Tag Archives: Paul Sawtelle

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo week of 3/22/15 shows


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new
music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists
eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and
download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
All shows accessed via this player are archived for one year.
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Stitcher (iPhone, iPod, Android):
NEW: Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this weeks’s show via Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com   Join and add radiocblue  or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute
for the full show)  If it’s not available for your devices, please request the widget
code to place on your site or blog.
This show was published 3/25/15
Roxanna “Here With Me” www.roxannamusic.com
Paul Sawtelle & The Brotherhood Of Soul “If You Want Me To Stay” – Virtual Insanity CD www.paulsawtelle.com
Spuyten Duyvil “Reno Factory” – The Social Music Hour, Volume 1 CD www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
The Gantry “Broken Glass” – Years And Years CD www.thegantrymusic.com
Hans York “Broken Shell” – Spellbound CD www.hansyork.com
Wes Speight “My Love Cliché” – Transmigration CD www.wessp8.blogspot.com
***
Running time:  52 minutes
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist
without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook/Twitter/Clammr: radiocblue
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue, in its 15th year, is a weekly podcast that features top
songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform
format.
HOW TO LISTEN
Via Big Contact:
There are a number of options on the page and in the player to stream and
download, as well as to embed the player on your site or blog.
All shows accessed via this player are archived for one year.
Shows on this website are kept in perpetuity.
Stitcher (iPhone, iPod, Android):
NEW: Listen to samples of each song I have aired in this week’s show via  Clammr:
http://www.clammr.com   Join and add radiocblue  or access below:
Clammr can be accessed via iPod, iPhone and iTunes (but is not a substitute for the full show)  If it’s not available for your devices, please request the widget code to place on your site or blog.
This show was published 3/27/15
Opening music: Patty Larkin “New Hotel” – Still Green CD http://www.pattylarkin.com
****
These artists are being showcased as part of this weekend’s Singer Songwriter Cape May event http://www.sscapemay.com :
Paige Allbritton “Me Instead” – Glue Me Together CD http://www.paigeallbritton.com
Kaydi Johnson “Not An Ordinary God” – No Gods Allowed CD http://www.kaydijohnsong.com
Kevin McWha Steele “Virginia Reel” – s/t CD http://www.kevinmcwhasteele.com
Jiggley Jones “Nothing So Natural” – A Mountain, A Struggle, A Tunnel, A Light EP http://www.jiggleyjones.com
James Hearne “Strange The Way” –  http://www.schwaejames.com
The Coteries “Be Here Today” – s/t EP http://www.thecoteries.com
Avi Wisnia “More Than Me” – Something New CD http://www.aviwisnia.com
Lynn Hollyfield “Spring” – In The Balance CD http://www.lynnhollyfield.com
Dan & Faith “Sunday Mornings” – Simple Grace CD http://www.danandfaith.com
****
Butcher’s Blind “OPP” – Destination Blues sampler CD http://www.butchersblind.com
Herbie D & The Dangermen “Three Of A Kind” – Dangerous With Blues CD http://www.herbiedandthedangermen.com
Tom Principato “Run Out Of Time” – Robert Johnson Told Me So CD http://www.tomprincipato.com
Fred Gillen Jr. “Fall Down” – Wage Love CD http://www.fredgilllenjr.com
Olio “Show Goes On” – s/t CD http://www.oliomusic.com
Sirsy “Picture” – Coming Into Frame CD http://www.sirsy.com
Aradia “The Light” – Citizen Of Earth CD http://www.aradiamusic.com
***
These artists are part of the Berkalin Records Festival, Round Top, TX, 3/28:
Matt Harlan “Burgundy & Blue” – Raven Hotel CD http://www.mattharlan.com
Curtis McMurtry “Eleanor’s House” – Respectable Enemy CD http://www.curtismcmurtrymusic.com
Jim Patton & Sherry Brokus “Drown” – The Great Unknown CD http://www.pattonbrokus.com
Libby Koch “The Other Side” – Tennessee Colony CD http://www.libbykoch.com
****
Red Molly “Lay Your Burden Down” – The Red Album CD http://www.redmolly.com
Lisa Biales “Sad Sad Sunday” – Belle Of The Blues CD http://www.lisabiales.com
Star Anna “Hymns We Sang” – The Sky Is Falling CD http://www.staranna.com
Mary Gauthier “Oh Soul” – Trouble & Love CD http://www.marygauthier.com
***
*Jesse Terry “Barbed Wire” – Stay Here With Me CD http://www.jesseterrymusic.com
*Craig Bickhardt “Gourd Vine” – The More I Wonder CD http://www.craigbickhardt.com
Jeff Brown “Rain” – Last Chance CD http://www.jeffbrownmusic.com
Mare Wakefield & Nomad “Empty” – Poet On The Moon CD http://www.marewakefield.com
Rob McHale “Wishing Well” – Fields CD http://www.robmchale.com
Bar Scott “Running Away” – Journey CD http://www.barscott.com
Lara Herscovitch “A Circle Drawn”- Four Wise Monkeys CD http://www.laraherscovitch.com
Debra Cowan “Darling Corey” – Among Friends CD http://www.debracowan.com
Closing music: DJ Flowerdove “Spectrum” http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisenichols
Running time: 189 minutes
Atmosphere: rain rain runoff
Recorded in stereo to 128kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format using Audacity
software.
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version
4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist
without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal
button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.netThanks for listening!
Dan
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook/twitter/clammr: radiocblue
2159952234
2535371096
Advertisements

