Radio Crystal Blue 10/31/18 show details


Radio Crystal Blue, in its 19th year online, is a weekly podcast that
features top songwriters and bands, indie, underground, and touring, in a
freeform format.

HOW TO LISTEN:

Podomatic: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com
RSS feed: http://radiocblue.podomatic.com/rss2.xml
Mixcloud: http://www.mixcloud.com/radiocblue
Stitcher: http://www.stitcher.com/podcast/radio-crystal-blue
Anchor: https://anchor.fm/radiocblue
Anchor RSS: https://anchor.fm/s/d45a80/podcast/rss
Apple (iTunes): https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/radio-crystal-blue/id1358998494
Overcast: https://overcast.fm/itunes1358998494/radio-crystal-blue
Pocket Casts: http://pca.st/J7ff
Castbox: https://castbox.fm/channel/id1204385
Breaker: https://www.breaker.audio/radio-crystal-blue
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/6Wlzu3cFXU5LAYAvGx4u4T
RadioPublic: https://play.radiopublic.com/radio-crystal-blue–GEzylN
Google Podcasts: bit.ly/2KS802i
Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/RCBlive103018
mp3: https://radiocrystalblue.files.wordpress.com/2018/10/rcblive103018.mp3
Ask Siri to: “Play Radio Crystal Blue”

This show, #822, was published: 10/30/2018.

OPENING:
“Green Onions” – Booker T. & The M.G.s (featuring Wolfman Jack) – (Volt Records – May, 1962; Stax Records (US)/London Records (UK) – September 1962)
“Born Under A Bad Sign” – Jimi Hendrix – Blues (MCA – April 26, 1994)
“Grateful When You’re Dead/Jerry Was There” – Kula Shaker – K (Columbia – April 22, 1996)
“Dark Star” – Grateful Dead – Wake Up To Find Out (Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, NY – 3/29/90) – (Rhino – September 29, 2014)
*******

Ellis Paul “The Day After Everything Changed” – (t/t) The Day After Everything Changed CD http://www.ellispaul.com @ellispaul
Sam Baker “Land Of Doubt” – (t/t) Land Of Doubt CD http://www.sambakermusic.com @SamBakerMusic
Kevin So “Why Am I Afraid?” – Countryside CD http://www.kevinso.com @TweetKevinSo
Meghan Cary “Little Girls” – Sing Louder CD http://www.meghancary.com @MeghanCarySongs
Jess Novak Band”Say We Tried” – Inches From The Sun CD http://www.jessrocknovak.com @JessRock87
Hymn For Her “Shallow Graves” – Pop-n-Downers CD http://www.hymnforher.com @HymnForHer
*****

Some of the featured artists in this year’s NERFA event http://www.nerfa.org :
Susan Cattaneo “Field Of Stone” – The Hammer & The Heart 2-CD Set – (Disc 2 -The Heart) http://www.susancattaneo.com @susancattaneo
Reggie Harris “Hickory Hill” – Ready To Go CD http://www.reggieharrismusic.com @Regmusicman
Grace Morrison “The Ropes” – I’m The Apple CD http://www.gracemorrison.com @RealGraceMusic
C. Daniel Boling “I Will Not Go Gently” – These Houses CD http://www.danielboling.com
Kenny White “Shoot The Moon” – Symphony In 16 Bars CD http://www.kennywhite.net
*******

CD FOCUS:
King Of The Road: A Tribute To Roger Miller http://www.deanmillerentertainment.com @deanmillermusic
Roger’s son, Dean Miller, curates this all-star tribute, with legends of country-western music, and some of the genre’s top-selling stars.
From Disc 2 of this 2-CD collection, I aired: “I Believe In The Sunshine” – Daphne & The Mystery Machines, @DaphneandTMM
“Guv’ment” – John Goodman,
“Old Songwriters Never Die” (banter),
“Hey, Would You Hold It Down?” – Ringo Starr @ringostarrmusic
“The Last Word In Lonesome Is Me” – Dolly Parton, featuring Alison Krauss  @dollyparton @alisonkrauss
*********

(Elvira)
False Prophets “Scorched Earth” Blind Roaches & Fat Vultures: Phantasmagoric Beasts Of The Reagan Era (Alternative Tentacles, 2000)
Kalo “Pay To Play” – Wild Change CD http://www.kaloband.com @KALORocks
Antigone Rising “Game Changer” – Whiskey & Wine, Vol. II CD http://www.antigonerising.com @AntigoneRising
Dar Williams “You Will Ride With Me Tonight” – In The Time Of Gods CD http://www.darwilliams.com @DarWilliamsTour
Hector Ward & The Big Time “Voodoo Surf” – Evolution: Live At The Saxon Pub – Disc 2 Of 2-CD Set http://www.hwbigtime.com @HWBIGTIME
***********

CD FOCUS:
Darol Anger, Emy Phelps & Friends – Music Of Our People (60s Album) Compilation CD http://www.darolanger.com @darolanger
Influential violinist/octave mandolinist, Darol Anger, teams up with frequent co-conspirator/guitarist, Emy Phelps, for a series of favorite songs, of the 1960s. The guest artists on this album help elevate it, from ‘cover album’ status, to a new statement, on New Acoustic (or, simply Americana) music. Many of their favorite musicians, in the Northeast U.S., contributed much, to these songs. Darol has done similar projects, during his time with Republic of Strings, and a prior folk album, of highly arranged material, (Heritage), with major-label guests.
From this CD, I aired: “Uncle John’s Band” & “Bird On A Wire”.
*************

(Elvira)
Ramones “You’re Gonna Kill That Girl” – Leave Home (Sire, US/UK; Phillips, Europe – January 10, 1977)
Ramones “Pet Sematary” – Brain Drain (Sire, US; Chrysalis, UK – March 23, 1989)
The Cravens “Highway” – On The Line CD http://www.thecravens.com @TheCravens
Holygram “A Faction” – Modern Cults CD http://www.holygram.band
Whispering Sons “No Time” – Image CD http://www.whisperingsons.com @WhisperingSons
Moderate Rebels “Faith & Science” – Shared Values CD http://www.everydayliferecordings.com @ModRebels
The Mutineers “Hard Sell” – Threshold EP http://www.themutineersmusic.com
Microcosms “Wrapped Up” – Fairy Tale EP http://www.facebook.com/WeAreMicrocosms @WeAreMicrocosms
***********

More artists performing at this year’s NERFA event:
Scott Cook “Alberta, You’re Breaking My Heart” – Further Down The Line CD http://www.scottcook.net
Monica Rizzio “A Little Time” – Washashore Cowgirl CD http://www.monicarizzio.com @MonicaRizzio
Erika Kulnys “Hummingbird” – Rise Up CD http://www.erikakulnys.com @erikakulnys
Greg Greenway “Letting Go” – 20,000 Versions Of The Sun CD http://www.greggreenway.com
Alice Howe “You’ve Been Away So Long” – (t/t) You’ve Been Away So Long EP http://www.alicehowe.com @alicehowemusic
*********

(Elvira)
Rasputina “Transylvanian Concubine” – Transylvanian Regurgitations EP (Columbia – August 12, 1997)
Lily Frost “Red Flags” – Rebound EP http://www.lilyfrost.com @lily_frost
The Young Novelists “Back To The Hard Times” – In City & Country CD http://www.theyoungnovelists.com @young_novelists
Cardboard Ox “The Ballad Of Ida” – (s/t) EP www,cardboardox.com @traciepotes
Hungrytown “Day For Night” – Further West CD http://www.hungrytown.net @hungrytown
*******

Heather Pierson Acoustic Trio “What Else Can I Do?” – Still She Will Fly EP http://www.heatherpierson.com @HeatherPierson
Joe Jencks “Morning Star” – The Forgotten Recovered Treasures From The Pen Of Si Kahn CD http://www.joejencks.com @JoeJencksMusic
Lara Herscovitch “Mr. Hyde” – Misfit CD http://www.laraherscovitch.com @laraherscovitch
Amy Soucy “Old Crows” – This River CD http://www.amysoucymusic.com
*****

Closing music: Lou Reed “Halloween Parade” (AIDS) – New York
*******


http://www.facebook.com/djflowerdove
Twitter: @flowerdove2168

Running time: 4 hours, 25 minutos
Host: Dan Herman
Production/post-production: Dan Herman and DJ Flowerdove
Recorded in stereo to 128 kbps bitrate, 44.1 Hz in mp3 format, using Audacity software.
Atmosphere: creepy-spooky

All content is free to listen and share, via Creative Commons License, version 4.0, non-derivative, non-commercial, full attribution. More info:
http://www.creativecommons.org

Dan Herman
Radio Crystal Blue
Celebrating 18 years on the Web
(253) 537-1096 or (215) 995-2234
http://www.radiocrystalblue.net
dan@radiocrystalblue.net
Facebook: Dan Herman or Radio Crystal Blue
twitter: @radiocblue

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s