Tag Archives: Sonni Shine & The Underwater Sounds

Radio Crystal Blue 1/29/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:

Ariel Publicity: http://www.arielpublicity.com

Miles High Productions http://www.mileshighproductions.com

Serge Entertainment Public Relations http://www.sergepr.com

Wampus Multimedia http://www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial. ************************************************************************* HOW TO LISTEN: Feed Player at my home page of http://www.radiocrystalblue.net It is active as a popup window. Within the page you can stream/share/download the audio. You can put the player up on your site or blg too.

If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your browser, try a different browser or go to http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu

This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player. RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss   I’m on iTunes and all those places as well.

CONTACT: EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net

personal FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue

RCB FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312 RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/

LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0

REVERBNATION: http://www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue

VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456 (updated)

TWITTER @radiocblue 804 followers

STAT BLOG: http://www.cblue456.tumblr.com ************************************************

NEXT SHOW: week of January 29, 2012. Look for a release date of January 30 or 31. You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground songwriters and bands, and also these:

CD FOCUS: VERMONT: VT Artists for VT Relief: http://www.mallettsbayrecords.com http://www.bluebirdpromotions.com

New Arrivals Volume 4: Artists Against Youth Homelessness http://www.mpressrecords.com I will spin 2 tracks each from these compilations. ********************************************************************************** Enjoying the new WordPress site so far? It’s getting more active tho not as interactive as I had hoped. I’ve replicated the site for the most part from the site on Google. I would like it to be more interactive tho! Maybe a new graphic theme? Let me know your feelings on this.

Birthday #42 comes up next week, and I likely will attempt to get my show done on Monday 1/30 instead of my customary Tuesday.

SHORTY AWARD voting continues into February. Give a creative Tweet as your vote for me in the radio category at http://shortyawards.com/radiocblue?category=radio

A part of my Brooklyn past is biting the dust. Southpaw is closing; the lease is up. The venue will be replaced by a tutoring school. I assisted in booking a few events there, and had the pleasure of seeing The Trashmen, Bettie Serveert, Jack Grace, Matt Mays & El Torpedo and a few dozen others over the years. And it had pinball! I will miss it terribly. I’m certain most bands that have played there will play Bell House or Public Assembly or the other notable hipsterish places. ************************************************* TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: @Celeb_Traffic @CavalierArtist @marshallsplace @bradyoder @johnseeger2 *****************************************************

@ KUNG FU NECKTIE 1/26/12 I review this event at my latest blog post at https://radiocrystalblue.net/2012/01/27/kung-fu-necktie-12612

PHOTOS: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151204985585725.801255.684570724&type=3&l=35c970ce26b AUDIO of Dare Dukes coming soon.

 

VIDEO: Dare Dukes: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3uXGHlD0PI Tonight I am seeing and interviewing Lorraine Leckie at Milkboy Coffee in Ardmore. http://www.lorraineleckie.com

I’ve also planned to see 2 artists in February. Details coming. **********************

COVERAGE (see above): I do audio interviews, photos, video, and audio of live events. You can see and hear evidence across my Facebook and YouTube channels, plus the field recording FeedPlayer.Time, location and expense will be taken into account before taking on a job. ******************************************************************** RCB REVIEW: First on RCB Novus Ordo: Q.E.D. is a roots band from Manitoba. Sonni Shine & The Underwater Sounds provide rock and reggae from here in Philly. Heather Styka is a renowned folk songwriter making her debut here also. Veteran songwriter Craig Bickhardt closes the show with a sweet tune recorded at the Sellersville Theater

On Radio Crystal Blue proper: Segment 1 started out with songs of climate, then some polarizing feelings. Dare Dukes just released ‘Thugs And China Dolls”. Randy Stern is back on my radar now and is busy with shows in his new home of Austin. Debbie Miller’s ‘tippy toe’ is a moody and cute song. Segment 2 got country along with some jazz and rock in this mix. Tania & The Revolutionaries is the new project by Lani Ford, who led her rock band Stark for 8 years. I spun “Longing For London” as she was jouneying there for writing and for gigs. Her new band shares a bill with Sean Kershaw & The New Jack Ramblers this week in a new venue in Brooklyn. The Devyl Nellys are about to release a new disc and are touring cross country with 2 other bands. Spun another from the BYOB disc by Sirsy. If you’re keeping score at home, (or, as the joke goes, if you’re by yourself), next week will be the final one that I spin music from New Arrivals, Volume 4. I’m up to the final 3 songs on the disc. I can absolutely vouch for the food at Veselka, a real life place that Greta Gertler & The Extroverts sing about. 4 pairs of artists sharing bills were featured in Segment 3. Spuyten Duyvil’s tune is a 12th and bonus track from “New Amsterdam”. Red Molly’s tune is a cowerite between Abbie Gardner and Jonathan Byrd. Sharon Goldman with a wintry tune; she covers Simon & Garfunkel’s “A Hazy Shade Of Winter” elsewhere on her album. Raina Rose is now mama Rose, and is sharing a bill shortly with Red Molly. Segment 4 with jazz and rootsy songwriter material. There’s never a bad time to spin a Benyaro tune in this sort of mix. Joe Iadanza doing a couple of solo gigs while also fronting his new band, James B. Dukehouse. Carsie Blanton releasee a new album this month.

AIRPLAY SUBMISSION: Send CDs to

Dan Herman

Radio Crystal Blue

1701 Snyder Avenue, #4

Philadelphia, PA 19145

 

CDs MUST have a 2012 release date or have been released no earlier than April 2011..

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit

SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue

MusicSUBMIT: http://www.musicsubmit.com.

(For those in Australia) GIG LAUNCH: http://www.giglaunch.com.au

All you have to do is a search on these sites for Radio Crystal Blue.

*********

namaste

Dan Herman

Radio Crystal Blue

http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu

cblue456@comcast.net

@radiocblue on twitter

215 995 2234

Radio Crystal Blue 1/22/12 audio and links


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo  spotlights CDs that are debuting on my standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a weekly podcast.

Listen here:

(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers) www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share.  Click the pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This show was distributed on 1/25
Q.E.D. “Thinking about You” – Sometimes A Cigar…Is Just A Cigar CD www.facebook.com/qedmusic
Dark Circles “Winter Lullabye” – One Golden Day CD www.patmillius.com/darkcircles
Sonni Shine & The Underwater Sounds “Push On Thru” – Que Se Queda EP www.underwatersounds.net
Heather Styka “Coldwater River” – Lifeboats For Atlantis Cd www.heather.styka.com
Phil Yates “The Bottom Of An Urn” – Tumble Stairs CD www.philyates.com
Craig Bickhardt “Sugarcane Street” – Live At Sellersville Theater CD www.craigbickhardt.com
Running time: 62 minutos
—————————————————————–
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.org

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers) www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share.  Click the pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 1/18/12
Artists with shared gigs in the near future are noted with * & **
Opening music: Chicha Libre “Primavera en la selva” – Sonido Amazonico CD www.barbesrecords.com
Daniel Goodman “When The Cold Wind Blows” – Cold Wind CD www.danielgoodmanmusic.com
Dare Dukes + the blackstock collection “When The Sky Breaks” – thugs & china dolls CD www.daredukes.com
Teresa Storch “Your Story” – Stream Of Concrete CD www.teresastorch.com
Jason Spooner “Crashing Down” – Sea Monster CD www.jasonspooner.com
Randy Stern “Better Days” – Give CD www.randystern.info
Aurical “Something To Say” – Something To Say CD www.auricalmusic.com
Debbie Miller “tippy toe” – fake love CD www.thedebbiemiller.com
************************
*Tania & The Revolutionaries “Longing For London” – The Final Blow CD www.reverbnation.com/taniasrevolutionaries
*Sean Kershaw & The New Jack Ramblers “Already Cheatin’ ” – Coney Island Cowboy CD www.seankershaw.com
Jack Grace ‘True Tonight” – Drinking Songs For Lovers CD www.jackgrace.com
The Devyl Nellys “Rope’s End” – Mysery CD www.thedevylnellys.com
B.D. Lenz “Bridges” – Five & Live CD www.bdlenz.com
Sirsy “Wishless” – Build Your Own Bootleg Collection CD www.sirsy.com
**************************************
CD FOCUS: New Arrivals, Volume 4:Artists Against Youth Homelessness www.mpressrecords.com
Rachael Sage and the staff of her label, MPress Records, curates this fourth collection of DIY/indie songwriters and bands, all with relevant songs re the plight of homelessness.  All net proceeds from retail sales of the CD will benefit National Network For Youth  www.nn4youth.org
From this compilation CD I spun:
Greta Gertler & The Extroverts “Veselka”  www.gretagertler.com
Sarah Lentz “Jericho” www.sarahlentz.com
CD FOCUS: Vermont: VT Artists for VT Relief  www.bluebirdpromotions.com   www.mallettsbayrecords.com
This compilation of 18 songs are all from VT artists supporting the continuing relief efforts in the aftermath of Tropical Storm Irene.  Proceeds from this CD go to the Vermont Red Cross.
From this compilation I spun:
Bow Thayer “Good Time To Holler” www.bowthayer.com
Edie Carey “Come Inside” www.ediecarey.com
**************************
*Buskin & Batteau “You Really Ought To Call That Girl” – Red Shoes & Golden Hearts CD www.buskinandbatteau.com
*Trina Hamlin “You Can’t Remember” living on love CD www.trinahamlin.com
**Carolann Solebello “A Song I Can’t Remember” – threshold CD www.carolannsolebello.com
**Sharon Goldman “Winter’s Come Around Again” – Sleepless Lullaby CD www.sharongoldmanmusic.com
***Red Molly “Oh My Michael” – Light in the Sky CD www.redmolly.com
***Raina Rose “what did you bury?” – When May Came CD www.rainarose.com
****Spuyten Duyvil “Pride Packs Her Bags” – bonus track from “New Amsterdam” CD www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
****Putnam Smith “this mountain ain’t my home” – we could be beekeepeers CD www.putnamsmith.com
********************************
Patty Carpenter & The Dysfunctional Family Jazz Band “Come Over” – Come Over CD www.dfjbmusic.com
Kellylee Evans “Lost” – The Good Girl CD www.kellyleeevans.com
*Carsie Blanton “All We Got” – Idiot Heart CD www.carsieblanton.com
*Mark Erelli “Same For Someone” – little vigils CD www.markerelli.com
Heather Pierson “Make It Mine” – Make It Mine CD www.heatherpierson.com
benyaro “Cutting Words” – Good Day Better CD www.benyaro.com
Joe Iadanza “Night Light Lullaby” – Traveling Salesman: Songs Of Joe Iadanza CD www.joeiadanza.com
*********************************
Closing music: Coyote Oldman “Timeless” – Under An Ancient Sky CD www.valley-entertainment.com
Running time: 3 hours, 58 minutos
—————————————————————–
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.org
Next show will be recorded the week of 1/29/12

namaste
———————————————————————

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
twitter:  @radiocblue