Tag Archives: TJ Rehmi

Radio Crystal Blue/Novus Ordo 11/30/17


HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Internet Archive: http://archive.org/details/RCBnew113017
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/12/rcbnew113017.mp3

This show was published: 11/30/2017

Elizabeth Erin Kemler “A Cowgirl’s Tale” – The Weight Of Mortal Skin CD http://www.elizabetherinkemler.com @ekemler
The Achromatics “Chameleon” – Give Me That Beat CD http://www.theachromatics.com @theachromatics
FreeWorld “For the Moment” – What It Is CD http://www.facebook.com/FreeWorldMemphis
Dizzy Box Nine “Adeline” – Electric Illusion CD http://www.dizzyboxnine.com
Sue Quigley “Oxygen” – Little Wildernesses CD http://www.suequigley.com @suequigley
Robert Francis “This Old House” – Indian Summer CD http://www.robertfrancismusic.com
D.B. Rielly “My Ma” – Live From Long Island City CD http://www.dbrielly.com @dbrielly
*****

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Callisto”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 48 minutos
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee alternative http://www.teeccino.com

**********

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 18th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic:
http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml

mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2017/12/rcblive113017.mp3
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive113017
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
and on Stitcher via the RSS
http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue

 

This show was published on 11/30/2017

Opening:
TJ Rehmi “You Are We Am I (Red Mix)” – The Warm Chill
Geoffrey Armes “Ancient Flow” – Hemispheres CD http://www.geoffreyarmes.com
Musicians Of The Nile “Al-Aqsar-Isna” & “Al Nahla Al’ Ali (The Tall Palm Tree)” – Luxor To Isna
*****
Rebecca Loebe “Easy Money” – Blink CD http://www.rebeccaloebe.com @rebeccaloebe
Liz Longley “Only Love This Time Around” – Weightless CD http://www.lizlongley.com @lizlongley
Janita “Easing Into Sanity” – Didn’t You, My Dear? CD http://www.ecrmusicgroup.com/janita @JANITAartist
Greg Klyma “All The Other Bridges” – Never Knew Caroline CD http://www.klyma.com @GregKlyma
Bettie Serveert “Unsane” – Damaged Good CD http://www.bettieserveert.com @bettieserveert
The Bloody Jug Band “Asylum Blues” – Rope Burn CD http://www.bloodyjugband.com @TheBJB
*******
Tenderhooks “Little Stunner” – North Star CD http://www.tenderhooks.bandcamp.com @tenderhooks4u
The Wedding Present “Two Bridges” (Live from Gijon – bonus song) – Going, Going CD https://scopitones.co.uk @weddingpresent
Talma “Lifeline” – (single) http://www.talmasounds.com @talmasounds
On The Wane “Sultry Song” – Schism CD http://www.onthewane.com @onthewaneband
Foreign Figures “Stay” – Paradigm CD http://www.foreignfigures.com @4infigures
Scarlett Taylor “Unborn” – III CD http://www.scarletttaylor.com @scarlettsmuse
*********
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “She Dreams” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD http://www.karencollins.net
Rod Picott “I’m On Your Side” – Fortune CD http://www.rodpicott.com @RodPicott
Lynn Hollyfield “Because Of You” – In The Balance CD http://www.lynnhollyfield.com @LynnHollyfield
Scott Cook “Your Sweet Time” – Further Down The Line CD http://www.scottcook.net
********

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Wind Chill”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 1 hour, 54 minutos
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Atmosphere:

Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.

