Tag Archives: Empire Circus

Radio Crystal Blue/RCB Novus Ordo 9/1/13


Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo is a weekly podcast that spotlights brand new music from songwriters and bands. Most of the new music from these artists eventually get heard on my companion radio program, Radio Crystal Blue.

HOW TO LISTEN
(1) Feedplayer at www.radiocrystalblue.net (visible with Flash-supported browsers) Click the pop-up link at the home tab. Each show is available to be streamed and downloaded. You may also put the player up on your site or blog. Archives go back 1 year in time.

If you cannot view the Feedplayer, try a different browser, or get Flash (it’s free), or try my podcast provider:
(2)
www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu You will see the FeedPlayer displayed within the Web page.
(4) RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

This show was published 9/5:

Phil Gates “Evening Train” – Live At The Hermosa Saloon CD www.philgates.com
Swig “I’ll Be Gone” – Like You Mean It EP www.swig-band.com
Empire Circus “All I Need” – s/t CD www.weareempirecircus.com
Rasta Miles “Dark Forces” – I Revolutionary CD www.rastamiles.com
Who Hit John? “For Old Times Sake” – Whistle On The Rail CD www.whohitjohn.com
The Hula Honeys “Home To You” – A Hui Hou CD www.thehulahoneys.com
Running time: 41 minutos

Here’s RCB proper:

Radio Crystal Blue is my 13-year-old freeform radio program, usually publishing Wednesdays or Thursdays in podcast format.

HOW TO LISTEN
(1) Feedplayer at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net (visible with Flash-supported browsers) Click the pop-up link at the home tab. Each show is available to be streamed and downloaded. You may also put the player up on your site or blog. Archives go back 1 year in time.

If you cannot view the Feedplayer, try a different browser, or get Flash (it’s free), or try my podcast provider:
(2)
http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu You will see the FeedPlayer displayed within the Web page.
(4) RSS: http://www.bigcontact.com/radiocrystalblu/rss

Artists who are sharing gigs are denoted with *

This show was published on 9/5/13

****
Continuing an RCB tradition:
The Doors “Bird Of Prey” – An American Prayer
Fatboy Slim “Sunset: Bird Of Prey” – Halfway Between The Gutter And The Stars
Dick Dale “The Long Ride” – Tribal Thunder
Jimi Hendrix Experience “Third Stone From The Sun” – Are You Experienced?
Pamela Wyn Shannon “Just Shy Of Rising Tide” – Nature’s Bride CD www.girlhenge.com
Katie Barbato “The Spring And The Fall” – The Millay Tapes CD www.katiebarbato.com
***
Alan Semerdjian “You Can’t Teach Trouble To Sing” – Quiet Songs For Loud Times CD www.alansemerdjian.com
*Meghan Cary “Lost You In The Light” – Building This House CD www.meghancary.com
*New Sweden “If King Don’t Come” – The Mountain CD www.newswedenmusic.com
Pi Jacobs “Mrs. Oneill” -Urbanicana CD www.pijacobs.com
Jason Spooner “Half A Mind” – Sea Monster CD www.jasonspooner.com
Fallen Riviera “Limbo Town” – Another World CD www.fallenriviera.com
***
The Symbols “The Way I Feel” – s/t EP www.thesymbols.net
Tommy Z “Roger That” – Sometimes CD www.tommyzband.com
Voodoo Swing “Fast Cars, Guitars, Tattoos & Scars” – Fast Cars, Guitars, Tattoos & Scars CD www.voodooswing.net
Darius Lux “When Nothing Is Real” – We The Living CD www.dariuslux.com
Black Vendetta “Hero” – Draconian Backlash CD (no website)
Frank Palangi “Thank You” (single) (no website)
***
Tae Phoenix “I Loved You Then” – Rise CD www.taephoenix.com
von Grey “Shane” – s/t EP www.vongreymusic.com
*Joy Kills Sorrow “Jake” – Wide Awake CD www.joykillssorrow.com
*The Howlin’ Brothers “Tenneesee Blues” – Howl CD www.thehowlinbrothers.com
*Amy Speace “The Sea & The Shore” – How To Sleep In A Stormy Boat” CD www.amyspeace.com
Chuck Schaeffer “Along These Lines” – Along These Lines CD www.chuckschaeffer.com
Ryan Tennis “I Can’t Wait” – Pack Light But Bring Everything CD www.ryantennismusic.com
****
Roger Silverberg “Need” – Major Seventh Heaven CD www.rogersilverberg.com
Jill Cagney “Procrastination” – Nerves Of Steel CD www.jillcagney.com
Amateur Blonde “Always The Wild One” – s/t EP www.amateurblondemusic.com
Lindsay May “Stick Around” – Shimmer CD www.lindsaymay.com
Jon Shain “If You Ever Flew Away” – Ordinary Cats CD www.jonshain.com
Ben Bedford “The Ballad Of Harlington Wood” – What We Lost CD www.benbedford.com
Andrew Calhoun “Walk Easy” – Living Room CD www.andrewcalhoun.com
David Garlitz “Luna y mar” – EP www.davidgarlitz.com
Closing music: Juaneco y su combo “Un Shipibo En Espana” – Masters Of Chicha, Volume 1 CD www.barbesrecords.com
Running time: 3 hours, 32 minutos
Atmosphere: dark, transitory
***
All content on Radio Crystal Blue is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 3.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org
Please consider contributing to Radio Crystal Blue, which cannot truly exist without your support and suggestions for musical content. There is a Paypal button at the homepage at http://www.radiocrystalblue.net

Advertisements

@ The Grape Room, 8/14/13


A solid night of indie rock took place at The Grape Room on August 14. It was my first visit to the Manayunk venue in months. I was drawn to the showcase hearing that Alex Kelly and Kelsey Warren (Pillow Theory) would do some acoustic music. I hadn’t seen Kelsey in years. Alex and I had been in touch for about a year, and I had spun her music plus interviewed her over Skype in January.  I ended up pretty early to the venue, getting there shortly after doors. Alex and Kelsey didn’t arrive until about midway through the evening. Frankly I wasn’t sure who was scheduled to perform and the venue’s website didn’t give me further indication. Nevertheless, everyone was present and accounted for. 

The Living have just released an EP, and their drummer Cori Barger was kind to give me a download card with their latest music. Hailing from Brooklyn, they clalm to have a folk-rock sound. Hearing the power between the 4 members, it resembled rock-folk…putting the power of rock into their songwriter-oriented material. If it was pop, I’d call it power-pop, but that’s not the case here. The music from their songs online are definitely more folk-oriented, tho the live performance gives a bit more of an edge to it, thanks to Cori’s solid drumming. Talking with him before the show, he mentions that the band has already played notables venues in NYC such as Piano’s and Rockwood Music Hall, and have done some regional touring in the Northeast.

DSCF4526DSCF4536

Two bands who split time between Dublin and New York City were sharing bills, including a show at Mercury Lounge in NYC on August 15. First of these two bands were Empire Circus, a band I had not heard of, but reportedly was a project from another band. I learned after the show that, in fact, two of their members were also in the band Stand, a band I had given airplay to in the past! Stand stood out to me for having a great anthemic sound, not unlike their countrymen in the band U2. Empire Circus have an insistent sound, pushed forth by their lead vox and bassist. Good headbobbing music, quick, a bit of pop here and there but thoroughly rocking. Yes, reminiscent of Stand’s glory days, but Empire Circus’s material is even more accessible.
DSCF4583DSCF4594DSCF4599DSCF4607

The same level of music can be said about Von Shakes, fellow Dubliners who help represent the best of the indies in that city (Delorentos is another such band that I’ve given airplay to). Von Shakes are an exciting 4 piece led by vox/guitar Paddy Brazel, who sported a short Morrissey-like (or is that Joe Strummer) pompadour. Similar to Empire Circus, the guitars rock out and the drummer is super solid. Hugh O’Reilly is on guitar and keys. On one song, Paddy and bassist Cillian help with the drum fills while drummer Ryan blasts away. Gaining a buzz in the world outside the States, it was a treat to see and hear two bands giving it their all on the Grape Room’s small stage. “My Side” I recognized from the band’s website, and it’s an electric tune, a nod to sounds of postpunk and thoroughly modern indie rock alongsides.
DSCF4648DSCF4654DSCF4655DSCF4669

Alex and Kelly opted to play a short acoustic set following all that rock. I stayed for most of that set, as Kelsey strummed a Fender, and Alex poured out seductive soulful sound from her vocals. “Orange Circle”, one song they cowrote, was my favorite of the songs, which is also the title of her CD.
DSCF4683DSCF4701

Lots more photos on Facebook. 

Video of Alex and Kelsey will be linked here, subject to approval.