Tag Archives: Tom Brislin

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 12/8/13 audio/links


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.
HOW TO LISTEN
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
Via Internet Archive:
Stream:
https:
You can share the audio player with the HTML code on the page.
All shows are archived for a year.
This show was published 12/11/13
Shakeh “Never Been Cool” – Songs Of My Soul CD www.shakeh.com
Victory And Associates “Weightless And Pointless” – Better Luck Next Life CD www.victoryandassociates.net
The Ska Skank Redemption “Hit ‘N’ Run” – Wicked Bees EP
Lowland Hum “Albatross” – Native Air CD www.lowlandhum.com
Justine Dorsey “Under Construction” – Under Construction CD www.justinedorsey.com
Sammy Hakim “As Good As” – s/t EP www.sammyhakim.com
Running time: 50 minutos
***
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my 13-year-old freeform radio program, usually publishing Wednesdays or Thursdays in podcast format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
Play/download:
Ogg Vorbis format also available.
You can share the audio player with the HTML code on the page.
All shows are archived for a year.
Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with *
This show was published on 12/11/13.
 
Opening music: The Orb “Oxbow Lakes” – Orbus Terrarum
—-
Daniel Christian “I Remember” – Speak CD www.danielchristianmusic.com
Chuck Schaeffer “On The Wind” – Along These Lines CD www.chuckschaeffer.com
Craig Greenberg “Dragged Down By Your Insecurity” – Spinning In Time CD www.craiggreenbergmusic.com
Peter Galperin “A Disposable Life” – A Disposable Life CD www.petergalperin.com
Rodger Delany “Out On The Edge” – Moment Of Truth CD www.rodgerdelany.com
Tom Brislin “Stuff You Would Understand” – Hurry Up And Smell The Roses CD www.tombrislin.com
These artists are taking part in the Tribes Hill Solstice Celebration, 12/15 at Hastings-On-Hudson, NY:
David Goldman “I Remember You” – Light In The Tunnel CD www.davidgoldman.com
Carolann Solebello “Movie Queen” – Steel And Salte CD www.carolannsolebello.com
Fred Gillen Jr. “This Town Is Our Song” – Silence Of The Night CD www.fredgillenjr.com
Matt Turk “City Of New Orleans” – American Preservation CD www.turktunes.com
The YaYas “Third Girl From The Left” – Paper Boats CD www.wearetheyayas.com
Susan Kane “Paulita’s Lament” – A Word Child CD www.susankane.com
The Levins “Troubled” – My Friend Hafiz CD www.thelevinsmusic.com
Honor Finnegan “Pictures Of Snow” – The Tiny Life CD www.honorfinnegan.com
—-
DB Rielly “Untie Me” – Cross My Heart And Hope To Die CD www.dbrielly.com
New Riders Of The Purple Sage “Message In A Bottle” – 17 Pine Avenue CD www.thenewriders.com
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Uncommon Love” – Wings On Fire CD www.thecrowmatix.com
Tom Principato “The Rain Came Pourin’ Down” – Robert Johnson Told Me So CD www.tomprincipato.com
Builder Of The House “My New Eyes” – I Am A Tidal Wave CD www.builderofthehouse.com
Sara Petite “Barbwire” – Circus Comes To Town CD www.sarapetite.com
—-
Jeff Campbell “Laundry Day” – Stop and Go CD www.jeffcampbellmusic.com
Megan Slankard “Fair Enough And Farewell” – A Token Of The Wreckage CD www.meganslankard.com
Patty Larkin “The Best Of Intentions” – Still Green CD www.pattylarkin.com
Suzie Brown “Sugar Blues” – Almost There CD www.suziebrownsongs.com
Lisa Biales with the Ricky Nye and the Paris Blues Band “You Got To Know How” – Singing In My Soul CD www.lisabiales.com

