Tag Archives: Charlie Koch

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 2/14/20


HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music : https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew021120
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2020/02/rcbnew021120.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to play Radio Crystal Blue

This show, #476, was published: 02/11/2020.

Mia Arends & Michael Derning “Pilgrims” – Rough Magic CD http://www.facebook.com/MDerning
Cheryl Cawood “Down The Ohio” – Love, Pearl CD http://www.cherylcawood.com @cheryl_cawood
Los Vertigos “Keep On Running” – Rock & Roll Salvation EP http://www.reverbnation.com/losvertigos
Monica Rizzio “Story Of My New Year” – Sunshine Is Free CD http://www.monicarizzio.com @MonicaRizzio
Windborne “Chilly Winds” – Recollections CD (Recollections/Revolutions 2-CD Set) http://www.windbornesingers.com @WindborneSings
Dan and Faith “Sixty-Eight” – Then & Now CD http://www.danandfaith.com @danandfaith
*******

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Callisto”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 38 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
Co-producer: DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
*******************
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 20th year online, is a weekly podcast, that features top songwriters, and bands, in a freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
Radio Public: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/rcblive021120
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2020/02/rcbnew021120.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to play Radio Crystal Blue

This show, #851, was published: 02/11/2020.

Opening:
Big Country “Fields Of Fire (400 Miles)” – The Crossing LP (Mercury Records- February 18, 1983)
A Flock Of Seagulls “Wishing (If I Had A Photograph Of You)” – Listen LP (Zomba Records – October 20, 1982)
Missing Persons “Walking In L.A.” – Spring Session M LP (Capitol Records – October 08, 1982)
Dramarama “Last Cigarette” – Stuck In Wonderamaland LP (Chameleon Records – 1989)
The Romantics “One In A Million” – In Heat LP (Nemperor Records – September, 1983)
*****

Vance Gilbert “Pie & Whiskey” – Good, Good Man CD http://www.vancegilbert.com @vancegilbert
Owen Danoff “When You’re A Lover” – Love On Your Side EP http://www.owendanoff.com @owendanoff
Amy Speace “Icicle King” – Me & The Ghost Of Charlemagne CD http://www.amyspeace.com @RealAmySpeace
Bruce T. Carroll “If That’s The Way You Feel” – Finding You EP http://www.brucetcarroll.com
Abbie Gardner “Starting From Scratch” – Wishes On A Neon Sign http://www.abbiegardner.com
Aztec Two-Step “Way Down In New Orleans” – Naked CD http://www.aztectwostep.com @Aztec_TwoStep
Taarka “What My Darlin’ Says” – Fading Mystery CD http://www.taarka.com @taarkamusic
The Currys “Anywhere Other Than” – This Side Of The Glass CD http://www.thecurrysmusic.com @The_Currys
Switchback “Rain Parade” – Birds Of Prey CD http://www.waygoodmusic.com @Switchbackmusic
*******

Drivin’ N’ Cryin’ “Someday” – Live The Love Beautiful CD http://www.drivinncryin.com @drivinncryin
Murder By Death “Travelin’ Far” – The Other Shore CD http://www.murderbydeath.com @murderbydeath
HMS Morris “Babanod” – (single) http://www.facebook.com/HMSMorrisband @hmsmorris
Bandaid Brigade “Stay Busy” – I’m Separate CD http://www.bandaid-brigade.com @BrigadeBandaid
Rational Youth “Saturdays In Silesia” – Cold War Night Life (Deluxe) CD http://www.facebook.com/RationalYouth @tm_howe
Kristin Hersh “Fox Point” – Possible Dust Clouds CD http://www.kristinhersh.com @kristinhersh
Soraia “Superman Is Gone” – Dig Your Roots CD http://www.soraia.com @SoraiaRocks
*********

CD FOCUS:
BLOODSHOT RECORDS http://www.bloodshotrecords.com @BSHQ
This roots-rock label turns 25 years old this month. I’ve been a fan of the label, since the early years – (both theirs, and this show’s),
starting with Cordero, circa 2003. The trend has continued to the present day, as some of their current roster do find their way onto my shows –
(namely, The Bottle Rockets, Murder By Death, Vandoliers, and Sarah Shook & The Disarmers). Bloodshot consistently turns out music, that hails mainly
from elements of country, punk and folk – something new in the early 90s, not unlike the “No Depression” movement. Something called, “insurgent country”
grew, from this loose combination of sounds.
From their new compilation, “Too Late To Pray: Defiant Chicago Roots”, I aired the last 4 tracks:
“Yeah, Yeah, Yeah” – Los Gallos http://www.losgallosband.com @LosGallosBand
“The Sweetness” – Joybird http://www.joybirdmusic.com
“Toast That Lie” – The Western Elstons http://www.joelpaterson.com
“Tower Of Song” – The Handsome Family http://www.handsomefamily.com
*********

The Revelers “Le Blues À Blake (Blake’s Blues) – At The End Of The River (Au Bout De La Rivière) CD http://www.revelersband.com @RevelersBand
Luis Mojica “Insane” – How A Stranger Is Made CD http://www.luismojica.com @luismojicamusic
Eliot Bronson “The Mountain” – James CD http://www.eliotbronson.com @eliotbronson
Grant Peeples “Market Town” – Bad Wife CD http://www.grantpeeples.com @grantpeeples
John Surge & The Haymakers “Barstow To Baker” – Your Wonderful Life CD http://www.johnsurge.com @johnsurge
Mean Mary “Sparrow” – Cold CD http://www.meanmary.com @meanmarymusic
Lynn Hollyfield “Fear The Wind” – In The Balance CD http://www.lynnhollyfield.com
Dana & Susan Robinson “No Billboards” – The Town That Music Saved CD http://www.robinsongs.com @robinsongs2
Emma Hill “Early To Bed” – How Could I Have Been So Wrong? EP http://www.emmahillmusic.com @emmahillmusic
*******

CD FOCUS:
VOYAGE 2: A VALLEY ENTERTAINMENT COLLECTION http://www.valley-entertainment.com @valleyent
This indie label focuses on songwriter-oriented material, contemporary Irish music, and world music.
It acquired Hearts of Space Records, an extension of the long-running, syndicated radio program, that features “space music”, itself;
a conglomeration of New Age, Ambient, Electronic, World, and other genres.
From the last portion of the compilation, we hear these 3 tracks:
“Restaurant Girl” – Hackensaw Boys http://www.hackensawboys.com @hackensawboys
“Within Dreams” – Jonn Serrie http://www.thousandstar.com @JonnSerrie
“Yesterday’s Boulevard” – Frank Barter http://www.frankbarter.com @BarterFrank
*******

Mare Wakefield & Nomad “The Boxer & The Beauty Queen” – Time To Fly CD http://www.marewakefield.com @marewakefield
Sam Baker “Snow” – Horses & Stars CD http://www.sambakermusic.com @SamBakerMusic
Cosy Sheridan & Charlie Koch “Throw The Gates Open” – My Fence & My Neighbor CD http://www.cosysheridan.com
Kyle Carey “Opal Grey” – The Art Of Forgetting CD http://www.kyleannecarey.com @kyleannecarey
Debbie Miller “Metaphor” – Live In An Empty Sea CD http://www.thedebbiemiller.com @TheDebbieMiller
*****

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove – “Shimmer”
http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168
http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 4 hours, 19 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
Co-producer: DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
20th anniversary year on the Internet
215-995-2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 9/20/18


HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https:/archive.org/details/RCBnew092018
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2018/09/rcbnew092018.mp3
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

This show, #447, was published: 09/20/2018

The New Zeitgeist “Song Of The Chattahoochee” – Myths And Mortals CD http://www.thenewzeitgeist.com
Tia Brazda “Brand New Day” – Daydream CD http://www.tiabrazda.com @tiabrazda
Kate Fenner “Beatrice” – Middle Voice CD http://www.katefenner.bandcamp.com
Brooks Forsyth “Restless At Home, Lonesome On The Road” – So Much Beyond Us CD http://www.brooksforsyth.com
Childsplay “Sailing Off To Yankeeland” – The Bloom Of Youth CD http://www.childsplay.org
***********

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Downtime”


http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 34 minutos
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

*******************

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 18th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive092018
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2018/09/rcblive092018.mp3
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

This show, #819, was published: 09/20/2018

Opening:
The Orb “U.F.Orb” – U.F.Orb (Big Life – July 6, 1992)
Future Sound Of London “Glass” – Dead Cities (Astralwerks/US, Virgin/UK – October 18, 1996)
Geoffrey Armes “The Neighborhood Dubhouse” – Hemisphere (Geoffrey Armes – September 14, 2009) http://www.geoffreyarmes.com
*****

These artists are performing at the Hardly Strictly Bluegrass event, Oct., 5-7 http://www.hardlystrictlybluegrass.com
Darlingside “Open Door” – Whippoorwill EP http://www.darlingside.com @darlingside
Heather Maloney “Albert I-5” – Just Enough Sun EP http://www.heathermaloney.com @heathermaloney_
Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem “I Love This City” – Violets Are Blue CD http://www.raniarbo.com
Nerissa & Katryna Nields “The Creek’s Gonna Rise” – The Full Catastrophe CD http://www.nields.com @NerKat
Eilen Jewell “The Flood” – Live At The Narrows Disc 2 of 2-CD Set http://www.eilenjewell.com @eilenjewell
*******

Janita “What My Silence Means” – Didn’t You My Dear? CD http://www.janita.com @JANITAartist
Barnstar “Delta Rose” – Sit Down! Get Up! Get Out! CD http://www.wearebarnstar.com @cmonbarnstar
River Lynch “All This Time” – There Goes The Heart EP http://www.riverlynch.com @RiverLynch
Shane Martin “She’s Got Swagger” – Keepin’ The Night Alive CD http://www.shanemartin.com @shanemartin
The Smoking Flowers “One Horse Town” – Let’s Die Together CD http://www.thesmokingflowers.com @thesmokingflwrs
The Jess Novak Band “Be Your Road” – Fireworks & Fairytales CD http://www.jessrocknovak.com @JessRock87
The Bloody Jug Band “Late Shift” – Rope Burn CD http://www.bloodyjugband.com @TheBJB
*********

Reverend Raven & The Chain Smokin’ Altar Boys “Creature Of Habit” – My Life (Twentieth Anniversary) CD http://www.reverendraven.com @rraven01
Jo Wymer “Addiction” – S. L. G. EP http://www.jowymer.com @jowymermusic
Castle Black “Blind Curtain” – Trapped Under All You Know EP http://www.castleblack.com @CastleBlackNYC
Static And Surrender “The Very Long Night” – (s/t) CD http://www.staticandsurrender.com @staticsurrender
Tenderhooks “Yolena” – North Star CD http://www.facebook.com/tenderhooks @tenderhooks4u
The Mutineers “Hard Sell” – Threshold EP http://www.themutineersmusic.com @TheMutineers
The Wedding Present “Broken Bow” (Live In Session For Lucid Shade) – Going, Going… CD (Bonus Track) http://www.scopitones.co.uk
***********

CD FOCUS
King Of The Road: A Tribute To Roger Miller http://www.deanmillerentertainment.com @deanmillermusic
Roger’s son, Dean Miller, curates this all-star tribute, with legends of country-western music, and some of the genre’s top-selling stars.
From this 2-CD collection, I aired: “You Can’t Rollerskate In A Buffalo Herd” – Opry Stars/Legends, “Half A Mind” -Loretta Lynn,
“Invitation To The Blues” – Shooter Jennings, Jesse Colter, and “It Only Hurts Me When I Cry” (Live) – Dwight Yoakam.
*********

CD FOCUS
Darol Anger, Emy Phelps & Friends – Music Of Our People (60s Album) Compilation CD http://www.darolanger.com @darolanger
Influential violinist/octave mandolinist, Darol Anger, teams up with frequent co-conspirator, guitarist Emy Phelps, for a series of favorite songs, of the 1960s.
The guest artists on this album help elevate it, from ‘cover album’ status, to a new statement on New Acoustic (or, simply Americana) music. Many of their
favorite musicians, in the Northeast U.S., contributed much, to these songs. Darol has done similar projects, during his time with Republic of Strings, and a
prior folk album, of highly arranged material, (Heritage), with major-label guests.
From this CD, I aired: “Up On The Roof”, “These Boots Are Made For Walkin'”, and “Wichita Lineman”.
*********

Ellis Paul “Chasing Beauty” – (t/t) Chasing Beauty CD http://www.ellispaul.com @ellispaulsongs
Red Molly “My Baby Loves Me” – The Red Album CD http://www.redmolly.com @redmollyband
Spayed Koolie “You Know” – Ashtray Change CD http://www.spayedkoolie.com @spayedkoolie
Rachel Grubb “Talk A While” – Twists And Tangles CD http://www.rachelgrubbmusic.com
Paul Childers “Why Don’t You Stay” – Naked Poetry CD http://www.paulchildersmusic.com @ChildersPaul
*******

Johnsmith “The Medicine” – Ginkgo CD http://www.johnsmithmusic.com
Jean Mann “Indigo Dreams” – Road Girl (Vol. 2) CD http://www.jeanmann.net @jean_mann
Mare Wakefield & Nomad “With Your Heartbeat” – Time To Fly CD http://www.marewakefield.com @marewakefield
Lara Herscovitch “Another Gypsy Lifetime” – Misfit CD http://www.laraherscovitch.com @laraherscovitch
Cosy Sheridan & Charlie Koch “Throw The Gates Open” – My Fence & My Neighbor CD http://www.cosysheridan.com
*****

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”


http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 3 hours, 30 minutos
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
Atmosphere:

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 18 years on the Web
(253) 537-1096 or (215) 995-2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
twitter: @radiocblue