Tag Archives: Darryl Holter

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 11/8/15 podcasts


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 11/17/15
Schatzi & The String Boffin “Southern Justice” – Pale Horse CD http://www.sntsb.com
Highland Kites “Broken” – All We Left Behind CD http://www.highlandkites.com
Fernando Noronha “Down On The Ground” – Time Keeps Rolling CD http://www.fernandonoronha.com
Efrat “Love Kicked The Devil” – The Silver Lining CD http://www.efratmusic.com
Corte’ “Any Ole Way” – Seasoned Soul CD http://www.corte.global
JJ Ford “Find Me” – Perfect Saturday Night CD http://www.jjford54.com
Brooksie Wells “Holdin’ His Heart” – North East Rising Sun CD http://www.brooksiewells.com
Cashavelly Morrison “Iodine” – The Kingdom Belongs To A Child CD http://www.cashavellymorrison.com
Running time: 66 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive110815
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:
This show was published 11/17/15
Opening music: Ellis Paul “Empire State” – Chasing Beauty CD http://www.ellispaul.com
***
Rod Picott “Spare Change” – Fortune CD http://www.rodpicott.com
The Chapin Sisters “Autumn” – Today’s Not Yesterday CD http://www.thechapinsisters.com
Jesse Terry “Never Heard The Storm” – The Calm & The Storm EP http://www.jesseterrymusic.com
Fred Gillen Jr. “Ghost Of Joe Hill” – Wage Love CD http://www.fredgillenjr.com
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “That There Boogie” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD http://www.karencollins.net
****
These are some artists who performed in juried showcase events at NERFA 2015 http://www.nerfa.org
Spuyten Duyvil “The Cruel War” – The Social Music Hour Vol 1 CD http://www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
Gathering Time “If It Would Only Rain” – When One Door Opens CD http://www.gathering-time.com
The Early Mays “Old Stone Wall” – s/t CD http://www.theearlymays.com
Heather Pierson Acoustic Trio “What Else Can I Do” – Still She Will Fly EP http://www.heatherpierson.com
Dan Weber “Take A Liking To You” – What I’m Looking For CD http://www.danwebermusic.com
The Levins “God’s Spies” – Trust CD http://www.thelevinsmusic.com
Aaron Nathans & Michael G. Ronstadt “I Stood Upon A Hill” – Crooked Fiddle CD http://www.aaronnathans.com http://www.michaelronstadt.com
Amy Soucy “Around The Bend” – This River CD http://www.amysoucymusic.com
Davey O “The Walk” – No Passengers CD http://www.daveyo.com
RCB FLASHBACK: Year-long feature where I spin whole segments of music I haven’t aired in years:
Lauren Braddock “Lost Dawg” – s/t CD http://www.laurenbraddockhavey.com
Lorna Huft “Mustard Fields” – Sentimental Bedlam CD
Deborah Lombardi “Something About A Man” – Sweet Revenge CD http://www.deborahlombardi.com
_______________
Liz Longley “Peace Of Mind” – s/t CD http://www.lizlongley.com
Darlingside “Clay & Cast Iron” – Birds Say CD http://www.darlingside.com
The Slambovian Circus Of Dreams “Living With God” – A Box Of Everything CD http://www.slambovia.com
Nine Times Blue “Reasons Why” – Matter Of Time CD http://www.9timesblue.com
Anthony Gomes “Listen To The Universe” – Electric Field Holler CD http://www.anthonygomes.com
_________
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in great concept or compilation albums.
GET TOGETHER: Banana Recalls Youngbloods Classics    http://www.lowelllevinger.com
Lowell Levinger from The Youngbloods brings fresh takes to the 60’s folk-rock band’s best-known songs.
From this special collector’s edition disc I spun “The Pool Hall Song”, “Interlude” & “Hippie From Olema”
DARRYL HOLTER:  Radio Songs: Woody Guthrie in Los Angeles 1937-39.
Sowing musical seeds before he was known as an activist as much as a poet,
Woody made many recordings for his own radio show on KFVD Los Angeles. These
songs are interpreted musically by Daryl and several notable songwriters as
guests.
From this CD I spun “California Stars” (featuring vocalist Sara Watkins), and “One By One”
_______
Andrew McKnight & Beyond Borders “Dancing In The Rain” – One Virginia Night (live) CD http://www.andrewmcknight.net
Mystery Loves Company “To The Stars” – Rock Symphony Billion CD http://www.mysteryloves.com
Jon Shain “Never My Love” – Reupholstered CD http://www.jonshain.com
Mike Wojniak “Stone & The Sea” – Anima Mundi EP http://www.mikewojniak.com
Jessie Kilguss “Red Moon” – Devastate Me CD http://www.jessiekilguss.com
Beth Wood “The New Kid” – The Weather Inside CD http://www.bethwoodmusic.com
_________
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Sol Aurora”
Running time: 220 minutes
Atmosphere:  hill o’contentment
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using
Audacity software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 11/1/15 podcast


HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr:  http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732
This show was published 11/9/15
Buddy Guy “Too Late” – Born To Play Guitar CD http://www.buddyguy.net
Evening Of Keys “Tacoma Rain” – Volume 1 CD http://www.mauriceoffishrecords.net
Anthony Geraci & The Boston Blues All-Stars “The Blues Never Sleeps” – Fifty Shades Of Blue CD http://www.anthonygeraciblue.com
Andy Santana & The West Coast Playboys “Take Me Back” – Watch Your Step! CD http://www.deltagroovemusic.com
Royal Punisher “Fugue State” – Bullets For Breakfast CD http://www.royalpunisher.com
Stubborn Son “Catch Me Runnin’ ” – Birthright CD http://www.stubbornsonmusic.com
Amy Soucy “This River” – This River CD http://www.amysoucymusic.com
Happy Traum “High Muddy Water” – Just For The Love Of It CD http://www.happytraum.com
Running time: 50 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity software.
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue, in its 16th year, is a weekly podcast that features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Podomatic:
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
mp3:
Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via Clammr: http://www.clammr.com/app/user/15732
This show was published 10/26/15
Opening music: The Orb with Lee “Scratch” Perry “Golden Clouds” – The  Orbserver In The Star House CD
***
Mary Jennings “Tectonic Plates” -Metamorphosis CD http://www.maryjennings.com
The Sidleys “The Breakdown” – Bittersweet CD http://www.thesidleys.com
Ellis Paul “Waiting On A Break” – Chasing Beauty CD http://www.ellispaul.com
Peter Mulvey “Back To The Wind’ – Silver Ladder CD http://www.petermulvey.com
____________
RCB FLASHBACK: Year-long feature where I spin whole segments of music I haven’t aired in years:
Dylan Nirvana “KT-88” – Pentagonal Flower EP http://www.dylannirvana.com
Holly Figueroa “How It Is” – How It Is CD
Professor & Maryann “Thick As Thieves” – Runaway Favorite CD
Gabrielle “All I Can Say” – Dreamtown CD
_______________
Butchers Blind “Honestly” – Destination Blues CD http://www.butchersblind.com
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Between Midnight & Two” – Soul Blues CD  http://www.thecrowmatix.com
Tweed Funk “Blues In My Soul” – First Name Lucky CD http://www.tweedfunk.com
Greye “Providence” – The Tube CD http://www.greyemusic.com
Changing Modes “Give Up The Ghost” – The Paradox Of Traveling Light CD
_________
CD FOCUS: A continuing series spotlighting top indie/emerging artists in
great concept or compilation albums.
GET TOGETHER: Banana Recalls Youngbloods Classics    http://www.lowelllevinger.com
Lowell Levinger from The Youngbloods brings fresh takes to the 60’s
folk-rock band’s best-known songs
From this special collector’s edition disc I spun “Grizzly Bear” “Supersonic Transport” & “Darkness Darkness”, the latter with Jesse Colin Young as lead vox.
DARRYL HOLTER:  Radio Songs: Woody Guthrie in Los Angeles 1937-39.
Sowing musical seeds before he was known as an activist as much as a poet, Woody made many recordings for his own radio show on KFVD Los Angeles. These songs are interpreted musically by Daryl and several notable songwriters as guests.
From this CD I spun “Do Re Mi”, and “Big City Ways” (oldest known Woody recording).
_______
Annalise Emerick “Deep In The West” – Field Notes CD http://www.annalieemerick.com
Chappell & Dave Holt “The Yuba River Song” – Stone & Fire CD http://www.chappellanddaveholt.com
Britt Connors “Fine” – Warmer Season CD http://www.brittconnors.com
Honor Finnegan “Content” – The Tiny Life CD http://www.honorfinnegan.com
_________
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer” http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols
Running time:  163 minutes
Atmosphere:
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacitysoftware.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue