Tag Archives: River Drivers

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 11/26/19


HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew112019
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/11/rcbnew112019.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to play Radio Crystal Blue

This show, #471, was published: 11/20/2019.

Nobody’s Girl “Queen City” – Waterline CD http://www.wearenobodysgirl.com @NobodysGirlBand
Kevin Daniel “Jupiter” – Things I Don’t See CD http://www.thekevindaniel.com @TheKevinDaniel
Kinky Friedman “Me & Billy Swan” – Resurrection CD http://www.kinkyfriedman.com @KFCigars
Greezy Wheels “I Am The Fire” – Ain’t Quite Like That CD http://www.greezywheels.com
Miss Bix & The Blues Fix “Follow Me Down” – We Don’t Own The Blues CD http://www.missbix.com @lesliebixler
Weldon Henson “Sleep All Day” – Texas Made Honky Tonk CD http://www.weldonhenson.com @WeldonHenson
Kelsey Waldon “White Noise, White Lines” – (t/t) White Noise, White Lines CD http://www.kelseywaldon.com @kelsey_waldon
Debra Cowan “Scarecrow” – Greening The Dark EP http://www.debracowan.com @DebraCowanMusic
Grady Shawver “Passing Through” – The Climb CD http://www.gradyshawver.com
Ella Harp “The Widow Of Glasgow Green” – Who Asked You Back CD http://www.ellaharp.com @EllaHarpMusic
*******

Running time: 79 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
*******************
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 20th year online, is a weekly podcast, that features top songwriters, and bands – (indie, underground, and touring), in a freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
Radio Public: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive112019.mp3
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/11/rcblive112019.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to play Radio Crystal Blue

This show, #846, was published: 11/20/2019.

Opening:
“A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving” clip
MJ Hibbett “I Did A Gig In New York” – A Million Ukuleles CD http://www.mjhibbett.com @mjhibbett
Lara Herscovitch “Tequila Over Turkey” – There CD http://www.laraherscovitch.com @laraherscovitch
Twin Peaks – “Fire Walk With Me” clip
Johnny Cash “Like The 309” – American V: A Hundred Highways (American Records – July 04, 2006)
Johnny Cash “Custer” – Bitter Tears: Ballads Of The American Indian (Columbia Records – October 01, 1964)
Nancy Blake with Emmylou Harris, Gillian Welch, David Rawlings “The Talking Leaves” – Look Again To The Wind: Johnny Cash’s ‘Bitter Tears…’ Revisited (Sony Masterworks – August 19, 2014)
Todd Snider “The Ghost Of Johnny Cash” – Cash Cabin Sessions, Volume 3 CD http://www.toddsnider.net @toddsnider
Buffy Sainte-Marie “Now That The Buffalo’s Gone” – It’s My Way! LP http://www.buffysainte-marie.com (Vanguard – 1964)
*****

Aztec Two-Step “Out On The Road Again” – Naked CD http://www.aztectwostep.com @Aztec_TwoStep
Buskin & Batteau “Words That Bring The Tear” – Love Remembered, Love Forgot CD http://www.buskinandbatteau.com
LiLi Roquelin “Time To Believe” – Be Inspired CD http://www.liliroquelin.com @LiLiRoquelin
Nick Nace “Old Records” – Wrestling With The Mystery CD http://www.nicknace.com @nicknace
Julian Taylor Band “Never Let The Lights Go Dim” – Avalanche CD http://www.juliantayormusic.ca @jtaylorband
River Drivers “Going Once” – Big Oak Road CD http://www.theriverdrivers.com @theriverdrivers
Rising Appalachia “Harmonize” – Leylines CD http://www.risingappalachia.com @RisingApp
*******

CD FOCUS:
Occasional segment featuring outstanding compilation and concept albums, track-for-track
Bloodshot Records http://www.bloodshotrecords.com @BSHQ
This roots-rock label turns 25 years old this month. I’ve been a fan of the label, since the early years – (both theirs, and this show’s),
starting with Cordero, circa 2003. The trend has continued to the present day, as some of their current roster do find their way onto my shows –
(namely, The Bottle Rockets, Murder By Death, Vandoliers, and Sarah Shook & The Disarmers). Bloodshot consistently turns out music that hails mainly
from elements of country, punk and folk, something new in the early 90s, not unlike the “No Depression” movement. Something called, “insurgent country”
grew, from this loose combination of sounds. From their new compilation, “Too Late To Pray: Defiant Chicago Roots”, I aired these:
Wild Earp & The Free For Alls “The Last Honky Tonk In Chicago” http://www.wildearp.com @olwildearp
Miss Tammi Savoy & The Chris Casello Combo “If It’s News To You” http://www.misstammisavoy.com
Jon Langford’s Hillbilly Lovechild “I Am A Big Town” https://www.bloodshotrecords.com/artist/jon-langford
Half Gringa “Wearing White” http://www.halfgringa.com
Brendan Kelly & The Wandering Birds “Lay Me Down” @badsandwich
The Family Gold “The Sun Is Going Down” http://www.thefamilygold.com
*********

Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Funky Steampunk Blues” – Miles Of Blues CD http://www.professorlouie.com @ProfessorLouie1
The Human Circuit “Disclaimer” – Electric City CD http://www.thehumancircuit.org @human_circuit
Reverend Raven & The Chain Smokin’ Altar Boys “Slow Burn” – My Life (Twentieth Anniversary) CD http://www.reverendraven.com @rraven01
Laurie Morvan “Gotta Dig Deep” – Gravity CD http://www.lauriemorvan.com @LaurieOnGuitar
Mindi Abair & The Boneshakers “Let Me Hear It From You” – The EastWest Sessions CD http://www.mindiabair.com @MindiAbair
The Hots “Before You” – (s/t) EP http://www.thehotsofficial.com @thehotsofficial
Love Ghost “Bones” – Love Ghost, Vol. 1 EP http://www.loveghostband.com @LoveGhost_
Giants Chair “Kids Running” – Prefabylon CD http://www.giantschair.com
*********

CD FOCUS:
Voyage 2: A Valley Entertainment Collection http://www.valley-entertainment.com @valleyent
This indie label focuses on songwriter-oriented material, contemporary Irish music, and world music.
It acquired Hearts of Space Records, an extension of the long-running, syndicated radio program, that features “space music”, itself;
a conglomeration of New Age, Ambient, Electronic, World, and other genres.
From this new compilation, I aired 3 tracks, from the Hearts Of Space portion:
Bill Douglas “Angelico” – Quiet Moon http://www.billdouglas.cc
David Darling “The Beauty Of All Things” – Homage To Kindness http://www.daviddarling.com
Coyote Oldman “Timeless” – Under An Ancient Sky http://www.coyoteoldman.com
*******

Lorraine Leckie & Her Demons “Rainbow” – Rebel Devil Devil Rebel CD http://www.lorraineleckie.com @LorraineLeckie
Slaid Cleaves “So Good To Me” – Ghost On The Car Radio CD http://www.slaidcleaves.com @slaidc
Sam Baker “Odessa” – Horses & Stars CD http://www.sambakermusic.com @SamBakerMusic
Holly Clough “Monte Carlo” – The Nashville EP http://www.hollyclough.com @iammissholly
Michael G. Ronstadt “Andreyko The Prophet” – Foolish Fox CD http://www.michaelronstadt.com @mgronstadt
Sarah McQuaid “One Sparrow Down” – If We Dig Any Deeper It Could Get Dangerous CD http://www.sarahmcquaid.com @sarahmcquaid
Simon Mayor “Past Three O’Clock” – Winter With Mandolins CD http://www.simonmayor.com @simonmandolin
*****

Running time: 3 hours, 43 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
20th anniversary year on the Internet
215-995-2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 9/15/19


HOW TO LISTEN:
Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew091519
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/09/rcbnew091519.mp3
NEW: Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

This show, #467 was published: 09/15/2019.

S.E. Willis & The Willing  “I Study The Room” – Too Much Love CD http://www.sewillis.com
Jersey Swamp Cats “Shiny Gray Corvette” – Go Cat Go! CD http://www.facebook.com/jerseyswampcats
Lily Frost “I Dodged A Bullet” – Retro Moderne CD http://www.lilyfrost.com @lily_frost
Frodo CPU “A Life Like That” – Third CD http://www.frodocpu.com @frodocpu
Larry Joe Cashen & 16th Lonely Street Band “Outlaw Man” – Run Wild River Run CD http://www.gunsofdixie.com @LarryJoeCashen
Jordi Baizan “Between The Sun And The Moon” – Free And Fine CD http://www.jordibaizan.com @jordimusic
Manda Mosher “Nobody Gives A Damn About Songs Anymore (single) – http://www.mandamosher.com @mandamosher
Joe Iadanza “Reach High” – Common Man CD http://www.joeiadanza.com @joeiadanza
*******

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Downtime”
http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 55 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
Production/Post-Production: Dan Herman & DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
*******************
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 19th year online, is a weekly podcast, that features top songwriters, and bands – (indie, underground, and touring), in a freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
Radio Public: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive091519.mp3
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/10/rcblive091519.mp3
NEW: Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

This show, #842, was recorded: 09/15/2019.

Opening:
The Doors “Bird Of Prey” – An American Prayer (Elektra/Asylum – November 17, 1978)
Fatboy Slim “Sunset (Bird Of Prey)” – Halfway Between The Gutter & The Stars (Skint/Astralwerks – November 06, 2000)
Talk Engine “Dirty & Familiar” – Talk Engine (Jackie Sheeler – 2005)
Patti Smith “As The Night Goes By” – Dream Of Life (Arista – June, 1988)
The Jimi Hendrix Experience “Are You Experienced?” – Are You Experienced? (Track Records – May 12, 1967)
Dick Dale “Third Stone From The Sun” – Calling Up Spirits (Beggars Banquet Records – 1996)
Van Morrison “Listen To The Lion” – Saint Dominic’s Preview (Warner Bros. – July, 1972)
Roy Eldridge “The Song Is Ended” – Little Jazz: The Best Of The Verve Years (Clef Records – 1955)
*****

Randy Lewis Brown “Good Old Days” – Red Crow CD http://www.randylewisbrown.com @brownrandy
Darryl Holter “Walk A Mile” – Roots & Branches CD http://www.darrylholter.com @DarrylHolter
Dan Weber “Oh, Woody” – What I’m Lookin’ For CD http://www.danwebermusic.com @danwebermusic
Reggie Harris “Harlem Renaissance” – Ready To Go CD http://www.reggieharrismusic.com @Regmusicman
Aztec Two Step “Never Say Never” – Naked CD http://www.aztectwostep.com @Aztec_TwoStep
The Nouveaux Honkies “The Glades” – Loud In Here CD http://www.tnhband.com @TNHBand
*******

CD FOCUS: Occasional segment featuring outstanding compilation and concept albums, track-for-track.
David Newland – “NORTHBOUND (The Northwest Passage in Story and Song)” http://www.davidnewland.com @davidnewland
Based on his various Arctic adventures, he is partnered with Adventure Canada, as a driver, performer, and host.
This album exists, also, as as a live music experience, which has been performed, regularly, since 2016.
From this live album, I spun: “This Monument On The Sea”, “Boy On The Shore”, & “Monument”.
*********

Steel Wool “Just Maybe” – (t/t) Just Maybe CD http://www.steelwoolband.com @STEEL_WOOL_Band
The Slambovian Circus Of Dreams ” Living With God” – A Box Of Everything CD http://www.slambovia.com @Slambovia
Kristin Hersh “Lethe” – Possible Dust Clouds CD http://www.kristinhersh.com @kristinhersh
Murder By Death “Travelin’ Far” – The Other Shore CD http://www.murderbydeath.com @murderbydeath
Hats Off Gentlemen It’s Adequate “Ark” – (t/t) Ark EP http://www.hatsoffgentlemen.com @itsadequate
Grivo “Elude” – (t/t) Elude CD http://www.facebook.com/grivoband @grivoband
***********

Mike Jacoby “Smile” – Long Beach Calling CD http://www.mikejacobymusic.com
Esther Rose “Five Minute Drive” – You Made It This Far CD http://www.estherrose.net @estherrose
Scott Wolfson & Other Heroes “Hole In The Head” – (single) http://www.scottwolfson.com @SWOtherHeroes
SVER “Batch 15” – Reverie CD http://www.sverfolk.com @sverfolk
River Drivers “Going Once” – Children’s March (Mother Jones) EP http://www.theriverdrivers.com @theriverdrivers
Cardboard Ox “Falling” – (s/t) EP http://www.cardboardoxmusic.com @traciepotes
Livingston Taylor “Bicycle” – The Best Of LIVe (50 Years Of Livingston Taylor) CD http://www.livingstontaylor.com @livtaylor
*********

CD FOCUS:
Occasional segment featuring outstanding compilation and concept albums, track-for-track.
Terri Hendrix http://www.terrihendrix.com @terrihendrix
Veteran singer/songwriter, Terri Hendrix, addresses depression and perseverance, in her latest – exploring a range of genres,
mostly influenced by electronica.
From this new project, we hear the last track, “Grieve”, from Who Is Ann? (Project 5.4) CD, and the first three tracks,
“Talk To A Human”, “Mi Madre” & “Choice”, from Talk To A Human (Project 5.3) CD.
*******

Abbie Gardner “Starting From Scratch” – Wishes On A Neon Sign CD http://www.abbiegardner.com @abbiegmusic
Helene Cronin “Ghost” – Old Ghosts & Lost Causes CD http://www.helenecronin.com
Sarah Sharp “Little Green Bag” – Sway EP http://www.sarahsharp.com @SarahSharpATX
Meg Braun “Red Bird” – Restless Moon CD http://www.megbraun.com
Jean Mann “Pile Of Leaves” – Road Girl, Vol. 1 CD http://www.jeanmann.net @jean_mann
Joe Jencks “Let Me Sing You A Song” – Poets, Philosophers, Workers & Wanderers CD http://www.joejencks.com @JoeJencksMusic
John McCutcheon “Living In The Country” – To Everyone In All The World (A Celebration Of Pete Seeger) CD http://www.folkmusic.com @mccutcheonfolk
*****

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”
http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 4 hours, 7 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman & DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 19 years on the Web
253-468-0061
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue