Tag Archives: On The Water music

Radio Crystal Blue & RCB Novus Ordo 11/25/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)

www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/rcbnew112512.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssThis show was distributed on 11/28/12

Marcelo Quinonez “Willing” – Cabin Fever EP www.canicamusic.com
On The Water “Cat/Patience” – Anchor EP www.weareonthewater.com
Freddy Hall & The Best Intentions “Train Wreck” – Wander Years CD www.freddyhallmusic.com
Flashbulb Fires “The Whale” -Gasconder CD www.flashbulbfires.com
Edith Crash “Comme Avant” – De L’Autre Côté CD www.edithcrash.com
Kara McGraw “Carolina” – The Hound & The Hare CD www.karamcgraw.com
Bern & The Brights “War & Games” – Work CD www.bernandthebrights.com
Brian Dolzani “Before Goodnight” – If I Don’t Speak A Word CD www.briandolzani.com
Running time: 64 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org 

Here’s RCB proper: 

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/rcblive112512.mp3

 

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssThis show was distributed on 11/28/12.

Artists who are appearing at events together are marked by * and **


Opening music: Nigel Hayes “Late” – Tales From The Shed Part 1 EP www.intelligentaudio.net

**************

The Universal Thump “Opening Night” – s/t CD www.theuniversalthump.com

The Kennedys “Marina Dream” – Closer Than You Know CD www.kennedysmusic.com

Joy Mills “Lake” – Trick Of The Eye CD www.joymills.com

Marc Berger “A Bottle Of Wine, A Suitcase, An Umbrella” – Ride CD www.marcbergermusic.com

 

*Karen Collins & The Backroads Band “She Dreams” – No Yodeling On The Radio CD www.karencollins.net

 

*Flo Anito “No Good” – No Dustbunnies CD www.floanito.com

**********************

 

Brother Joscephus & The Love Revival Revolution Orchestra “Shine On” – Live At Brooklyn Bowl CD www.brotherjoscephus.com
Good Co. “Jazz Player” – Electro Swing For The Masses CD www.goodcomusic.com
Ki & The Arrowtooth Waltz “Lovely Madonna” – Entre-vouz! CD www.kevinmcwhasteele.com
At Sea “Prove Me Wrong” – A New Machine CD ww.atseamusic.com
The Slants “Sew Hearts” – The Yellow Album www.theslants.com
Kosmic Daydream “Last Laugh” – Psychosomatic Playground CD www.kosmicdaydream.com
**************

 

CD Focus: The 1861 Project, Volume 2: From The Famine To The Front.
This CD series of 21 original songs remembers and honors the Scots-Irish and Irish immigrants who fought in the Civil War. From the liner notes “Every singer, player and writer on this album, has a strong connection to Ireland, by ancestry, by birth or just by heart.” All songs performed by producer Thomm Jutz and a number of others. www.1861project.com
From this CD I spun:
“The American Wake” (co-write between Thomm Jutz, Peter Cronin, John Hadley) – Maura O’Connell on lead vox.
“Walking All The Way To Tennessee” (Pat Alger, Thomm Jutz) – vox by Pat Alger and Britt Savage
“The Stonewall Of The West” (Jutz, Cronin, Hadley) – Jim Rooney on vox.

*************


The Steel Wheels “Know Your Name” – Lay Down, Lay Low CD www.thesteelwheels.com

Carsie Blanton “Lonely No More” – Idiot Heart CD www.carsieblanton.com

Megan Slankard “You And Your Bright Ideas” – A Token Of The Wreckage CD www.meganslankard.com

Sloan Wainwright “Today” – Upside Down & Under My Heart CD www.sloanwainwright.com

Meredith Blis “Such A Lovely Girl” – A Purple Kind Of Blue CD www.meredithblis.com

Kris Delmhorst “Brand New Sound” – Shotgun Singer CD www.krisdelmhorst.com

***************

Anais Mitchell “You Are Forgiven” – Young Man In America CD www.anaismitchell.com

Patricia Silverberg “When I Am With You” – Don’t Look Back CD www.patriciasilverberg.com
Jean Mann “The Moon Said So” – Dream Of Goats CD www.jeanmann.net
Mark Erelli “I Took The Moon For A Walk” – Little Vigils CD www.markerelli.com
Craig Sonnenfeld “November’s Song” – Angels, Lovers And Fools CD www.craigsonnenfeld.com

 

*************

 

Closing music: Juaneco Y Su Combo “Linda Nena” – Masters Of Chicha Volume 1 CD www.barbesrecords.com

 

Running time: 3 hours, 21 minutos.All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 12/2/12

Advertisements

@ Milkboy Philly 10/11/12


This show at Milkboy Philly was nearly off my radar until the prior evening. Two weeks prior I had received a postcard (remember those?) from Brooklyn’s Food Will Win The War, mentioning this particular event. I filed it away and paid a bit more attention to emails alerting me to other events. Then I heard from Marc Cantone, who fronts the Brooklyn indie pop band The City And Horses, asking whether I’d like to attend. I said, sure, with barely any recollection of who else was on the bill. So I check out the lineup online…it’s Food Will Win The War, The City And Horses, and…wait for it….big local favorites The Way Home! Plus there was West Philly Americana hybrid band On The Water as the opener. From what I recall, Food Will Win The War and On The Water have shared bills previously, as has the latter band with The Way Home.
The audience was pretty vocal throughout and thinned out a bit later. The sound at Milkboy was strong all through the evening.
On The Water are a large ensemble perform songs with their lead singer Fletcher Van Vliet commanding in ragged voice, not unlike Tom Waits. The music is even-tempered in waltz time for the most part, and rides the chemistry of the band, who were eight-strong tonight. Instruments were two acoustics, banjo, snare drum, toy piano, bass, fiddle. A lot of hollerin’, a bit of croonin’.
   
The City & Horses provide unsophisticated indie pop with lots of lyrical and guitar-based hooks. They introduced a new guy on bass. Marc also introduced his day job co-worker Carlie (sp?) on backing vox for a few songs.
VIDEO Of The City & Horses with Carlie taking the lead
Food Will Win The War are billed as ‘glockenspiel rock’, tho I have to admit I barely could hear said glockenspiel in their set. Rockin’ the glock’ is Devlin Rodriguez, whom I’m told was once was part of this band.  This six-piece band grooves has lead rhythm guitar by tall baritone Rob Ward, anchored on keys and accordion by the well-groomed Scott Stein, and others checking in bass, drums, and a rather animated fiddler. This was the final night of a 8-city East Coast tour outside of the home base in Brooklyn. They perform 10/17 at Bowery Electric during the big CMJ Music Marathon. The band is big on chemistry and good harmonies. Having been around for about 10 years plus, they know exactly how to deliver a good show, even when it doesn’t rock out fully.
The Way Home are beginning to tour around the region themselves, with upcoming shows in DC, western PA, eastern MA, CT, and upper NY.
This was the band’s first fully acoustic show, a bit different from a similar gig performed at Sine Studios that I covered for you way back when. James rocked the acoustic, with Daniel Drago on bass, Nick Hughes on drums, Henry Nam on accordion, an instrument he was just beginning to learn. Henry sounded just wonderful on the accordion, making it sound like a Rhodes, having me forget this was an acoustic set. A truly clever, well-thought set and arrangement was experienced. James would intro each song either promoting the CD, talk about the lyrics, shout out a few folks, or otherwise would say “This is ‘The Way Home’ “. They didn’t have to break the fourth wall. It was at tho, despite the mild turnout, that one could easily connect with the band’s ethos. And if that doesn’t grab you, you should have been singing along with the 4-part harmonies (kind of the way The Eagles did). I was.
After the show I caught up with Dave DeHart, who is in the bands The Gang Age and Donovan Rice‘s band The Standing Cinema. I had seen both bands last summer at The M Room, and covered this event last summer