@ Jazzbones, Tacoma, 3/1/15


Boutique record label Maurice The Fish Records presented rock and electronica at the venerable Jazzbones here in Tacoma. A standard bar takes up the left side of the venue, with table seating and a large raised stage to the right. The Sunday Sessions, held the first Sunday of each month, are now into its 3rd year.

Officially supporting tonight’s artists were the principals of Seattle Wave Radio, an eclectic radio presence in the city for a number of years, and Cindy Teixeira of music blog Brown Bag Alley and manager of local rock band FallStreak.

Tonight, I was present to see Aradia, a Seattle songwriter who shares NYC roots with yours truly. A striking, tall blonde with the soul of an adventurer, plus an earnest voice, Aradia focuses her music and lyrics around the cause of humankind itself and our place in the Universe. The set comprised all originals, save one Blondie cover “Call Me”. All but two songs in the set were from the new album “Citizen Of Earth”. One can certainly hear Blondie in the overall sound, though there is also the faraway introspective material that leans one’s ear towards someone like Bjork. Her willingness to connect to people’s minds and hearts is the most notable aspect of her personality. She often gestured with arms outstretched while singing. She won the favor of Seattle Wave Radio after initially placing 5th, then 2nd in a band-battle competition last autumn. My favorite selection of the show was a definitive trip-hop song “So Long”, referencing faraway transmissions. Aradia wore a spacey number (which she claimed on stage was actually her bathrobe), a gorgeous silver gown over black diamond-studded tights, and red pumps. Her band was on drums, bass, guitar, and she occasionally played an Arturia Minibrute synth (100% analog!).  Tacoma gets another opportunity to see Aradia on March 14 at The Spar, a venue with a rather storied past in the city’s history.

156 144 132 100

Opening for Aradia was a supergroup of local and regional bands titled Monsters In The Dark. Raymond Hayden, proprietor of Maurice The Fish Records, held court on keyboards in this 8-piece band, complete with a trio of spirited female vocalists, guitars, bass and sax. Having a big band and a diverse sound, steeped in rock, you knew you were in for a good time. They performed thoughtful original tunes, and several Pink Floyd covers. As for the supergroup angle, for starters: alto/soprano saxman Paul Sawtelle has his Brotherhood Of Soul; vocalist Jessica Lynne fronts her band Jessica Lynne & The Cousins. Veteran songwriter Regan Lane of power-pop band Strangely Alright, took a turn sharing lead vocals.

078 074 047 042

More photos from this event at Facebook