Radio Crystal Blue proudly endorses Teeccino, America’s #1 coffee
alternative http://www.teeccino.com

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

*****

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

 

 

Advertisements

RCB Archive: September 18, 2005 show reintroduced


Hi everyone. Back we go in the time capsule to 2005.  I was finishing my tenure with a club called The C-Note, having run bi-monthly Monday evenings for 3 years.  That same month I had attended CBGB one last time to see veteran NYC punk and no wave  bands including the Dead Kennedys. From that show, and related stench, I felt a rededication to playing more music from indie and emerging artists, and much less of the major. I was finishing the 5th year of my radio program, which had begun to embrace podcast technology. The owner of the RSS would pull the plug within a year’s time, and I was able to latch onto Big Contact, who are the current RSS host.   I had a page of archival material at Lunarpages which is now no more.
During this particular edition, I recall having lost some battery power and had to use different external equipment…all when I did not own a mixer (that was from 2008 on). I still don’t know how I managed to do it but I did.  I had shared reviews online of shows I had booked with NYC Gigs, with whom I was employed by until 2011 upon my relocation.  I advertised the 169 Bar, which had since changed owners, and has become a Cajun-cuisine restaurant (how about crab mac for $8? Caviar for $35?). I also remember attending a show at Sidewalk Café the week prior and mentioning performers Lowry (backed by Sarah and Claire Bowman), and the mercurial Lach.  Also a show at The Bitter End involving touring trio Julie Loyd, Melineh Kurdian and Liz Clark.
I was also in the midst of my tenure at Live365, where I now had to report my airplay and also pay royalties for the first time.  I had built a following through that and also coloring the experience with more details in my YahooGroup (which still stands, btw: groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/radiocrystalblue)   Opening and closing music for a while were the pieces by TJ Rehmi, ‘chill’ music inspired by his roots in India.
I had styled every featured artists as “Gems”, a title I no longer use.  I also had a 2nd slightly lower title that allowed a smaller airplay feature called Future Stars. These pair of airplay segments would feed into my annual Airplay Vote. I wonder if I’ll resurrect that vote.
The forerunner of my now common RCB Novus Ordo was the New Music Sampler. I would simply air 4-8 songs in one segment, reciting bio of each artist alongside.  I used to do this during the big show itself.  Now it exists as its own show and properly so. One more reason why my shows often checked in at beyond 5 hours!
I cleaned up the audio the best as I could, considering the lower quality level. Because of my PC’s slow computing power, I could only broadcast in about 22 kbps, meaning you could hear the output at 11 kpbs which isn’t all that hot but at least there was a consistent signal. Most weeks, anyway.    Where possible, I have linked every songwriter and band to their most recent official website or place to be contacted.
Also among the highlights are the RCB debut of Jann Klose, Thea Gilmore, Sharon Goldman, and also music from the first recordings by The Mad Tea Party, Antje Duvekot and Amy Speace. There’s even Karen Jacobsen, known to millions as the Aussie voice of Siri.
Here’s how to listen:
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/rcb091805.mp3
Via the Internet Archive, with option s to download, stream and share http://archive.org/details/RCB091805
Or the Stitcher app (iPod, iPhone, Android)  stitcher.com
Opening music: T.J. Rehmi “You Are We Am I (Blue Mix)” – The Warm Chill CD https://www.facebook.com/tjRehmi
****
Christine Havrilla “Undone” – Ruby Red CD http://www.chrstinehavrilla.com
Sam Shaber “Without You Again” – Eighty Numbered Streets CD http://samshaber.bandcamp.com/
Julie Loyd “More Than I Meant To” – The Waiting Game CD https://www.facebook.com/pages/Julie-Loyd/31087949354
Vicki Blankenship “Blue On Black” – Horizons CD https://www.facebook.com/vicki.blankenship
Amy Speace “Why Not Wyoming” – CD single http://www.amyspeace.com
Girlyman “On The Air” – Little Star CD http://www.girlyman.com
B.D. Lenz “So Far So Good” – Tomorrow’s Too Late CD http://www.bdlenz.com
——
Sharon Goldman “Uncertainty” & “Change” – semi-broken heart CD  http://www.sharongoldmanmusic.com
Carrie Ashton “Even More” & “Everything In My Heart” – Modern-Day Gypsy CD http://www.reverbnation.com/carrieashtonmusic
Lach “Parade” & “Sixties Girl” – Today CD https://lach.bandcamp.com/
Ahmond “Halo 8” & “It’s Not Wasted” – Perfectly Flawed CD www.ahmond.com
Thea Gilmore “Lip Reading” – Songs From The Gutter CD “Lavender Cowgirl” – limited edition bonus CD http://www.theagilmore.net
Elisa Korenne “About” & “Favorite” – Favorite CD http://www.elisakorenne.com
—–
The Clarks “On Saturday” – Between Now And Then CD www.clarksonline.com
Arms Of Kismet “Clover” – Cutting Room Rug CD http://www.armsofkismet.com
Pale Beneath The Blue “Untitled” – Hologram CD www.http://www.pbtb.blogspot.com/
Stephanie’s id “anna!” – Spiral In CD http://sid.stephaniesid.com/
Black Flamingo “sometimes” – 5 Songz EP https://www.facebook.com/rew.starr
The MeMes “Better Than That” – Slow EP
Tiffany Petrossi “Groove” – Sweet Groove CD http://www.rockinmoms.com
—–
New Music Sampler:
Jann Klose “Black Box” – Black Box EP http://www.jannklose.com
The States “So Near” – Multiply Not Divide CD
Mojo Gurus “Linda Marie” – Shakin’ In The Barn CD http://www.mojogurus.com
Pillow Theory “The Numbness Phase CD – Outpatience CD www.pillowtheory.net
Jed Marum “Miles From Home” – Miles From Home CD http://www.jedmarum.com
Jon Dowling “The Second Time Around” – s/t EP http://www.jondowling.com
Dee Dee Bridgewater “Et Maintenant” – J’ai Deux Amors CD www.sovereignartists.com
Gary Paul Bryant “Last Night In Paris” – Imaginary Piano CD www.garypaulbryant.com
—–
Karen Jacobsen “Not Enough” & “London Town” – Here In My Heart CD http://thegpsgirl.com/
Ron Morris “The Atmosphere Here” & “bring on the blue” – Speak True CD http://www.allmusic.com/artist/ron-morris-mn0001290402
Roberta Chevrette “Every Wind” & “Your Name” – Miss America CD
Andi Rae Healy “These Sounds” & “In The Stars” – Rising CD www.andirae.com
Antje Duvekot “Dandelion” & “Anabelle” – Boys, Flowers, Miles CD www.antjeduvekot.com
——-
Mouse “Autumn Leaves Turning” – For The Dog EP
David L.K. Murphy “Prowler” – Home To You CD http://www.dlkm.com
Christie Leigh “I Gotta Resign” – Strange Life Story CD www.christieleigh.com
Jody Aaron “All I Wanted” – est. 1980 CD http://www.jodyaaron.com
Natasha Alexandra “Refuel” – In Your Face CD www.natashaalexandra.com
Fergus McCormick “I Saw Her On Monday” – Jumping the Gun CD http://www.allmusic.com/artist/fergus-mccormick-mn0000638084
Mad Tea Party “Where The Morning Glories Grow” – 73% Post-Consumer Novelty CD http://www.themadtea.com/
Transmitting “Moonscape” From The Inside CD http://www.janelecroy.com
—–
Closing music : T.J. Rehmi “You Are We Am I (Red Mix)” – The Warm Chill CD
Recorded in 11025 kHz on the Live365 Internet radio network, 9/18/05, since encoded to 44100 kHz.
Running time: 5 hours 32 minutes.
Thanks for listening!
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
253 537 1096 or 215 995 2234
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
facebook/twitter/clammr: radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 12/1/13


