Tag Archives: Julie Loyd

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo week of 2/21/16


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
mp3:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 2/29/16
Courtney Chambers “Heart Of This Man” – Tales Of The Aftermath CD http://www.courtneychambers.net
El Gato Dice “Trap” – Dos CD http://www.elgatodice.com
Sockpuppet “Sideways Glance” – s/t CD
Po’ Brothers “Lone Ranger” – s/t EP http://www.pobrothers.com
Molly Brule “Rainstorm” – Seasons EP http://www.mollybrule.com
Ynana Rose “Fool For You” – s/t CD http://www.ynanarose.com
Ian McFeron “Diesel Grease” – Radio CD http://www.ianmcferon.com
Idlewheel “Dust Of This Town” – Live at Morning Star CD http://www.idlewheel.com
Edith Crash “Perdu La Foi” – Partir CD http://www.edithcrash.com
Running time:  65  minutes
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 3/1/16
Opening music:   Theme to “Twin Peaks” & Julee Cruise “The Nightingale” – Twin Peaks soundtrack
Saint Etienne “Etienne Gonna DIe” – Fox Base Alpha
David Holmes “Boobytrappin” – Ocean’s Eleven soundtrack
Moby “Extreme Ways” – The Bourne Ultimatum soundtrack
DJ Flowerdove “Wind Chill” – http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols
*****
Fred Gillen Jr. “Election Day” – Wage Love CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com
Avi Wisnia “Rabbit Hole” – Something New CD http://www.aviwisnia.com
Madi Anne Davis “Jacob” – s/t EP http://www.madiannedavis.com
Liz Longley “Skin & Bones” – s/t CD http://www.lizlongley.com
Danielle Miraglia “Warning Fair Warning” – Glory Junkies CD http://www.daniellem.com
The Sidleys “Burning” – Bittersweet CD http://www.thesidleys.com
The Kurt Henry Band “From Our Religions We’ll Be Free” – From Our Religions We’ll Be Free CD http://www.kurthenry.com
****
Andy Hawk & The Train Wreck Endings “Walking Around” – American Vertigo CD http://www.andyhawk.com
Delta Moon “Spark In The Dark” – Low Down CD http://www.deltamoon.com
Tom Principato “In The Middle Of The Night” –  Live & Still Kickin’ CD http://www.tomprincipato.com
Shawn Amos “Brothers Keeper” – The Reverend Shawn Amos Loves You CD http://www.shawnamos.com
Sirsy “Everybody Knows” – Sketches & Ghosts EP http://www.sirsy.com
Marina V “Thursday Song” – My Star CD http://www.marinav.com
Mary Jennings “One Brick” – Metamorphosis CD http://www.maryjennings.com
***
****
FLASHBACK segment focuses on artists and music I haven’t aired in at least 10 years:
Brooke Fox “Untouched” – Breathe The Same Air CD http://www.brookefox.com
Katie Davis “Movie” – Terrible, Terrible EP
Ingrid Michaelson “Porcelain Fists” – Slow The Rain CD http://www.ingridmichaelson.com
Julie Loyd “The Big Goodbye” – The Waiting Room CD http://www.julieloyd.com
*******
Cardboard Ox “Other Side Of Town” – s/t EP http://www.cardboardoxmusic.com
Hungrytown “Don’t Cross That Mountain” – Further West CD http://www.hungrytown.net
Matt Harlan “Old Allen Road” – Raven Hotel CD http://www.mattharlan.com
Anne E. Dechant “Sunday Morning Drive” – The Sun Coming In CD http://www.anneedechant.com
Marci Geller “Strong” – Square Peg CD http://www.marcigeller.com
Jessie Kilguss “Train Song” – Devastate Me CD http://www.jessiekilguss.com
****
David G Smith “Angels Flew” – One House CD http://www.heydavemusic.com
Peter Mulvey “Landfall” – Silver Ladder CD http://www.petermulvey.com
Roger Silverberg “Bird” – The Old Dog CD http://www.rogersilverberg.com
Davey O “Ask Yourself The Question” – No Passengers EP http://www.daveyo.com
Debra Cowan and John Roberts “Twa Corbies” – Ballads Long And Short CD http://www.debracowan.com http://www.goldenhindmusic.com
*****
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Sol Aurora”
Running time: 146 minutes
Atmosphere:
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using
Audacity, converted to 96 kbps.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

RCB Archive: September 18, 2005 show reintroduced


Hi everyone. Back we go in the time capsule to 2005.  I was finishing my tenure with a club called The C-Note, having run bi-monthly Monday evenings for 3 years.  That same month I had attended CBGB one last time to see veteran NYC punk and no wave  bands including the Dead Kennedys. From that show, and related stench, I felt a rededication to playing more music from indie and emerging artists, and much less of the major. I was finishing the 5th year of my radio program, which had begun to embrace podcast technology. The owner of the RSS would pull the plug within a year’s time, and I was able to latch onto Big Contact, who are the current RSS host.   I had a page of archival material at Lunarpages which is now no more.
During this particular edition, I recall having lost some battery power and had to use different external equipment…all when I did not own a mixer (that was from 2008 on). I still don’t know how I managed to do it but I did.  I had shared reviews online of shows I had booked with NYC Gigs, with whom I was employed by until 2011 upon my relocation.  I advertised the 169 Bar, which had since changed owners, and has become a Cajun-cuisine restaurant (how about crab mac for $8? Caviar for $35?). I also remember attending a show at Sidewalk Café the week prior and mentioning performers Lowry (backed by Sarah and Claire Bowman), and the mercurial Lach.  Also a show at The Bitter End involving touring trio Julie Loyd, Melineh Kurdian and Liz Clark.
I was also in the midst of my tenure at Live365, where I now had to report my airplay and also pay royalties for the first time.  I had built a following through that and also coloring the experience with more details in my YahooGroup (which still stands, btw: groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/radiocrystalblue)   Opening and closing music for a while were the pieces by TJ Rehmi, ‘chill’ music inspired by his roots in India.
I had styled every featured artists as “Gems”, a title I no longer use.  I also had a 2nd slightly lower title that allowed a smaller airplay feature called Future Stars. These pair of airplay segments would feed into my annual Airplay Vote. I wonder if I’ll resurrect that vote.
The forerunner of my now common RCB Novus Ordo was the New Music Sampler. I would simply air 4-8 songs in one segment, reciting bio of each artist alongside.  I used to do this during the big show itself.  Now it exists as its own show and properly so. One more reason why my shows often checked in at beyond 5 hours!
I cleaned up the audio the best as I could, considering the lower quality level. Because of my PC’s slow computing power, I could only broadcast in about 22 kbps, meaning you could hear the output at 11 kpbs which isn’t all that hot but at least there was a consistent signal. Most weeks, anyway.    Where possible, I have linked every songwriter and band to their most recent official website or place to be contacted.
Also among the highlights are the RCB debut of Jann Klose, Thea Gilmore, Sharon Goldman, and also music from the first recordings by The Mad Tea Party, Antje Duvekot and Amy Speace. There’s even Karen Jacobsen, known to millions as the Aussie voice of Siri.
Here’s how to listen:
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2015/05/rcb091805.mp3
Via the Internet Archive, with option s to download, stream and share http://archive.org/details/RCB091805
Or the Stitcher app (iPod, iPhone, Android)  stitcher.com
Opening music: T.J. Rehmi “You Are We Am I (Blue Mix)” – The Warm Chill CD https://www.facebook.com/tjRehmi
****
Christine Havrilla “Undone” – Ruby Red CD http://www.chrstinehavrilla.com
Sam Shaber “Without You Again” – Eighty Numbered Streets CD http://samshaber.bandcamp.com/
Julie Loyd “More Than I Meant To” – The Waiting Game CD https://www.facebook.com/pages/Julie-Loyd/31087949354
Vicki Blankenship “Blue On Black” – Horizons CD https://www.facebook.com/vicki.blankenship
Amy Speace “Why Not Wyoming” – CD single http://www.amyspeace.com
Girlyman “On The Air” – Little Star CD http://www.girlyman.com
B.D. Lenz “So Far So Good” – Tomorrow’s Too Late CD http://www.bdlenz.com
——
Sharon Goldman “Uncertainty” & “Change” – semi-broken heart CD  http://www.sharongoldmanmusic.com
Carrie Ashton “Even More” & “Everything In My Heart” – Modern-Day Gypsy CD http://www.reverbnation.com/carrieashtonmusic
Lach “Parade” & “Sixties Girl” – Today CD https://lach.bandcamp.com/
Ahmond “Halo 8” & “It’s Not Wasted” – Perfectly Flawed CD www.ahmond.com
Thea Gilmore “Lip Reading” – Songs From The Gutter CD “Lavender Cowgirl” – limited edition bonus CD http://www.theagilmore.net
Elisa Korenne “About” & “Favorite” – Favorite CD http://www.elisakorenne.com
—–
The Clarks “On Saturday” – Between Now And Then CD www.clarksonline.com
Arms Of Kismet “Clover” – Cutting Room Rug CD http://www.armsofkismet.com
Pale Beneath The Blue “Untitled” – Hologram CD www.http://www.pbtb.blogspot.com/
Stephanie’s id “anna!” – Spiral In CD http://sid.stephaniesid.com/
Black Flamingo “sometimes” – 5 Songz EP https://www.facebook.com/rew.starr
The MeMes “Better Than That” – Slow EP
Tiffany Petrossi “Groove” – Sweet Groove CD http://www.rockinmoms.com
—–
New Music Sampler:
Jann Klose “Black Box” – Black Box EP http://www.jannklose.com
The States “So Near” – Multiply Not Divide CD
Mojo Gurus “Linda Marie” – Shakin’ In The Barn CD http://www.mojogurus.com
Pillow Theory “The Numbness Phase CD – Outpatience CD www.pillowtheory.net
Jed Marum “Miles From Home” – Miles From Home CD http://www.jedmarum.com
Jon Dowling “The Second Time Around” – s/t EP http://www.jondowling.com
Dee Dee Bridgewater “Et Maintenant” – J’ai Deux Amors CD www.sovereignartists.com
Gary Paul Bryant “Last Night In Paris” – Imaginary Piano CD www.garypaulbryant.com
—–
Karen Jacobsen “Not Enough” & “London Town” – Here In My Heart CD http://thegpsgirl.com/
Ron Morris “The Atmosphere Here” & “bring on the blue” – Speak True CD http://www.allmusic.com/artist/ron-morris-mn0001290402
Roberta Chevrette “Every Wind” & “Your Name” – Miss America CD
Andi Rae Healy “These Sounds” & “In The Stars” – Rising CD www.andirae.com
Antje Duvekot “Dandelion” & “Anabelle” – Boys, Flowers, Miles CD www.antjeduvekot.com
——-
Mouse “Autumn Leaves Turning” – For The Dog EP
David L.K. Murphy “Prowler” – Home To You CD http://www.dlkm.com
Christie Leigh “I Gotta Resign” – Strange Life Story CD www.christieleigh.com
Jody Aaron “All I Wanted” – est. 1980 CD http://www.jodyaaron.com
Natasha Alexandra “Refuel” – In Your Face CD www.natashaalexandra.com
Fergus McCormick “I Saw Her On Monday” – Jumping the Gun CD http://www.allmusic.com/artist/fergus-mccormick-mn0000638084
Mad Tea Party “Where The Morning Glories Grow” – 73% Post-Consumer Novelty CD http://www.themadtea.com/
Transmitting “Moonscape” From The Inside CD http://www.janelecroy.com
—–
Closing music : T.J. Rehmi “You Are We Am I (Red Mix)” – The Warm Chill CD
Recorded in 11025 kHz on the Live365 Internet radio network, 9/18/05, since encoded to 44100 kHz.
Running time: 5 hours 32 minutes.
Thanks for listening!
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
253 537 1096 or 215 995 2234
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
facebook/twitter/clammr: radiocblue