Tag Archives: At Sea music

Radio Crystal Blue 12/16/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Serge Entertainment Public Relations www.sergepr.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
*****
HOW TO LISTEN: FEEDPLAYER
Look for a popup link on the home and archive pages at
www.radiocrystalblue.net When you click, it will open within the same
window. The player allows you to stream all recent shows, as well as
download and share them. Click the tabs within the player for more.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

FEEDPLAYER LINK:
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group
http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
EMAIL LIST: www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue
STAT BLOG (stats and generally non-music related stuff I think up):
www.cblue456.tumblr.com
the DAILY (auto-generated online newspaper with selected keywords and
mentions from social media, updated each evening):
http://paper.li/radiocblue/1333586729
*******
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about December 17 and will be available
for about 1 year. Remember, even if you miss hearing a show the week I
record, you can always find it within the FeedPlayer’s archive of older
shows. Owing to schedule demands, I usually publish on Wednesdays or as soon
as possible thereafter. You will hear music in several segments of top
indie/DIY/underground songwriters and bands.

This will be my FINAL show for 2012. Also, please note that RCB Novus Ordo is done for 2012. Both podcasts will return for the week of January 6.
Further this coming show carries several RCB traditions. You’ll know them when you hear them. If you want to be clued into such traditions, why not read the newest page on my site?
https://radiocrystalblue.net/rcb-traditions/
PROGRAMMING NOTE:
Each week through my January shows I’m airing tracks from The 1861 Project,
a series that touches upon the Civil War experience. We’re up to Volume 2:
From The Famine To The Front. This collection of original music recalls
those families with Scottish and Irish ties who fought in the war. From the
liner notes “Every singer, player and writer on this album has a strong
connection to Ireland, by ancestry, birth, or just by heart”. More about
this fascinating series at www.1861project.com
On 12/26/12 at 2pm ET I will do a COUNTDOWN exclusively on Twitter, synchcronized to Facebook, as I will announce the top 100 artists of the year. I plan to also announce then the winner of the title of Best New Artist, top 10 albums of the year, and the updated charts for the quarter and for all time.
******
TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: @noisegroove @lauren_light @bigskyastrology @jgellermusic @northernspyrecs
****
I want Radio Crystal Blue to continue to grow, to reach and touch minds and hearts, and to have more of a real presence. I also want a new logo for the show, and to work in a studio space to make this show a bit more tangible. Right now that’s the vision. Carrying that vision appears to be most challenging right now.
Meanwhile I have two video projects that are awaiting people to volunteer and help create. In the meanwhile I remain available to do some shooting myself, now that I have the means.

COVERAGE: 3-4 times a month I go out to Philly-area gigs to do photos, some
video, and a write-up on my website afterward. I do this for free, tho at
some point in the future I might want to barter this work or be simply paid.

NEXT shows I’m covering:
Going to two shows at Milkboy in Ardmore
12/14 (tonight): At Sea www.atseamusic.com
12/29 Ray G. Ward www.raygward.com
**************
RCB REVIEW from this week’s shows:
RCB Novus Ordo: I have carried a head cold much of this week, and I did not sound nearly my best. But the music remained top-notch. Last RCB Novus Ordo show for the year went this way: Pine And Battery is fronted by Jeff Campbell, whom we’ve heard some songs of throughout the year. Intriguing authentic Americana sound via Northern Sweden, from Buford Pope. Strong debut from the eccentric yet accessible sound of Carla Bean.

RCB proper:Just before I was prepared to record, I learned of the passing of Ravi Shankar. I mused over the whole raga-rock thing and how it fused into rock in the 60s and beyond. I began this show with The Moody Blues and the spoken word “The Word” along with “Om” which close the concept album “In Search Of The Lost Chord”. A neat transition from there to a new favorite, spinning The Orb’s collaboration with Lee “Scratch” Perry. Segment 1 has elements of timeliness, the sense of time. M’Balia’s “Nobody’s Coming” is an insanely catchy pop song. Within the first of 2 New Music Samplers we hear from alternative pop rock artist Jason Masi as well as the multi-talented Sam Kulik. Sam I met while he was performing with art rock band Starring earlier in the year. “South Philly Daze” is what he calls a ‘song-poem’, a phrase and style he borrowed from Penn & Teller. Being based in South Philly myself, this had to be spun. Segment 2: Voodoo Swing, rockabilly from Arizona, are finally releasing the new material I’ve spun for you a few months now. WitchFeet’s sound is just lovely, recalling elements of The Beatles, Guided By Voices, maybe Alex Chilton. Segment 3: The folk collective in NY’s Hudson Valley known as Tribes Hill are doing their annual Solstice Concert on 12/16. Fred Gillen Jr.’s “Morphine Angel” has a Christmas reference in it. Susan Kane appears on this song. And we hear Susan in the song following, an ode to NYC and winter which closes her brand new album, with amazing studio personnel for the ride. In New Music Sampler 2, we hear from Philadelphia-area band Lotus Hill, whom I’ve seen perform twice. Also here is the strong Nashville sounds of Leyla Fences, with the funnest album title you’ve ever heard. Closing segment: Debra Cowan’s new album was recorded at a folk club in West Yorkshire, UK. I aired a traditional song she sung a capella, and followed it with a similarly titled traditional tune by Putnam Smith. It would have been too easy to spin a Ravi Shankar tune at the end of this show, or even the classic original of “Within You, Without You” by you-know-who. Instead I went with Patti Smith’s interpretation, which appears on her 2007 covers album “Twelve”

AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:

Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145

CDs MUST have a 2012 or 2013 release date
If material is from 2011, it will be added to RCB’s loose rotation instead.
Digital is acceptable if media is not available in other formats.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general email
list

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit.
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: www.musicsubmit.com
MusicClout
www.musicclout.com
Search for the words Radio Crystal Blue to find my pages there.
*********
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue on twitter
215 995 2234

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue and RCB Novus Ordo week of 10/14/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/rcbnew101412.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssThis show was distributed on 10/17/12
Tora “Drown” – Spilling Over CD www.officialtora.com
Downward Dogs “The Wrecking Crew” – Familiar Techniques EP www.downwarddogs.com
The Slants “Rescue Me From My Own Heart” – The Yellow Album CD www.theslants.com
Rubber Skunk “A Day In The Life Of A Dinosaur” – s/t CD www.rubberskunk.com
Guitar Mikey “It’s A Sin” – Out Of The Box CD www.guitarmikey.com
We Are The Woods “In The Library” – Whales And Roses CD www.wearethewoods.us
Marci Geller “No Weather Down” – Open Book CD www.marcigeller.com
Spice Hound Music Co. “Some Things Money Shouldn’t Buy” – The Revival CD www.facebook.com/spicehoundmusicco

Running time: 57 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

 

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3 https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/rcblive101412.mp3
This show was distributed on 10/17/12.Artists who are appearing at events together are marked by * and **
Opening music:
The K’s “Highway Of The Endless Night” – Skunk CD
The K’s “Last Trip To The Well” – The K’s Can’t Get It Together CD
The K’s “The Great Depression” – Red Numbers Right Faster CD www.theksband.blogspot.com
***************
Tania & The Revolutionaries “Again and Again” – The Final Blow CD www.reverbnation.com/taniasrevolutionaries
Sirsy “Again” – BYOB CD www.sirsy.com
Jason Spooner “Head Back Home” – Sea Monster CD www.jasonspooner.com
*Jeneen Terrana “God, I need comfort” – See The Light CD www.jeneenterrana.com
*Amateur Blonde “Just Obey” – s/t CD www.amateurblondemusic.com
**Hudson K “Prayer For Love” – Shine CD www.hudsonkmusic.com
**Avi Wisnia “Sink” – Something New CD www.aviwisnia.com
*************
These artists are performing at the annual FAR-West conference, Irvine, CA 10/18-21
Ernest Troost “Travelin’ Shoes” – Live’s At McCabe’s CD www.ernesttroost.com
Claudia Nygaard “Big Country” – Let The Storm Roll In CD www.claudianygaard.com
Jean Mann “Dream Of Goats” – Dream Of Goats CD www.dreamofgoats.com
Nels Andrews “Flotsam” – Scrimshaw CD www.nelsandrews.com
Johnsmith “Safe Home” – Gravity of Grace CD www.johnsmithmusic.com
*************
Brother Joscephus & The Love Revival Revolution Orchestra “Revolution Of Love” – Live At Brooklyn Bowl CD www.brotherjoscephus.com
Vintage Blue “Hey Hey” – Strike The Mics CD www.vintagebluemusic.com
Voodoo Swing “Two Wheels, No Deals” – Europe Summer Tour 2012 CD www.voodooswing.net
Zac Mac Band “Red Light” – Hope & Consequence CD www.zacmacband.com
*Arlan Feiles & The Broken Hearted “Catch Me Now” – Weeds Kill The Wild Flowers CD www.arlanfeiles.com
*Automatic Children “Pretend Birthday” – New Is Beautiful CD www.automaticchildren.com
At Sea “Prove Me Wrong” – A New Machine CD www.atseamusic.com
**********
Comic Tales Of Tragic Heartbreak “A Kind Of Answered Prayer” – s/t CD www.comictalesoftragicheartbreak.com
Allison’s Invention “Clean” – Sweet And Vicious CD www.allisonsinvention.com
Spuyten Duyvil “No More” – New Amsterdam CD www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
McMule “1940 Ford” – Whiskeytalk CD www.mcmule.com
*Daphne Lee Martin & Raise The Rent “Depot” – Dig & Be Dug CD www.raisetherentmusic.com
*Beth DeSombre “Leaving In Three-Quarter Time” – At Home In This Town CD www.bethdesombre.com
*Patti DeRosa “Packing My Bags” – Packing My Bags: Patti D Live CD www.pattiderosa.com
**********
Rebecca Loebe shares some of her upcoming gigs in the next month with these artists:
Rebecca Loebe “High & Lonesome” – Circus Heart CD www.rebeccaloebe.com
Curtis & The Dillettantes “Sometimes at Night” – Tales Of A Traveler CD www.reverbnation.com/curtisandthedillettantes
Fred Gillen Jr. “Only Sky” – Silence Of The Night CD www.fredgillenjr.com
Jesse Terry “Empty Seat On A Plane” – Empty Seat On A Plane CD www.jesseterrymusic.com
Sarah Blacker “When Will The Light Come” – Perfectly Imperfect CD http://www.sarahblacker.com 
*****
More artists performing at FAR-West www.far-west.org :
Severin Browne “To The Light” – Lucky Man: A Songwriter’s Notebook CD www.severinbrowne.com
Freebo “When There’s No Place Like Home” – Something To Believe CD www.freebomusic.com
Chico Schwall “Cardboard Signs” – Then What’s It For? CD www.chicoschwall.com
Lauren Adams “Poor To Carry It” – Secret Heart CD www.laurenadams.com
Lily Wilson “To Be Someone” – harbour CD www.lilywilson.com
**********
Marc Black “Sometime A Spark” – Sometime A Spark CD www.marcblack.com
Beaucoup Blue “Broken Dreams” – 4 Stories EP www.beaucoupblue.com
Roger Silverberg “Faith Hope Heart” – Major Seventh Heaven CD www.rogersilverberg.com
Liz Longley “When You’ve Got Trouble” – Hot Loose Wire CD www.lizlongley.com
*Honor Finnegan “Content” – The Tiny Life CD www.honorfinnegan.com
*Anna Dagmar “Company” – Satellite CD www.annadagmar.com
Linq “Sometimes, Somedays” – Caught In The Act Acoustic CD www.linqmusic.com
******
Closing music: Chicha Libre “Sonido Amazonico” – Sonido Amazonico CD www.barbesrecords.com
Running time: 4 hours, 37 minutos.All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:www.creativecommons.orgNext show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 10/21/12Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
www.radiocrystalblue.net
www.facebook.com/radiocblue
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo for week of 8/19/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/08/rcbnew081912.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssThis show was distributed on 8/22/12

Gigi Love “Planets Align” – Sweet Relief CD www.gigilove.com
Lu Horta “Todo Mundo Quer Amor” – Paraiso Eu CD www.luhorta.com.br
Shara Strand “Jekyll Or Hyde” – Born Tonight CD www.sharastrand.com
At Sea “Everything Looks Better In The Dark” – A New Machine CD www.atseamusic.com
Chuck Schaeffer “What Jenny Says” – Along These Lines CD www.chuckschaeffer.com
Dylan Jane “Aboard The Westbound Train” – Paint, Clay, and other Mediums CD www.dylanjanemusic.com
Chords Of Truth “Tune Your Mind” – Reflections of Reality CD www.chordsoftruth.com
Justine Dorsey “Cliche” – Unsaid EP www.justinedorsey.com
****************
Running time: 66 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/08/rcblive081912.mp3
This show was distributed on 8/22/12.
Artists who are appearing at events together are marked by * and **
Opening music: Nigel Hayes “Wallfield” – Northern Lights EP www.intelligentaudio.net
***************
*Sarah Blacker “Drivin’ ” – Come What May CD www.sarahblacker.com
*Jenee Halstead “Get Good With It” – Raised By Wolves CD www.jeneehalstead.com
Garrison Starr “Slow Crawl” – Amateur CD www.garrisonstarr.com
Lily Wilson “Harbour” – Harbour CD www.lilywilson.com
*Chris Riffle “watch the sky” – i am not from here EP www.chrisriffle.com
*La Resistance “Knowing” – Philosophy CD www.laresistancemusic.com
********
The Portraits “Liberty” – The Blushing Of A World In White CD www.theportraits.info
The Kurt Henry Band “From Our Religions We’ll Be Free” – From Our Religions We’ll Be Free CD www.kurthenry.com
Whisperado “Country Of One” – I’m Not The Road CD www.whisperado.com
Rod Piazza & The All Mighty Flyers “We Belong Together” – Almighty Dollar CD www.rodpiazza.com
Val Emmich & The Veeries “Experts” – Aide-Memoire CD www.valemmich.com
Voxhaul Broadcast “Somewhere I’ve Never Been” – Frozen Beach EP www.voxhaulbroadcast.com
**********
Lisa Biales “Watch Out Baby Don’t Cry” – Just Like Honey CD www.lisabiales.com
Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “Too Much Me, Not Enough You” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD www.karencollins.net
Loretta Hagen “Now That You’re Home” – Mud and Stone CD www.lorettahagen.com
Deborah Lombardi “If You Only Knew” – Sweet Revenge CD www.deborahlombardi.com
Roger Silverberg “Just In Time For Summer” – Major Seventh Heaven CD www.rogersilverberg.com
Jim Boggia “So” – Misadventures In Stereo CD www.jimboggia.com
*************
Hannah Judson “Late Last Night” – underbelly CD www.hannahjudson.com
Jessie Kilguss & Radio Gold “Counting Sheep” – The Sky Road CD www.jessiekilguss.com
Jennings “Doorway” – take it or leave CD www.jennings-music.com
Meredith Blis “Mermaid Girl” – A Purple Kind Of Blue CD www.meredithblis.com
Lynn Hollyfield “Thirteen Summer Moons” – Layers CD www.lynnhollyfield.com
Patti DeRosa “Packing My Bags” – Packing My Bags: Patti D Live CD www.pattiderosa.com
*************
Closing music: Robert Said “Comment” – art of love: music of machaut CD www.robertsadin.com
Running time: 2 hours, 53 minutos.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.orgNext show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 8/26/12

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
www.radiocrystalblue.net
www.facebook.com/radiocblue
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue