Tag Archives: Javi Garcia

Radio Crystal Blue news for 5/19/13


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: http://www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions http://www.mileshighproductions.com
Wampus Multimedia http://www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.

AUDIO version of this message: http://chirb.it/OsnaKE
*****
HOW TO LISTEN: FEEDPLAYER
Look for a popup link on the home and archive pages at
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net When you click, it will open within the same
window. The player allows you to stream all recent shows, as well as
download and share them. Click the tabs within the player for more.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

FEEDPLAYER LINK:
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue (help! I’m at my follow limit!)
EMPIRE AVENUE http://www.empireavenue.com/radiocblue

EXTRACURRICULAR:
STAT BLOG http://www.idealisticstats.wordpress.com
IDEALISTIC SPORT: http://www.bigcontact.com/idealisticsport (updated every Friday!)
the DAILY (auto-generated online newspaper with selected keywords and
mentions from social media, updated each evening):
http://paper.li/radiocblue/1333586729
*******
PROGRAMMING:
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about May 22 and will be available
for about 1 year. I usually publish on Wednesdays or as soon as
possible thereafter. You will hear music in several segments of top
indie/DIY/underground songwriters and bands.

RCB Novus Ordo is a separate podcast with 10 songs, one each
from a brand new recording. I spin the music and give you some backstory of
each.

PROGRAMMING NOTE: Coming up this week is the final of 3 sessions from Ravi Shankar’s “The Living Room Sessions, Part 2”. More info at http://www.eastmeetswestmusic.com http://www.ravishankar.org

DONATIONS to Radio Crystal Blue and to the cause for superb quality freeform radio may be sent via the PayPal button at the home page.

***
While I fight some depressive moments in the midst of a job hunt (I’ve been out for months, people), avoiding a lot of extracurricular activity, I am bravely going out tonight to cover an event, first one in nearly 2 months. The Miners, whom are part of the 5/12/13 podcast, are performing at Milkboy Philly, in the heart of Center City. http://www.minersmusic.com I aim to provide a review plus photo and video.
It’s also a very busy week handicapping/investing, as, yes, I am also focused on the horse racing action at Pimlico and the Preakness Stakes. Later on Friday I will publish a podcast that covers some of the action here and other sports. The podcast is called Idealistic Sport http://www.idealisticstats.wordpress.com Idealistic Sport podcast is available in its own FeedPlayer on that blog page.

********
RCB Novus Ordo: Edgar Breau was the founder of 70’s Canadian rock band Simply Saucer. He returns with his latest solo effort kicking off this show. Couple of strong voices and songwriting are heard on this show, from both Heather Maloney and Zoe Mulford (a loose concept sort of album “Coyote Wings”).


RCB proper: I came into permission of spinning songs of some top artists from several genres and so you hear a few new names in the mix. Kevin Russell of The Gourds leads his own Americana/roots project Shinyribs. Also new are Texas songwriters Javi Garcia and Dustin Welch beginning segment 1. Both roots songwriters are sharing billing at the Cheatham Street Warehouse in San Marcos on May 18. Jack Grace Band and Miss Tess also sharing billing at something called Skunk Funk. It’s happening at the Nelson Odeon in Cazenovia NY, May 25. Love the song by M’Balia referencing guys’ names and their shortcomings in “YooHoo”. Chastity Brown’s music impresses me the more I listen to her grown-up soulful sound, a sound not unlike M’Balia’s tho less pop-oriented. Segment 2: The aforementioned Miners finally get their debut from an album released earlier in 2013. I had first seen the Philly roots band 2 years ago. Late Cambrian returns with a new album. Segment 3: Coming out of depression is a personal theme for me this week, and it made manifest in this segment, notably from new music by Durham NC’s Jon Shain. This was paired with Vance Gilbert and Liz Longley (Vance is a capital F fan of Liz’s). And speaking of, Liz, along with Nerissa & Katryna Nields and Sloan Wainwright are some of the principal performers in this year’s Muses In The Vineyard, May 18, Belvidere NJ. Final segment was extended as I honored a request for a couple of songs (Geoffrey Armes, Hank Stone). What arose was a seafaring theme for the first 6 songs. Included is Debra Cowan, from a UK folk club recording, singing in a capella form both a Rudyard Kipling poem and a John Connolly song. The much-lauded songwriter Jess Klein debuts here in the mix as well. 
**************
AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:

Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
Keep physical packages of reasonable size and weight, as this is a residence.
CDs MUST have been released no earlier than June 2012.
If material is from 2011, it will be added to RCB’s loose rotation instead.
Digital is acceptable if media is not available in other formats.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general email
list.
I’m also seeking music for Idealistic Sport. For this show, the music should be upbeat and appropo toward sports programming.

