Tag Archives: Thomm Jutz

Radio Crystal Blue and RCB Novus Ordo for week of 12/2/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/rcbnew120212.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 12/5/12

Ray G Ward & The Light “Child Of The Sun” – Welcome To The Real World EP www.raygward.com
Backnbloom “The Feel” – Music For the Modern Monkey CD www.backnbloom.com
Fablecar “Threes” – s/t CD www.fablecar.com
Revel 9 “Without” – The Razorblade Diaries EP www.revel9.com
Rubytown “For The First Time Again” – s/t EP www.rubytownband.com
Mike Vial “Empty Cup” – Where The Sand Meets The Tide EP www.mikevial.com
Galen Curry “Last Man Alive” – The Way The World Turns CD www.galencurry.com
Beth Whitney “Seattle Rain” – Ukulele CD www.bethwhitneymusic.com
Running time: 57 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/rcblive120212.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 12/5/12.
Artists who are appearing at events together are marked by * and **
Opening music: Forces Of Nature “Stasis” – Journey In Time And Space CD www.intelligentaudio.net

**************
Wes Tucker & The Skillets “Right Here Right Now” – Afterlens CD www.westucker.com
Remember September “Do You Remember” – The Roads We Travel CD www.rememberseptemberband.com
Jessie Kilguss & Radio Gold “Down The Line” – The Sky Road CD www.jessiekilguss.com
Shane Cooley “Propose To A Memory” – When It Rains, It Pours CD www.shanecooleymusic.com
**********************
New Music Sampler: An occasional segment featuring tunes from brand new albums:
The Blakes “Paralysis” – Art Of Losses CD www.theblakesband.com
The Young Evils “Dead Animals” – Foreign Spells EP www.theyoungevils.com
The Nonrefundables “Traveling Music” – Nothing To Be Done CD www.thenonrefundables.com
The Gravity Guild “The Game” – I CD www.thegravityguild.com
**************
Sean Kershaw & The New Jack Ramblers “Old Hollow Tree” – Coney Island Cowboy CD www.seankershaw.com
The Way Home “Letter To Jessica” – On So Thin A Line CD www.thewayhomemusic.com
Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Wings On Fire” – Wings On Fire CD www.professorlouie.com
Downward Dogs “Sad Machine” – Familiar Techniques EP www.downwarddogs.com
Spanking Charlene “Cry Baby” – Where Are The Freaks? CD www.spankingcharlene.com
**************
CD Focus: The 1861 Project, Volume 2: From The Famine To The Front.
This CD series of 21 original songs remembers and honors the Scots-Irish and Irish immigrants who fought in the Civil War. From the liner notes “Every singer, player and writer on this album, has a strong connection to Ireland, by ancestry, by birth or just by heart.” All songs performed by producer Thomm Jutz and a number of others. www.1861project.com
From this CD I spun:
“Peace” (writers: Thomm Jutz, Peter Cronin, Ian Smith) – Ian Smith, vox
“Susan Tarleton’s Lament” (writers: Thomm Jutz, Irene Kelley) – Irene Kelley, vox
“I Belong To Ireland” (writers: Peter Cooper, Thomm Jutz, Peter Cronin) – Peter Cooper, vox
*************
 Dan May “Annee” – Dying Breed CD www.danmaycd.com
Joy Kills Sorrow “Eli” – This Unknown Science CD www.joykillssorrow.com
*Carolann Solebello “Alice” – Threshold CD www.carolannsolebello.com
*Meg Braun “One And Only” – Broken Places CD www.megbraun.com
Sarah Blacker “Perfectly Imperfect” – Perfectly Imperfect EP www.sarahblacker.com
***************
New Music Sampler #2:
Airmodular “A Higher Road” – Vindication Day CD www.airmodular.com
Ballroom Jacks “I Could Be You” – Do The Wolf Paw Waltz EP www.ballroomjacks.com
Jimmy LaFave “It Just Is Not Right” – Depending On The Distance CD www.jimmylafave.com
Jamie Kuntz “Let Me Take You Out Tonight” – 10 Acoustic Songs CD www.jamiekuntz.com
********
Beaucoup Blue “Broken Dreams” – 4 Stories EP www.beaucoupblue.com
Eleanor Fye “Set Me Free” – Love Stays On CD www.eleanorfye.com
Katie Ainge “Now Or Never” – Now Or Never EP www.katieainge.com
Lauren Adams “Watauga River Song” – Secret Heart CD www.laurenadams.com
Cosby Gibson “You May Already Know” – American Dreams CD www.cosbygibson.com
*************
Closing music: Juaneco Y Su Combo “El Llanto dy Ayaimama” – Masters Of Chicha Volume 1 CD www.barbesrecords.com
Running time: 3 hours, 15 minutos.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 12/9/12

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue & RCB Novus Ordo 11/25/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)

www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/rcbnew112512.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssThis show was distributed on 11/28/12

Marcelo Quinonez “Willing” – Cabin Fever EP www.canicamusic.com
On The Water “Cat/Patience” – Anchor EP www.weareonthewater.com
Freddy Hall & The Best Intentions “Train Wreck” – Wander Years CD www.freddyhallmusic.com
Flashbulb Fires “The Whale” -Gasconder CD www.flashbulbfires.com
Edith Crash “Comme Avant” – De L’Autre Côté CD www.edithcrash.com
Kara McGraw “Carolina” – The Hound & The Hare CD www.karamcgraw.com
Bern & The Brights “War & Games” – Work CD www.bernandthebrights.com
Brian Dolzani “Before Goodnight” – If I Don’t Speak A Word CD www.briandolzani.com
Running time: 64 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org 

Here’s RCB proper: 

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/rcblive112512.mp3

 

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssThis show was distributed on 11/28/12.

Artists who are appearing at events together are marked by * and **


Opening music: Nigel Hayes “Late” – Tales From The Shed Part 1 EP www.intelligentaudio.net

**************

The Universal Thump “Opening Night” – s/t CD www.theuniversalthump.com

The Kennedys “Marina Dream” – Closer Than You Know CD www.kennedysmusic.com

Joy Mills “Lake” – Trick Of The Eye CD www.joymills.com

Marc Berger “A Bottle Of Wine, A Suitcase, An Umbrella” – Ride CD www.marcbergermusic.com

 

*Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “She Dreams” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD www.karencollins.net

 

*Flo Anito “No Good” – No Dustbunnies CD www.floanito.com

**********************

 

Brother Joscephus & The Love Revival Revolution Orchestra “Shine On” – Live At Brooklyn Bowl CD www.brotherjoscephus.com
Good Co. “Jazz Player” – Electro Swing For The Masses CD www.goodcomusic.com
Ki & The Arrowtooth Waltz “Lovely Madonna” – Entre-vouz! CD www.kevinmcwhasteele.com
At Sea “Prove Me Wrong” – A New Machine CD ww.atseamusic.com
The Slants “Sew Hearts” – The Yellow Album www.theslants.com
Kosmic Daydream “Last Laugh” – Psychosomatic Playground CD www.kosmicdaydream.com
**************

 

CD Focus: The 1861 Project, Volume 2: From The Famine To The Front.
This CD series of 21 original songs remembers and honors the Scots-Irish and Irish immigrants who fought in the Civil War. From the liner notes “Every singer, player and writer on this album, has a strong connection to Ireland, by ancestry, by birth or just by heart.” All songs performed by producer Thomm Jutz and a number of others. www.1861project.com
From this CD I spun:
“The American Wake” (co-write between Thomm Jutz, Peter Cronin, John Hadley) – Maura O’Connell on lead vox.
“Walking All The Way To Tennessee” (Pat Alger, Thomm Jutz) – vox by Pat Alger and Britt Savage
“The Stonewall Of The West” (Jutz, Cronin, Hadley) – Jim Rooney on vox.

*************


The Steel Wheels “Know Your Name” – Lay Down, Lay Low CD www.thesteelwheels.com

Carsie Blanton “Lonely No More” – Idiot Heart CD www.carsieblanton.com

Megan Slankard “You And Your Bright Ideas” – A Token Of The Wreckage CD www.meganslankard.com

Sloan Wainwright “Today” – Upside Down & Under My Heart CD www.sloanwainwright.com

Meredith Blis “Such A Lovely Girl” – A Purple Kind Of Blue CD www.meredithblis.com

Kris Delmhorst “Brand New Sound” – Shotgun Singer CD www.krisdelmhorst.com

***************

Anais Mitchell “You Are Forgiven” – Young Man In America CD www.anaismitchell.com

Patricia Silverberg “When I Am With You” – Don’t Look Back CD www.patriciasilverberg.com
Jean Mann “The Moon Said So” – Dream Of Goats CD www.jeanmann.net
Mark Erelli “I Took The Moon For A Walk” – Little Vigils CD www.markerelli.com
Craig Sonnenfeld “November’s Song” – Angels, Lovers And Fools CD www.craigsonnenfeld.com

 

*************

 

Closing music: Juaneco Y Su Combo “Linda Nena” – Masters Of Chicha Volume 1 CD www.barbesrecords.com

 

Running time: 3 hours, 21 minutos.All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 12/2/12

Radio Crystal Blue 3/4/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Serge Entertainment Public Relations www.sergepr.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
*************************************************************************
HOW TO LISTEN:
Feed Player at my home page of www.radiocrystalblue.net  It is active as
apopup window. Within the page you can stream/share/download the audio. You
can put the player up on your site or blog too.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This is the magic link to the popup player. It’s also at the home and
archive tabs of my website
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group
http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
REVERBNATION: www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue
STAT BLOG: www.cblue456.tumblr.com
************************************************
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about March 7 and will be available for about 4 months beyond
You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground
songwriters and bands.
RCB Novus Ordo will also air separately. On this show I spin one song from
as many as 8 songs in one sitting and give you background info  of each
artist.

CD FOCUS returns on the next show with a special CD: Little Blue Egg by Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer.  This is a disc with 11 long-lost recordings found by Tracy 2 years ago,
We’ll hear these songs, 2 by 2, all through the month of March.  www.redhouserecords.com   www.tracygrammer.com
**********************************************************************************
INTERVIEWS of Lisa Biales and Marybeth D’Amico are now available at the FIELD RECORDING FeedPlayer.  This is now active as a popup at the homepage of www.radiocrystalblue.net  and at the dedicated webpage at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalbluefield
My REVIEW of the event featuring music by Meghan Cary and Marybeth D’Amico can be read at https://radiocrystalblue.net/2012/02/26/milkboy-coffee-22512/
Happy birthday greetings to Miles High Productions founder Chip Schutzman! www.mileshighproductions.com
Davy Jones passed away this week.  Davy was bassist for Williamsport, PA songwriter Johnny J. Blair in recent years.I believe you’ve heard Davy on JJB’s material.  www.johnnyjblair.com
A radio promoter asked me on Facebook about my thoughts on Americana.  Since I’ve already given you my thoughts on the general genres of folk and roots, I’m too happy to comply:
Americana appears to be something that’s not necessarily in the pop category. Akin to folk, it’s about realism, and not always positive realism.  The songs contain innate meanings of what today’s America is like. Would the songs suggest meanings relevant to the days of yesteryear, they would be called ‘roots’.  Americana differs from roots for its modernism. Remember, there is still the Great American Songbook, all those jazz standards and easy listening songs out there. That’s not Americana, just a different interpretation.    Americana resembles roots and country and pretty much anything that are not on the major (Billboard, etc.) radio/sales charts. Suggested artists: Mark McKay, Larry McMurtry, Andrew McKnight, Mark Erelli.  Here of course is where I should tell you my definitions of alternative, indie and underground music, but I’ll save it for next time.
For some non-radio content:
March’s lions are ever-present, what with the cold grey weather  Already looking forward to sunnier days (sometimes; I still like grey days) and putting away the space heater.  Saved a lot on electricity from last year!  Stomach is just about at full strength but I’m off coffee, soda and common fruit juice until further notice (doctor, heal thyself).    Some of you may know that I am returning to elements of holistic health and healing.  Not certain it will be a huge career move given the economy.
A weeks ago I located a gourmet shop in Old City called…wait for it….Gourmet Of Old City.  They carry Big Train (powdered) chai tea! This will be my go-to store once a month; it’s about how long the chai lasts here.  www.gourmetofoldecity.com  www.bigtrain.com
Handicapping continues in earnest for this weekend’s big horse racing events. I’m off wagering outside of the Future Wager pools until Derby Day itself. I’ve had a losing year so far, and am taking a big break from this sort of investing.
*************************************************
TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: @electrikemily @rosslivermore @TheValeryTrails @sharongoldman @3_kisses
*****************************************************
COVERAGE:
I do audio interviews, photos, video, and audio of live events.  You can see
and hear evidence across my Facebook and YouTube channels, plus the field
recording FeedPlayer.Time, location and expense will be taken into account
before taking on a job.
Next show I’m attending is 3/7 at The Tin Angel here in Philly (Greta Gertler, Noam Weinstein) .
********************************************************************
RCB REVIEW: The annotated version of my shows.
On RCB Novus Ordo: Australia’s The Valery Trails and Philly songwriter Rob Lytle are the standouts on this week’s show.  Rob has great personnel on his CD including Fats Kaplin, Karyn Oliver, & Thomm Jutz.  Dan & Faith, friends of The Kennedys, take a similar path as that other dynamic duo with an album inspired by dreams.
RCB proper:  The opening track by Forces Of Nature has really grown on me; it’s an absolute keeper.   First segment began with another new one by Garrison Starr. Her newest album will be available later in the spring.  Catie Curtis and Edie Carey (& Jenna Lindbo) perform tonight at The Ark in Ann Arbor, MI.  Jann Klose & Avi Wisnia with some laid-back tunes back-to-back, following it up with slightly more uptempo tunes by Ben Knighten and Helen Austin (drawing upon Helen’s Song of the week CD, her personal song-a-week challenge). Segment 2 includes Heth & Jed (I cited a Gothamist.com reference having to do with a lawsuit against NYC), followed by another spin of Darlingside’s 2010 EP. They have a subscription-only album ready to launch this summer. Tumbledown returns to the airwaves while frontman Mike Herrera (MxPx) plans recording new material.  The song I spun “Great Big World” now has a video, available on their site.   Took a turn to pop and folk in segment 3, including one by Brother Sun. Well, not exactly their song, but actually an unreleased song penned by Bob Dylan & Danny O’Keefe. I wonder how they came across the song in the first place.    Meg Braun was opening act for Vance Gilbert at Christopher St. Coffeehouse in NYC on 3/1.  Danny Schmidt and Carrie Elkin continue to tour together in many fine establishments along with the SXSW experience just ahead.    I spun songs with ‘guilt’ references in their latest CDs.   Closed out with 2 ‘train’ references; Matt Turk’s raucous version of “Wabash Cannonball”, and Andrew Calhoun’s reworking of the classic “John Henry”
AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:
Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
CDs MUST have a 2012 release date or have been released no earlier than
July 2011..

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: www.musicsubmit.com.
(For those in Australia) GIG LAUNCH: www.giglaunch.com.au
All you have to do is a search on these sites for Radio Crystal Blue.

Any compelling compilation/concept CDs can also be sent here directly. I’m
seeking material that can be featured, song-for-song, in my CD FOCUS
segments.
*********
namaste

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue on twitter
215 995 2234