Tag Archives: indie freeform radio

Radio Crystal Blue and RCB Novus Ordo week of 10/28/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/rcbnew102812.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 10/31/12

The Kennedys “Cradle To A Boat” – Closer Than You Know CD www.kennedysmusic.com
The Violet Hour “Special” – s/t CD www.reverbnation.com/theviolethour
Lipstick And Cigarettes “Alibi” – About Last Night CD www.lipstickandcigarettes.net
Starring “…7…” – ABCDEFG-HIJKLMNOP-QRSTUV-WXYZ CD http://northern-spy.com/products-page/starring-abcdefg-hijklmnop-qrstuv-wxyz
Hudson Henry “Take These Eyes” – s/t EP www.hudsonhenrymusic.com
Cold Chocolate “Tell Tale Heart” – This Old Way EP www.coldchocolatemusic.com
Roy Schneider “Cedar Ridge” – Walls Could Talk CD www.royschneider.com
Gathering Time “Red Apples and Gold” – Red Apples And Gold CD www.gatheringtimetrio.com
Running time: 65 minutos

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3 https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/rcblive102812.mp3
(4) RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 10/31/12.

Artists who are appearing at events together are marked by * and **

I continue my annual theme of spinning music fit for the holiday in late October.

Opening music:
Lou Reed “The Raven” (narrated by William Dafoe) – The Raven CD
***************
Reverend Horton Heat “The Devil’s Chasing Me” – The Full Custom Gospel Sounds Of The Reverend Horton Heat
The Modeens “Werewolf Attack” – Get With The Times EP http://www.themodeens.com
Dance Hall Pimps “Mommy Was A Zombie” – Beast Of Love CD http://www.dancehallpimps.com
D.B. Rielly “We’re All Going Straight To Hell” – Love Potions and Snake Oil CD http://www.dbrielly.com
*************
Achilles Wheel “MoonShine” – Thirteen Hours CD http://www.achilleswheel.com
Wes Tucker & The Skillets “Rattle Your Chains” – Afterlens CD http://www.westucker.com
*Chris Riffle “Downstream” – I Am Not From Here CD http://www.chrisriffle.com
*Deni Bonet “Get On With It” – It’s All Good CD http://www.denibonet.com
Margo Rey “Saturn Returns” – Habit CD http://www.margorey.com
Tweed Funk “Fine Wine” – Love Is… CD http://www.tweedfunk.com
******
The Ramones “Chain Saw” – s/t
The Ramones “You’re Gonna Kill That Girl” – Leave Home
The Ramones “I’m Making Monsters For My Friends” – Adios Amigos
The Gashers “Monsters” – Law Is Not Order CD http://www.thegashers.com
Voice Of Addiction “Bombs Away” – Reduce Reuse Resist CD http://www.voiceofaddiction.com
Niki Barr Band “Ghosts” – Radar Radio CD http://www.nikibarr.com
*****************
Schwervon! “Truth Teller” – Courage CD http://www.schwervon.com
The Symbols “Ephemeral” – s/t EP http://www.thesymbols.net
Song Dogs & The Nightjar “Holy Ghost and Run” – s/t EP http://www.songdogsandthenightjar.com
Aqua Cherry “Wolfman” – Drowning In The Shallow End CD http://www.reverbnation.com/aquacherryband
Blue Sour “Days Of Old” – S.U.A.D. CD http://www.bluesour.com
Voxhaul Broadcast “Turn The Knife” – Frozen Beach EP http://www.voxhaulbroadcast.com
*************
CD Focus: Trouble In The Fields: An Artists’ Tribute To Nanci Griffith http://www.paradiddlemusic.com
This album with 14 of Nanci’s songs, is produced by Pete & Maura Kennedy, who
play on several of the tracks. Profits from the album benefit Mines Advisory
Group, an NGO that ‘clears landmines, unexploded ordinances, and other remnants
of conflict for the benefit of communities worldwide’ www.maginternational.org
From this CD I spun
Tom Russell “If I Were A Child” www.tomrussell.com
Eric Brace & Last Train Home (with Alice Despard) “I Wish It Would Rain” www.redbeetrecords.com
Amy Rigby “The Flyer” www.amyrigby.com
***********
David Bowie “Underground” – Labyrinth soundtrack
Changing Modes “Ghost In The Backseat” – In Flight CD www.changingmodes.com
Cletus Romp “Wicked Left Hand” – Snake Oil: half truths, outright lies and the gospel CD www.cletusromp.com
Kirsten Thien “I Ain’t Superstitious” – Delicious CD www.kirstenthien.com
**************

*Buskin & Batteau “Wild Infatuation” – Red Shoes & Golden Hearts CD www.buskinandbatteau.com

Marci Geller “Gotta Love That Man” – Open Book CD www.marcigeller.com

*Vance Gilbert “No One Can Love You Like Mary” – Old White Men CD www.vancegilbert.com

Shane Cooley “Last Love” – West Land CD www.shanecooleymusic.com

Andrew McKnight & Beyond Borders “Dancing In The Rain” One Virginia Night CD www.andrewmcknight.net
************
MJ Hibbett & The Validators “We Are The Giant Robots” – Dinosaur Planets CD www.mjhibbett.com

The Cramps “I Was A Teenage Werewolf” – Songs The Lord Taught Us
Sylvia Platypus “Like A Vampire” – s/t EP www.sylviaplatypus.com

Jessie Kilguss & Radio Gold “Die Dog or Eat the Hatchet” – The Sky Gold CD www.jessiekilguss.com
************
Tom Principato “Stranger’s Eyes” – A Part Of Me CD www.tomprincipato.com

The Brehms “You and Me” – s/t CD www.thebrehmsband.com

The Portraits “Validation” – Counterbalance CD www.theportraitsmusic.com

*Putnam Smith “Alfred Hitchcock” – We Could Be Beekeepers CD www.putnamsmith.com

*Heather Styka “Andromeda” – Lifeboats For Atlantis CD www.heather.styka.com

Devon Sproule “The Easier Way” – Don’t Hurry For Heaven! CD www.devonsproule.com
*************
Closing music: Lou Reed “Halloween Parade (AIDS)” – New York
Running time: 4 hours, 15 minutos.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: http://www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 11/4/12

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.facebook.com/radiocblue
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue 9/30/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Serge Entertainment Public Relations www.sergepr.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
*****
HOW TO LISTEN: FEEDPLAYER
Look for a popup link on the home and archive pages at
www.radiocrystalblue.net When you click, it will open within the same
window. The player allows you to stream all recent shows, as well as
download and share them. Click the tabs within the player for more.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

FEEDPLAYER LINK:
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group
http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
EMAIL LIST: www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue

STAT BLOG: www.cblue456.tumblr.com
*******
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about October 3 and will be available
for about 1 year. Remember, even if you miss hearing a show the week I
record, you can always find it within the FeedPlayer’s archive of older
shows.
Owing to schedule demands, I usually publish on Wednesdays or as soon as
possible thereafter.
You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground
songwriters and bands.
RCB Novus Ordo will also air separately. On this show I spin one song from
8 songs in one sitting and give you background info of each artist.
******
TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW:@addmoss @mikewojniak @GhostSOS @TheOfficialDubz @dikta
*****
Those media courses I mentioned to you last week will start next week, 3 weeks for one, 7 weeks for another. Can’t wait to get started!

QUARTERLY AIRPLAY CHART announcement to be made on 10/1/12 630pm ET, on the occasion of Radio Crystal Blue’s 12th anniversary! As we begin year number 13, I will reveal on the website who received the most airplay in total and progressive amounts of airplay. This chart will go a long way to determine who will be in my Top 100 list for 2012. That particular chart will be revealed just after Christmas.

I never got to NYC this week. I do plan to go soon tho, mainly because I’m seeking same-day repair for a vital part of of my camera. The camera is still functional in the meantime.

COVERAGE:
I do audio interviews along with photos, video, and audio of live events.
You can see and hear evidence across my Facebook and YouTube channels, plus
the field recording FeedPlayer.Time, location and expense will be taken into
account before taking on a job. I’ve done this work for free, but that may
change soon. Also, with the video skills I’m learning, I might do more
video oriented work in the future.

9/29: Philly native and West Coast denizen Jeff Campbell returns to his
roots, and plays The Grape Room www.jeffcampbellmusic.com
10/6: Beaucoup Blue are at Ortlieb’s Lounge www.beaucoupblue.com
10/16: Post-punk alt-country songwriter Freddy Hall (The Best Intentions)
performs at The Grape Room www.freddyhallmusic.com
10/22: The Blakes www.theblakesband.com perform at Ortlieb’s Lounge
11/3: Katie Barbato, Ginger Coyle, Danielle Miraglia at Sine Studios www.katiebarbato.com www.gingercoyle.com www.daniellem.com

I also do audio interviews at live events and also via Skype (cblue456)
****
RCB REVIEW:
RCB Novus Ordo: Memorable songs from this show arose from Add Moss’s long jam “And So We Fall”, the short sharp pop-rock of The Adarna, and the thoughtful country/Americana of The Pawn Shop Saints.

RCB proper: First segment includes official showcase artists that are participating in the Southwest Regional Folk Alliance Confence at the end of the month. I also spun John Batdorf, who is participating in some of the private showcases. First airplay in a while from Jaime Michaels here. Honor Finnegan’s ensemble on her album “The Tiny Life” are made up of members of The YaYas and friends. Segment 2: You’ll recall the quoted lyric that headed my playlist posting for the week. That lyric is from Daniel Goodman, heard on his 2011 CD Cold Wind, an album ideal for autumn and winter. Thinking of songs relevant to past memories, I continued the theme with Roger Silverberg and Tom Principato. Tom’s blues led to more of the same by Professor Louie & The Crowmatix, then some modern folk (Spuyten Duyvil, DB Rielly) and another new instrumental from Karen Collins & The Backroads Band. Segment 3: Kosmic Daydream & Fellaheen are part of the upcoming NYC New Music Festival, spanning many venues across Greenwich Village. I also spun another new song from Churchill. Segment 4: Boxcar Lilies & Beggar’s Ride perform October 13th at Boroughs JCC in Westborough MA. Lara Herscovitch & Vance Gilbert perform 9/30 at The Complex Performing Arts Center in Putnam CT for the nationwide Voices United 3-day event. This event is benefiting Americans United for Separation of Church and State. There are concerts being held in all 50 states from 9/28 (today) to 9/30. Gregory Douglass, heard earlier in segment 2, is also participating on 9/30 in VT, as is Louise Taylor in HI, on 9/29. Jean Mann & Mare Wakefield perform at Egan’s Ballard Jam House tonight in Seattle. Final segment kicks off with brand new music by UK’s The Portraits. Their new album is actually being released in early November. The aforementioned was heard in this final segment as well. Anna Dagmar & Cosy Sheridan share billing at a house concert 9/29 in Columbia, MD. Their songs spun here, along with the mighty Anais Mitchell, touch upon childhood memories and some sort of dark past (Cosy’s song is one of a number of songs that explore the myth of Eros & Psyche).

AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:
Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145

CDs MUST have a 2012 release date. Digital is acceptable if media is not
available in other formats.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general email
list.

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit.

SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: www.musicsubmit.com.
Search for the words Radio Crystal Blue to find my pages there.
*********
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue on twitter
215 995 2234