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit.
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: http://www.musicsubmit.com
MusicClout http://www.musicclout.com
Search for the words Radio Crystal Blue to find my pages there.
*********
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
twitter: @radiocblue
215 995 2234 

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 5/12/13


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/rcbnew051213.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssThis show was distributed on 5/15/13
Edgar Breau “Dreams Of Kerouac” – Patches Of Blue CD www.edgarbreau.com
Charm & Chain “Broken Track” – Heliacal Rise CD www.facebook.com/charmchain
We Are Voices “Difference” – Tread Lightly CD www.wearevoices.com
Stella! “Back To The Roots” – Sorry, Stella CD www.thestellagirls.com
Southbound Drive “South By Way Of Hell” – Agnes CD www.southbounddrive.com
Marshall Peery Project “Daddy Wrote A Song” – Life’s Too Short CD www.reverbnation.com/marshallpeery
Heather Maloney “Darlene” – s/t CD www.heathermaloney.com
Between Naybors “Wishing Well” – Gateway CD www.betweennaybors.com
Zoe Mulford “When The Coffee’s All Gone” – Coyote Wings CD www.zoemulford.com
Running time: 67 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at www.radiocrystalblue.net
Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/rcblive051213.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssArtists who are sharing gigs are denoted with * symbols.
This show was distributed on 5/15/13

Opening music:
Nigel Hayes “Under The Bridge” – Northern Lights EP www.intelligentaudio.net
*********
*Javi Garcia “Nightfall” – The Great Controversy CD www.thecoldcoldground.com
*Dustin Welch “Things I Cannot Change” – Tijuana Bible CD www.dustinwelch.com
**Jack Grace “Drink A Little Hooch” – Drinking Songs For Lovers CD www.jackgrace.com
**Miss Tess “People Come Here For Gold” – Sweet Talk CD www.misstessmusic.com
Eilen Jewell “Over Again” – Queen Of The Minor Key CD www.eilenjewell.com
Shinyribs “Sweet Potato” – Gulf Coast Museum CD www.shinyribs.com
M’Balia “YooHoo” – Maybe CD www.mbalia.com
Chastity Brown “Leroy” – Back-Road Highways CD www.chastitybrownmusic.com
********
The Symbols “Two Shades Of Blue” – Be Here Now CD www.thesymbols.net
The Miners “W.T.A.” – Miners’ Rebellion CD www.minersmusic.com
The Mad Tea Party “Found A Reason” – Found A Reason CD www.themadtea.wordpress.com
Wormburner “Meanwhile Corey Lee” – Placed By The Gideons CD www.wormburnerband.com
Delorentos “Pace Yourself” – Little Sparks CD www.delerentos.net
Late Cambrian “Recipe” – Peach CD www.latecambrian.com
*********
CD FOCUS: Ravi Shankar: The Living Room Sessions, Part 2 www.eastmeetswestmusic.com
Three sessions from the legendary Eastern musician were recorded October 2011 at his home in Encinitas CA, likely the last recordings ever made of his music. Part 1 won a Grammy for Best World Music Album.
This week I spun Session 6: Raga Sindgi Bhairavi
*******
Comic Tales Of Tragic Heartbreak “A Kind Of Answered Prayer” – s/t CD www.comictalesoftragicheartbreak.com
Greg Klyma “Limb” – Pianomandnation CD www.klyma.com
Jon Shain “Decompression” – Ordinary Cats CD www.jonshain.com
Vance Gilbert “Helpless Man” – Old White Men CD www.vancegilbert.com
*Liz Longley “This Is Not The End” – s/t CD www.lizlongley.com
*Nerissa & Katryna Nields “Between Friends” – The Full Catastrophe CD www.nields.com
*Sloan Wainwright “Live Out The Best Of Your Life” – Upside Down & Under My Heart CD www.sloanwainwright.com
************
Brick Fields “Arkansas Rain” – Shambhala CD www.brickfieldsmusic.com
Katie Ainge “Lighthouse” – Now Or Never EP www.katieainge.com
Hank Stone “Sailor’s Haven” – Until I Saw That Train CD www.hankstone.net
Geoffrey Armes “Sea Lanes” – Elemental Red CD www.geoffreyarmes.com
Debra Cowan “My Boy Jack/Widowmaker” – Among Friends CD www.debracowan.com
Dana and Susan Robinson “Sailing Around Cape Solstice” – American Hornpipe CD www.robinsongs.com
*Avi Wisnia “Sunday Afternoon” – Avi Wisnia Presents CD www.aviwisnia.com
*Jess Klein “Learning Faith” – Behind A Veil CD www.jessklein.com
Patti DeRosa “Little Glass Of Wine” – Packing My Bags: Patti D Live CD www.pattiderosa.com

****
Closing music: Juaneco y su combo “Ya Se Ha Muerto Mi Abuelo” – Masters Of Chicha Volume 1 CD www.barbesrecords.com
Running time: 4 hours 17 minutes.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.orgNext show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 5/19/13
Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net