Aztec Two-Step “Living In America” – Cause & Effect CD www.aztectwostep.com
Marc Black “Praises To The Sea” – Sometime A Spark CD www.marcblack.com
Dan and Faith “Log Cabin” – Dreaming Of Another Path CD www.danandfaith.com
James Houlahan “Fallen Tree Song” – Misfit Hymns CD www.jameshoulahan.com
Stefilia’s Stone “Like The Moon” – Like The Moon CD www.stefiliasstone.com
John Roy Zat “Moths To A Flame” – Solo CD www.royzat.com

Closing music: Coyote Oldman “Home World” – Under An Ancient Sky CD www.valley-entertainment.com
Running time: 3 horas, 45 minutos
Atmosphere: hope machine
***
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue 1/20/13 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Serge Entertainment Public Relations www.sergepr.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
*****
HOW TO LISTEN: FEEDPLAYER
Look for a popup link on the home and archive pages at
www.radiocrystalblue.net When you click, it will open within the same
window. The player allows you to stream all recent shows, as well as
download and share them. Click the tabs within the player for more.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

FEEDPLAYER LINK:
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
EMAIL LIST: www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue
TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: @TomBrislin @FolloTheCompact @Tomifear @BobtownMusic @adoraband

STAT BLOG www.cblue456.tumblr.com
the DAILY (auto-generated online newspaper with selected keywords and
mentions from social media, updated each evening):
http://paper.li/radiocblue/1333586729
SHORTY AWARD: www.shortyawards.com/radiocblue
*******
PROGRAMMING:
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about January 20 and will be available for
about 1 year. Remember, even if you miss hearing a show the week I record,
you can always find it within the FeedPlayer’s archive of older shows. Owing
to schedule demands, I usually publish on Wednesdays or as soon as possible
thereafter. You will hear music in several segments of top
indie/DIY/underground songwriters and bands.
RCB Novus Ordo returns as a separate podcast with 10 (ten) songs, one each from a brand new recording. I spin the music and give you some backstory of each.
Each week through my January shows I’m airing tracks from The 1861 Project,
a series that touches upon the Civil War experience. We’re up to Volume 2:
From The Famine To The Front. This collection of original music recalls
those families with Scottish and Irish ties who fought in the war. From the
liner notes “Every singer, player and writer on this album has a strong
connection to Ireland, by ancestry, birth, or just by heart”. More about
this fascinating series at www.1861project.com

On Twitter: Monday RCB Twitter Trivia. Sometime in the 6pm hour ET I will give you 3 questions based on the airplay from the most recent podcast. All you have to do is reply with the correct answer. Good karma for the most correct answers (I’m on a budget, folks) @radiocblue

 
LIVE EVENT COVERAGE: I’m planning to cover 1 or 2 events a month in Philly. So far, there is one possible event to attend next week and I’m still seeking a second. I do writeups of shows on my website, and share most photos on Facebook, plus video on YouTube.
*****************************
SHORTY AWARDS:The Shorty Awards honor the best of short-form content across many expressions. This is the 5th annual awards.See who else have won in years past here:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shorty_Awards You can vote for me to win the acclaimed Shorty Award in the area of podcasting. Just surf to www.shortyawards.com/radiocblue then tick the dropdown area to select the category ‘podcaster’ (‘music’ is the default; this should be changed!). Then fill in a tweet on the page describing why you want yours truly to win the title and the hallowed glassware.
 
RCB REVIEW (the annotated version):
RCB Novus Ordo: Tom Brislin (Spiraling) is now situated further south and unveils a solo album, performing nearly all instruments. I spun an instrumental from that album.
RCB proper: Elison Jackson’s song “Man About Lowell” would seem to be about a hero, Jack Kerouac. Daphne Lee Martin on backing vox. Elison Jackson’s album is on Daphne Lee’s label Telegraph Recording Company. Veteran bandleader Chris Daniels (The Kings) released a solo album. Included is a section of songs recorded live at Telluride in 1985. The song I spun “Cabin Fever” from the live set was rerecorded in studio for this album as well.
RCB proper: Segment 1: Darius Lux and Sloan Wainwright perform at part of the Posi Music Festival in Orlando FL this weekend. Rather positive (posi, positive, get it?) and daring songs in this first segment, including one recent song from Tall Tall Trees. Segment 2: Eilen Jewell and Miss Tess share billing tonight (1/18) at Narrows Center For the Arts in Fall River MA. I had known of Miss Tess from her days fronting her prior band, the Bon Ton Parade. Her new band, The Talkbacks, swing and rock out a bit more, resembling Eilen’s own sound. DK & The Joy Machine is solo artist Dian Killian and her mountain dulcimer. Spun a special segment of music of artists peforming at the 13th annual Light Of Day Festival, happening all week in South Jersey. (and what’s funny is, I only now get the new Arlon Bennett CD in the mail!) Segment 3: New music from Jamie Kent and Big Rock Club are highlights. Churchill & Justin Levinson are at Higher Ground in Burlington VT on 1/19 (how high up is it?). Segment 4: Spuyten Duyvil & Putnam Smith perform at someplace called Rockwood Music Hall on 1/20. I followed this up with an Amy Speace cover by Red Molly, and a few other songs relevant to the subject of time. Final segment: Honor Finnegan opens for Brother Sun on 1/19 at Circle Of Friends Coffeehouse, Franklin MA. A few more new tunes from Katie Ainge and Heather Pierson round this edition out.
 
HODGEPODGE OPEN-MIC: The mic, she is open. It is at HodgePodge, a variety/retail music establishment at 1212 South Street here in Philadelphia. I’ve been deputized to guest-host their Friday open mic on January 12 (tonight!). 5 minute performance time. Open to comedians, musicians, poets. It’s the only Friday open mic around! Signup at 730pm, event runs 8pm-10pm. More at http://circamotifs.wordpress.com/about/
Psst: There IS no microphone. Really! Sound travels very well in this establishment.
**************
AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:

Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145

CDs MUST have a 2012 or 2013 release date
If material is from 2011, it will be added to RCB’s loose rotation instead.
Digital is acceptable if media is not available in other formats.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general email list.
Be sure whatever physical package you sent is of reasonable length. I have a
residential address, so packages can’t be too dense or require a signature.

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit.
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: www.musicsubmit.com
MusicClout www.musicclout.com
Search for the words Radio Crystal Blue to find my pages there.
*********
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue on twitter
215 995 2234

Radio Crystal Blue and RCB Novus Ordo 1/13/13


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)

www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/rcbnew011313.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssThis show was distributed on 1/16/13

Kim Edwards “It Was Me” – Wanderlust CD www.kimedwardsmusic.com
Stereo Pirates “Misery” – s/t CD www.stereopirates.com
Tom Brislin “The Outskirts” – Hurry Up And Smell The Roses CD www.tombrislin.com
The Bloody Five “After You” – Unreleased 2012 CD www.thebloodyfive.com
Chris Daniels “Cabin Fever” (Live from Telluride, 1985) – Better Days CD www.chrisdaniels.com
Elison Jackson “Man From Lowell” – I Do Believe She Flew Out The Drain Pipe EP www.elisonjackson.com
Siobahn Hotaling “Soul Study” – Heart On Fire EP www.siobahn.com
Ben Ciampa “The Night” – Mountains Go CD www.reverbnation.com/benciampa

Running time: 72 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/rcblive011313.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssArtists who are sharing gigs are denoted with * symbols.
This show was distributed on 1/16/13.



