Tag Archives: Jodi Arlyn

Radio Crystal Blue 4/15/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Serge Entertainment Public Relations www.sergepr.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
*************************************************************************
HOW TO LISTEN:
Feed Player at my home page of www.radiocrystalblue.net It is active as a
popup window. Within the page you can stream/share/download the audio. You
can put the player up on your site or blog too.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This is the magic link to the popup player. It’s also at the home and
archive tabs of my website
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: (spot my Western Haiku) www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK: (no Haiku but..achoo) http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group (dormant like your favorite volcano. This must change)
http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/
LINKEDIN: (biz) http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
REVERBNATION: (dormant too) www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue
VIDEO content: (not dormant for long) http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
that TWITTER thang @radiocblue
STAT BLOG (updated, and another coming Saturday): www.cblue456.tumblr.com
************************************************
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about April 18 and will be available for
about 4 months beyond. Owing to schedule demands, I usually aim for noon
Wednesdays or as soon as possible thereafter.
You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground
songwriters and bands.
RCB Novus Ordo will also air separately. On this show I spin one song from
as many as 8 songs in one sitting and give you background info of each
artist.

*********************************************************************************
I can’t absolutely promise a show for Wednesday next week, as I’m getting this PC serviced on Sunday. It needs a general tune-up, plus more RAM and an external hard drive. It all depends on how available the RAM is. The PC is about 6 years young and could really use the upgrade. The waiting for sites to appear and emails to reply to just sap your DJ’s productivity at times. In the interim, I’ll likely be without said PC for a few days at worst.

PHOTOS: Having not done a photo album in a few weeks, finding myself in the Old City section of Philly, I figured I’d follow my intuition and take you with me on a freelance tour of several other old sections of town. Evidence here: http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151492582955725.839968.684570724&type=1&l=280b4414a1
Tonight I’ll be covering an event at JR’s Bar here in South Philly. A Little Affair, pop-oriented rock trio from South Jersey, is in my focus. www.alittleaffairmusic.com
Showing some RCB LOVE to these folks that banged the drum about my show, all through the tubes. Right back atcha:
Severin Browne www.severinbrowne.com
Jodi Arlyn www.jodiarlyn.com
Michelle Fortier www.trespassmusic.com
John Roy Zat www.royzat.com
Jeanette Lundgren www.motherhenpromotions.com
Dance Hall Pimps www.dancehallpimps.com
Kellylee Evans www.kellyleeevans.com
Ariel Hyatt and all at @cyperpr
Helen Austin @helenaustin
The K’s @theks
Twitter action this week reveals these thoughts:
*My favorite venues and towns to recite on my shows.
*An underused software that rivals anything by Microsoft
*Discovery of caffeine-laden jerky. This, following discovery of a great coffee substitute.
*the words I chose for #replacebandnameswithbacon and @herestothe90s
*the introductory order of inspired rock phrases that have no connection but it was fun trying
*yes, Western Haiku. Unlike Western omelette (not safe for Twitter)
Um, there was a fire a block away during a red flag warning. It can happen to an old house. Be watchful as I said earlier that day. That day, when 2 firefighters in Kensington lost their lives in an early morning blaze.
Reading a book I picked up at Molly’s, a book/record store (YES, these exist) within the Italian Market. “Women Of The Beat Generation” chronicles the poets, writers, visual artists and others prominent in the San Francisco Renaissance and Greenwich Village scenes. Many names referenced that I never knew of. A great book from 1996.
*************************************************
TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: These are the last 5 folks that I’m following who
follow back: @jonathanlulich @thebarryband @Get_Bumble @westucker @GailNCalifornia
*****************************************************
COVERAGE:
I do audio interviews, photos, video, and audio of live events. You can see
and hear evidence across my Facebook and YouTube channels, plus the field
recording FeedPlayer.Time, location and expense will be taken into account
before taking on a job.
********************************************************************
RCB REVIEW: The annotated version of my shows.
On RCB Novus Ordo: Mr. Hunter returns with a concept album “The First Chapter”, with reflections on “life, nature, dreams, and following what you believe in.”. Dance Hall Pimps are a firebrand of greasy swampy blues rock; they come courtesy of sponsor Miles High Productions. Jon Sobel’s NYC roots rock band Whisperado returns with a 4th member (pedal steel) and their first full-length album. Severin Browne is the brother of Jackson Browne; he debuts on this show as well. Dave Kleiner & Liz Pagan are founders of NJ’s The Folk Project, and often sing of rural NJ life.
RCB proper: I began this show with my favorite Dylan tune”Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues”, I also aired a snippet of Earl Scruggs’ “Back To The Cross” while I recited the opening lines to Jack Kerouac’s 1952 novel “Tristessa”. At once I was reflecting Juarez, Mexico at large, the rain, and …wasn’t it just Easter, as Dylan sings in the opening? Segment 1 starts with old folk sounds from Andrew McKnight (AP Carter) and Kris Delmhorst (e.e. cummings). 2 songs with similar chords and feel followed from Jack Grace and Yarn.  Segment 2: The Symbols & Fierce Bad Rabbit are among the teeming dozens performing at this year’s FoCoMx (Fort Collins, CO) festival this weekend. I thoroughly enjoy the incendiary sounds of Lukas Nelson (Willie’s son) & Promise Of The Real. The song “Wasn’t that great” has a strong Neil Young & Crazy Horse feel to it. Segment 3: Raina Rose & Rebecca Loebe are doing their Flourida tour (Florida & tour). Lauren Adams hosts the monthly Americana Music Cicle in Los Angeles. I spun her cover of an Ernest Troost song, following up with one of Ernest’s off his “Live At McCabe’s” CD. He is the featured artist at Lauren’s latest Circle. Segment 4: Debuted (the) Debbie Miller’s new EP, experimenting with a few new sounds.

AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:
Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
CDs MUST have a 2012 release date or have been released no earlier than July
2011. No exceptions.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general (not
local/regional) email list.

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: www.musicsubmit.com.
(For those in Australia) GIG LAUNCH: www.giglaunch.com.au
All you have to do is a search on these sites for Radio Crystal Blue.

Any compelling compilation/concept CDs can also be sent here directly. I’m
seeking material that can be featured, song-for-song, in my CD FOCUS
segments.
*********
namaste

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue on twitter
215 995 2234

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 4/8/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) mp3:

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 4/11

Mr. Hunter “Sand” – The First Chapter CD www.mrhunterband.com
Nightlight “Say” – CD single www.turnonyournightlightofficial.com
Dance Hall Pimps “Heartbreak Of Dawn” – Beast Of Love CD www.dancehallpimps.com
Whisperado “Over You (For Now)” – I’m Not The Road CD www.whisperado.com
Jodi Arlyn “Now” – Stars up on the Ceiling CD www.jodiarlyn.com
Dave Dersham “Carolina Wren” – Gilding The Lilies CD www.davedersham.com
Severin Browne ‘To The Light” – Lucky Man–A Songwriter’s Notebook CD www.severinbrowne.com
Dave Kleiner & Liz Pagan “Leaving Jackson” – Stuck Inside New Jersey CD www.davekleiner.com
Running time: 1 hour (on the nose)

—————————————————————–
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.org

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3:
https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/rcblive040812.mp3


(4) RSS:
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 4/11/12
Artists with shared gigs in the near future are noted with * & **

“When you’re lost in the rain in Juarez & it’s Easter time too….”

I opened with a short read from Jack Kerouac’s book “Tristessa”
Opening music: Bob Dylan “Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues” – Highway 61 Revisited album
*************************************
 Andrew McKnight “Wildwood Flower (traditional)/The Old Hundred Road” – Something Worth Standing For CD www.andrewmcknight.net
*Kris Delmhorst “Pretty How Town” – Strange Conversation CD www.krisdelmhorst.com
*Yarn “The Loner” – Almost Home CD www.yarnmusic.net
Jack Grace Band “If You’re Gonna Raise A Drunk’ – Drinking Songs For Lovers CD www.jackgrace.com
Roosevelt Dime “Long Long Time” – Steamboat Soul CD www.rooseveltdimemusic.com
Shayfer James “Weight Of The World” – Counterfeit Arcade CD www.shayferjames.com
*************************************
 *The Symbols “Soon” – Be Here Now CD www.thesymbols.net
*Fierce Bad Rabbit “Rich Man” – Live And Learn EP www.fiercebad.com
The Modeens “El Camino” – Get With The Times EP www.themodeens.com
The Trapps “Say My Name” – Cheap Seats CD www.thetrapps.net
Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real “Wasn’t that great” – Wasted CD www.promiseofthereal.com
Ryan David Orr “April, I’m Sure The Stars Understand” – Mordred The Quarter Known CD www.ryandavidorr.com
**********************************************
*Raina Rose “Desdemona” – When May Came CD www.rainarose.com
*Rebecca Loebe “Land And Sea” – Mystery Prize CD www.rebeccaloebe.com
Cary Cooper “Toes In The Water” – Pink Umbrella CD www.carycooper.com
*Lauren Adams “Evangeline” (Ernest Troost cover) – Secret Heart CD www.laurenadams.com
*Ernest Troost “Disturbin’ Blues” – Live At McCabe’s CD www.ernesttroost.com
*****************************************************************
 Tom Principato “Stranger’s Eyes Part II” – A Part Of Me CD www.tomprincipato.com
Comic Tales Of Tragic Heartbreak “This Is How I Turned Out” – s/t CD www.comictalesoftragicheartbreak.com
Kellylee Evans “Lost” – The Good Girl CD www.kellyleeevans.com
Debbie Miller “Much Longer” – Measures & Waits CD www.thedebbiemiller.com
Heather Styka “Contented” – Lifeboats For Atlantis CD www.heather.styka.com
Anna Dagmar “Brown Trees” – Let The Waves Come In Threes CD www.annadagmar.com
****************************************************************
Closing music: Robert Sadin “Comment” – Art Of Love: Music Of Machaut CD
Running time: 2 hours, 51 minutes
—————————————————————–
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 4/15/12
namaste
———————————————————————

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
www.radiocrystalblue.net
www.facebook.com/radiocblue
twitter: @radiocblue