Tag Archives: Kerrville Music Festival

Radio Crystal Blue 5/26/13 audio and links


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)

www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3 mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/rcbnew052613.mp3

(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssThis show was distributed on 5/29/13

Jan Seides “Rachel’s Sister” – Siren Song CD www.janseides.com
Jim Gaudet & The Railroad Boys “Darkside Of Lonesome” – Reasons That I Run CD www.jimgaudet.com
Racing Rain “You’re Falling” – Untitled EP www.racingrain.com
Amy Lynn & The Gunshow “Clearly It’s Me” – Clearly EP www.amylynnandthegunshow.com
Grown Up Avenger Stuff “The Man” – Sparkleton CD www.grownupavengerstuff.com
Rachel Schain “Notting Hill” – LilacFace CD www.rachelschain.com
Beth Lee & The Breakups “13 Roses” – One More Time Again CD www.bethlee.net
Dar Williams “I Am The One Who Will Remember Everything” – In The Time Of Gods CD www.darwilliams.com
Clarence Bucaro “Don’t Know Much About Love” – Dreaming From The Heart Of New York CD
Hannah Christianson “Ocean Song” – The Part That Knows CD www.musicofhannah.com
Running time: 76 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at www.radiocrystalblue.net
Here’s RCB proper :
Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/rcblive052613.mp3
(4) RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rssArtists who are sharing gigs are denoted with * symbols.
This show was distributed on 5/29/13

“Was early June the Chattanooga sky was red the sun was falling down…”
***
Shonen Knife “Ramones Forever” – Fun!Fun!Fun! CD
Ramones “California Sun” – Leave Home CD
Ramones “Surfin’ Bird” – Rocket To Russia CD
Rugburns “Dick’s Automotive” – Mommy I’m Sorry EP
**
These artists are performing during the Kerrville Folk Festival, www.kerrville-music.com :
Antje Duvekot “Four Stitches” – New Siberia CD www.antjeduvekot.com
Brother Sun “True” – Some Part Of The Truth CD www.brothersunmusic.com
Claude “Butch” Morgan “Look What You Done” – Talk About CD www.butchmorgan.com
RJ Cowdery “For The Long Ride” – In This Light CD www.rjcowdery.com
Annie Wenz “Hallelujah Rose” – Ride The Sky CD www.anniewenz.com
Jaime Michaels “Five Pennies” – Fool CD www.jaimemichaels.com
Buddy Mondlock “The Disappearing Girl” – The Memory Walk CD www.buddymondlock.com
*****
Jessie Kilguss & Radio Gold “Take Me To The Ocean” – The Sky Road CD www.jessiekilguss.com
Steven Graves “When Things Were Simple” – Let It Ride EP www.stevengravesmusic.com
Chuck Schaeffer “Fish On The Line” – Along These Lines CD www.chuckschaeffer.com
Bryan Dunn “6 Black Horses” – Sweetheart Of The Music Hall CD www.bryandunnmusic.net
Wes Tucker & The Skillets “Right Here Right Now” – Afterlens CD www.westucker.com
Tony Mecca “I Always Want It To Rain” – Hello, Goodbye & Everything In Between CD www.tonymeccamusic.com
John Primer & Bob Corritore “When I Get Lonely” – Knockin’ Around These Blues CD www.bobcorritore.com www.johnprimerblues.com www.deltagroovemusic.com
*********
The Wyld Olde Souls “Anything” – Ensoulment CD www.thewyldoldesouls.com
Jamie McLean Band “Summertime On Main Street” – Live At Gibson CD www.jamiemcleanband.com
David Rogue “Why Must You Laugh About”- Victim Of My Circumstance CD www.davidrogue.com
Blue Sour “Beach Rockin’ ” – S.U.A.D. CD www.bluesour.com
Aqua Cherry “Auto Kiss Proof” – Auto Kiss Proof EP www.reverbnation.com/aquacherry
Boy + Kite “Fall” – We Can Go Anywhere We Want EP www.boypluskite.com
The Pinz “Truth” – Anti-Complacency League CD www.thepinz.com
*****
Patty Carpenter & The Dysfunctional Family Jazz Band “Summer Love” – Come Over CD www.dfjbmusic.com
*Marci Geller “Awakened Mind” – Open Book CD www.marcigeller.com
*Lara Herscovitch “But For The Grace” – Four Wise Monkeys CD www.laraherscovitch.com
*Steve Chizmadia “I’m Still Me, Are You Still You?” – Jack Of All Trades C CD www.stevechizmadia.com
**Buskin & Batteau “Single Wing” – Love Remembered/Love Forgot CD www.buskinandbatteau.com
**Noel Paul Stookey “Capricious Bird” – One & Many CD www.noelpaulstookey.com
***
*Heather Maloney “Dirt And Stardust” – s/t CD www.heathermaloney.com
*Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem “Fire in the Sky” – Some Bright Morning CD www.raniarbo.com
**Raina Rose “Badlands” – Caldera CD www.rainarose.com
**Rebecca Loebe “Swallowed By The Sea” – Circus Heart CD www.rebeccaloebe.com
Jean Mann “Sleeveless Season” – Dream Of Goats CD www.jeanmann.net
Marc Black “Praises To The Sea” – Sometime A Spark CD www.marcblack.com
Aztec Two-Step “Living In America” – Cause & Effect CD www.aztectwostep.com

 

****
Closing music: Juaneco y su combo “Linda Nena” – Masters Of Chicha Volume 1 CD www.barbesrecords.com
Running time: 4 hours 17 minutes.

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info: www.creativecommons.orgNext show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 6/2/13

Please consider contributing to this unique freeform radio program. RCB cannot exist without the support of listeners and fans of indie/underground/DIY/up-coming/touring talent that I freely share each and every week. There is a PayPal button active at the Home tab and the main post page at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

Radio Crystal Blue 5/27/12 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Ariel Publicity: www.arielpublicity.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Serge Entertainment Public Relations www.sergepr.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com

Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 3.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
*************************************************************************
HOW TO LISTEN:
Feed Player at my home page of www.radiocrystalblue.net It is active as a
popup window. Within the page you can stream/share/download the audio. You
can put the player up on your site or blog too.
If you cannot access the Feed Player or do not have Shockwave/Flash in your
browser, try a different browser or go to www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
This page contains a bona fide workable version of the Feed Player.
RSS: www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This is the magic link to the popup player. It’s also at the home and
archive tabs of my website
http://fp.bigcontact.com/fp/flash/fp/fp.swf?xmlurl=http%3A%2F%2Fbigcontact.com%2Fradiocrystalblu%2Frss&r=1&t=1001

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
RCB DISCUSSION FACEBOOK group
http://www.facebook.com/groups/273953255983866/
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
REVERBNATION: www.reverbnation.com/radiocrystalblue
VIDEO content:http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue
STAT BLOG: (my handicapping blog. Hang tight for my Preakness selection on
the page) www.cblue456.tumblr.com
FANDALISM www.fandalism.com/radiocblue
************************************************
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about May 30 and will be available for the
rest of the year.
Owing to schedule demands, I usually aim for noon Wednesdays or as soon as
possible thereafter.
You will hear music in several segments of top indie/DIY/underground
songwriters and bands.
RCB Novus Ordo will also air separately. On this show I spin one song from
as many as 8 songs in one sitting and give you background info of each
artist.
*********************************************************************************
This week’s show was recorded on Wednesday and released yesterday. In the last week my health took a bit of a setback, as I monitored some vague pain in my chest. It’s not in my heart, nor my stomach, but it’s enough to give me some concern. It almost feels like it gets any worse when I think of it. Maybe it’s pure anxiety. Maybe it’s something else. Honestly my mind is pretty sharp but the bod is not quite corresponding at this moment. I’m taking life very slowly right now but I do expect to put out a show next week as scheduled. I might attend a showcase on Monday if my health and the weather cooperate. Outside of that, I plan to stay close to home this long weekend.

