured Angel” – Peasant Of The Wreck CD www.kaydijohnsong.com
Remember September “Empty Space” – The Roads We Travel CD www.rememberseptemberband.com
+++
*Bryan Dunn “Audio Stereo Radio” – Sweetheart Of the Music Hall CD www.bryandunnmusic.net
*Pi Jacobs “Trying To Be Loved” – Urbanicana CD www.pijacobs.com
+++
MJ Hibbett & The Validators “Better Things To Do” – We Validate! CD www.mjhibbett.com
The Currys “Hollow Bones” – Follow CD www.thecurrysmusic.com
Flagship Romance “Hit The Ground” – The Fudge Sessions EP www.flagshipromance.com
The Plastic Pals “Travelling” – Turn The Tide CD www.theplasticpals.se
Antigone Rising “Get To You” – Whiskey & Wine, Vol. 1 CD www.antigonerising.com
Kosmic Daydream “Route 444” – Psychosomatic Playground CD www.kosmicdaydream.com
The Bloody Jug Band “Asylum Blues” – Murder Of Crows EP www.bloodyjugband.com
+++
CD FOCUS: An occasional series spotlighting a top compilation or concept
album.
David Uosikkinen’s In The Pocket project continues with its latest edition:
Essential Songs Of Philadelphia: Sessions. Here, the drummer for The Hooters
joins 2 fellow members (Rob Hyman, Eric Bazilian), along with other artists
with Philly roots and sing songs that also were born and bred here. More
info at http://www.songsinthepocket.org
I spun these:
“I Saw The Light” (Original by Todd Rundgren. Session includes members of Smash Palace)
“All My Mondays” (Original by Youth Camp. Session includes members of The Hooters)
+++
These artists are taking part in the Spring Gulch Folk Festival 5/15-18 www.springgulch.com:
Brother Sun “True” – Some Part Of The Truth CD www.brothersunmusic.com
Antje Duvekot “Sleepy Sea Of Indigo And Blue” – New Siberia CD www.antjeduvekot.com
Mary Gauthier “Wheel Inside The Wheel” – Live At Blue Rock CD www.marygauthier.com
Spuyten Duyvil “Old Abram” – Temptation CD www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
+++
*Chris Smither “What They Say” – Hundred Dollar Valentine CD www.smither.com
*Hurray For The Riff Raff “End Of The Line” – Small Town Heroes CD www.hurrayfortheriffraff.com
+++
Tae Phoenix “Ordinary Things” – Outside The Lines CD www.taephoenix.com
Meredith Blis “Mighty Aphrodite” – A Purple Kind Of Blue CD www.meredithblis.com
Debbie Miller “Brand New Album” – Measures + Waits EP www.thedebbiemiller.com
Hungrytown “Make It All Work Out” – Any Forgotten Thing CD www.hungrytown.net
Molasses Creek “Tennessee Stud” – Something Worth Having CD www.molassescreek.com
Lowland Hum “When The World Sleeps” – Native Air CD www.lowlandhum.com
Brooks Williams “Carry On” (acoustic) – New Everything CD www.brookswilliams.com
***
Running time: 240 minutes
Atmosphere: sun-break
+++
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative
Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full
attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.orgPlease consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist
without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue 5/20/12 news


 

Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:

Ariel Publicity: http://www.arielpublicity.com

Miles High Productions http://www.mileshighproductions.com

Serge Entertainment Public Relations http://www.sergepr.com

Wampus Multimedia http://www.wampus.com

 

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative

Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.

*************************************************************************

HOW TO LISTEN:

Feed Player at my home page of http://www.radiocrystalblue.net It is active as a

popup window. Within the page you can stream/share/download the audio. You

can put the player up on your site or blog too.

If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your

browser, try a different browser or go to http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu

This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.

RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

 

This is the magic link to the popup player. It’s also at the home and

archive tabs of my website

http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

 

CONTACT:

EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net

personal FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue

RCB FACEBOOK:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312

RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group

http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/

LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0

REVERBNATION: http://www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue

VIDEO content:http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456

TWITTER @radiocblue

STAT BLOG: (my handicapping blog. Hang tight for my Preakness selection on the page) http://www.cblue456.tumblr.com

 

FANDALISM http://www.fandalism.com/radiocblue

************************************************

NEXT SHOW will be published on or about May 23 and will be available for the

rest of the year.

Owing to schedule demands, I usually aim for noon Wednesdays or as soon as

possible thereafter.

You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground

songwriters and bands.There’s also at least one RCB tradition that will take place on this edition!

RCB Novus Ordo will also air separately. On this show I spin one song from

as many as 8 songs in one sitting and give you background info of each

artist.

*********************************************************************************

I have a REVIEW at my website of a showcase I attended last Saturday (5/12) at The Grape Room here in Philly. I saw PaperDoll for the first time in years and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, along with Chris Schutz & The Tourists and Paige Allbritton. Full review at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net in the latest post.

PHOTOS: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151705797765725.854642.684570724&type=3&l=deeb2eb14d

 

VIDEO of PaperDoll http://youtu.be/5qZpqnPLlbU

 

CONNECTION: Aside to artists reading this missive: Is my email address on your general email list? I ask because I sometimes hear about artists who have shows and I don’t know about them via their emails until they are immediately ahead or after the fact. To a degree, I determine airplay on when artists announce their gigs and when the gigs occur, along with other news announcements. Be sure you have cblue456@comcast.net in your general (not localized) email list.

I want Radio Crystal Blue to be YOUR go-to freeform radio program.  Share my banner (which needs upgrading, I know), my links, my site, my blood type, what-have-you. Yes, I will link back.

*************************************************

TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: These are the last 5 folks that I’m following who

follow back: @ILoveNicoleShow @PhilHarrison @alecberlin @CariCole @annafermin

*****************************************************

COVERAGE:

I do audio interviews, photos, video, and audio of live events. You can see

and hear evidence across my Facebook and YouTube channels, plus the field

recording FeedPlayer.Time, location and expense will be taken into account

before taking on a job.

 

I have not scheduled a show to attend but am planning to go to at least one in the metro area before the month is out.

I can advise artists about where to perform in Philly. Contact me for more info.

 

********************************************************************

RCB REVIEW: The annotated version of the shows.

RCB Novus Ordo: The superbly creative NYC songwriter Alec Berlin kicks off this show. Gavilan, a roots-rock band from Philly, also debuts here. Another favorite here is Jenn Rawling & Basho Parks.

 

RCB proper: With the volume of material for this week’s show I did 5 segments worth. Segment 1 begins with John Batdorf, who is one of the official showcase performers at the SERFA Folk Alliance conference 5/18-20. Two others with this honor were heard in this segment: Marc Black (with a new CD), Honor Finnegan, and Emily Pinkerton, whom I debut on RCB Novus Ordo two weeks back. Ben Knighten debuts a CD in this segment, and a similarly titled song by Larry Saklad follows. Segment 2: Starts bluesy and especially in the matter of stimulants (Jack Grace, Rod Piazza, Terry Hanck, Tony Mecca). The Way Home and Automatic Children perform at this weekend’s Elephants For Autism Festival at Le Grand Fromage in Atlantic City. Montauk Music Festival is this weekend too (now you see why this show was longer than most). Here I spun music of Remember September, My Pet Dragon, debut CD by Kevin McWha Steele, and Deborah Lombardi, all of whom will be part of the 4th annual festival there on Long Island. Bryan Dunn’s new CD debuts on this show as well. Got more songwriter-oriented in the latter stages of this week’s show. Paired up songs about rain (Cary Cooper, Sarah McQuaid), and songs making a NYC reference (Natalia Zukerman, and a new album by Garrison Starr. Garrison sings on Natalia’s song “Brooklyn”). Garrison once worked with producer/multi-instrumentalist Neilson Hubbard on her albums; Amy Speace has Neilson in the producer’s chair for last year’s CD “land like a bird”. Amy and Ernest Troost are performing at this weekend’s Wildflower Arts and Music Festival. Ernest himself is a finalist in the festival’s songwriting competition. Out of segment 5: Sharon Goldman and Loretta Hagen peforming at Barrington Coffee House on 5/19.

 

*****************************************************

 

AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:

Send CDs to

Dan Herman

Radio Crystal Blue

1701 Snyder Avenue, #4

Philadelphia, PA 19145

CDs MUST have a 2012 release date or have been released no earlier than

October

2011. No exceptions.

Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general (not

local/regional) email list.

 

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select

artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit

SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue

MusicSUBMIT: http://www.musicsubmit.com.

(For those in Australia) GIG LAUNCH: http://www.giglaunch.com.au

All you have to do is a search on these sites for Radio Crystal Blue.

 

Any compelling compilation/concept CDs can also be sent here directly. I’m

seeking material that can be featured, song-for-song, in my CD FOCUS

segments.

*********

namaste

 

Dan Herman

Radio Crystal Blue

http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu

cblue456@comcast.net

@radiocblue on twitter