Tag Archives: Cape May Songwriters Festival

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 3/25/12 audio & links


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/rcbnew032512.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 3/28

Steven Graves “Outside Looking In” – Matter Of Time CD www.stevengravesmusic.com
Special Guests “Yes I Know” – s/t CD www.reverbnation.com/specialguestsfeaturingzoealpert
Swinging Steaks “All The Love” – Sunday Best CD (2008) – www.swingingsteaks.com
The Timid Roosevelts “Barnacles” – s/t EP www.thetimidroosevelts.com
Jon McAuliffe “Jack! Jack!” – In This Present Form CD www.jonmcauliffe.com
Aztec Two-Step “Rabbit In The Moon” – Cause & Effect CD www.aztectwostep.com
Cathy Fink & Marcy Marxer “Blues Stay Away From Me” – Rockin’ The Uke CD www.cathymarcy.com
Running time: 58 minutes.

—————————————————————–
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.org

Here’s RCB proper: 

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3:
https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/rcblive032512.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 3/28/12
Artists with shared gigs in the near future are noted with * & **

Opening music: Nigel Hayes “Wallstein” – Northern Lights EP www.intelligentaudio.net

*************************************
Bob Corritore & Friends “Things Have Changed” (Henry Gray composition) – Harmonica Blues CD www.bobcorritore.com
Eilen Jewell “Warning Signs” – Queen Of The Minor Key CD www.eilenjewell.com
The Brehms “Red Dress” – s/t CD www.thebrehmsband.com
Teresa Storch “Mr. Moon”- Stream Of Concrete CD www.teresastorch.com
Loretta Hagen “Now That You’re Home” – Mud & Stone CD www.lorettahagen.com
Dare Dukes “Kick + Holler” – prettiest transmitter of all CD www.daredukes.com
Clarence Bucaro “Are We Gonna Make It Through The Night” – Walls Of The World CD www.clarencebucaro.com
*************************************
Here I spun a segment of artists performing at this weekend’s 5th annual Cape May Songwriter’s Festival: www.sscapemay.com
The Way Home “Halfdone” – On So Thin A Line CD www.thewayhomemusic.com
Donovan Rice & The Standing Cinema “Steady Machine” – The Space Race CD www.donovanrice.com
Lotus Hill “Forever Yesterday” – a new sun CD www.lotushillband.com
Meghan Cary “Invitation” – Building This House CD www.meghancary.com
Allison’s Invention “Clean” – sweet and vicious EP www.allisonsinvention.com
Levee Drivers “Wichita” – s/t EP www.leveedrivers.com
*************************************
Heth & Jed “Desert Sun” – Between The In And The Out CD www.hethandjed.com
Waybacks “The River” – Loaded CD www.waybacks.com
Song Dogs & The Nightjar “River Woman” – s/t EP www.songdogsandthenightjar.com
Bound By Substance “Letters” – Dead Wrong EP www.boundbysubstance.com
Niki Barr “Miles Away” – Radar Radio CD www.nikibarr.com
boy + kite “satellite”- Go Fly CD www.boypluskite.com
********************************************
CD FOCUS: Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer “little blue egg” CD
These songs were recorded between 1997 and 2002. 11 of 16 tracks
are part of this album, with 5 more being released as singles during the
year. The release and related events are timed to the anniversary of Dave’s
untimely passing along with what would have been his 60th birthday in
August.
From this CD I spun “three-fingered jack” & “any way i do”
www.daveandtracy.comwww.tracygrammer.comwww.redhouserecords.com
**********************************************
the matthew show “Half the Man” – february CD www.thematthewshow.com
Carsie Blanton “Chicken’ – Idiot Heart CD www.carsieblanton.com
Sara Groban “Seasons” – Notes From Underground EP www.reverbnation.com/saragroban
Randy Stern “Into Your Heart” – Give CD www.randystern.info
*The YaYas “Price of Progress” – Paper Boats CD www.wearetheyayas.com
*Honor Finnegan “Content” – Tiny Life CD www.honorfinnegan.com
***************************
More artists performing at the Cape May Songwriter’s Festival:
Rachael Schain “by your side” – happy happy EP www.rachelschain.com
Jamie Alimorad “She Is….” – Cornerstone EP www.jamiealimorad.com
Avi Wisnia “More Than Me” – Something New CD www.aviwisnia.com
Roger Silverberg “Sinking Sailing Ship” – Major Seventh Heaven CD www.rogersilverberg.com
Katie Pearlman “My Movie” – Girls Like Us CD www.katiepearlman.com
Jill Cagney “Breaking Point” – it’s all in how you see things CD www.jillcagney.com
*****************************************************************
David Wilcox “Little Fish” – Reverie CD www.davidwilcox.com
Brother Sun “Highway 4AM (Driving)” – s/t CD www.brothersunmusic.com
Helen Austin “Take My Time” – treehouse CD www.helenaustin.com
*Craig Sonnenfeld “Box Of Broken Glass” – Angels, Lovers And Fools CD www.craigsonnenfeld.com
*Patti DeRosa “The Box” – Packing My Bags: Patti D Live CD www.pattiderosa.com
Craig Bickhardt “This Old House” – Live At Sellersville Theater CD www.craigbickhardt.com
****************************************************************
Closing music: Freebo “Something To Believe” – Something To Believe CD www.freebomusic.com
 
Running time: 4 hours, 28 minutes
—————————————————————–
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 4/1/12
namaste
———————————————————————

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
www.radiocrystalblue.net
www.facebook.com/radiocblue
twitter: @radiocblue

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue 3/25/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Serge Entertainment Public Relations www.sergepr.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
*************************************************************************
HOW TO LISTEN:
Feed Player at my home page of www.radiocrystalblue.net It is active as a
popup window. Within the page you can stream/share/download the audio. You
can put the player up on your site or blog too.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This is the magic link to the popup player. It’s also at the home and
archive tabs of my website
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group
http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
REVERBNATION: www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue
STAT BLOG: www.cblue456.tumblr.com
************************************************
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about March 28 and will be available for
about 4 months beyond. Owing to schedule demands, I usually aim for noon
Wednesdays or as soon as possible thereafter.
You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground
songwriters and bands.
RCB Novus Ordo will also air separately. On this show I spin one song from
as many as 8 songs in one sitting and give you background info of each
artist.
You’ll also hear:
CD FOCUS:”Little Blue Egg” by Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer. This is a disc
with 11 long-lost recordings found by Tracy 2 years ago,
I will spin 2 tracks from this compilation. www.redhouserecords.com
www.tracygrammer.com
**********************************************************************************

Spring’s just about blooming all over, the space heater is mothballed, and my leather jacket is just about off for good, while the tshirts get their first proper laundering. Yeah, it’s warm out. Last night I was at The Legendary Dobbs to see Song Dogs & The Nightjar along with a few other bands on both floors. Read about the whole experience at my latest posting to https://radiocrystalblue.net/2012/03/23/legendary-dobbs-32212/
I might attend the Cape May Songwriters Festival next weekend. I don’t exactly know how to get there, being that I’m of the non-driver sort. Any ideas?
Next RCB shows will be the final ones counting toward my 1st Quarter Airplay rankings. Artists are ranked based on progressive amounts of airplay and exposure. Chart will update 4/1 or 4/2. Who’s on top right now? Have a look at the chart tab at www.radiocrystalblue.net
*************************************************
TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: These are the last 5 folks that I’m following who follow back: @peterbuzzelle @Waterslidemusic @Elyse411 @Jenavive @danielleantonio

*****************************************************
COVERAGE:
I do audio interviews, photos, video, and audio of live events. You can see
and hear evidence across my Facebook and YouTube channels, plus the field
recording FeedPlayer.Time, location and expense will be taken into account
before taking on a job.
Next show I’m attending are on 3/22 and 3/23 (tonight!) and 3/28, also 4/19 looking likely.
********************************************************************
RCB REVIEW: The annotated version of my shows.
On RCB Novus Ordo: The Dirty Names have swagger for days. If you like The Rolling Stones (of course you do), you will like this band that I debuted this week. Sons Of The Never Wrong return with more originals, all in a gospel flavor, while they celebrate 20 years of existence. Kirsten Opstad’s intricate songwriting also delights in this show; she’s performing here in Philly next week.

RCB proper:

Segment 1 contains new music by a band I’ve known close to 10 years called Yarn. I vaguely recall spinning music of theirs early in that time frame; now they are breaking big within the Americana rock genre. Spun a couple of tunes referencing the season (Joy Kills Sorrow, Hungrytown; the latter referencing a natural disaster from the 1800’s causing extremely long winters). Segment 2 saw me debut a new one from one of my fave UK acts, MJ Hibbett & The Validators. If twee-pop is your thing, and you crave comic book fiction, you will like their tale of space dinosaurs and apocalyptic matters. Hard to segue out of that one for sure, but segue I did with more songs with violins…leading into a jazz/blues thing (BD Lenz, Tom Principato for original instrumentals). Segment 3: Sharon Goldman is opening act for Sloan Wainwright at First Acoustics in downtown Brooklyn on 3/24. Cary Cooper and Tom Prasada Rao peform some house concert and at a Unity church in the next few days. Debuted the new CD by Peter Buzzelle. Segment 4 brought reflections on hard times and with war as the backdrop (Manisha Shahane, Vance Gilbert, Mare Wakefield), leading to songs about old lands and dreams (Jean Mann, Dan & Faith, Fred Gillen Jr.)

AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:
Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
CDs MUST have a 2012 release date or have been released no earlier than July
2011..

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: www.musicsubmit.com.
(For those in Australia) GIG LAUNCH: www.giglaunch.com.au
All you have to do is a search on these sites for Radio Crystal Blue.

Any compelling compilation/concept CDs can also be sent here directly. I’m
seeking material that can be featured, song-for-song, in my CD FOCUS
segments.
*********
namaste

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue on twitter
215 995 2234