Tag Archives: The Hots

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 11/26/19


HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew112019
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/11/rcbnew112019.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to play Radio Crystal Blue

This show, #471, was published: 11/20/2019.

Nobody’s Girl “Queen City” – Waterline CD http://www.wearenobodysgirl.com @NobodysGirlBand
Kevin Daniel “Jupiter” – Things I Don’t See CD http://www.thekevindaniel.com @TheKevinDaniel
Kinky Friedman “Me & Billy Swan” – Resurrection CD http://www.kinkyfriedman.com @KFCigars
Greezy Wheels “I Am The Fire” – Ain’t Quite Like That CD http://www.greezywheels.com
Miss Bix & The Blues Fix “Follow Me Down” – We Don’t Own The Blues CD http://www.missbix.com @lesliebixler
Weldon Henson “Sleep All Day” – Texas Made Honky Tonk CD http://www.weldonhenson.com @WeldonHenson
Kelsey Waldon “White Noise, White Lines” – (t/t) White Noise, White Lines CD http://www.kelseywaldon.com @kelsey_waldon
Debra Cowan “Scarecrow” – Greening The Dark EP http://www.debracowan.com @DebraCowanMusic
Grady Shawver “Passing Through” – The Climb CD http://www.gradyshawver.com
Ella Harp “The Widow Of Glasgow Green” – Who Asked You Back CD http://www.ellaharp.com @EllaHarpMusic
*******

Running time: 79 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
*******************
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 20th year online, is a weekly podcast, that features top songwriters, and bands – (indie, underground, and touring), in a freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple Music (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
Radio Public: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive112019.mp3
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/11/rcblive112019.mp3
Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to play Radio Crystal Blue

This show, #846, was published: 11/20/2019.

Opening:
“A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving” clip
MJ Hibbett “I Did A Gig In New York” – A Million Ukuleles CD http://www.mjhibbett.com @mjhibbett
Lara Herscovitch “Tequila Over Turkey” – There CD http://www.laraherscovitch.com @laraherscovitch
Twin Peaks – “Fire Walk With Me” clip
Johnny Cash “Like The 309” – American V: A Hundred Highways (American Records – July 04, 2006)
Johnny Cash “Custer” – Bitter Tears: Ballads Of The American Indian (Columbia Records – October 01, 1964)
Nancy Blake with Emmylou Harris, Gillian Welch, David Rawlings “The Talking Leaves” – Look Again To The Wind: Johnny Cash’s ‘Bitter Tears…’ Revisited (Sony Masterworks – August 19, 2014)
Todd Snider “The Ghost Of Johnny Cash” – Cash Cabin Sessions, Volume 3 CD http://www.toddsnider.net @toddsnider
Buffy Sainte-Marie “Now That The Buffalo’s Gone” – It’s My Way! LP http://www.buffysainte-marie.com (Vanguard – 1964)
*****

Aztec Two-Step “Out On The Road Again” – Naked CD http://www.aztectwostep.com @Aztec_TwoStep
Buskin & Batteau “Words That Bring The Tear” – Love Remembered, Love Forgot CD http://www.buskinandbatteau.com
LiLi Roquelin “Time To Believe” – Be Inspired CD http://www.liliroquelin.com @LiLiRoquelin
Nick Nace “Old Records” – Wrestling With The Mystery CD http://www.nicknace.com @nicknace
Julian Taylor Band “Never Let The Lights Go Dim” – Avalanche CD http://www.juliantayormusic.ca @jtaylorband
River Drivers “Going Once” – Big Oak Road CD http://www.theriverdrivers.com @theriverdrivers
Rising Appalachia “Harmonize” – Leylines CD http://www.risingappalachia.com @RisingApp
*******

