Tag Archives: Brickwall Jackson

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo week of 7/14/13


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/rcbnew071413.mp3

This show was distributed on 7/18/13
Chris Darrow/Max Buda “Saps at Sea” – Island Girl CD www.gragroup.com
Too Slim & The Taildraggers “Make It Sound Happy” – Blue Heart CD www.tooslim.org
RB Stone “Gone As Gone Can Be” – Loosen Up! CD www.rbstone.com
Marshall Lawrence “Long Way Back Home” – House Call CD www.doctorblues.com
RoseAnn Fino “Packed Up” – s/t CD (no website)
Ruff Kutt Blues Band “Don’t It Make You Cry” – That’s When The Blues Begins CD www.ruffkuttblues.com
Hounds Of Finn “Twenty Demons” – Gravity Pulls CD www.houndsoffinn.com
Roy Bookbinder “Poker Playin’ Papa” – The Good Book CD www.roybookbinder.com
Running time: 52 minutos
Moon: grump-grump
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/rcblive071413.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with * symbols.
This show was distributed on 7/18/13

Opening music: Musicians Of The Nile “Ramla” – Charcoal Gypsies CD
****
Annalise Emerick “A Runner and A Singer” – Starry-Eyed CD www.annaliseemerick.com
Brickwall Jackson “Can’t Hang” – Just Life CD www.brickwalljacksonband.com
Fred Gillen Jr. “Walking That Line” – Silence Of The Night CD www.fredgillenjr.com
Sassparilla “Threadbare” – Magpie CD www.sassparilla.info
DB Rielly “One Of These Days (You’re Gonna Realize)” – Love Potions & Snake Oil CD www.dbrielly.com
Black Vendetta “This Is Where It All Begins” – Draconian Backlash CD www.reverbnation.com/blackvendettababy
*****
New Sweden “Like A Fool” – The Mountain CD www.newswedenmusic.com
Chris Head & The Honchos “Why Would I Want To?” – Hard Truths CD www.facebook.com/chrisheadandthehonchos
Aqua Cherry “Overcome” – Auto Kiss Proof EP www.reverbnation.com/aquacherry
Brittnee Belt “Circle” – Elemental Me CD www.brittneebelt.com
**Prima Donna “Change It Up” – Restored CD www.primadonnamusic.com
*The Pinz “Break My Heart” – Anti-Complacency League CD www.thepinz.com
*Boy Plus Kite “Our July” – We Can Go Anywhere We Want CD www.boypluskite.com
***
Kirsten Thien “Nobody’s Ever Loved Me Like You Do” – Solo Live From the Meisenfrei Blues Club CD www.kirstenthien.com
Brooks Williams “Time 4 Love” – New Everything CD www.brookswilliams.com
Barnstar! “I Think We’re Alone Now” (cover) – C’mon! CD www.barnstar.bandcamp.com
Antje Duvekot “Sleepy Sea Of Indigo And Blue” – New Siberia CD www.antjeduvekot.com
Jann Klose “Still” – Mosaic CD www.jannklose.com
Marci Geller “Surf the Undertow” – Open Book CD www.marcigeller.com
Patricia Silverberg “You Should Know”- Don’t Look Back CD www.patriciasilverberg.com
****
Rebecca Zoe Leigh “What’s-His-Face” – Self-Loathing & Self-Satisfaction CD www.rebeccazoeleigh.com
Ellysa Rose “Happiness” – Stop Waiting EP www.ellysarose.com
Hungrytown “Calliope” – Any Forgotten Thing CD www.hungrytown.net
*Suzie Brown “Urge For Going” – Heartstrings CD www.suziebrownsongs.com
Danielle Miraglia “Home” – See The Light CD www.daniellem.com
*Katie Barbato “The Philosopher” – The Millay Tapes CD www.katiebarbato.com
Heather Pierson “Bittersweet” – The Open Road CD www.heatherpierson.com
******
Closing music: Geoffrey Armes “After Dark”- Noor CD www.geoffreyarmes.com www.noorcd.com
Running time: 2 hours 52 minutos (that’s it)
Moon: grump-grump

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 7/21/13

Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue 5/5/13 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: http://www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions http://www.mileshighproductions.com
Wampus Multimedia http://www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.

AUDIO version of this message: http://chirb.it/1H7fM0

*****
HOW TO LISTEN: FEEDPLAYER
Look for a popup link on the home and archive pages at
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net When you click, it will open within the same
window. The player allows you to stream all recent shows, as well as
download and share them. Click the tabs within the player for more.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

FEEDPLAYER LINK:
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue
EMPIRE AVENUE: www.empireavenue.com/radiocblue

EXTRACURRICULAR:
STAT BLOG www.idealisticstats.wordpress.com

IDEALISTIC SPORT: www.bigcontact.com/idealisticsport (update coming later Friday)
the DAILY (auto-generated online newspaper with selected keywords and
mentions from social media, updated each evening):
http://paper.li/radiocblue/1333586729
*******
PROGRAMMING:
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about May 8 and will be available
for about 1 year. I usually publish on Wednesdays or as soon as
possible thereafter. You will hear music in several segments of top
indie/DIY/underground songwriters and bands.

RCB Novus Ordo is a separate podcast with 10 songs, one each
from a brand new recording. I spin the music and give you some backstory of
each.
*****************************

Some exposure for the show during the month of April came this month from these websites:
www.facebook.com/BrickwallJackson

Thanks everyone!

CD FOCUS returns with a very special collection of music. Courtesy of Unfinished Side Productions, I have received a disc that contains some of the last recorded music from Ravi Shankar, under the title “The Living Room Sessions, Part 2”. I will air one of the 3 long ragas for the next show, and likewise for the 2 following shows. More info at www.eastmeetswestmusic.com www.ravishankar.org

Remember to send donations to RCB via the PayPal button at the home page.
 
Outside of radio, even outside of job-hunting, where I’m averaging about one interview a week, I’m still very involved in horse racing, and this is one of those very busy weekends where handicapping is at the forefront. I’ve already made selections for those big races happening at Churchill Downs. You can hear me talk about them on my sport-based podcast, titled “Idealistic Sport” at www.bigcontact.com/idealisticsport with the same options as with Radio Crystal Blue to stream, share and download all material. The blog is always the final word, at www.idealisticstats.wordpress.com
********
RCB rewind:
RCB Novus Ordo: Great way to start this show is with the superb songwriting and musicianship of Susan James, introducing a ‘California Hybrid’ sound, something perhaps not fully explored since the days of Linda Ronstadt and sound-alikes. Vinyl Soup explores rock via electronics and universal peaceful messages. NC’s Jon Shain returns with his 8th solo album. Lizanne Knott, whom I recall being part of Dan May’s most recent album on backing vocals, resurfaces for her latest solo effort. Hudson Valley’s own Steve Chizmadia, whom I last saw some 10 years ago in NYC also has a new album which is heard on this program.
RCB proper: First segment includes music from artists perCraftforming on this weekend’s Crafts at Lyndhurst event in Tarrytown, NY, presented by the folk community of Tribes Hill. Within the segment we hear brand new music from Susan Kane, and the LeVins, whose album is mainly inspired by 13th-century poet Hafiz. Segment 2: Having met the sainted Ellis Paul last month in Cape May, and receiving his 2010 CD “The Day After Everything Changed”, I aired “Dragonfly” which I believe he performed during his keynote speech. Ellis, with Rebecca Loebe, perform at Club Passim in Cambridge MA on 5/16. Adrienne Pierce is also reintroduced with a new album. Segment 3: Spun another new one from Sirsy. I say again, they have never sounded better! Spun an older tune from Philly’s own Prima Donna, who reunited with original lead singer Kelly Werkheiser late last year. She is on vocals on the song “No Compromise” which I aired. Segment 4: Antje Duvekot, after many moons, returns to the RCB airwaves, with a new album titled “New Siberia”. She and David Wilcox, heard before her in this segment, will be performing at The Towne Crier in Pawling NY on May 5. More thoughtful love songs in this segment from Buskin & Batteau and Elaine Amherd continue the theme. Segment 5 was devoted to artists who are part of the RiverRoots Music & Folk Arts Festival in Madison IN May 17th and 18th. Danny Schmidt and Carrie Elkin, newly engaged are heard in this segment. Final segment are mostly quiet, reflective songs here. Beth DeSombre performs in Dan & Faith Senie’s new songwriter series at the Harvest Cafe, Hudson MA, 5/8. Instrumentals by John Roy Zat and Heather Pierson close out this long edition of RCB.

**************
AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:

Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
Keep physical packages of reasonable size and weight, as this is a
residence.
CDs MUST have been released no earlier than June 2012.
If material is from 2011, it will be added to RCB’s loose rotation instead.
Digital is acceptable if media is not available in other formats.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general email
list.
I’m also seeking music for Idealistic Sport. For this show, the music should be upbeat and appropo toward sports programming.

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit.
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: http://www.musicsubmit.com
MusicClout http://www.musicclout.com
Search for the words Radio Crystal Blue to find my pages there.
*********
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
twitter: @radiocblue
215 995 2234

Radio Crystal Blue and RCB Novus Ordo 4/7/13 show


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/rcbnew040713.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 4/11/13

 Brickwall Jackson “For the Living” – Just Life CD www.brickwalljacksonband.com
Random Order “It Takes One To Know One” – Dimples & Anti-Depressants CD www.randomorder.ca
Bride Of Chaotica “Thyme And A Word” – Bamboo Transistor CD www.brideofchaotica.com
Piqued Jacks “Tourist of an Apocalypse” – Just a Machine CD www.piquedjacks.com
8Stops7 “The Albatross” – Fables CD www.8stops7.com
Davey O “Carnival” – Testing For Rust CD www.daveyo.com
Zonder Kennedy “Blue Garden” – Zonder Kennedy & The Scoville Junkies CD www.zonderkennedy.com
Troy Petty “Bloom” – Fairy Tale Pen CD www.troypettymusic.com
Patrick Fitzsimmons “Mountaintops” – Hope Is CD www.patrickfitzsimmons.net
Michael Silverman “8 AM” – The Daybreak EP www.theprivatenotion.com
Running time:77 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at www.radiocrystalblue.net
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/rcblive040713.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with * symbols.
This show was distributed on 4/11/13.
Opening music:

Bettie Serveert “Cybor*D” – Lamprey CD
Echobelly “One In A Million” – Gravity Pulls CD
Catatonia “Arabian Derby” – Paper Scissors Stone CD
*******
Fred Gillen Jr. “Angel” – Silence Of The Night CD www.fredgillenjr.com
Leyla Fences “Something Right” – Itty Bitty Twang Twang CD www.leylafences.com
Marc Berger “Long Way From Vixenburg” – Ride CD www.marcbergermusic.com
Sons Of The Never Wrong “Arkansas” – King Fisher King CD www.sons.com
Irene Torres & The Sugar Devils “I’ll Be Good To You” – s/t CD www.irenetorres.com
Avi Wisnia “The Back Of Your Hand” – Presents CD www.aviwisnia.com
John Batdorf “I Feel Loved” – One Last Wish CD www.johnbatdorfmusic.com
*****
These artists are participating in the MOVE Music Festival later in April www.movemusicfest.com :
John Brodeur “Changing Your Mind” – Tiger Pop Ten CD www.johnbrodeur.com
Bern & The Brights CD “Irish Boys” – Work CD www.bernandthebrights.com
Engloria “Found A Girl” – Shine CD www.engloria.com
The Happy Problem “The Prettiest Girl” – Head Case CD www.thehappyproblem.com
Frank Palangi “I Am Ready” – single www.reverbnation.com/frankpalangi
********
Food Will Win The War “Blue Tomorrow” – A False Sense Of Warmth CD www.foodwillwinthewar.com
Downward Dogs “Sad Machine” – Familiar Techniques CD www.downwarddogs.com
Sirsy “The Cost Of You” – Coming Into Frame CD www.sirsy.com
Polarcode “Deal Breaker” – s/t CD www.polarcodemusic.com
Antigone Rising “You Say You Want To Leave” – 23 Red CD www.antigonerising.com
*********
DMcMule “Floating on the Rubble” – Whiskeytalk CD www.mcmule.com
The Steel Wheels “Waters Edge” – No More Rain CD www.thesteelwheels.com
*Gallon House “Until Sunlight Torches the Ground” – s/t EP www.gallonhouse.com
*Sassparilla “The Mary Celeste” – Magpie CD www.sassparilla.info
Deborah Lombardi “The Conveyor Belt” – Sweet Revenge CD www.deborahlombardi.com
The Kennedys “Rhyme And Reason” – Closer Than You Know CD www.kennedysmusic.com
***********
*Daphne Lee Martin “Friendliest Room In Town” – Moxie CD www.daphneleemartin.com
*Elison Jackson “Man From Lowell” – I Do Believe She Flew Out The Drain Pipe CD www.elisonjackson.com
*Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem “Johnny Brown” – Some Bright Morning CD www.raniarbo.com
Gina Holsopple “A Little Boy Whispers” – From The Earth CD www.ginaholsopple.com
Beth DeSombre “Ex-Voto” – At Home In This Town CD www.bethdesombre.com
Anais Mitchell & Jefferson Hamer “Clyde Waters” (Child 216) – www.anaismitchell.com www.jeffersonhamer.com
Devon Sproule “Julie” – Don’t Hurry For Heaven! CD www.devonsproule.com
********
Closing music:
Running time: 3 hours 32 minutes.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 4/14/13

Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net