Tag Archives: Brooksie Wells

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 8/15/19


HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew081519
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/08/rcbnew081519.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

Show #465 was published on 08/20/2019.

R.J. Cowdery “Is There Time” – What If This Is All There Is CD http://www.rjcowdery.com @rjcowdery
Chris Gardner “One Life” – Hangin’ On The Line CD http://www.chrisgardnermusic.com @CGardnerMusic
Rising Appalachia “Speak Out” – Leylines CD http://www.risingappalachia.com
Courtney Hale Revia “Marfa” – Tattered CD http://www.courtneyhalereviamusic.com @CourtneyRevia
Heathcote Hill “Never Change Your Mind” – Save The Ones You Love EP http://www.heathcotehill.net @heathcote_hill
Si Kahn & The Looping Brothers “Old Country Store” – It’s A Dog’s Life CD http://www.sikahn.com @Kahn75Si
Allison Lupton “Words Of Love” – Words Of Love CD http://www.allisonlupton.com @allisonlupton1
Dana & Susan Robinson “Big Mystery” – The Town That Music Saved CD http://www.robinsongs.com @robinsongs2
Brooksie Wells “Honeysuckle” – In My Pocket CD http://www.brooksiewells.com
*******

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Callisto”
Running time: 58 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
Production/Post-Production: Dan Herman & DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
*******************
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 19th year online, is a weekly podcast, that features top songwriters, and bands – (indie, underground, and touring), in a freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
Radio Public: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive081519.mp3
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/08/rcblive081519.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

Show #840 was published on 08/20/2019.

Opening:
Velvet Underground “The Gift” – White Light/White Heat LP (Verve Records – January 30, 1968)
The 13th Floor Elevators “Slide Machine” – Easter Everywhere LP (Int.’l Artists – November, 1967)
Primal Scream “Loaded” – Screamadelica LP (Creation/Sire – September 23, 1991)
Boo Radleys “Smile Fades Fast” – Everything’s Alright Forever LP (Creation/Columbia – March 23, 1992)
*****

Mystery Loves Company “Numbers & Lines” – Here We Are CD http://www.mysteryloves.com @MysteryLovesCo
Heather Newman Band “Water & Wine” – Rise From The Flames CD http://www.heathernewmanband.com
Shane Martin “Barmuda Triangle” – Keepin’ The Night Alive CD http://www.shanemartin.com @ShaneMartinBand
Ben Davis, Jr. “Can’t Get Enough” – Suthernahia CD http://www.bendavisjr.net @bendavisjrmusic
Joey McGee “The Cape” – El Camino Real CD http://www.joeymcgee.com @joeymcgee
Kevin Deal “Pushing Away The Dark” – Long Road Home CD http://www.kevindeal.com @KevinDealMusic
Griffin House “Rising Star” – Rising Star CD http://www.griffinhousemusic.com @GriffinHouse
Roger Silverberg “Someone Else’s Love Song” – The Old Dog CD http://www.rogersilverberg.com
*******

RCB SALUTE, to artists who have recently announced their final shows:

Harpeth Rising –
“Good Ideas”, “Rollin’ To You”, “Shifted” – Shifted CD
http://www.harpethrising.com @harpethrising

The Slants –
“Yellow” – The Yellow Album CD
“Fight Back” – The Band Who Must Not Be Named EP
“Love Letters From Andromeda” – Something Slanted This Way Comes CD
http://www.theslants.com @theslants
*********

Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Up Above My Head” – Songs Of Inspiration CD http://www.professorlouie.com @ProfessorLouie1
Benny Turner “Have You Ever Loved A Woman” – My Brother’s Blues CD http://www.bennyturner.com @BennyTurnerBass
Mike Field “The Hotel By The Mansion” – True Stories CD http://www.mikefieldjazz.com @mikefieldjazz
Jamie Lynn Vessels “Fire In The Sky” – Fire In The Sky CD http://www.jamielynnvessels.com @jamielvessels
Drivin’ ‘n’ Cryin’ “Spies” – Live The Love Beautiful CD http://www.drivinncryin.com @drivinncryin
Vandoliers “Shoshone Rose” – Forever CD http://www.vandoliers.com @vandoliers
Nature Of Wires “Seagull” – Modus CD http://www.natureofwires.com @natureofwires
**********

RCB REMINISCES returns on the next podcast. Meanwhile, upon the 50th anniversary of Woodstock, here is some music from artists who didn’t play the festival, but could’ve, & even should’ve.
Jeff Beck Group “Spanish Boots” – Beck-Ola LP (Epic-US, EMI/Columbia-UK – June, 1969)
The Mothers Of Invention “Mr. Green Genes” – Uncle Meat LP (Bizarre/Reprise – April 21, 1969)
Chicago Transit Authority “South California Purples” – (s/t) LP (Columbia/CBS – April 28, 1969)
Procul Harum “Wreck Of The Hesperus” – A Salty Dog (Regal Zonophone/A&M – June, 1969)
Moody Blues “Gypsy (Of A Strange And Distant Time)” – To Our Children’s Children’s Children (Threshold – November 21, 1969)
*********

CD FOCUS: Occasional segment featuring outstanding compilation and concept albums, track-for-track.

NORTHBOUND (The Northwest Passage in Story and Song)”, by David Newland, is based on his various Arctic adventures.
He is partnered with Adventure Canada, as a driver, performer, and host.
This album exists, also, as as a live music experience, which has been performed, regularly, since 2016.

From this live album, I spun: “No Way To Stay Warm”, “Poor WIlliam Braine”, & “When It Comes To Love”.
http://www.davidnewland.com @davidnewland
*******

HuDost & Jars Of Clay “Rise Together” – Of Water + Mercy CD http://www.hudost.com @HuDost
Cordy Lavery “In The Arms” – Cordless CD http://www.cordylavery.com @CordyLavery
The Ordinary Two “The Sea (Part 2)” – (s/t) CD http://www.ordinarytwo.com
Rich Krueger “Me & Mr. Johnson” – Now Then CD http://www.richkrueger.com @RockinKrueger
Few Miles South “Snake Song” – Californ I Ain’t CD http://www.fewmilessouth.com @FewMilesSouth
Suzie Brown “C’mon Rain” – Under The Surface CD http://www.suziebrownsongs.com
Ben Reel “Healing Hands” – Land Of Escape CD http://www.benreel.com @benreel
*****

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer” http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove @flowerdove2168

Running time: 4 hours, 7 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman & DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Website: http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
Email: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 18 years on the Web
253-468-0061

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 11/8/15 podcasts


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 11/17/15
Schatzi & The String Boffin “Southern Justice” – Pale Horse CD http://www.sntsb.com
Highland Kites “Broken” – All We Left Behind CD http://www.highlandkites.com
Fernando Noronha “Down On The Ground” – Time Keeps Rolling CD http://www.fernandonoronha.com
Efrat “Love Kicked The Devil” – The Silver Lining CD http://www.efratmusic.com
Corte’ “Any Ole Way” – Seasoned Soul CD http://www.corte.global
JJ Ford “Find Me” – Perfect Saturday Night CD http://www.jjford54.com
Brooksie Wells “Holdin’ His Heart” – North East Rising Sun CD http://www.brooksiewells.com
Cashavelly Morrison “Iodine” – The Kingdom Belongs To A Child CD http://www.cashavellymorrison.com
Running time: 66 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive110815
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 11/17/15
Opening music: Ellis Paul “Empire State” – Chasing Beauty CD http://www.ellispaul.com
***
Rod Picott “Spare Change” – Fortune CD http://www.rodpicott.com
The Chapin Sisters “Autumn” – Today’s Not Yesterday CD http://www.thechapinsisters.com
Jesse Terry “Never Heard The Storm” – The Calm & The Storm EP http://www.jesseterrymusic.com
Fred Gillen Jr. “Ghost Of Joe Hill” – Wage Love CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “That There Boogie” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD http://www.karencollins.net
****
These are some artists who performed in juried showcase events at NERFA 2015 http://www.nerfa.org
Spuyten Duyvil “The Cruel War” – The Social Music Hour Vol 1 CD http://www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
Gathering Time “If It Would Only Rain” – When One Door Opens CD http://www.gathering-time.com
The Early Mays “Old Stone Wall” – s/t CD http://www.theearlymays.com
Heather Pierson Acoustic Trio “What Else Can I Do” – Still She Will Fly EP http://www.heatherpierson.com
Dan Weber “Take A Liking To You” – What I’m Looking For CD http://www.danwebermusic.com
The Levins “God’s Spies” – Trust CD http://www.thelevinsmusic.com
Aaron Nathans & Michael G. Ronstadt “I Stood Upon A Hill” – Crooked Fiddle CD http://www.aaronnathans.com http://www.michaelronstadt.com
Amy Soucy “Around The Bend” – This River CD http://www.amysoucymusic.com
Davey O “The Walk” – No Passengers CD http://www.daveyo.com
RCB FLASHBACK: Year-long feature where I spin whole segments of music I haven’t aired in years:
Lauren Braddock “Lost Dawg” – s/t CD http://www.laurenbraddockhavey.com
Lorna Huft “Mustard Fields” – Sentimental Bedlam CD
Deborah Lombardi “Something About A Man” – Sweet Revenge CD http://www.deborahlombardi.com
_______________
Liz Longley “Peace Of Mind” – s/t CD http://www.lizlongley.com
Darlingside “Clay & Cast Iron” – Birds Say CD http://www.darlingside.com
The Slambovian Circus Of Dreams “Living With God” – A Box Of Everything CD http://www.slambovia.com
Nine Times Blue “Reasons Why” – Matter Of Time CD http://www.9timesblue.com
Anthony Gomes “Listen To The Universe” – Electric Field Holler CD http://www.anthonygomes.com
_________
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in great concept or compilation albums.
GET TOGETHER: Banana Recalls Youngbloods Classics    http://www.lowelllevinger.com
Lowell Levinger from The Youngbloods brings fresh takes to the 60’s folk-rock band’s best-known songs.
From this special collector’s edition disc I spun “The Pool Hall Song”, “Interlude” & “Hippie From Olema”
DARRYL HOLTER:  Radio Songs: Woody Guthrie in Los Angeles 1937-39.
Sowing musical seeds before he was known as an activist as much as a poet,
Woody made many recordings for his own radio show on KFVD Los Angeles. These
songs are interpreted musically by Daryl and several notable songwriters as
guests.
From this CD I spun “California Stars” (featuring vocalist Sara Watkins), and “One By One”
_______
Andrew McKnight & Beyond Borders “Dancing In The Rain” – One Virginia Night (live) CD http://www.andrewmcknight.net
Mystery Loves Company “To The Stars” – Rock Symphony Billion CD http://www.mysteryloves.com
Jon Shain “Never My Love” – Reupholstered CD http://www.jonshain.com
Mike Wojniak “Stone & The Sea” – Anima Mundi EP http://www.mikewojniak.com
Jessie Kilguss “Red Moon” – Devastate Me CD http://www.jessiekilguss.com
Beth Wood “The New Kid” – The Weather Inside CD http://www.bethwoodmusic.com
_________
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Sol Aurora”
Running time: 220 minutes
Atmosphere:  hill o’contentment
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using
Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue