Tag Archives: Reverend T.J. McGlinchey

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 7/15/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/rcbnew071512.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was distributed on 7/18/12
Jenee Halstead “Get Good With It” – Raised By Wolves CD www.jeneehalstead.com

The Hard Road Trio “Crack In The Sky” – Monticello CD www.hardroadtrio.com
Friction Land “Giving It All Away” – s/t CD www.frictionland.com
Foolish Ida “I Tried” – Book II EP www.foolishida.com www.sarahrabdau.com
Griz “The Slow Response” – The Secret In The Garden CD www.grizmusic.com
Reverend TJ McGlinchey “Don’t Be Afraid” – Tell Me To Stay CD www.revtj.com
****************
Running time: 53 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: http://www.creativecommons.org
Here’s RCB proper:
Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/rcblive071512.mp3
This show was distributed on 7/18/12
Artists with shared gigs in the near future are noted with * & **
Opening music: Future Sound Of London “Deseo Reconstruction” – huH Music Service techno issue compilation from 1995

Teresa Storch “Stream Of Concrete” – Stream Of Concrete CD www.teresastorch.com
The Symbols “Soon” – Be Here Now EP www.thesymbols.net
John Brodeur “Dying For Me” – Tiger Pop Ten CD www.johnbrodeur.com
Justin Levinson & The Valcours “Bar Scene” – This Side Of Me, This Side Of You CD www.justinlevinson.com
Andy Hawk & The Train Wreck Endings “Mason-Dixon Line” – Another Storyline CD www.andyhawk.com
Sean Kershaw & The New Jack Ramblers “Bigshot Of The Honkytonk” – Coney Island Cowboy CD www.seankershaw.com
***************
These artists are performing in this month’s Huntington Folk Festival www.fmshny.org
David Goldman “Put Your Squeeze On Me” – Light In The Tunnel CD www.davidgoldman.com
Loretta Hagen “Take Me” – Mud and Stone CD www.lorettahagen.com
Katie Pearlman “Give Me That Moment” – Girls Like Us CD www.katiepearlman.com
Claudia Nygaard “Say It” – Let The Storm Roll In CD www.claudianygaard.com
Elaine Romanelli “Fly” – Real Deal CD www.elaineromanelli.com

**************

Remember September “Innocence” – The Roads We Travel CD www.rememberseptemberband.com
Sirsy “Wishless” – BYOB compilation CD www.sirsy.com
Darius Lux “What I Feel” – Time Is Now CD www.dariuslux.com
Ratham Stone “Dancing In A Rainstorm” – Enough To Last CD www.rathamstone.com
*My Pet Dragon “Lightning Inside” – Mountains and Cities CD www.mypetdragon.net
*Lisa Bianco “Breakin’ ” – Momentum CD www.lisabianco.com
Wormburner “Some Summer” – Placed By The Gideons CD www.wormburnerband.com
Aqua Cherry “Seasons” – www.reverbnation.com/aquacherry

**************

These artists are part of the Falcon Ridge Folk Festival’s Emerging Arist Showcase www.falconridgefolk.com
Ryan Tennis “Big Bamboo” – goodbye to the ground EP www.ryantennismusic.com
Kate Klim “More Than You Know” – Kamikaze Love CD www.kateklim.com
Chris Kokesh “A Night Like This” – October Valentine CD www.chriskokesh.com
Cary Cooper “Jimmy Stewart” – Pink Umbrella CD www.carycooper.com
*************
More artists performing in this year’s Huntington Folk Festival:
Sharon Goldman “Weekend Afternoon”- Sleepless Lullaby CD www.sharongoldmanmusic.com
Meg Braun “August” – Broken Places CD www.megbraun.com
Carolann Solebello “Hound Dogs In August” – threshold CD www.carolannsolebello.com
Honor Finnegan “We Are Hearts” – The Tiny Life CD www.honorfinnegan.com
The YaYas “Willing Heart” – Paper Boats CD www.wearetheyayas.com
Josh Joffen “Glad For The Chance” – Postcard From Antigua CD www.joshjoffen.com
************
*Mark Erelli “Basement Days” – little vigils CD www.markerelli.com
*Eilen Jewell “That’s Where I’m Going” – Queen Of The Minor Key CD www.eilenjewell.com
Joy Mills “Best Show In Town” – trick of the eye CD www.joymills.com
Jeneen Terrana “All Of You” – See The Light CD www.jeneenterrana.com
Dan May “The Field” – Dying Breed CD www.danmaycd.com
Chris Riffle “downstream” – I am not from here CD www.chrisriffle.com
Aurical “Work Song” – Something To Say CD www.auricalmusic.com
**********
*Anna Dagmar “Falling Star” – Satellite CD www.annadagmar.com
*Linq “Where Will The Wild Ones Go” – Caught In The Act Acoustic CD www.linqmusic.com
*Beth DeSombre “Crawfordsville, Indiana” – At Home In This Town CD www.bethdesombre.com
Jill Cagney “Riverbed” – It’s All In How You See Things CD www.jillcagney.com
Heather Pierson “The Perfect Shade Of Green” – Make It Mine CD www.heatherpierson.com
Adler & Hearne “The Day We Buried Our Secrets” – Live At Eddie’s Attic CD www.adlerandhearne.com
********
Closing music: Robert Sadin “Comment” – Art of Love: Music of Machaut CD www.robertsadin.com
Running time: 4 hours, 25 minutes

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 7/22/12

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
www.radiocrystalblue.net
www.facebook.com/radiocblue
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
twitter: @radiocblue

 
Advertisements

@ The Grape Room 5/12/12


Another fun night at The Grape Room, with several local acts plus one from my NYC stomping grounds on the bill.
“Hi, my name is Paige, and I sing songs that I make up”….So began the set by Paige Allbritton, veteran singer/songwriter who loves life, loves to perform, and who had last released music in 2007. She performed in blue jeans, toned blue-square patterned shirt, with a red-heart sticker to show off her love for her mom (it would be Mother’s Day the next day) and a cherry-wood Ibanez acoustic. She owns a clear, strong voice (a bit of Joni Mitchell’s trill), and a stage presence that’s both serious and mirthful. Two of the songs in the set were especially well received, “Love Of A Lifetime” and “Secrets”. Both songs would fit well in TV and film. She closed with “The Killing People Song”, which represents a few of the themes in her songwriting, somewhat dark and reflective. One song I recall had references to Jack and gin tho I don’t recall  the title. Performing on standup bass was multi-instrumentalist Reverend T.J. McGlinchey.
  
Chris Schutz and The Tourists celebrated the release of their new CD “Summer In The Sun”, firstly with a handsome food spread on the 2nd floor, then following with a solid pop-rock effort on the main level. This is a 7-piece band with keyboards, drums, 3 guitars, and 2 backing vocalists. Their music style varies between the various members. A proud independent-music veteran, Chris told me before the show that all the members are classically-trained, conservatory graduates. And, indeed, Chris does have a firm hold on the band’s sound, orchestrating their sound and orientation on stage carefully. Their approach recalls Elvis Costello and Graham Parker, with guitars and keyboards ringing strongly in each song. For most of the show they kept to one principal vocalist (I believe her name is Steph Hayes), and their 2nd joined in on a few. Chris’s stage experience was evident, scoring well with his original material plus a cover of The Beatles’ “Golden Slumbers”. Chris was dressed in dark blazer and slacks, plaid tie, pinstriped shirt, and (keeping it rock-n-roll), green lace-up shoes, matching his greenish-blue Lakland bass.
NYC’s Paper Doll have consistently stuck to mainly the same band members in their 10-plus years performing, along with their own strong pop-rock style. It had been nearly 10 since I had seen the band myself, when Teresa was still in college.  They have toured worldwide with their efforts, including China several times. Tonight was their first gig in the Philly area. They previewed new songs that will appear on their forthcoming CD “Ballad Nerd Pop”  Teresa was contorting, strutting and constantly engaging the audience from the stage with a call-and-response moment from one song “You Can’t Stop It”. Teresa knows how to dress the part too; a yellow-green leopard-print off-the-shoulder number, and a black-white striped mini. She performed also on a Novation synth while Patrick Moloney produced great classic rock guitar. Rhythm section was manned by Jack Koch (bass) and Will Haywood Smith (drums)
VIDEO of Paper Doll
With my schedule beckoning me back home safely, I stayed for just the first 10 minutes of Stonethrown‘s set. Judah Kim leads this band that has complex elements of rock, grunge and strong, emotive vocals between the 4 members. They’ve been around for 6 years and have a solid live following in Philadelphia. Earlier this year they released their latest EP “Chasin Me Around”. Among the items they had for sale were lighters with the band’s website and design.
  
Local punk-rock outfit 58 Fury were the headliners. I wasn’t around to see this band, but they were primed to play for a large audience tonight, as their audience was filing in starting from Paper Doll’s set, 2 hours before set time.
More photos at the Facebook gallery.