Tag Archives: The HickoryTown Ruckus

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo week of 6/16/13


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)

www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/rcbnew061613.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssThis show was distributed on 6/19/13

Amanda Pearcy “Unbind” – Royal Street CD www.amandapearcy.com
Dylan Sneed “Texodus” – Texodus CD www.dylansneed.com
Courtney Lee Heins “Wreck Tangle” – Bright Blue World CD www.refolk.com
The Mighty Mojo Prophets “One For Me” – Flyin’ Home From Memphis CD (no website) www.deltagroovemusic.com
Annelise Collette “Burn” – Out Of This World CD www.annelisecollette.com
Logan Tracey “Dream About” – For Sale CD www.logantracey.com
Jason Myles Goss “Chocolate Croissant” – Radio Dial CD (no website)
Dick Weissman “White Men At Eagle Pass” www.dickweissman.com
Running time: 55 minutos
Moon: Scorpio
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/rcblive061613.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssArtists who are sharing gigs are denoted with * symbols.
This show was distributed on 6/19/13

Opening music: Chicha Libre “Primavera en la Selva” – Sonido Amazonico CD www.barbesrecords.com
****
The HickoryTown Ruckus “Simple Pleasures” – Who Stole The Banjo? CD www.thehickorytownruckus.com
Roosevelt Dime “Simple Man” – Steamboat Soul CD www.rooseveltdimemusic.com
Andrew McKnight & Beyond Borders “The Road To Appomattox” – One Virginia Night CD www.andrewmcknight.net
Steven Graves “When Things Were Simple” – Let It Ride EP www.stevengravesmusic.com
Chuck Schaeffer “Along These Lines” – Along These Lines CD www.chuckschaeffer.com
Jann Klose “Beautiful One” – Mosaic CD www.jannklose.com
********
*Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Over The Edge” – As The Crow Flies compilation CD www.professorlouie.com
*New Riders Of The Purple Sage “Down For The Ride” – 17 Pine Avenue CD www.thenewriders.com
Rod Piazza & The All Mighty Flyers “We Belong Together” – Almighty Dollar CD www.themightyflyers.com
Mercury Morning “The Aftermath”- The Aftermath EP www.mercurymorning.com
Sheila Swift “Daisy” (single) www.sheilaswift.com
Dizzy Bats “Where Are The Children” – Sundial CD www.dizzybatsmusic.com
Aqua Cherry “Helix” – Auto Kiss Proof EP www.reverbnation.com/aquacherry
*****
The Symbols “Kristin” – s/t EP www.thesymbols.net
Patricia Silverberg “Hear My Song” – Don’t Look Back CD www.patriciasilverberg.com
Lisa Biales “Let The Mermaids Flirt With Me” – Singing In My Soul CD www.lisabiales.com
*Sassparilla “Broke Down Engine” – Magpie CD www.sassparilla.info
*Julia Massey & The Five Finger Discount “Don’t Worry ‘Bout Us” – Five Letters From Far Away CD www.juliamasseymusic.com
Catie Curtis “Another Day On Earth” – Stretch Limousine on Fire CD www.catiecurtis.com
Lara Ewen & The Unstrung Orchestra “Blessed” – Ghosts & Gasoline CD www.unstrungmusic.com
***
Aztec Two-Step “Falling Down Clowns” – Cause & Effect CD www.aztectwostep.com
Marianne Kesler “Poets Dream” – Pear In The Pink Thing CD www.mariannekesler.com
Elyssa Rose “Count To A Memory” (single) www.elyssarose.com
Debbie Miller “Much Longer” – Measures + Waits EP www.thedebbiemiller.com
Avi Wisnia “Goodnight” – Avi Wisnia Presents CD www.aviwisnia.com

 

***
Closing music: Gabrielle Roth & The Mirrors “Speaking Curves” – Jhoom: The Intoxication Of Surrender CD www.ravenrecording.com
Running time: 2 hours 49 minutos.
Moon: Scorpio
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.orgNext show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 6/16/13

Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue 3/31/13 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.

AUDIO version of this message: http://chirb.it/OkshNp

 
*****
HOW TO LISTEN: FEEDPLAYER
Look for a popup link on the home and archive pages at
www.radiocrystalblue.net When you click, it will open within the same
window. The player allows you to stream all recent shows, as well as
download and share them. Click the tabs within the player for more.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

FEEDPLAYER LINK:
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue

EXTRACURRICULAR:
STAT BLOG www.idealisticstats.wordpress.com
the DAILY (auto-generated online newspaper with selected keywords and
mentions from social media, updated each evening):
http://paper.li/radiocblue/1333586729
*******
PROGRAMMING:
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about April 3 and will be available
for about 1 year. I usually publish on Wednesdays or as soon as
possible thereafter. You will hear music in several segments of top
indie/DIY/underground songwriters and bands.

RCB Novus Ordo is a separate podcast with 8 songs, one each
from a brand new recording. I spin the music and give you some backstory of
each.
*****************************

RCB Quarterly Airplay Chart will be revealed at some point next week. Essentially I’m
ranking artists based on who I see and interact with and also from airplay from the last 3 months. The chart is a great way to know who is receiving the most progressive airplay on my show. You can view the previous quarterly, annual and all-time charts at https://radiocrystalblue.net/chart-page/
 
CAPE MAY: For my own purposes, the weekend at Cape May’s 6th annual Singer-Songwriter (music conference) was fairly successful. I met a number of familiar faces and introduced myself to some new ones. I also saw a handful of songwriters and bands that may well appear on Radio Crystal Blue in the future. Full recap here: https://radiocrystalblue.net/2013/03/28/cape-may-nj-322-2313/
 
Legendary Dobbs was the site for Rachel Schain’s CD release event. A recap of that evening has just been posted to my website, right here:
Photos: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10152696650610725.1073741829.684570724&type=3
Video: http://youtu.be/L-_zbQUz1hM

Still accepting donations for Radio Crystal Blue’s efforts to stay afloat and on the air with new podcasts every week. It’s a matter, really, of getting the bills paid. I wish I had more $ so I could break even at the least.
Remember, this program is strengthened not just by me, but by you. I have been on the air 13 years, and I don’t do all the things a 3- or 4-letter station will do. I have my own path and it works for me. And I get enough feedback that suggests I’m doing the perfect thing. The show does have listeners, and I’m very thankful that people get what I’m doing. Next time you want to give credence to a true radio station, remember this podcast that is true to the artistry of radio.

How can I be of further service, further business for you and your service or business?

Keep the donations coming. Your efforts go directly toward getting some of
the bills paid here, including the phone, Web, and the radio equipment. Use
the Paypal button at the home page of my website.

********
RCB rewind: FrodoCPU is someone whose music I spun in the early days of Radio Crystal Blue. He used to run an indie label, now works in a studio and is creating albums. The HicktoryTown Ruckus, according to legend, take their own stories from legend about a place called Lancashire,…er..Hickory Town, in Pennsylvania. Spun the newest albums from Arlon Bennett and KC Clifford, both frequently heard on my show prior.

 
RCB proper: Cheatin’ songs, the devil and angel on yer shoulder, that’s what I had in mind with segment #1, with Sean Kershaw setting the mood here. Segment #2: If you weren’t at Dobbs last night, you missed out. Rachel Schain, The Way Home, Venice Sunlight all in action, and in this segment. Rachel’s tune is from the just-dropped album “LilacFace”. The Shipwrecks from Long Island continue here with edgy surf/hard rock. Segment 3: 5 songs primarily about girls (Jon Regen, Carolann Solebello, James Houlahan, The YaYas, Red Molly, Chris Smither). Carolann co-bills with The YaYas at The Eclectic Cafe, Bay Shore NY on 4/13. Red Molly & Chris Smither are part of the National Folk Festival in Australia this weekend. Segment 4 gets predominently folkish with RCB’s true sweethearts Danny Schmidt & Carrie Elkin. Did you hear Danny proposed to her? She said yes! There’s video on Youtube. Jessi Robertson & Tall Tall Trees shared billing this week at someplace called Rockwood Music Hall.
 
**************
AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:

Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145

CDs MUST have been released no earlier than June 2012.
Keep physical packages of reasonable size and weight, as this is a
residence.
If material is from 2011, it will be added to RCB’s loose rotation instead.
Digital is acceptable if media is not available in other formats.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general email
list.

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit.
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: www.musicsubmit.com
MusicClout www.musicclout.com
Search for the words Radio Crystal Blue to find my pages there.
*********
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue
215 995 2234

Radio Crystal Blue and RCB Novus Ordo 3/24/13


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/rcbnew032413.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssThis show was distributed on 3/28/13
FrodoCPU “Every Day” – Power Of Two CD www.frodocpu.com
Myth Of Progress “Let It Go” – s/t CD www.mythofprogress.com
Tiger Suit “Book About Your Life” – demo EP www.tigersuit.bandcamp.com
Garageboys “Original” – s/t CD www.thegarageboysband.com
The HickoryTown Ruckus “No Radio” – Who Stole the Banjo? CD www.thehickorytownruckus.com
KC Clifford “Cactus Flower” – The Tag Hollow Sessions CD www.kcclifford.com
Macedo “Ghost” – Flags & Boxes CD www.macedomusic.com
Gallon House “Revolution” – s/t CD www.gallonhouse.com
Jason MacDonald “Storm On The Way” – Got A Ways To Go CD www.jasonmacdonald.com
Arlon Bennett “Nothing Like A Song” – World Of Possibility CD www.arlonbennett.com
Running time: 71 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at www.radiocrystalblue.net
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/rcblive032413.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssArtists who are sharing gigs are denoted with * symbols.
This show was distributed on 3/28/13.
Opening music: Juaneco y su combo “Un Shipibo En Espana” – Masters Of Chicha Volume 1 CD www.barbesrecords.com

*****
Sean Kershaw & The New Jack Ramblers “Already Cheatin’ ” – Coney Island Cowboy CD www.seankershaw.com
Bryan Dunn ” Marlene” – Sweetheart Of The Music Hall CD www.bryandunnmusic.net
Shane Cooley “Too Much Risk Involved” – When It Rains, It Pours CD www.shanecooleymusic.com
Jason Spooner “Time Is Running Out” – Sea Monster CD www.jasonspooner.com
Carsie Blanton “All We Got” – Idiot Heart CD www.carsieblanton.com
Jenee Halstead “Heart Song” – Raised By Wolves CD www.jeneehalstead.com
Remember September “Better This Way” – The Roads We Travel CD www.rememberseptemberband.com
********
The Kurt Henry Band “From Our Religions We’ll Be Free! CD www.kurthenry.com
Jamie McLean Band “Box Of Memories” – Live At Gibson CD www.jamiemcleanband.com
Blue Rodeo “All The Things That Are Left Behind” – The Things We Leave Behind CD www.bluerodeo.com
*The Way Home “To Reason Why” – On So Thin A Line CD www.thewayhomemusic.com
*Rachel Schain “Unconventionally Yours” – LilacFace CD www.rachelschain.com
*Venice Sunlight “Hey Logan!” – vs. The Sophomore Slump EP www.venicesunlight.com
The Shipwrecks “Funky Bikini Monkey” – s/t EP www.shipwreckslb.com
Brothers-N-Arms “Breathe” – s/t EP www.facebook.com/brothersnarmsband
*********
Jon Regen “Delores” – Revolution CD www.jonregen.com
James Houlahan “Carly Rose” – Misfit Hymns CD www.jameshoulahan.com
*Carolann Solebello “Alice” – Threshold CD www.carolannsolebello.com
*The YaYas “Third Girl From The Left” – Paper Boats CD www.wearetheyayas.com
**Red Molly “Hello Goodbye” – Light in the Sky CD www.redmolly.com
**Chris Smither “Hundred Dollar Valentine” – Hundred Dollar Valentine CD www.smither.com
Sarah McQuaid “The Sun Goes On Rising” – The Plum Tree And The Rose CD www.sarahmcquaid.com
***********
Eliane Amherd “Temptation” (Tom Waits cover) – Now And From Now On CD www.elianeperforms.com
*Jessi Robertson “You Don’t Want To Taste My Heart” – Small Town Girls CD www.jessirobertson.com
*Tall Tall Trees “Lonely Weekend” – Moment CD www.talltalltrees.com
Kristi Martel “This Space Is All Mine CD www.kristimartel.com
*Carrie Elkin “The Things We’re Afraid Of” – Call It My Garden CD www.carrieelkin.com
*Danny Schmidt “Guilty By Association Blues” – Man Of Many Moons CD www.dannyschmidt.com
John Roy Zat “Irish Waltz” – solo CD www.royzat.com
********
Closing music: Chicha Libre “Sonido Amazonico” – Sonido Amazonico CD http://www.barbesrecords.com
Running time: 3 hours 16 minutos.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.orgNext show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 3/31/13
Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net