Tag Archives: The Como Brothers Band

Radio Crystal Blue 7/7/13 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: http://www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions http://www.mileshighproductions.com
Wampus Multimedia http://www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.

AUDIO version of this message: http://chirb.it/45yPyc

*****
HOW TO LISTEN: FEEDPLAYER
Look for a popup link on the home and archive pages at
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net When you click, it will open within the same
window. The player allows you to stream all recent shows, as well as
download and share them. Click the tabs within the player for more.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

FEEDPLAYER LINK:
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue
EMPIRE AVENUE http://www.empireavenue.com/radiocblue

STAT BLOG www.idealisticstats.wordpress.com
with updates at CHIRBIT: www.chirbit.com/radiocblue

the DAILY (auto-generated online newspaper with selected keywords and mentions from social media, updated each evening):
http://paper.li/radiocblue/1333586729
****
DONATIONS to Radio Crystal Blue can be made via the Paypal button at the homepage.
***
PROGRAMMING:
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about July 3 and will be available for about 1 year. I usually publish on Wednesdays or as soon as possible thereafter. You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground songwriters and bands.

RCB Novus Ordo is a separate podcast with 8 songs, one each from a brand new recording. I spin the music and give you some backstory of each.

CD FOCUS: I continue to seek very good concept/compilations for future shows, with albums I can feature track-for-track. Do you know of one? Send it along!
**
CHART: Quarterly Airplay Chart is now available on the Chart tab of the website. Aztec Two Step has charted well as of late, and gathers its first #1 quarterly ranking. Those with the most songs aired in the quarter include Meghan Cary, Dana & Susan Robinson (biggest debut this quarter) and Greg Klyma. Full details https://radiocrystalblue.net/chart-page/
5 YEARS AGO: Artists who debuted on RCB Novus Ordo in 2008 this week include Swampdawamp (this generation’s Lynyrd Skynyrd), The Paper Raincoat (Amber Rubarth, Alex Wong). In the standard rotation among the many that were heard, I gave you Marwood (Benji Rogers’ music project which would soon give way to his organization PledgeMusic), Deborah Lombardi, Sirsy, 3 Kisses (who have just released a new album), The Dollyrots (on Joan Jett’s label), Finespun, Spiraling (Tom Brislin’s former band), and Angelo M. Featured that week were Cassandra Kubinski, and the late Artie Traum.
And now to the present…
********
RCB Novus Ordo: The aforementioned pick up from where they leave off with a few new members, a new home base of Anchorage AK and a new album. Debbie Chou, late of NYC’s The Barrens, released her first solo album. Underhill Rose from Asheville NC is the newest female folk trio in the style of Red Molly reaching nationwide. Kagero I remember seeing years ago in NYC, with their practically trademark world/rock sound, and I’m happy to have debuted their latest here.
RCB proper: What prompted the opening music this week was the announcement of Kim Shattuck from The Muffs joining the Pixies for their 17-city Europe tour, and perhaps beyond. She’ll still front The Muffs tho. (“Agony” was the first I learned of theirs, back in the days when Iwas busy collecting magazine CD compilations). I spun music from both bands. Thee Headcoats were a fine example of UK garage rock, and you can hear where The White Stripes got some of their ideas from. Segment 1: Paul Sachs & Edie Carey shared billing at NYC’s Rockwood Music Hall on 7/2. The Como Brothers recently debuted a new EP with a slight blues/pop feel, fitting in nicely with the sound of soul/rock artist M’Balia and blues veterans Bob Corritore & John Primer. Segment 2: Schwervon! just released a video for “Cyclone”, a song heard here. We hear again from Boy + Kite and Ryan David Orr who have new albums themselves. Segment 3: Molasses Creek’s ‘Fiddler” Dave Tweedie put words in an old instrumental “Mississippi Sawyer”. Natalia Zukerman & James McMurtry here, the latter from a CD recorded on James’ first tour of Europe. Both are participating in the Blissfest Music Festival on 7/14, Harbor Springs, MI. Sasha Papernik with a long summery tune closing this segment. Final segment includes another pairing of The YaYas and Honor Finnegan, completing a month-long tour.
**************
AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:

Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
Keep physical packages of reasonable size and weight, as this is a residence.
Please indicate release date. Eligible CDs must have been released no earlier than September 2012. Material releasesd before that month will be added to RCB’s loose rotation instead.
Digital is acceptable if media is not available in other formats.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general email
list.

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit.
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: http://www.musicsubmit.com
MusicClout http://www.musicclout.com
Search for the words Radio Crystal Blue to find my pages there.
*********
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
twitter: @radiocblue
215 995 2234

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 3/3/13


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/rcbnew030313.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 3/6/13

Polarcode “Ride Of My Life” – s/t CD www.polarcodemusic.com
The Dan Sheehan Conspiracy “Dark Summer” – Are You Conspirienced? CD www.dansheehan.net
Astro “Blood Lines” – All We See is Sound CD www.astrotheband.com
Public Love Affair “Love Ain’t Cheap” – Soul Shaker CD www.reverbnation.com/publicloveaffair
Craic The Lens “On The Rocks” – s/t CD www.reverbnation.com/craicthelens
Jupiter Vinyl “Wabash” – Lazy Ash Tree CD www.jupitervinyl.com
Love Mason “Love Always” – s/t EP www.lovemason.com
Amanda Earhart “I’ll Be Down” – Tell Me What You Want EP www.amandaearheart.com
Hank Stone (untitled bonus track) – Until I Saw That Train www.hankstone.net
Jordan Biggs “Brooklyn” – Brooklyn EP www.reverbnation.com/jordanbiggs
Running time: 70 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at www.radiocrystalblue.net
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/03/rcblive030313.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with * symbols.
This show was distributed on 3/6/13.

Opening music: Nigel Hayes “Raise The Bridge” – Northern Lights EP www.intelligentaudio.co.uk

*****

Barnstar! “Northern Rail” – C’mon! CD www.barnstar.bandcamp.com
Evangenitals “Work Song” – s/t CD www.evangenitals.com
Sean Kershaw & The New Jack Ramblers “Moonlight Eyes” – Coney Island Cowboy CD www.seankershaw.com
*Jessie Kilguss & Radio Gold “Riverboat Gamblers” – The Sky Road CD www.jessiekilguss.com
*Steven Graves “Let It Ride” – Let It Ride CD www.stevengravesmusic.com
The Kurt Henry Band “Trucker’s Nightlife” – From Our Religions We’ll Be Free! CD www.kurthenry.com
Shane Cooley “Propose To A Memory” – When It Rains, It Pours CD www.shanecooleymusic.com
********
These artists are sharing billing during SXSW next week as part of a showcase series presented by Music Gorilla www.musicgorilla.com
Avi Wisnia “Rabbit Hole” – Presents CD www.aviwisnia.com
Rachael Sage “Performance Art” – Haunted By You CD www.rachaelsage.com
Megan Slankard “Soundtracks” – A Token Of The Wreckage CD www.meganslankard.com
Jeff Campbell “Leftside” – Stop And Go CD www.jeffcampbellmusic.com
New Sweden “Shine That light” – The Mountain CD www.newswedenmusic.com
Trapdoor Social “Like You Never” – Death of a Friend EP www.trapdoorsocial.com
The Pinz “Truth’ – Anti-Complacency League CD www.thepinz.com
*********
 The Como Brothers Band “Underneath It All” – The Speed Of Sound EP www.comobrothersband.com
Changing Modes “The Politics Of Fear” – In Flight CD www.changingmodes.com
Builder Of The House “Running Blind” – I Am a Tidal Wave CD www.builderofthehouse.com
The Mason Affair “Eyes On Fire” – Eyes On Fire CD www.themasonaffair.com
Blue Sour “Hold The Reggae” – S.U.A.D. CD www.bluesour.com
The Shipwrecks “Billy Don’t Surf” – demo EP www.shipwreckslb.com
Voice Of Addiction “Warriors” – Reduce, Reuse, Resist CD www.voiceofaddiction.com
****
*Marci Geller “Driving In Manhattan” – Open Book CD www.marcigeller.com
*Allison’s Invention “Ran” – Sweet And Vicious EP www.allisonsinvention.com
**Carolann Solebello “The Shadow” – Threshold CD www.carolannsolebello.com
**The YaYas “Price Of Progress” – Paper Boats CD www.wearetheyayas.com
**Sharon Goldman “House Of Stone” – Sleepless Lullaby CD www.sharongoldmanmusic.com
*****
Comic Tales Of Tragic Heartbreak “A Kind Of Answered Prayer” – s/t CD www.comictalesoftragicheartbreak.com
Luke Potter “Breathe In” – One Day: The Bleu Session EP www.lukepottermusic.com
Sloan Wainwright “I Am Free” – Upside Down And Under My Heart CD www.sloanwainwright.com
Jennings “Take It Or Leave” – Take It Or Leave CD www.jennings-music.com
*Honor Finnegan “Undone” – The Tiny Life CD www.honorfinnegan.com
*Anna Dagmar “Falling Star” – Satellite CD www.annadagmar.com
********
Closing music: Geoffrey Armes “After Dark” – Noor CD www.geoffreyarmes.com www.noorcd.com
Running time: 3 hours 11 minutos.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 3/10/13

Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

Radio Crystal Blue and RCB Novus Ordo 1/20/13


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/rcbnew012013.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 1/23/13

 Robert Bobby “Hearts & Diamonds” – Today! (2011 re-release) CD www.robertbobby.com
Dizzy Bats “Mold” – Sundial CD www.dizzybatsmusic.com
Sidewalk Dave “Something About Me” – Hard On Romance CD www.sidewalkdave.com
The Como Brothers Band “Underneath It All” – The Speed Of Sound CD www.comobrothersband.com
Imani Coppola “Good For You” – The Glass Wall CD www.imanicoppola.com
Mike Breen & The Big Dream “Finest Recipe” – All Night Long CD www.facebook.com/mikebreenandthebigdream
Patrick Brooks “Lefty’s Song” – Rust And Weeds CD www.patrickbrooksmusic.com
Builder Of The House “Fire Dawn Breaking” – I Am A Tidal Wave CD www.builderofthehouse.com
Dana And Susan Robinson “American Hornpipe” – American Hornpipe CD www.robinsongs.com
Julia Rose “Broken Wooden Chair” – Stairway to the Moon CD www.juliarosemusic.com

Running time: 81 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
www.radiocrystalblue.net
www.facebook.com/radiocblue
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/rcblive012013.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with * symbols.
This show was distributed on 1/23/13.

Opening music:

Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Especially Now” – Flying High CD, and “Over The Edge” – As The Crow Flies CD www.professorlouie.com
********
von Grey “What Am I” – s/t EP www.vongreymusic.com
the matthew show “Me and Me & You” – Memphis CD www.thematthewshow.com
Gillen & Turk “Three” – Backs To The Wall CD www.gillenandturk.com
The Portraits “Too Close” – Counterbalance CD www.theportraitsmusic.com
Victoria Love “Yours for the Taking” – Just Breathe EP www.victorialovemusic.com
LiLi Roquelin “Thank You” – Beautiful Sun CD www.liliroquelin.com
Shara Strand “Seven Year Ache” – Born Tonight CD www.sharastrand.com
*********
*Brother Joscephus & The Love Revival Revolution Orchestra “Shine On” – Live At Brooklyn Bowl CD www.brotherjoscephus.com
*The Steel Wheels “Spider Wings” – Lay Down, Lay Low CD www.thesteelwheels.com
The Trapps “Feelin’ The Light” – Cheap Seats CD www.thetrapps.net
Bern & The Brights “As Long As I’m Alive” – Work CD www.bernandthebrights.com
Dubious Ranger “Home For Good” – The Devil’s Dating Service CD www.dubiousranger.com
V-Device “This City” – Calling Europe CD www.v-device.com
Franklin’s Key “Castles In Air” – Fantasm EP www.franklinskey.com
*****
CD Focus: The 1861 Project, Volume 2: From The Famine To The Front.
This CD series of 21 original songs remembers and honors the Scots-Irish and
Irish immigrants who fought in the Civil War. From the liner notes “Every
singer, player and writer on this album, has a strong connection to Ireland, by
ancestry, by birth or just by heart.” All songs performed by producer Thomm Jutz and backing band . www.1861project.com
From this CD I spun:
“Nancy Malone” (songwriters David Olney, Thomm Jutz)
“Old Berea Road” (Thomm Jutz, Peter Cronin, Stan Webb)
“Thunder” (Craig Market, Thomm Jutz)
**********
The Brehms “Red Dress” – s/t CD www.thebrehmsband.com
David Garlitz “Ton Petit Bebe” – s/t EP www.davidgarlitz.com
Marci Geller “Promets-Moi” – Open Book CD www.marcigeller.com
Anna Dagmar “Company” – Satellite CD www.annadagmar.com
*Carolann Solebello “Alice” – Threshold CD www.carolannsolebello.com
*The YaYas “Third Girl From The Left” – Paper Boats CD www.wearetheyayas.com
*The Kennedys “Winter Lies” – Closer Than You Know CD www.kennedysmusic.com
******
Lynn Hollyfield “The Waiting” – Layers CD www.lynnhollyfield.com
Lara Herscovitch “A Circle Drawn” – Four Wise Monkeys CD www.laraherscovitch.com
Jessi Robertson “The Travelers” – Small Town Girls CD www.jessirobertson.com
Kris Delmhorst “Midnight Ringer” – Shotgun Singer CD www.krisdelmhorst.com
*Vance Gilbert “Sara Smile” (bonus track) & “Boy On A Train” – Old White Men CD www.vancegilbert.com
*Patti DeRosa “Brights Lights” – Packing My Bags: Patti D Live CD www.pattiderosa.com
********
Closing music: Geoffrey Armes “After Dark” – Noor CD www.geoffreyarmes.com
Running time: 3 hours 53 minutos.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 1/27/13