As hinted here previously, I’m planning a career in film, primarily behind the camera. I won’t mind taking a turn in front of the camera as well. There’s an orientation to aspects of film production and editing next month, along with workshops, at the city’s new public-access cable network.
Radio Crystal Blue is also a reporting station to The Alternate Root’s Roots 66 (Roots/Americana) chart. Of course, I spin much more than Americana, but any songs that fit this genre and the chart’s guidelines get reported to the chart and website. 4 artists from the chart have received recent airplay here. http://www.thealternateroot.com/chart
*************************************************
TWITTER FIVE TO FOLLOW: These are the last 5 folks that I’m following who
follow back: @brooklynyarn @beggarsride @Jessiekilguss @thepizzarunner @Rightoffmain
*****************************************************
COVERAGE:
I do audio interviews, photos, video, and audio of live events. You can see
and hear evidence across my Facebook and YouTube channels, plus the field
recording FeedPlayer.Time, location and expense will be taken into account
before taking on a job.

I have not scheduled a show to attend but am planning to go to at least one
in the metro area before the month is out.
I can advise artists about where to perform in Philly. Contact me for more
info.

********************************************************************
RCB REVIEW: The annotated version of the shows.
RCB Novus Ordo: Changing Modes are back with their 6th album of idiosyncratic pop-rock. Doug Folkins also returns with country-infused Celtic music. Another favorite here is songwriter-thespian Dan McCormick’s take on NYC in song. Beggar’s Ride (songwriters Claudia SanSoucie & Kate Maguire, plus David Goodrich) introduce a heartfelt song; I love the twang in their voices.

RCB proper: This time last year I began formulating the programming in such a way that you’d hear more artists appearing in festivals or sharing an event with from the CDs I have here, alongside those I’d plan to give airplay to. This tactic has opened up airplay a lot more and greatly for the better. It all started with how I approached the Kerrville Music Festival’s New Folk competition. Every year there would be 4-6 finalists that I would give extra airplay to, because I had their music and because Kerrville is one of the big festivals of its kind in the country. The YaYas, who are consecutive year finalists, share billing with Brother Sun on June 2 in Brooklyn. I had spun Brother Sun’s song “Shine”, a Joe Jencks composition. Contemporary pair of songs followed by Jann Klose (opening act for Vonda Shepherd in NYC), and Meghan Cary (just back from Ireland). Segment 2 started more along the lines of Americana..or is that Canadiana? Blue Rodeo are now Canadian Hall of Famers. South of their border, I spun another from Yarn’s fine urban-country album. Vintage Blue checks in again from Chicago. The Happy Problem also here with a song that reminds me a bit of Nirvana’s “Breed”, tho that could be just my loose interpretation. The Roots On The River Festival is in early June. I spun music of some artists who are part of the festival, including The Steel Wheels. They, and fellow Americana ensemble Molasses Creek headline the Ocrafolk Festival on Ocracoke Island, NC next weekend. Barnstar!, also part of Roots On The River got spun here, with a new version of Mark Erelli’s “Troubadour Blues”. Red Molly in this mix too, with a Dolly Parton cover. Segment 4
was more songwriter-oriented, with another airing of Daniel Levi Goans’ tune “Silver Tongue” as a highlight.
*****************************************************

AIRPLAY SUBMISSION:
Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
CDs MUST have a 2012 release date or have been released no earlier than
October
2011. No exceptions.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general (not
local/regional) email list.

I also accept EPKs through these companies. For EPK submissions I select
artists on their body of work and the completeness of the press kit
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: www.musicsubmit.com.
Search for the words Radio Crystal Blue to find my pages there.

Any compelling compilation/concept CDs can also be sent here directly. I’m
seeking material that can be featured, song-for-song, in my CD FOCUS
segments.
*********
namaste

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
@radiocblue on twitter
215 995 2234