Tag Archives: Mr. Hunter

Radio Crystal Blue and RCB Novus Ordo 10/7/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/rcbnew100712.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 10/10/12

Interstate Buffalo “Cousin” – One Step Away CD www.interstatebuffalo.com
Black Cherry “Just the Other Day” – Defying Gravity CD www.blackcherry.ca
The Boxing Lesson “Cassiopeia” – Muerta EP www.facebook.com/theboxinglesson
Jetpacks And Laser Guns “1969” – s/t EP www.jetpacksandlaserguns.com
Achilles Wheel “Slow Train” – Thirteen Hours CD www.achilleswheel.com
Tilford Sellers & The Wagon Burners “You Always Shut Me Down” – Heartaches, Lies And Cheating Songs CD www.tilfordsellers.com
Bobtown “Magilla Lee ” – Trouble I Wrought CD www.bobtownmusic.com
Jesse Terry “Bitterroot Valley” – Empty Seat On A Plane CD www.jesseterrymusic.com
****************
Running time: 57 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3 https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/rcblive100712.mp3
This show was distributed on 10/10/12.

Artists who are appearing at events together are marked by * and **


Opening music: Pamela Wyn Shannon “Tis Rambetide in Ambleside” – Courting Autumn CD http://www.facebook.com/pages/Pamela-Wyn-Shannon/192567270765711
***************
Nerissa and Katryna Nields “Back At The Fruit Tree” – The Full Catastrophe CD www.nields.com
Ellis “Right On Time” – Right On Time CD www.ellis-music.com
Meghan Cary “Live!” – Building This House CD www.meghancary.com
John Brodeur “Easier” – Tiger Pop Ten CD www.johnbrodeur.com
Mr. Hunter “The Corner” – The First Chapter: A Story By Mr. Hunter CD www.mrhunterband.com
MJ Hibbett & The Validators “Don’t Darren Don’t” – Dinosaur Planet CD www.mjhibbett.com
*************
Tweed Funk “Fragile” – Love Is CD www.tweedfunk.com
Aqua Cherry “Oh” – Drowning In The Shallow End CD www.reverbnation.com/aquacherryband
Frank Palangi “I’m Waiting” – s/t EP www.reverbnation.com/frankpalangi
Add Moss “Precious Waste” – In Self-Defense Of The World CD www.addmoss.com
Bound By Substance “Garden State Prison” – Dead Wrong EP www.boundbysubstance.com
EndAnd “Far In Between” – Adventures Of Hi-Fi In Space EP www.facebook.com/endandmusic
*************
Chuck Schaeffer “Along These Lines” – Along These Lines CD www.chuckschaeffer.com
Marc Berger “Twister” – Ride CD www.marcbergermusic.com
Sam Otis Hill & Co. “My Texan Friend” – Sand and Gravel CD www.samotishill.com
Lily Wilson “Looking For Reasons” – harbour CD www.lilywilson.com
Mare Wakefield “If We Go, You Go” – Meant To Be CD www.marewakefield.com
**********
Molasses Creek “Scat Reel Set” – An Island Out Of Time CD www.molassescreek.com
Devon Sproule “The Easier Way” – Don’t Hurry For Heaven! CD www.devonsproule.com
Tyler Spooner “Dancing On The Sidewalk” – Forgetting To Remember EP www.tylerspooner.com
Craig Sonnenfeld “All My Better Angels” – Angels, Lovers And Fools CD www.craigsonnenfeld.com
Lynn Hollyfield “Layers” – Layers CD www.lynnhollyfield.com
**********
Closing music: Gabrielle Roth & The Mirrors “Speaking Curves” – Jhoom: The Intoxication Of Surrender CD
www.ravenrecording.net
Running time: 2 hours, 40 minutos.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 10/14/12

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
www.radiocrystalblue.net
www.facebook.com/radiocblue
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue 4/15/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Serge Entertainment Public Relations www.sergepr.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
*************************************************************************
HOW TO LISTEN:
Feed Player at my home page of www.radiocrystalblue.net It is active as a
popup window. Within the page you can stream/share/download the audio. You
can put the player up on your site or blog too.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This is the magic link to the popup player. It’s also at the home and
archive tabs of my website
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: (spot my Western Haiku) www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK: (no Haiku but..achoo) http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group (dormant like your favorite volcano. This must change)
http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/
LINKEDIN: (biz) http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
REVERBNATION: (dormant too) www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue
VIDEO content: (not dormant for long) http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
that TWITTER thang @radiocblue
STAT BLOG (updated, and another coming Saturday): www.cblue456.tumblr.com
************************************************
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about April 18 and will be available for
about 4 months beyond. Owing to schedule demands, I usually aim for noon
Wednesdays or as soon as possible thereafter.
You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground
songwriters and bands.
RCB Novus Ordo will also air separately. On this show I spin one song from
as many as 8 songs in one sitting and give you background info of each
artist.

*********************************************************************************
I can’t absolutely promise a show for Wednesday next week, as I’m getting this PC serviced on Sunday. It needs a general tune-up, plus more RAM and an external hard drive. It all depends on how available the RAM is. The PC is about 6 years young and could really use the upgrade. The waiting for sites to appear and emails to reply to just sap your DJ’s productivity at times. In the interim, I’ll likely be without said PC for a few days at worst.

PHOTOS: Having not done a photo album in a few weeks, finding myself in the Old City section of Philly, I figured I’d follow my intuition and take you with me on a freelance tour of several other old sections of town. Evidence here: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151492582955725.839968.684570724&type=1&l=280b4414a1
Tonight I’ll be covering an event at JR’s Bar here in South Philly. A Little Affair, pop-oriented rock trio from South Jersey, is in my focus. www.alittleaffairmusic.com
Showing some RCB LOVE to these folks that banged the drum about my show, all through the tubes. Right back atcha:
Severin Browne www.severinbrowne.com
Jodi Arlyn www.jodiarlyn.com
Michelle Fortier www.trespassmusic.com
John Roy Zat www.royzat.com
Jeanette Lundgren www.motherhenpromotions.com
Dance Hall Pimps www.dancehallpimps.com
Kellylee Evans www.kellyleeevans.com
Ariel Hyatt and all at @cyperpr
Helen Austin @helenaustin
The K’s @theks
Twitter action this week reveals these thoughts:
*My favorite venues and towns to recite on my shows.
*An underused software that rivals anything by Microsoft
*Discovery of caffeine-laden jerky. This, following discovery of a great coffee substitute.
*the words I chose for #replacebandnameswithbacon and @herestothe90s
*the introductory order of inspired rock phrases that have no connection but it was fun trying
*yes, Western Haiku. Unlike Western omelette (not safe for Twitter)
Um, there was a fire a block away during a red flag warning. It can happen to an old house. Be watchful as I said earlier that day. That day, when 2 firefighters in Kensington lost their lives in an early morning blaze.
Reading a book I picked up at Molly’s, a book/record store (YES, these exist) within the Italian Market. “Women Of The Beat Generation” chronicles the poets, writers, visual artists and others prominent in the San Francisco Renaissance and Greenwich Village scenes. Many names referenced that I never knew of. A great book from 1996.
*************************************************
TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: These are the last 5 folks that I’m following who
follow back: @jonathanlulich @thebarryband @Get_Bumble @westucker @GailNCalifornia
*****************************************************
COVERAGE:
I do audio interviews, photos, video, and audio of live events. You can see
and hear evidence across my Facebook and YouTube channels, plus the field
recording FeedPlayer.Time, location and expense will be taken into account
before taking on a job.
********************************************************************
RCB REVIEW: The annotated version of my shows.
On RCB Novus Ordo: Mr. Hunter returns with a concept album “The First Chapter”, with reflections on “life, nature, dreams, and following what you believe in.”. Dance Hall Pimps are a firebrand of greasy swampy blues rock; they come courtesy of sponsor Miles High Productions. Jon Sobel’s NYC roots rock band Whisperado returns with a 4th member (pedal steel) and their first full-length album. Severin Browne is the brother of Jackson Browne; he debuts on this show as well. Dave Kleiner & Liz Pagan are founders of NJ’s The Folk Project, and often sing of rural NJ life.
RCB proper: I began this show with my favorite Dylan tune”Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues”, I also aired a snippet of Earl Scruggs’ “Back To The Cross” while I recited the opening lines to Jack Kerouac’s 1952 novel “Tristessa”. At once I was reflecting Juarez, Mexico at large, the rain, and …wasn’t it just Easter, as Dylan sings in the opening? Segment 1 starts with old folk sounds from Andrew McKnight (AP Carter) and Kris Delmhorst (e.e. cummings). 2 songs with similar chords and feel followed from Jack Grace and Yarn.  Segment 2: The Symbols & Fierce Bad Rabbit are among the teeming dozens performing at this year’s FoCoMx (Fort Collins, CO) festival this weekend. I thoroughly enjoy the incendiary sounds of Lukas Nelson (Willie’s son) & Promise Of The Real. The song “Wasn’t that great” has a strong Neil Young & Crazy Horse feel to it. Segment 3: Raina Rose & Rebecca Loebe are doing their Flourida tour (Florida & tour). Lauren Adams hosts the monthly Americana Music Cicle in Los Angeles. I spun her cover of an Ernest Troost song, following up with one of Ernest’s off his “Live At McCabe’s” CD. He is the featured artist at Lauren’s latest Circle. Segment 4: Debuted (the) Debbie Miller’s new EP, experimenting with a few new sounds.

AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:
Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
CDs MUST have a 2012 release date or have been released no earlier than July
2011. No exceptions.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general (not
local/regional) email list.

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: www.musicsubmit.com.
(For those in Australia) GIG LAUNCH: www.giglaunch.com.au
All you have to do is a search on these sites for Radio Crystal Blue.

Any compelling compilation/concept CDs can also be sent here directly. I’m
seeking material that can be featured, song-for-song, in my CD FOCUS
segments.
*********
namaste

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue on twitter
215 995 2234