Tag Archives: Jon McAuliffe

Radio Crystal Blue 4/1/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Serge Entertainment Public Relations www.sergepr.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
*************************************************************************
HOW TO LISTEN:
Feed Player at my home page of www.radiocrystalblue.net It is active as a popup window. Within the page you can stream/share/download the audio. You can put the player up on your site or blog too.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This is the magic link to the popup player. It’s also at the home and archive tabs of my website
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group
http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
REVERBNATION: www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue
STAT BLOG (updated): www.cblue456.tumblr.com
************************************************
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about April 4 and will be available for about 4 months beyond. Owing to schedule demands, I usually aim for noon Wednesdays or as soon as possible thereafter.
You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground songwriters and bands.
RCB Novus Ordo will also air separately. On this show I spin one song from as many as 8 songs in one sitting and give you background info of each artist.
You’ll also hear:
CD FOCUS:”Little Blue Egg” by Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer. This is a disc with 11 long-lost recordings found by Tracy 2 years ago.
I will spin 3 tracks from this compilation. www.redhouserecords.com www.tracygrammer.com
*********************************************************************************
I attended 2 shows in the last week. One was The Way Home at Sine Studios, another was Kirsten Opstad at Community Cultural Exchange. Both shows are reviewed at http://wp.me/p1FKJJ-85

PHOTOS of Kirsten: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151438595970725.832390.684570724&type=3&l=4857eb8d57
VIDEO: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZ7umlf_rXU
***********************************************
1st QUARTER AIRPLAY CHART was revealed at noon today. Vance Gilbert continues to be fully on the RCB radar with another first place showing, just ahead of Carolann Solebello. Full chart at the Chart tab of my website, https://radiocrystalblue.net/chart-page/
*************************************************
TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: These are the last 5 folks that I’m following who follow back: @SilvergunSpleen @MsOTG @TheAmendsBand @LilithKemnitz @peterbuzzelle
*****************************************************
COVERAGE:
I do audio interviews, photos, video, and audio of live events. You can see and hear evidence across my Facebook and YouTube channels, plus the field recording FeedPlayer.Time, location and expense will be taken into account before taking on a job. Next show I’m attending are on 4/5, 4/19, 4/24, possibly also 4/13
********************************************************************
RCB REVIEW: The annotated version of my shows.
On RCB Novus Ordo: Standout artists from this edition include Swinging Steaks who’ve shared stages with a ton of modern rock bands; veteran songwriter Jon McAuliffe who has just released his first solo CD (I spun an ode to Kerouac), and the legendary Aztec Two-Step, from a compilation of their songs titled “Cause And Effect”.

RCB proper:Just about the longest show I’ve done since the December holidays. Debuted another artist on the UK label Intelligent Audio, the veteran DJ Nigel Hayes with some disco house to start off this show. Segment went from blues (Bob Corritore, Eilen Jewell,) to more songwriter-oriented material, including new albums from Loretta Hagen and Clarence Bucaro. Segment 2 was the first of 2 where I featured artists performing in Cape May this weekend. Among them were The Way Home and their new CD “On So Thin A Line”. Also a new album from Meghan Cary, who debuted her CD on my birthday (1/31) Segment 3 includes Song Dogs & The Nightjar, a great classic-style rock band local to Philly, and Bound By Substance, who are part of a multi-venue event on Long Island to benefit the Long Island Crisis Center. This takes place on 3/31 www.longislandcrisiscenter.org Segment 4 is where I began with the matthew show (listen for “invocation” which precedes “Half A Man”. I know it’s not on the playlist. That’s why you’re encouraged to tune in and hear it!). The YaYas and Honor Finnegan (who is backed by The YaYas on her album) share billing at a house concert in Manhattan on 3/31. Segment 5 focused again on Cape May; included is music by Wilmington DE’s Rachel Schain and another new one from Katie Pearlman. Closing segment incldues music by New Englanders Craig Sonnenfeld and Patti DeRosa, who are part of a benefti for local veteran at the Holliston (MA) VFW post, taking place tonight (3/30). The aforementioned Jon McAuliffe also on the bill.

AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:
Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
CDs MUST have a 2012 release date or have been released no earlier than July 2011..

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: www.musicsubmit.com.
(For those in Australia) GIG LAUNCH: www.giglaunch.com.au
All you have to do is a search on these sites for Radio Crystal Blue.

Any compelling compilation/concept CDs can also be sent here directly. I’m seeking material that can be featured, song-for-song, in my CD FOCUS segments.
*********
namaste

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue on twitter
215 995 2234

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 3/25/12 audio & links


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/rcbnew032512.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 3/28

Steven Graves “Outside Looking In” – Matter Of Time CD www.stevengravesmusic.com
Special Guests “Yes I Know” – s/t CD www.reverbnation.com/specialguestsfeaturingzoealpert
Swinging Steaks “All The Love” – Sunday Best CD (2008) – www.swingingsteaks.com
The Timid Roosevelts “Barnacles” – s/t EP www.thetimidroosevelts.com
Jon McAuliffe “Jack! Jack!” – In This Present Form CD www.jonmcauliffe.com
Aztec Two-Step “Rabbit In The Moon” – Cause & Effect CD www.aztectwostep.com
Cathy Fink & Marcy Marxer “Blues Stay Away From Me” – Rockin’ The Uke CD www.cathymarcy.com
Running time: 58 minutes.

—————————————————————–
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.org

Here’s RCB proper: 

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3:
https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/rcblive032512.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 3/28/12
Artists with shared gigs in the near future are noted with * & **

Opening music: Nigel Hayes “Wallstein” – Northern Lights EP www.intelligentaudio.net

*************************************
Bob Corritore & Friends “Things Have Changed” (Henry Gray composition) – Harmonica Blues CD www.bobcorritore.com
Eilen Jewell “Warning Signs” – Queen Of The Minor Key CD www.eilenjewell.com
The Brehms “Red Dress” – s/t CD www.thebrehmsband.com
Teresa Storch “Mr. Moon”- Stream Of Concrete CD www.teresastorch.com
Loretta Hagen “Now That You’re Home” – Mud & Stone CD www.lorettahagen.com
Dare Dukes “Kick + Holler” – prettiest transmitter of all CD www.daredukes.com
Clarence Bucaro “Are We Gonna Make It Through The Night” – Walls Of The World CD www.clarencebucaro.com
*************************************
Here I spun a segment of artists performing at this weekend’s 5th annual Cape May Songwriter’s Festival: www.sscapemay.com
The Way Home “Halfdone” – On So Thin A Line CD www.thewayhomemusic.com
Donovan Rice & The Standing Cinema “Steady Machine” – The Space Race CD www.donovanrice.com
Lotus Hill “Forever Yesterday” – a new sun CD www.lotushillband.com
Meghan Cary “Invitation” – Building This House CD www.meghancary.com
Allison’s Invention “Clean” – sweet and vicious EP www.allisonsinvention.com
Levee Drivers “Wichita” – s/t EP www.leveedrivers.com
*************************************
Heth & Jed “Desert Sun” – Between The In And The Out CD www.hethandjed.com
Waybacks “The River” – Loaded CD www.waybacks.com
Song Dogs & The Nightjar “River Woman” – s/t EP www.songdogsandthenightjar.com
Bound By Substance “Letters” – Dead Wrong EP www.boundbysubstance.com
Niki Barr “Miles Away” – Radar Radio CD www.nikibarr.com
boy + kite “satellite”- Go Fly CD www.boypluskite.com
********************************************
CD FOCUS: Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer “little blue egg” CD
These songs were recorded between 1997 and 2002. 11 of 16 tracks
are part of this album, with 5 more being released as singles during the
year. The release and related events are timed to the anniversary of Dave’s
untimely passing along with what would have been his 60th birthday in
August.
From this CD I spun “three-fingered jack” & “any way i do”
www.daveandtracy.comwww.tracygrammer.comwww.redhouserecords.com
**********************************************
the matthew show “Half the Man” – february CD www.thematthewshow.com
Carsie Blanton “Chicken’ – Idiot Heart CD www.carsieblanton.com
Sara Groban “Seasons” – Notes From Underground EP www.reverbnation.com/saragroban
Randy Stern “Into Your Heart” – Give CD www.randystern.info
*The YaYas “Price of Progress” – Paper Boats CD www.wearetheyayas.com
*Honor Finnegan “Content” – Tiny Life CD www.honorfinnegan.com
***************************
More artists performing at the Cape May Songwriter’s Festival:
Rachael Schain “by your side” – happy happy EP www.rachelschain.com
Jamie Alimorad “She Is….” – Cornerstone EP www.jamiealimorad.com
Avi Wisnia “More Than Me” – Something New CD www.aviwisnia.com
Roger Silverberg “Sinking Sailing Ship” – Major Seventh Heaven CD www.rogersilverberg.com
Katie Pearlman “My Movie” – Girls Like Us CD www.katiepearlman.com
Jill Cagney “Breaking Point” – it’s all in how you see things CD www.jillcagney.com
*****************************************************************
David Wilcox “Little Fish” – Reverie CD www.davidwilcox.com
Brother Sun “Highway 4AM (Driving)” – s/t CD www.brothersunmusic.com
Helen Austin “Take My Time” – treehouse CD www.helenaustin.com
*Craig Sonnenfeld “Box Of Broken Glass” – Angels, Lovers And Fools CD www.craigsonnenfeld.com
*Patti DeRosa “The Box” – Packing My Bags: Patti D Live CD www.pattiderosa.com
Craig Bickhardt “This Old House” – Live At Sellersville Theater CD www.craigbickhardt.com
****************************************************************
Closing music: Freebo “Something To Believe” – Something To Believe CD www.freebomusic.com
 
Running time: 4 hours, 28 minutes
—————————————————————–
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 4/1/12
namaste
———————————————————————

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
www.radiocrystalblue.net
www.facebook.com/radiocblue
twitter: @radiocblue