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.

HOW TO LISTEN
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
Via Internet Archive:
Stream:

You can share the audio player with the HTML code on the page.

All shows are archived for a year.
This show was published 12/4/13
The Cold Start “Safe And Sound” – Grateful Eyes EP www.thecoldstartband.com
Poor Old Shine “Country Pocket” – s/t CD www.pooroldshine.com
Django Voris “Wannabe” – Constantopolis CD www.djangovoris.com
Lou Dominguez “Weight Of The World” – We The People CD www.loudominguez.com
Dan Miraldi “Girl, You Made Your Mark” – Devil At Our Heels EP www.danmiraldi.com
John McCutcheon “Adagio in A minor” – 22 Days CD www.folkmusic.com
Running time: 50 minutos
***
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at www.radiocrystalblue.net
 
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my 13-year-old freeform radio program, usually publishing Wednesdays or Thursdays in podcast format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
Ogg Vorbis format also available.
You can share the audio player with the HTML code on the page.
All shows are archived for a year.
Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with *
This show was published on 12/4/13.
 
Opening music: TJ Rehmi “You Are We Am I (Blue Mix)” – The Warm Chill
—-
Jack Grace Band “It Was A Really Bad Year” – Drinking Songs For Lovers CD www.jackgrace.com
Herbie D & The Dangermen “Franklin County Shine” – Dangerous With Blues CD www.herbiedandthedangermen.com
*Song Dogs “Law of the Land” – Wild Country CD www.wearesongdogs.com
*Ali Wadsworth “Biding My Time” – Ali Live CD www.aliwadsworth.com
Marina V “Say Hello” – Inner Superhero CD www.marinav.com
Lisa Bianco “Breakin” – Momentum CD www.lisabianco.com
Sirsy “Cannonball” – Goner (and other sordid delights) EP www.sirsy.com
 —
*Sylvia Platypus “Holler” – single www.sylviaplatypus.com
*Meghan Cary “Lost You In The Light” – Building This House CD www.meghancary.com
*Prima Donna “Madness” – Restored CD www.primadonnamusic.com
Spanking Charlene “Where Are The Freaks?” – Where Are The Freaks? CD www.spankingcharlene.com
The Elizabeth Kill “Freakshow” – s/t CD www.theelizabethkill.com
Voodoo Swing “Tell Her Hi For Me” – Fast Cars, Guitars, Tattoos & Scars CD www.voodooswing.net
Jack + Jill “Home Again” – Coloradio CD www.jackplusjill.com
—-
Roosevelt Dime “Long Long Time” – Steamboat Soul CD www.rooseveltdimemusic.com
Tall Tall Trees “Alaska” – Moment CD www.talltalltrees.com
Switchback “Connemara Man” – American Roots and Celtic Soul: Live – Volume One CD www.waygoodmusic.com
Emily Pinkerton “Cinco Veces” – Ends Of The Earth CD www.emilypinkerton.com
Miss Tess & The Talkbalks “Night Life” – The Love I Have For You CD www.misstessmusic.com
Julie Lamb “Cold Rainy Nights” – Trippin’ The Light CD www.julielamb.co.nz
Jann Klose “Make It Better” – Mosaic CD www.jannklose.com

—-

Kirsten Thien “Nobody’s Ever Loved Me Like You Do” – Solo Live From the Meisenfrei Blues Club, Bremen, Germany CD www.kirstenthien.com
Brooks Williams “Teach Me” – New Everything CD www.brookswilliams.com
Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem “Little Johnny Brown” – Some Bright Morning CD www.raniarbo.com
Craig Sonnenfeld “Don’t Mind If I Do” – Redemption CD www.craigsonnenfeld.com
Sloan Wainwright “I Wear The Ring” – Upside Down & Under My Heart CD www.sloanwainwright.com
Childsplay “Starry Lullaby/Maybe I Might” – As The Crow Flies CD www.childsplay.org

Closing music: Chicha Libre “Indian Summer” – Sonido Amazonico CD www.barbesrecords.com
Running time: 3 horas, 23 minutos
Atmosphere: chilly chill
***
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net