Tag Archives: Debbie Chou

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 10/27/13


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
Podcast page: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
Via Internet Archive:
Stream:
Download:
You can share the audio player with the HTML code on the page.
All shows are archived for a year.
This show was published 10/30/13:
D.B. Rielly “Come Hell Or High Water” – Cross My Heart & Hope To Die CD www.dbrielly.com
Dean Kernoghan “Bonnie And Clyde” – Wherever You Go EP www.deankernoghan.com
Slim and Red “Too Late To Die” – Rebirth Through Fire CD www.slimandred.com
Herbie D And The Dangermen “Danger Man” – Dangerous With Blues CD www.herbiedandthedangermen.com
The Modeens “Drinkin’ Is A Full Time Job” – Electric Caribou CD www.themodeens.com
Fereshta “This Life & The Next” – Cultural Collision CD www.fereshta.com
Gena Perala “Life Is Hard” – Exactly Nowhere CD www.genaperala.com
Cole Hermer & The Ravens “California Breakdown” – Quoth The Raven EP www.colehermer.ca
Debi Smith “Haunted”- Hits & Holidays CD www.debismith.com
Jody Aaron “Bed Of Thorny Roses” – Rivers EP www.jodyaaron.com
Running time: 77 minutos
***
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 3.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at www.radiocrystalblue.net
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my 13-year-old freeform radio program, usually publishing Wednesdays or Thursdays in podcast format.
HOW TO LISTEN
There are now two main portals with which to listen to Radio Crystal Blue. I’ve recently built an account with www.archive.org and will republish every show along with the old standby Big Contact (which has been unresponsive in the last few days)
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
Via Internet Archive:
Play/download:
Ogg Vorbis format also available.
You can share the audio player with the HTML code on the page.
All shows are archived for a year.

Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with *

This show was published on 10/30/13, containing several RCB traditions.
“All of us trembling in our mortality boots, born to die…”
Opening music:
The Velvet Underground “I’m Set Free” – s/t CD
Lou Reed “Who Am I? (Tripitena’s Song)” – The Raven CD
Lou Reed “Dime Store Mystery” – New York CD
Lucibel Crater “Threadbare Funeral” – The Family Album CD www.lucibelcrater.com
Bettie Serveert “Stephanie Says” – Bettie Serveert Plays Venus In Furs and other Velvet Underground Songs www.bettieserveert.com
Luna “Going Home” – Bewitched CD
U2 “Satellite Of Love” – Achtung Baby CD

Rachael Sage “Haunted By You” – Haunted By You CD www.rachaelsage.com
Radio Free Universe “The Weight Of The Sky” – Thirteen Day Hangover CD
Kevin McWha Steele “At The Serial Killer Disco” -Ki & The Arrowtooth Waltz CD www.kevinmcwhasteele.com
BD Lenz “The Sea, The Sky” – Ready Or Not CD www.bdlenz.com
Brooks Williams “Mercury Blues” – New Everything CD www.brookswilliams.com
Beaucoup Blue “Bird Watching” – 4 Stories EP www.beaucoupblue.com
Jiggley Jones “Ain’t That Alright” – No Spring Chicken EP www.jiggleyjones.com
Ramones “You’re Gonna Kill That Girl” & “You Should Never Have Opened That Door ” – Leave Home CD
X “Nausea” – Los Angeles CD
False Prophets “Creatures Of The Woodwork” – Blind Roaches and Fat Vultures: Phantasmagorical Beats Of The Reagan Era compilation CD
Tania & The Revolutionaries “Epitaph” – Walk Away Clean EP
Fred Gillen Jr. “Halloween Day At The V.A.” – Silence Of The Night CD www.fredgillenjr.com
Black Vendetta “Breakaway” – Draconian Backlash CD
CD FOCUS: (A reoccuring series focus on outstanding new concept and compilation albums)
“Esperanza: Songs From Jack Kerouac’s ‘Tristessa’ ” brings the 1960 Kerouac novella to life, with music from leading indie songwriters and bands, along with readings from the novella. All songs are original, with some words lifted from the story. www.reimaginemusic.com
From this album I spun ”
William Fitzsimmons with Tim & Adam “First Page Of Kerouac’s ‘Tristessa’ ”
Tim & Adam “Billie Holliday Eyes”
Gregory Alan Isokov “O City Lights”
Peter Bradley Adams “She Has To Come Down”
Patti Smith “Dead City” – Peace And Noise CD
Beth Isbell “Freak” – We Are The Gods! CD www.bethisbell.com
Maura Kennedy “October” – Parade Of Echoes CD www.maurakennedy.com
GMT “Song For The End Of October” – Smooth Groove CD www.geoffreyarmes.com
Debbie Chou “Shame” – LoveBug CD
Goodnight Moonshine “End Of The World Blues” – s/t CD www.goodnightmoonshine.com
Susan Kane “I Know About Your Broken Heart” – A Word Child CD www.susankane.com
Dana And Susan Robinson “Who Killed Cock Robin” – American Hornpipe CD www.robinsongs.com
Sara Petite “Forever Blue” – Circus Comes To Town CD www.sarapetite.com
Lynn Hollyfield “Fall To Grace” – Layers CD www.lynnhollyfield.com
Chris Riffle “Trains” – Introducing Chris Riffle CD www.chrisriffle.com
Andrew Calhoun “Freedom Road” – Living Room CD www.andrewcalhoun.com

Closing music: Lou Reed “Halloween Parade (AIDS)” – New York CD
Running time: 4 hours, 1 minuto
Atmosphere: retro grating
***
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 3.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info: http://www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue 7/7/13 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: http://www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions http://www.mileshighproductions.com
Wampus Multimedia http://www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.

AUDIO version of this message: http://chirb.it/45yPyc

*****
HOW TO LISTEN: FEEDPLAYER
Look for a popup link on the home and archive pages at
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net When you click, it will open within the same
window. The player allows you to stream all recent shows, as well as
download and share them. Click the tabs within the player for more.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

FEEDPLAYER LINK:
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue
EMPIRE AVENUE http://www.empireavenue.com/radiocblue

STAT BLOG www.idealisticstats.wordpress.com
with updates at CHIRBIT: www.chirbit.com/radiocblue

the DAILY (auto-generated online newspaper with selected keywords and mentions from social media, updated each evening):
http://paper.li/radiocblue/1333586729
****
DONATIONS to Radio Crystal Blue can be made via the Paypal button at the homepage.
***
PROGRAMMING:
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about July 3 and will be available for about 1 year. I usually publish on Wednesdays or as soon as possible thereafter. You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground songwriters and bands.

RCB Novus Ordo is a separate podcast with 8 songs, one each from a brand new recording. I spin the music and give you some backstory of each.

CD FOCUS: I continue to seek very good concept/compilations for future shows, with albums I can feature track-for-track. Do you know of one? Send it along!
**
CHART: Quarterly Airplay Chart is now available on the Chart tab of the website. Aztec Two Step has charted well as of late, and gathers its first #1 quarterly ranking. Those with the most songs aired in the quarter include Meghan Cary, Dana & Susan Robinson (biggest debut this quarter) and Greg Klyma. Full details https://radiocrystalblue.net/chart-page/
5 YEARS AGO: Artists who debuted on RCB Novus Ordo in 2008 this week include Swampdawamp (this generation’s Lynyrd Skynyrd), The Paper Raincoat (Amber Rubarth, Alex Wong). In the standard rotation among the many that were heard, I gave you Marwood (Benji Rogers’ music project which would soon give way to his organization PledgeMusic), Deborah Lombardi, Sirsy, 3 Kisses (who have just released a new album), The Dollyrots (on Joan Jett’s label), Finespun, Spiraling (Tom Brislin’s former band), and Angelo M. Featured that week were Cassandra Kubinski, and the late Artie Traum.
And now to the present…
********
RCB Novus Ordo: The aforementioned pick up from where they leave off with a few new members, a new home base of Anchorage AK and a new album. Debbie Chou, late of NYC’s The Barrens, released her first solo album. Underhill Rose from Asheville NC is the newest female folk trio in the style of Red Molly reaching nationwide. Kagero I remember seeing years ago in NYC, with their practically trademark world/rock sound, and I’m happy to have debuted their latest here.
RCB proper: What prompted the opening music this week was the announcement of Kim Shattuck from The Muffs joining the Pixies for their 17-city Europe tour, and perhaps beyond. She’ll still front The Muffs tho. (“Agony” was the first I learned of theirs, back in the days when Iwas busy collecting magazine CD compilations). I spun music from both bands. Thee Headcoats were a fine example of UK garage rock, and you can hear where The White Stripes got some of their ideas from. Segment 1: Paul Sachs & Edie Carey shared billing at NYC’s Rockwood Music Hall on 7/2. The Como Brothers recently debuted a new EP with a slight blues/pop feel, fitting in nicely with the sound of soul/rock artist M’Balia and blues veterans Bob Corritore & John Primer. Segment 2: Schwervon! just released a video for “Cyclone”, a song heard here. We hear again from Boy + Kite and Ryan David Orr who have new albums themselves. Segment 3: Molasses Creek’s ‘Fiddler” Dave Tweedie put words in an old instrumental “Mississippi Sawyer”. Natalia Zukerman & James McMurtry here, the latter from a CD recorded on James’ first tour of Europe. Both are participating in the Blissfest Music Festival on 7/14, Harbor Springs, MI. Sasha Papernik with a long summery tune closing this segment. Final segment includes another pairing of The YaYas and Honor Finnegan, completing a month-long tour.
**************
AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:

Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
Keep physical packages of reasonable size and weight, as this is a residence.
Please indicate release date. Eligible CDs must have been released no earlier than September 2012. Material releasesd before that month will be added to RCB’s loose rotation instead.
Digital is acceptable if media is not available in other formats.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general email
list.

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit.
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: http://www.musicsubmit.com
MusicClout http://www.musicclout.com
Search for the words Radio Crystal Blue to find my pages there.
*********
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
twitter: @radiocblue
215 995 2234

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 6/30/13


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/rcbnew063013.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 7/3/13

A Moment Vanishing “The Only Feeling Worthy” – s/t CD www.danielchristianmusic.com www.markadamsmusic.com
2 The Nines “Rattus” – Oblivion CD www.2theninesmusic.com
Kagero “Rockstar In A Grocery Store” – Gumbo Du Jour CD www.kagero.com
3 Kisses “Terminal Adolescents” – All Or Nothing Hero CD www.3kisses.com
Debbie Chou “Midsummer” – Lovebug CD www.reverbnation.com/debbiechou
Stolen Thyme “Kickin’ Up Dust” – Time Is Possibility CD www.stolenthyme.com
Underhill Rose “Unused To You” – Something Real CD www.underhillrose.com
Gadi Caplan “Look back step forward” – Look Back Step Forward CD www.gadicaplan.com
Running time: 66 minutos
Moon: cloudswept chunkiness
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/rcblive063013.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with * symbols.
This show was distributed on 7/3/13

Opening music:
Thee Headcoats “Beach Bums Must Die” – Beach Bums Must Die CD
Pixies “Planet Of Sound” – Trompe Le Monde CD
The Muffs “Laying On A Bed Of Roses” – Blonder & Blonder
The Donnas “It’s On The Rocks” – Spend The Night
****
*Paul Sachs “City Weddings” – Oil Town CD www.paulsachs.com
*Edie Carey “Easy Now” – Bring The Sea CD www.ediecarey.com
Greg Smith & The Broken English “A Taste Of It All” – Times Like These CD www.gregsmithandthebrokenenglish.com
M’Balia “The Hard Sell” – Maybe CD www.mbalia.com
The Como Brothers “I Want To” – Still Waters EP www.comobrothersband.com
John Primer & Bob Corritore “Leanin’ Tree” – Knockin’ Around These Blues CD www.johnprimerblues.com www.bobcorritore.com
*****
Ryan David Orr “Ariel In Graylight, Stormy” – More Than Strangers CD www.ryandavidorr.com
Tweed Funk “Gettin Home” – Love Is… CD www.tweedfunk.com
Simon McBride “Home To Me” – Crossing The Line CD www.simonmcbride.com
Schwervon! “Cyclone” – Courage CD www.schwervon.com
Boy + Kite “On July” – We Can Go Anywhere We Want EP www.boypluskite.com
***
Molasses Creek “Mississippi Sawyer” – An Island Out Of Time CD www.molassescreek.com
*Natalia Zukerman “Howard Hughes” – Gas Station Roses CD www.nataliazukerman.com
*James McMurtry “You’d A’Thought (Leonard Cohen Must Die)” – Live In Europe CD www.jamesmcmurtry.com
Meghan Cary “Lost You In The Light” – Building This House CD www.meghancary.com
Jodie Levinson “Proud” – Strong Enough EP www.jodielevinson.com
Sasha Papernik “Tall Grass” – Victory CD www.sashatheband.com
****
Shane Cooley “Loyalty” – When It Rains, It Pours CD www.shanecooleymusic.com
Greg Klyma “I’m Proud” – Pianomandonation CD www.klyma.com
Brick Fields “Change” – Shambhala CD www.brickfieldsmusic.com
*The YaYas “Last Good One” – Paper Boats CD www.wearetheyayas.com
*Honor Finnegan “We Are Hearts” – The Tiny Life CD www.honorfinnegan.com
Dana & Susan Robinson “Sailing Around Cape Solstice” – American Hornpipe CD www.robinsongs.com

******

Running time: 2 hours 53 minutos (that’s it)
Moon: cloud n’ rocks
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 7/7/13

Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net