CD FOCUS:
Occasional segment featuring outstanding compilation and concept albums, track-for-track
Bloodshot Records http://www.bloodshotrecords.com @BSHQ
This roots-rock label turns 25 years old this month. I’ve been a fan of the label, since the early years – (both theirs, and this show’s),
starting with Cordero, circa 2003. The trend has continued to the present day, as some of their current roster do find their way onto my shows –
(namely, The Bottle Rockets, Murder By Death, Vandoliers, and Sarah Shook & The Disarmers). Bloodshot consistently turns out music that hails mainly
from elements of country, punk and folk, something new in the early 90s, not unlike the “No Depression” movement. Something called, “insurgent country”
grew, from this loose combination of sounds. From their new compilation, “Too Late To Pray: Defiant Chicago Roots”, I aired these:
Wild Earp & The Free For Alls “The Last Honky Tonk In Chicago” http://www.wildearp.com @olwildearp
Miss Tammi Savoy & The Chris Casello Combo “If It’s News To You” http://www.misstammisavoy.com
Jon Langford’s Hillbilly Lovechild “I Am A Big Town” https://www.bloodshotrecords.com/artist/jon-langford
Half Gringa “Wearing White” http://www.halfgringa.com
Brendan Kelly & The Wandering Birds “Lay Me Down” @badsandwich
The Family Gold “The Sun Is Going Down” http://www.thefamilygold.com
*********

Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Funky Steampunk Blues” – Miles Of Blues CD http://www.professorlouie.com @ProfessorLouie1
The Human Circuit “Disclaimer” – Electric City CD http://www.thehumancircuit.org @human_circuit
Reverend Raven & The Chain Smokin’ Altar Boys “Slow Burn” – My Life (Twentieth Anniversary) CD http://www.reverendraven.com @rraven01
Laurie Morvan “Gotta Dig Deep” – Gravity CD http://www.lauriemorvan.com @LaurieOnGuitar
Mindi Abair & The Boneshakers “Let Me Hear It From You” – The EastWest Sessions CD http://www.mindiabair.com @MindiAbair
The Hots “Before You” – (s/t) EP http://www.thehotsofficial.com @thehotsofficial
Love Ghost “Bones” – Love Ghost, Vol. 1 EP http://www.loveghostband.com @LoveGhost_
Giants Chair “Kids Running” – Prefabylon CD http://www.giantschair.com
*********

CD FOCUS:
Voyage 2: A Valley Entertainment Collection http://www.valley-entertainment.com @valleyent
This indie label focuses on songwriter-oriented material, contemporary Irish music, and world music.
It acquired Hearts of Space Records, an extension of the long-running, syndicated radio program, that features “space music”, itself;
a conglomeration of New Age, Ambient, Electronic, World, and other genres.
From this new compilation, I aired 3 tracks, from the Hearts Of Space portion:
Bill Douglas “Angelico” – Quiet Moon http://www.billdouglas.cc
David Darling “The Beauty Of All Things” – Homage To Kindness http://www.daviddarling.com
Coyote Oldman “Timeless” – Under An Ancient Sky http://www.coyoteoldman.com
*******

Lorraine Leckie & Her Demons “Rainbow” – Rebel Devil Devil Rebel CD http://www.lorraineleckie.com @LorraineLeckie
Slaid Cleaves “So Good To Me” – Ghost On The Car Radio CD http://www.slaidcleaves.com @slaidc
Sam Baker “Odessa” – Horses & Stars CD http://www.sambakermusic.com @SamBakerMusic
Holly Clough “Monte Carlo” – The Nashville EP http://www.hollyclough.com @iammissholly
Michael G. Ronstadt “Andreyko The Prophet” – Foolish Fox CD http://www.michaelronstadt.com @mgronstadt
Sarah McQuaid “One Sparrow Down” – If We Dig Any Deeper It Could Get Dangerous CD http://www.sarahmcquaid.com @sarahmcquaid
Simon Mayor “Past Three O’Clock” – Winter With Mandolins CD http://www.simonmayor.com @simonmandolin
*****

Running time: 3 hours, 43 minutos

Host: Dan Herman
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution.
More info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
20th anniversary year on the Internet
215-995-2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 11/20/18


HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBnew112018
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2018/11/rcbnew112018.mp3
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

This show, #450, was published: 11/20/2018.

David Lumsden & Friends “Further Up The Road” – Hues Of Blues CD http://www.davidlumsdenguitar.com
Jim Allchin “Jimmy’s Boogie” – Prime Blues CD http://www.jimallchin.com @JimAllchin
Diane Durrett & Soul Suga “Don’t That Bring You Back?” – (s/t) Live CD http://www.dianedurrett.com
Dan Miraldi “Eyes Of Sarah June” – Alphabet City 2 AM CD http://www.danmiraldi.com @danmiraldi
Okan “1,000 Palabras” – Labarinto EP http://www.okanmusica.com
Colter Wall “Calgary Round-Up” – Songs Of The Plains CD http://www.colterwall.com @ColterWall
The Appalucians “47 Main” – Bright Hills CD http://www.theappalucians.com @appalucians
Rich Krueger “The Great War” – Now Then CD http://www.richkrueger.com @RockinKrueger
***********

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Wind Chill”


http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 59 minutos
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

*******************

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 19th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive112018
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2018/11/rcblive112018.mp3
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

This show, #824, was published: 11/20/2018.

OPENING:
Lara Herscovitch “Tequila Over Turkey” – There CD http://www.laraherscovitch.com @laraherscovitch
MJ Hibbett “I Did A Gig In New York” – A Million Ukuleles CD http://www.mjhibbett.com @thevalidators
*****

Scott Sharrard “She Can’t Wait” – Saving Grace CD http://www.scottsharrard.com
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “River Of Honey” – The Lost Band Tracks CD http://www.professorlouie.com @ProfessorLouie1
Sirsy “Red Letter Days” – Live In Youngstown http://www.sirsy.com @SIRSY
Uncle Ben’s Remedy “Angels & Ambulances” The Things That Bring You Back CD http://www.unclebensremedy.com @UncleBensRemedy
*******

CD FOCUS:
Michael Martin Murphey “Austinology: Alleys Of Austin” http://www.michaelmartinmurphey.com @Rocking3M
Michael’s 37th album comes 50 years after helping to pioneer the Austin music scene, setting the stage for the “outlaw” movement,
alongside Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings, and others. This album breathes new life in the older songs, of Michael’s repertoire.
From this new album, I aired:
“Alleys Of Austin” (Feat. Willie Nelson, Lyle Lovett, Kelly Willis, Bruce Robison, Gary P. Nunn, & Randy Rogers)
“South Canadian River Song”
“Wildfire” (Feat. Amy Grant)
“Geronimo’s Cadillac” (Feat. Steve Earle)
*********

Feed The Kid “Achilles Heel” – (s/t) EP http://www.ftkmusic.co.uk @FeedTheKidMusic
The Hots “Before You” – (s/t) EP http://www.thehotsofficial.com @thehotsofficial
Harts “Ain’t Nothing On Me” – Queens, Kings, & All Big Things CD http://www.hartsmusic.com @harts_
Sisteray “Rumour Mill” – Sisteray Said EP http://www.sisteray.com @sisterayuk
*********

CD FOCUS:
Ska Around The World http://www.putumayo.com @PutumayoMusic
This unique compilation, the latest from this revered record label, finds 10 tracks with Ska, the forerunning sound to Reggae, represented by music from
all parts of the globe. From this new compilation, I aired:
“Glory To The Sound” – The Skatalites (Jamaica) http://www.skatalites.com @skatalites
“Ijssalon Bernardo” – Zazi (The Netherlands) http://www.zazimusic.com @ZaziMusic
“Duck Soup” – The Pepper Pots (Feat. Aspo) (Spain) http://www.thepepperpots.com @thepepperpots
“Chanda Mama” – Playing For Change (Multiple Countries) http://www.playingforchange.com @Playing4Change
*******

Fred Gillen, Jr. “Julia” – What She Said CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com @fredgillenjr
Kurt Henry Band “Whenever You’re With Him” – Flaming June CD http://www.kurthenry.com
Eli Lev “Making Space” – All Roads East EP http://www.eli-lev.com @EliLevMusic
Chris Kemp White “Repeating” – (s/t) EP http://www.chriskempwhite.com @chriskempwhite
Slaid Cleaves “To Be Held” – Ghost On The Car Radio CD http://www.slaidcleaves.com @slaidc

*****

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”


http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 2 hours, 25 minutos
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 18 years on the Web
(253) 537-1096 or (215) 995-2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
twitter: @radiocblue