Radio Crystal Blue 3/20/19


Radio Crystal Blue, in its 19th year online, is a weekly podcast that features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive032019.mp3
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/03/rcblive032019.mp3
NEW: Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

This show, #832, was published, on 03/20/2019.

Opening:
Nick Drake “Introduction” – Bryter Layter (Island – March 06, 1971)
Bowery Electric “Freedom Fighter” – Lushlife (Beggars Banquet Records – February 22, 2000)
Saint Etienne “Spring” – Foxbase Alpha (Heavenly/UK – September 16, 1991, Warner Bros./US – January, 1992)
*****

Janita “No Excuses” – Didn’t You, My Dear? CD http://www.janita.com @JANITAartist
Kris Angelis “The Sparrow” – Pieces That Were Stolen EP http://www.krisangelis.com @krisangelis
Abigail Dowd “The Other Side” – Not What I Seem CD http://www.abigaildowd.com @abigaildowd
Liz Longley “Say Anything You Want” – Weightless CD http://www.lizlongley.com @lizlongley
Meghan Cary “Live!” – Sing Louder CD http://www.meghancary.com @meghancarysongs
The Nouveaux Honkies “The Glades” – Loud In Here CD http://www.tnhband.com @TNHBand
Mystery Loves Company “Here We Are” – (t/t) Here We Are CD http://www.mysteryloves.com @MysteryLovesCo
*******

Antigone Rising “I See You” – Whiskey & Wine, Vol. II CD http://www.antigonerising.com @antigonerising
Dar Williams “The Light And The Sea” – In The Time Of Gods CD http://www.darwilliams.com @DarWilliamsTour
Flight Of Fire “Daughters Of Venus” – Path Of The Phoenix CD http://www.flightoffire.com @Flight_of_Fire
The Claim “All About Hope” – Boomy Tella 12″ Green Vinyl LP http://www.facebook.com/theclaimpopgroup
The Jasmine Minks “Step By Step” – 7″ Blue Vinyl EP http://www.facebook.com/thejasmineminks @behappydadda
*********

Hats Off Gentlemen It’s Adequate “Advancing On Snailback” – Broken But Still Standing CD http://www.hatsoffgentlemen.com @itsadequate
Black Cat Biscuit “I Don’t Know” – That’s How The Cookie Crumbles CD http://www.blackcatbiscuit.com @BlackCatBiscuit
David J. “Light And Shade” – Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh 12″ Heavyweight Clear Vinyl LP http://www.davidjonline.com
Fortnight In Florida “Easier To Lose” – In-Flight Entertainment CD http://www.fortnightinflorida.com @fortnightinFL
I Am A Rocketship “Intermittent” – Mind Graffiti CD http://www.iamarocketship.com @iamarocketship1
Marble Arch “I’m On My Way” – (single) http://www.facebook.com/marblearchmusic
*********

Continuing from the prior show, a salute to antifolk artists who played at the now-closed SideWalk Cafe & Restaurant in NYC

Schwervon “Wake Up Fall” – Poseur CD http://www.schwervon.com @Schwervon
Lorraine Leckie “Everywhere Man” – Revel Devil Devil Rebel CD http://www.lorraineleckie.com @LorraineLeckie
Timothy Dark “Performer” – Dark Day Afternoon EP http://www.timothydark.net @timothydark
Dan Costello “Saga Of Lorimer Jail” – Halloween Baby CD http://www.dancostello.com
A Brief View Of The Hudson “Goddamn Days” – Go North To Find Me CD http://www.facebook.com/abriefview.com @abriefview
Julian Velard “How I Became A Pirate” – Nitetime CD http://www.julianvelard.nyc @julianvelard
Lorenzo Bertocchini “Always On My Mind” – Live at the SideWalk Cafe, NYC CD http://www.lorenzobertocchini.com @LoreBertocchini
Peter Dizozza “Square One (Set The Prisoners Free)” – Songs Of The Golf Wars http://www.cinemavii.com @dizozza
*******

Edie Carey “We Got This” – Paper Rings (8 Love Stories) CD http://www.ediecarey.com @ediecarey
Beth Wood “Call When You Get Home” – The Long Road CD http://www.bethwoodmusic.com @bethwoodmusic
Brudini “Reflections” – (single) http://www.brudini.com @brudinimusic
Ellen Starski “Daughter Of The Sea” – The Day When Peonies Prayed For The Ants CD http://www.ellenstarski.com @StarskiEllen
Monica Rizzio “Long Lost Friend” – Washashore Cowgirl CD http://www.monicarizzio.com @monicarizzio
Heather Styka & The Sentimentals “Mockingbird Song” – North CD http://www.heatherstyka.com @heatherstyka
Davey O “Coming Home” – A Bright Horizon Line CD http://www.daveyo.com
*****

Closing music:
DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer” http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168 http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove @flowerdove2168
Running time: 3 hours, 10 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 18 years on the Web
(253) 537-1096 or (215) 995-2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
twitter: @radiocblue

Advertisements

Radio Crystal Blue Novus Ordo 3/20/19


HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/2
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/03/rcbnew032019.mp3
NEW: Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

This show, #457, was published, on 03/20/2019.

SONiA/disappear fear “Wandering Jew” – By My Silence CD http://www.soniadisappearfear.com @disappearfear
Sophie Buskin “Savior” – Sweet Creature CD http://www.sophiebuskinmusic.com
Rachael Sage “Sistersong” – Pseudomyopia CD http://www.rachaelsage.com @rachaelsage
Jonathan Soucy “Long Time” – Edge Of Blue CD http://www.soucymusic.com
George Dearborne “Everything You Want” – I’m Gonna Walk CD http://www.gdearborneband.com @GDearborneBand
DocFell & Co. “Molly Fields Cemetery” – Heaven, Hell, Or Oklahoma CD http://www.docfellmusic.com @drfeljo
*******

Closing music: DJ Flowerdove ”Downtime” http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168 http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove @flowerdove2168
Running time: 40 minutos
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
All content is free to listen and share via Creative Commons License version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue Reminisces 3/20/19


Radio Crystal Blue Reminisces is a new weekly program, that spotlights music of songwriters/bands, that I have previously featured.
Covering a period between 2000 and 2014, I recreate old audio segments, and focus on artists that haven’t been aired in years.

All shows are free, to download/stream/share, on these platforms:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com (shows removed once a newer set is published)
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBR032019
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/03/rcbr032019.mp3
NEW: Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

Show #6, was published, on 03/20/19.

Opening music:
Beastie Boys “The Blue Nun” & “Shambala” – Check Your Head
*****

Martha Redbone “Future Street” – Skintalk CD http://www.martharedbone.com @martharedbone
Two Loons For Tea “Marietta” – Nine Lucid Dreams CD http://www.twoloons.com @TwoLoonsForTea
Luke Sneyd “Starstruck” – All Of Us Cities CD http://www.lukesneyd.com @sneydman
The Defibulators “Thin Air” – Corn Money CD http://www.thedefibulators.com @thedefibulators
Shwa Losben “Good On Paper” – Chop Chop CD http://www.shwamusic.com @shwamusic
Ellis “City On Fire” – Break The Spell CD http://www.ellis-music.com @ellismusic
*******

J.P. Jones http://www.jpjones.net
“Works For Me” – Back To Jerusalem CD
“Dante’s Highway” – Salvation Street CD
“When That Change FInally Comes” – Life And Death CD
*****

Closing music: TJ Rehmi “You Are We Am I (Red Mix)” – The Warm Chill CD http://www.tjrehmi.com @tjrehmi
Running time: 60 minutos
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove

DJ Flowerdove contact info: http://www.soundcloud.com/flowerdove2168 http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove @flowerdove2168
*******

EMAIL: dan@radiocrystalblue.net
PHONE: 215-995-2234 or 253-537-1096
Facebook: Dan Herman & Radio Crystal Blue
Twitter: @radiocblue

Radio Crystal Blue 3/10/19


Radio Crystal Blue, in its 19th year online, is a weekly podcast that features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive031019.mp3
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2019/03/rcblive031019.mp3
NEW: Player.fm https://player.fm/series/radio-crystal-blue
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

This show, #831, was published: 03/10/2019.

Opening:
The Washington Squares “He Was A Friend Of Mine” & “Lay Down Your Arms” – The Washington Squares (Gold Castle – Novemer 30, 1986)
The Monkees “What Am I Doing Hangin’ ‘Round? – Pisces, Aquarius, Capricorn & Jones, Ltd. (Colgems – November 06, 1967)
Tish Hinojosa “What Am I Doin’ Hangin’ ‘Round?” – West CD http://www.mundotish.com @
Michael Martin Murphey “Cosmic Cowboy” – Austinology-Alleys Of Austin CD http://www.michaelmartinmurphey.com @Rocking3M
Lowry “Jukebox Heart” – Awful Joy CD http://www.lowrymusic.com @lovelowry
*****

Darlingside “Open Door” – Whipporwill EP http://www.darlingside.com @darlingside
Frank Migliorelli & The Dirtnappers “She Moves Like A Mystery” -(single) http://www.frankmigliorelli.com @fmigliorelli
David Starr “Nothing Short” – South And West CD http://www.davidstarrmusic.com @davidstarrmusic
Dave Keller “You Bring The Sunshine” – Every Soul’s A Star CD http://www.davekeller.com @davekellermusic
Nancy McCallion & The Scarlet Lettermen “Scarlet Ribbons” – Dancing Days CD http://www.nancymccallion.com @NancyMcCallion
LiLi Roquelin “Rise Above” – Be Inspired CD http://www.liliroquelin.com @liliroquelin
Shelley Segal “San Antonio” – Holy CD http://www.shelleysegal.com @ShelleySegal
Ann Vriend “It’s Happening” – (single) http://www.annvriend.com @AnnVriend
*******

Professor Louie & The Crowmatix “Blues & Good News” – Crowin’ The Blues CD http://www.professorlouie.com @ProfessorLouie1
Laurie Morvan “Gotta Dig Deep” – Gravity CD http://www.lauriemorvan.com @LaurieOnGuitar
Shane Martin “Passenger Seat” – Keepin’ The Night Alive CD http://www.shanemartin.com @ShaneMartinBand
Ryan Chrys & The Rough Cuts “Country Music Soundtrack” – Shovel Full Of Coal CD http://www.roughcutsband.com @RyanChrys
Preachervan “Cinematic” – (single) http://www.preachervan.com @PREACHERVANband
Vandoliers “All On Black” – Forever CD http://www.vandoliers.com @vandoliers
Castle Black “A Cigarette Saved” – The Gods That Adored You EP http://www.castleblackmusic.com @CastleBlackNYC
Polly Panic “Hollows” – Losing Form CD http://www.pollypanic.net @PollyPanic
*********

SideWalk Cafe & Restaurant, a long-time home for the anti-folk genre, recently closed.
Here is a segment of artists, I’ve aired on prior shows, who made their name, there:

Lach “Secrets Theme 2” – Today CD http://www.antifolk.net http://www.lachlaughs.com @Lachtoday
Dylan Nirvana “Broken Down Train” – Pentagonal Flower EP http://www.facebook.com/TheBadFlowers @DylanNirvana
Redjacket “Five-Four” – Hunted Rebirth EP http://www.lisabianco.com @lisabianco
Lorraine Leckie “Don’t Giggle At The Corpse” – Martini Eyes CD http://www.lorraineleckie.com @
Sprinkle Genies “Punk Rock Band Unitarian Church” – Fuzzy CD http://www.sprinklegenies.com @
Casey Holford “Beard Song” – All Young And Beautiful CD http://www.framedfractions.com
Jenn Lindsay “I Am Not Going Home Yet” – Gotta Lotta CD http://www.jennlindsay.com
Knot Pinebox “Deep Oblivion” – Suspended Particulation CD
*********

Susie Glaze & The Hilonesome Band “The Mountain” – Not That Kind Of Girl CD http://www.susieglaze.com
Taarka “Carried Away” – Fading Mystery CD http://www.taarka.com @taarkamusic
Sam Baker “Land Of Doubt” – (t/t) Land Of Doubt CD http://www.sambakermusic.com @SamBakerMusic
Chuck Brodsky “Them And Us” – (t/t) Them And Us CD http://www.chuckbrodsky.com @Chuckbrodsky
Kris Delmhorst “Vultures” – The Wild Outtakes EP http://www.krisdelmhorst.com @krisdelmhorst
*******

Janie Barnett & Blue Room “Better Times Are Coming” – You See This River CD http://www.janiebarnettandblueroom.com @janiebarnettBR
Kenny White “Different Today” – Symphony In 16 Bars CD http://www.kennywhite.net
Roger Silverberg “The Sound Of Rain” The Old Dog CD http://www.rogersilverberg.com
Scott Cook “Further Down The Line” – (t/t) Further Down The Line CD http://www.scottcook.net
Joe Jencks “What Did You Learn?” – The Forgotten Recovered Treasures From The Pen Of Si Kahn CD http://www.joejencks.com @JoeJencks
Elaine Romanelli “Shine” – The Hour Before CD http://www.elaineromanelli.com @ElaineRom
Aerynn “All I Need” – Summer Leaves EP http://www.aerynn.com @aerynnmusic
*****

Closing music:
DJ Flowerdove “Shimmer”

http://www.reverbnation.com/loralouisejones
http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 4 hours, 18 minutes
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 18 years on the Web
(253) 537-1096 or (215) 995-2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
twitter: @radiocblue