Opening music: Nigel Hayes “Solar Flare” – Tales From The Shed Part 3 EP www.intelligentaudio.net

********
*Darius Lux “Best Day” – Time Is Now EP www.dariuslux.com
*Sloan Wainwright “Live Out The Best Of Your Life” – Upside Down & Under My Heart CD www.sloanwainwright.com
Jason Spooner “Big Fork” – Sea Monster CD www.jasonspooner.com
Chuck Schaeffer “Strangers Again” – Along These Lines CD www.chuckschaeffer.com
Fred Gillen Jr. “Walking The Line” – Silence Of The Night CD www.fredgillenjr.com
Tall Tall Trees “Highwire” – Moment CD www.talltalltrees.com
*********
*Eilen Jewell “Warning Signs” – Queen Of The Minor Key CD www.eilenjewell.com
*Miss Tess “I Never Thought I’d Be Lonely” – Sweet Talk CD www.misstessmusic.com
DK & The Joy Machine “Love (Yourself) Harder” – Love (Yourself) Harder EP www.reverbnation.com/dknthejoymachine
****
These artists are part of the 13th annual Light Of Day Festival www.lightofday.org
Arlon Bennett “Just Like Them” – Summer’s Voice CD www.arlonbennett.com
Arlan Feiles & The Broken Hearted “Tomorrow’s Gonna Be A Better Day” – Weeds Kill The Wild Flowers CD www.arlanfeiles.com
Jo Wymer “I Can’t Live Without Your Kiss” – Living With Scars CD www.jowymermusic.com
Lisa Bianco “Breakin” – Momentum CD www.lisabianco.com
*********
B.D. Lenz “Juxtaposition” – Five & Live CD www.bdlenz.com
Jamie Kent “Hold On” – Navigation CD www.jamiekent.com
Blue Rodeo “And When You Wake Up” – The Things We Left Behind 2-CD set www.bluerodeo.com
*Churchill “Change” – Change EP www.churchilltheband.com
*Justin Levinson & The Valcours “Say What You’re Gonna Say” – This Side Of Me, This Side Of You CD www.justinlevinson.com
Changing Modes “Blue” – In Flight CD www.changingmodes.com
Big Rock Club “Mountains” – Exctinction CD www.bigrockclub.com
*****
CD Focus: The 1861 Project, Volume 2: From The Famine To The Front.
This CD series of 21 original songs remembers and honors the Scots-Irish and
Irish immigrants who fought in the Civil War. From the liner notes “Every
singer, player and writer on this album, has a strong connection to Ireland, by
ancestry, by birth or just by heart.” All songs performed by producer Thomm Jutz
and a number of others. www.1861project.com
From this CD I spun:
“Letter To Brendan” (Chris Jones, Jon Weisberger, Thomm Jutz) – Chris Jones, lead vox.
“The Prayer” (Jutz, Peter Cronin, Charley Stefl) – Charley Stefl, lead vox.
“Song Of The Mystic (Jutz, Cronin, Stefl) – Sierra Hull, vox, mandolin
****
 *Spuyten Duyvil “One Fine Day” – New Amsterdam CD www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
*Putnam Smith “It Ain’t Time” – We Could Be Beekeepers CD www.putnamsmith.com
Red Molly “It’s Too Late To Call It A Night” – Light in the Sky CD www.redmolly.com
Jeneen Terrana “Time” – See The Light CD www.jeneenterrana.com
Debbie Miller “It’s Been A Day” – Measures + Waits EP www.thedebbiemiller.com
Sarah Blacker “Shoeshine” – Perfectly Imperfect EP www.sarahblacker.com
**********
*Honor Finnegan “Pictures Of Snow” – The Tiny Life CD www.honorfinnegan.com
*Brother Sun “Sister Moon” – s/t CD www.brothersunmusic.com
Hungrytown “Falling Star” – Any Forgotten Thing CD www.hungrytown.net
Katie Ainge “Lighthouse” – Now Or Never EP www.katieainge.com
Stevie Coyle “Penny Wishes” – Ten In One CD www.steviecoyle.com
Heather Pierson “Marble In My Pocket” – The Open Road CD www.heatherpierson.com
********
Closing music: Geoffrey Armes “After Dark” – Noor CD www.geoffreyarmes.com
Running time: 4 hours 11 minutos.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.orgNext show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 1/20/13