Tag Archives: Peyton Tochterman

Radio Crystal Blue 2/9/14 news


Radio Crystal Blue is sponsored in part by:
Cyber PR:
www.cyberpr.com
Miles High Productions www.mileshighproductions.com
Wampus Multimedia www.wampus.com
Radio Crystal Blue is free to share and listen, in accordance with Creative
Commons License 4.0, full attribution, non-derivative, non-commercial.
www.creativecommons.org
*****
HOW TO LISTEN:
Each show is usually published by Wednesday or Thursday weekly. There are
now two main hubs where to hear Radio Crystal Blue
(1) via Big Contact, my podcast provider: There is a Feed Player at
www.radiocrystalblue.net Just click the link to open it, and select from the
tabs to download and stream the audio from the particular show. You can also
embed the player on your site or blog.
The FeedPlayer is generated with Flash. If you don’t have Flash, you can get
this at
http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/
These players are also available at www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu which
renders the player as a Web page.
Shows on the FeedPlayers are kept for a year.

(2) via Internet Archive: Each podcast includes a dedicated podcast page on
www.archive.org with similar download, stream and embed links. Just look for
Radio Crystal Blue and the date of the week I published the show (I use the
Sunday date) The shows kept here will remain in perpetuity.

RADIO CRYSTAL BLUE ARCHIVE PROJECT also on www.archive.org Use the search
term Radio Crystal Blue to find older shows from 2004 and 2006, shows that
don’t quite sound like the ones I presently do!

CONTACT:
EMAIL: cblue456@comcast.net
personal FACEBOOK: www.facebook.com/radiocblue
RCB FACEBOOK:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=20805478312
LINKEDIN: http://www.linkedin.com/danherman0
VIDEO content: http://www.youtube.com/user/cblue456
TWITTER @radiocblue
STAT BLOG
www.idealisticstats.wordpress.com
STAT TWITTER: @idealisticstats
DONATIONS to Radio Crystal Blue can be made via the Paypal button at the homepage.
THE VISION:
https://radiocrystalblue.net/2013/07/28/my-personal-and-radio-vision/

—–
PROGRAMMING:
NEXT SHOW will be published on or about February 13 and will be available
for about 1 year. I usually publish on Wednesdays or as soon as possible
thereafter. You will hear music in several segments of top
indie/DIY/underground songwriters and bands.

RCB Novus Ordo is a separate podcast with 6-8 songs, one each from a brand new
recording. I spin the music and give you the backstory of each artist.

*****
Happy to report one element of the big vision is completing. I’ve landed a 3-month temporary assignment here in Philadelphia. I figure that my budget will be balanced out in a matter of 3-4 weeks. Looking into March, assuming the job is still there, I will be planning out shows to attend and review, along with possibly attending more courses at PhillyCAM, and seeing other ways to expand Radio Crystal Blue. I also am thinking about some New Age work that I could use for myself and others.

Do you know that I’ve now lived here 3 years already? I get reminders at times of who I am and what I’m learning . One quality is resilience. Not a coarseness or toughness, but something that resembles hardiness, much like the people that I associate with in Philadelphia. I want to live here as long as I’m able to.
I am always seeking new music for airplay. If you are aware of a strong concept or compilation that you’d like to hear, let me know. Ideally it should be one that I can feature track for track.
I’d also like some ideal opening music. Youv’e heard me spin anything from chicha, to chill, to ambient to standard. Any suggestions? Let me know!

RCB REWIND: Veteran Nashville-area music songwriter Wyatt Easterling returns with a new album, as do Shoebox Letters, a Portland OR indie rock band. Sharon Goldman, from NYC, also has new music as part of this show, (with some awesome personnel who recorded the album) and I included a song for that particular big holiday in February. Michael Jerling is also heard with his first new album in 4 years.

RCB proper: Beggar’s Ride & Disappear Fear perform at a benefit concert on February 15 in Baltimore. Hungry For Music is ‘an organization that brings musical instruments to underserved children’. These two groups, along with ‘Japanese-gypsy-rock’ band Kagero, make up the best segue from this show, focusing on open enemies. Another V-Day song (of sorts) from Jamie McLead Band appears in Segment 2. Segment 3 is a more folk oriented segment, including a delightful song from The Melodic Miners (not to be confused with The Miners, from Philly). Segment 4 has some songs of doubt and quiet acceptance all throughout. The Kennedys and Peyton Tochterman are at Burlap & Bean, in nearby Newtown Square, PA, on 2/22. Some wonderfully orchestral folk music heard following these in The Universal Thump and Sons Of The Never Wrong (hm, that might be a nice billing there).

——
HOW TO SEND MUSIC:
Send CDs to
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
1701 Snyder Avenue, #4
Philadelphia, PA 19145
Keep physical packages of reasonable size and weight, as this is a
residence. Please indicate release date. No material released before April 2013
accepted. Material released before then will be added to RCB’s loose rotation instead.
Compilations or great concept albums, ones I can feature track-for-track,
are highly encouraged.
Digital albums are acceptable if media is not available in other formats.
Artists are also advised to add my email address to their general email
list.

EPK (those are what we call electronic press kits) submissions can be sent via one of these companies.
SONICBIDS: http://www.sonicbids.com/radiocrystalblue
MusicSUBMIT: http://www.musicsubmit.com
MusicClout http://www.musicclout.com
Search for the words Radio Crystal Blue to find my pages there. You may have better luck with MusicSubmit as I’m not currently listed with the other two organizations.
If I like the EPK, I will then ask for a CD
.
—-
Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
cblue456@comcast.net
twitter: @radiocblue
215 995 2234

 

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 7/1/12


Radio Crystal Blue: Novus Ordo spotlights CDs that are debuting on my
standard freeform radio program, Radio Crystal Blue. The show exists as a
weekly podcast.

Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up linlk at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/rcbnew070112.mp3

(5) Spotify: http://t.co/pDR0xhyi
This show was distributed on 7/4/12

****************
Rachael Sage “Everything” – Haunted By You CD www.rachaelsage.com
Waterslide “Summer Girls #23” – lincoln signal CD www.waterslidemusic.com
Chris Schutz & The Tourists “Arizona” – Sunglasses At Starlight CD www.chrisschutz.com
PaperDoll “she said” – Ballad Nerd Pop CD www.paperdollband.com
Joe Goldmark “Riptide Rock” – The Wham Of That Steel Man 2-CD set www.joegoldmark.com
Keith Moody “New Distraction” – Dreaming Out Loud CD www.keithmoody.com
Louise Taylor “Morning Memphis” – tangerine CD www.louisetaylor.com
Dennis Ellsworth “Hard To Leave” – Dusk Dreams CD www.dennisellsworth.com
Running time: 63 minutos
****
All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

Here’s Radio Crystal Blue proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my long-running standard freeform radio program. The
show exists as a weekly podcast.
Listen here:
(1) The FeedPlayer on my home page (visible with Flash-supported browsers)
www.radiocrystalblue.net and available to stream/download/share. Click the
pop-up link at the ‘home’ tab.
(2) If you cannot view the FeedPlayer, try a different browser, or get
Flash, or try my podcast provider at
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
(3) .mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/rcblive070112.mp3
This show was distributed on 7/4/12
Artists with shared gigs in the near future are noted with * & **

Opening music:
Luna “Sideshow By The Seashore” – Penthouse CD
Throwing Muses “Bright Yellow Gun” – HuH Music Service CD sampler, July 1994
****************
Sam Otis Hill & Co. “Road To The Beach” – Sand and Gravel CD www.samotishill.com
*Jon Shain Trio “Like The Ocean” – The Kress Sessions CD www.jonshain.com
*Ellis “close to you” – Right On Time CD www.ellis-music.com
*Kate MacLeod & Kat Eggleston “None But One” – Lost and Found CD www.katemacleod.com www.kateggleston.com
*Red Molly “Oh My Michael” – Light in the Sky CD www.redmolly.com
Fred Gillen Jr. “This Town Is Our Song” – Silence Of The Night CD www.fredgillenjr.com
********
These artists are performing in the Black Potatoe Festival later in July www.blackpotatoe.org :
Katie Pearlman “The Lesson” – Girls Like Us CD www.katiepearlman.com
Sarah Blacker “Knocked The Winds” – Come What May CD www.sarahblacker.com
Spuyten Duyvil “No More” – New Amsterdam CD www.spuytenduyvilmusic.com
Greg Smith & The Broken English “Pitiful Mind” – times like these CD www.gregsmithandthebrokenenglish.com
Kirsten Thien “Ain’t That The Truth” – Delicious CD www.kirstenthien.com
Jo Wymer “This Ain’t Love” – Lviing With Scars CD www.jowymer.com
*******************
The Brehms “Cool You Down” – s/t CD www.thebrehmsband.com
*Rebecca Loebe “married man” – Mystery Prize CD www.rebeccaloebe.com
*Peyton Tochterman “Johnsburg” – a new world CD www.peytontochterman.com
Jeremy Manjorin “Lost In The Sentiment” – Two Sigma Blues CD www.jeremymanjorin.com
The Way Home “Letter To Jessica” – On So Thin A Line CD www.thewayhomemusic.com
Tom Principato “Sweet Angel” – A Part Of Me CD www.tomprincipato.com
****************
*Kevin McWha Steele “Sympathetic Monday” – s/t CD www.kevinmcwhasteele.com
*Dexter’s Kin “Stay” – s/t CD www.dexterskin.com
Ashley McBryde “Journey” – Elsebound CD www.ashleymcbryde.com
Just A Memory “I Hate You” – s/t EP www.facebook.com/justamemory
Automatic Children “Solitude” – New is Beautiful CD www.automaticchildren.com
Ten Year Vamp “Don’t Be Alone With Me” – Lust EP www.tenyearvamp.com
**************
More artists performing in the Black Potatoe Festival in this segment:
Avi Wisnia “Não é Coisa” – Something New CD www.aviwisnia.com
Marc Black “American Children” – Sometime A Spark CD www.marcblack.com
Vance Gilbert “Old White Men” – Old White Men CD www.vancegilbert.com
Patrick Fitzsimmons “So Far”- so beautiful, so blue CD www.patrickfitzsimmons.net
Christine Havrilla “Old House” – In My Chair CD www.christinehavrilla.com
**************
*Rani Arbo & Daisy Mayhem “Bridges” – Some Bright Morning CD www.raniarbo.com
*The Sweetback Sisters “The Mystery Of You” – Looking For A Fight CD www.thesweetbacksisters.com
*Natalia Zukerman “Come Undone” – Gas Station Roses CD www.nataliazukerman.com
**Putnam Smith “the birds would understand” – we could be beekeepers CD www.putnamsmith.com
**Jason Spooner “Seed in the Ground” – Sea Monster CD www.jasonspooner.com
***The Steel Wheels “Indian Trail” – Lay Down, Lay Low CD www.thesteelwheels.com
***Jonathan Byrd “Dungarees Overalls” – Cackalack CD www.jonathanbyrd.com
*****************
Marybeth D’Amico “Stubborn Land” – The Light Inside CD www.marybethdamico.com
Lily Wilson “bigger than life” – harbour CD www.lilywilson.com
Beth DeSombre “Fun Will Find A Way” – At Home In This Town CD www.bethdesombre.com
Dan and Faith “Sleepy Town” – dreaming of another path CD www.danandfaith.com
John Roy Zat “Headed For The Promise Land” – solo CD www.royzat.com
************
Closing music: Gabrielle Roth & The Mirrors “Speaking Curves” – Jhoom: The Intoxification Of Surrender CD www.ravenrecording.com
Running time: 4 hours, 13 minutes

All content of Radio Crystal Blue’s programming is free to listen and share
to via a Creative Commons License, version 3.0, full attribution,
non-derivative. For more info:
www.creativecommons.org

Next show will be recorded and distributed in the week of 7/8/12

Dan Herman/Radio Crystal Blue:
cblue456@comcast.net
2159952234
www.radiocrystalblue.net
www.facebook.com/radiocblue
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu
Spotify: http://t.co/pDR0xhyi
twitter: @radiocblue