Tag Archives: Downward Dogs

Radio Crystal Blue 12/9/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Serge Entertainment Public Relations www.sergepr.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
*****
HOW TO LISTEN: FEEDPLAYER
Look for a popup link on the home and archive pages at
www.radiocrystalblue.net When you click, it will open within the same
window. The player allows you to stream all recent shows, as well as
download and share them. Click the tabs within the player for more.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

FEEDPLAYER LINK:
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group
http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
EMAIL LIST: www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue
STAT BLOG (stats and generally non-music related stuff I think up):
www.cblue456.tumblr.com
the DAILY (auto-generated online newspaper with selected keywords and
mentions from social media, updated each evening):
http://paper.li/radiocblue/1333586729
*******
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about December 12 and will be available
for about 1 year. Remember, even if you miss hearing a show the week I
record, you can always find it within the FeedPlayer’s archive of older
shows. Owing to schedule demands, I usually publish on Wednesdays or as soon
as possible thereafter. You will hear music in several segments of top
indie/DIY/underground songwriters and bands.
RCB Novus Ordo will also air separately. On this show I spin one song from
8 songs in one sitting and give you background info of each artist.

PROGRAMMING NOTE:
Each week through my January shows I’m airing tracks from The 1861 Project,
a series that touches upon the Civil War experience. We’re up to Volume 2:
From The Famine To The Front. This collection of original music recalls
those families with Scottish and Irish ties who fought in the war. From the
liner notes “Every singer, player and writer on this album has a strong
connection to Ireland, by ancestry, birth, or just by heart”. More about
this fascinating series at www.1861project.com

Also: Another NEW MUSIC SAMPLER will be heard. Initially I had felt this would be a one-time revival. But I’ve decided to reintroduce the segment on demand whenever I feel the need to add some extra programming on a show that might seem unusually short compared to others. This segment will definitely not air the week of 12/16.
******
TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: @NatalieNicole @Page9StreetTeam @GlenLanding
@ANewTomorrowUK @maninacrowdband
****
I’m just about at my limit with accepting HOLIDAY music for the final show
of the year, the week of 12/16. Thanks to everyone that submitted and
suggested tunes!

I’ve begun attending a course in Final Cut Pro 7 at PhillyCAM, the
public-access network which I’m a member of. I’ve already completed courses
in production editing and management. So I can now freely borrow field
equipment for use around the city. I’m pretty excited about this. Now I want
to get involved in productions by other members, and eventually muster up
courage to follow-through on one of two project ideas I have sketched out.
www.phillycam.org

RCB LOVE goes to artists that have promoted my radio efforts in November:
www.jeffbrownmusic.com
www.jessiekilguss.com
www.theportraits.posterous.com
www.facebook.com/tweedfunk
www.thegravityguild.com
www.facebook.com/revel9
www.marykeeymusic.com
www.facebook.com/thepuckettsband
www.facebook.com/bourbonbliss
www.facebook.com/achilleswheel.fanpage
www.jesseterrymusic.com
www.dizzybatsmusic.com
www.sakladmusic.com/blog
www.thirstyrecords.com
www.freddyhallmusic.com
www.theuniversalthump.com
www.facebook.com/electricchildrenmpls
www.hannahjudson.wordpress.com
www.bluesour.com
Outside of the US, top 3 countries accessing Radio Crystal Blue are the UK,
France, and Canada.
Lot of people have accessed my reviews of events at Legendary Dobbs from
11/29 and The M Room from 11/23.
Most popular photo of the month was this one:
https://radiocrystalblue.net/2012/11/24/the-m-room-112312/dscf2462/

COVERAGE: 3-4 times a month I go out to Philly-area gigs to do photos, some
video, and a write-up on my website afterward. I do this for free, tho at
some point in the future I might want to barter this work or be simply paid.

NEXT shows I’m covering:
Going to two shows at Milkboy in Ardmore
12/14: At Sea www.atseamusic.com
12/29 Ray G. Ward www.raygward.com
**************
RCB REVIEW from this week’s shows:
RCB Novus Ordo: Long Island NY’s Revel 9 (formerly Gee Davey) have resurfaced with a harder,edgier sound. Galen Curry from Michigan delights with his own brand of love songs. The song “Last Man Alive” includes a kazoo solo. Beth Whitney’s tune “Seattle Rain” sounds like a cafe/coffeehouse favorite.

RCB proper:

Segment 1 includes brand new music from Shane Cooley, who is now focusing on duo gigs with Rosa Wallace. Inside this week’s New Music Sampler are The Blakes and The Young Evils, two touring bands from Seattle who played here in Philly a few months ago. “Dead Animals” by the latter is a very catchy song. Segment 2: Included another recent released song from NYC’s Downward Dogs and Spanking Charlene. Segment 3: One word personal subjects color this one (Dan May, Joy Kills Sorrow, Carolann Solebello). Carolann, with Meg Braun, perform December 9th, at the First Unitarian Church in Brooklyn NY. New Music Sampler #2 introduces us to veteran songwriter Jimmy LaFave among others. Final segment includes brand new music from mystical songwriter Cosby Gibson.
AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:

Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145

CDs MUST have a 2012 or 2013 release date
If material is from 2011, it will be added to RCB’s loose rotation instead.
Digital is acceptable if media is not available in other formats.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general email
list

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit.
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: www.musicsubmit.com
MusicClout (NEW)
www.musicclout.com
Search for the words Radio Crystal Blue to find my pages there.
*********
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue on twitter
215 995 2234

Advertisement

Radio Crystal Blue and RCB Novus Ordo for week of 12/2/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/rcbnew120212.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 12/5/12

Ray G Ward & The Light “Child Of The Sun” – Welcome To The Real World EP www.raygward.com
Backnbloom “The Feel” – Music For the Modern Monkey CD www.backnbloom.com
Fablecar “Threes” – s/t CD www.fablecar.com
Revel 9 “Without” – The Razorblade Diaries EP www.revel9.com
Rubytown “For The First Time Again” – s/t EP www.rubytownband.com
Mike Vial “Empty Cup” – Where The Sand Meets The Tide EP www.mikevial.com
Galen Curry “Last Man Alive” – The Way The World Turns CD www.galencurry.com
Beth Whitney “Seattle Rain” – Ukulele CD www.bethwhitneymusic.com
Running time: 57 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/rcblive120212.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 12/5/12.
Artists who are appearing at events together are marked by * and **
Opening music: Forces Of Nature “Stasis” – Journey In Time And Space CD www.intelligentaudio.net

**************
Wes Tucker & The Skillets “Right Here Right Now” – Afterlens CD www.westucker.com
Remember September “Do You Remember” – The Roads We Travel CD www.rememberseptemberband.com
Jessie Kilguss & Radio Gold “Down The Line” – The Sky Road CD www.jessiekilguss.com
Shane Cooley “Propose To A Memory” – When It Rains, It Pours CD www.shanecooleymusic.com
**********************
New Music Sampler: An occasional segment featuring tunes from brand new albums:
The Blakes “Paralysis” – Art Of Losses CD www.theblakesband.com
The Young Evils “Dead Animals” – Foreign Spells EP www.theyoungevils.com
The Nonrefundables “Traveling Music” – Nothing To Be Done CD www.thenonrefundables.com
The Gravity Guild “The Game” – I CD www.thegravityguild.com
**************
Sean Kershaw & The New Jack Ramblers “Old Hollow Tree” – Coney Island Cowboy CD www.seankershaw.com
The Way Home “Letter To Jessica” – On So Thin A Line CD www.thewayhomemusic.com
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Wings On Fire” – Wings On Fire CD www.professorlouie.com
Downward Dogs “Sad Machine” – Familiar Techniques EP www.downwarddogs.com
Spanking Charlene “Cry Baby” – Where Are The Freaks? CD www.spankingcharlene.com
**************
CD Focus: The 1861 Project, Volume 2: From The Famine To The Front.
This CD series of 21 original songs remembers and honors the Scots-Irish and Irish immigrants who fought in the Civil War. From the liner notes “Every singer, player and writer on this album, has a strong connection to Ireland, by ancestry, by birth or just by heart.” All songs performed by producer Thomm Jutz and a number of others. www.1861project.com
From this CD I spun:
“Peace” (writers: Thomm Jutz, Peter Cronin, Ian Smith) – Ian Smith, vox
“Susan Tarleton’s Lament” (writers: Thomm Jutz, Irene Kelley) – Irene Kelley, vox
“I Belong To Ireland” (writers: Peter Cooper, Thomm Jutz, Peter Cronin) – Peter Cooper, vox
*************
 Dan May “Annee” – Dying Breed CD www.danmaycd.com
Joy Kills Sorrow “Eli” – This Unknown Science CD www.joykillssorrow.com
*Carolann Solebello “Alice” – Threshold CD www.carolannsolebello.com
*Meg Braun “One And Only” – Broken Places CD www.megbraun.com
Sarah Blacker “Perfectly Imperfect” – Perfectly Imperfect EP www.sarahblacker.com
***************
New Music Sampler #2:
Airmodular “A Higher Road” – Vindication Day CD www.airmodular.com
Ballroom Jacks “I Could Be You” – Do The Wolf Paw Waltz EP www.ballroomjacks.com
Jimmy LaFave “It Just Is Not Right” – Depending On The Distance CD www.jimmylafave.com
Jamie Kuntz “Let Me Take You Out Tonight” – 10 Acoustic Songs CD www.jamiekuntz.com
********
Beaucoup Blue “Broken Dreams” – 4 Stories EP www.beaucoupblue.com
Eleanor Fye “Set Me Free” – Love Stays On CD www.eleanorfye.com
Katie Ainge “Now Or Never” – Now Or Never EP www.katieainge.com
Lauren Adams “Watauga River Song” – Secret Heart CD www.laurenadams.com
Cosby Gibson “You May Already Know” – American Dreams CD www.cosbygibson.com
*************
Closing music: Juaneco Y Su Combo “El Llanto dy Ayaimama” – Masters Of Chicha Volume 1 CD www.barbesrecords.com
Running time: 3 hours, 15 minutos.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 12/9/12

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue and RCB Novus Ordo week of 10/14/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/rcbnew101412.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssThis show was distributed on 10/17/12
Tora “Drown” – Spilling Over CD www.officialtora.com
Downward Dogs “The Wrecking Crew” – Familiar Techniques EP www.downwarddogs.com
The Slants “Rescue Me From My Own Heart” – The Yellow Album CD www.theslants.com
Rubber Skunk “A Day In The Life Of A Dinosaur” – s/t CD www.rubberskunk.com
Guitar Mikey “It’s A Sin” – Out Of The Box CD www.guitarmikey.com
We Are The Woods “In The Library” – Whales And Roses CD www.wearethewoods.us
Marci Geller “No Weather Down” – Open Book CD www.marcigeller.com
Spice Hound Music Co. “Some Things Money Shouldn’t Buy” – The Revival CD www.facebook.com/spicehoundmusicco

Running time: 57 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

 

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3 https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/rcblive101412.mp3
This show was distributed on 10/17/12.Artists who are appearing at events together are marked by * and **
Opening music:
The K’s “Highway Of The Endless Night” – Skunk CD
The K’s “Last Trip To The Well” – The K’s Can’t Get It Together CD
The K’s “The Great Depression” – Red Numbers Right Faster CD www.theksband.blogspot.com
***************
Tania & The Revolutionaries “Again and Again” – The Final Blow CD www.reverbnation.com/taniasrevolutionaries
Sirsy “Again” – BYOB CD www.sirsy.com
Jason Spooner “Head Back Home” – Sea Monster CD www.jasonspooner.com
*Jeneen Terrana “God, I need comfort” – See The Light CD www.jeneenterrana.com
*Amateur Blonde “Just Obey” – s/t CD www.amateurblondemusic.com
**Hudson K “Prayer For Love” – Shine CD www.hudsonkmusic.com
**Avi Wisnia “Sink” – Something New CD www.aviwisnia.com
*************
These artists are performing at the annual FAR-West conference, Irvine, CA 10/18-21
Ernest Troost “Travelin’ Shoes” – Live’s At McCabe’s CD www.ernesttroost.com
Claudia Nygaard “Big Country” – Let The Storm Roll In CD www.claudianygaard.com
Jean Mann “Dream Of Goats” – Dream Of Goats CD www.dreamofgoats.com
Nels Andrews “Flotsam” – Scrimshaw CD www.nelsandrews.com
Johnsmith “Safe Home” – Gravity of Grace CD www.johnsmithmusic.com
*************
Brother Joscephus & The Love Revival Revolution Orchestra “Revolution Of Love” – Live At Brooklyn Bowl CD www.brotherjoscephus.com
Vintage Blue “Hey Hey” – Strike The Mics CD www.vintagebluemusic.com
Voodoo Swing “Two Wheels, No Deals” – Europe Summer Tour 2012 CD www.voodooswing.net
Zac Mac Band “Red Light” – Hope & Consequence CD www.zacmacband.com
*Arlan Feiles & The Broken Hearted “Catch Me Now” – Weeds Kill The Wild Flowers CD www.arlanfeiles.com
*Automatic Children “Pretend Birthday” – New Is Beautiful CD www.automaticchildren.com
At Sea “Prove Me Wrong” – A New Machine CD www.atseamusic.com
**********
Comic Tales Of Tragic Heartbreak “A Kind Of Answered Prayer” – s/t CD www.comictalesoftragicheartbreak.com
Allison’s Invention “Clean” – Sweet And Vicious CD www.allisonsinvention.com
Spuyten Duyvil “No More” – New Amsterdam CD www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
McMule “1940 Ford” – Whiskeytalk CD www.mcmule.com
*Daphne Lee Martin & Raise The Rent “Depot” – Dig & Be Dug CD www.raisetherentmusic.com
*Beth DeSombre “Leaving In Three-Quarter Time” – At Home In This Town CD www.bethdesombre.com
*Patti DeRosa “Packing My Bags” – Packing My Bags: Patti D Live CD www.pattiderosa.com
**********
Rebecca Loebe shares some of her upcoming gigs in the next month with these artists:
Rebecca Loebe “High & Lonesome” – Circus Heart CD www.rebeccaloebe.com
Curtis & The Dillettantes “Sometimes at Night” – Tales Of A Traveler CD www.reverbnation.com/curtisandthedillettantes
Fred Gillen Jr. “Only Sky” – Silence Of The Night CD www.fredgillenjr.com
Jesse Terry “Empty Seat On A Plane” – Empty Seat On A Plane CD www.jesseterrymusic.com
Sarah Blacker “When Will The Light Come” – Perfectly Imperfect CD http://www.sarahblacker.com 
*****
More artists performing at FAR-West www.far-west.org :
Severin Browne “To The Light” – Lucky Man: A Songwriter’s Notebook CD www.severinbrowne.com
Freebo “When There’s No Place Like Home” – Something To Believe CD www.freebomusic.com
Chico Schwall “Cardboard Signs” – Then What’s It For? CD www.chicoschwall.com
Lauren Adams “Poor To Carry It” – Secret Heart CD www.laurenadams.com
Lily Wilson “To Be Someone” – harbour CD www.lilywilson.com
**********
Marc Black “Sometime A Spark” – Sometime A Spark CD www.marcblack.com
Beaucoup Blue “Broken Dreams” – 4 Stories EP www.beaucoupblue.com
Roger Silverberg “Faith Hope Heart” – Major Seventh Heaven CD www.rogersilverberg.com
Liz Longley “When You’ve Got Trouble” – Hot Loose Wire CD www.lizlongley.com
*Honor Finnegan “Content” – The Tiny Life CD www.honorfinnegan.com
*Anna Dagmar “Company” – Satellite CD www.annadagmar.com
Linq “Sometimes, Somedays” – Caught In The Act Acoustic CD www.linqmusic.com
******
Closing music: Chicha Libre “Sonido Amazonico” – Sonido Amazonico CD www.barbesrecords.com
Running time: 4 hours, 37 minutos.All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:www.creativecommons.orgNext show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 10/21/12Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
www.radiocrystalblue.net
www.facebook.com/radiocblue
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue